Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vintage rifle scopes

• 29-03-2011 5:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭

Back last summer I went to the midlands range with a friend of mine. when I was shooting there was a fella beside me with a vintage rifle. I cant remember the make or caliber (7mm or something like that) but I do remember it was issued/made in the 40's..

The rifle had a side mounted scope on it which he was zeroing at the 100 yard range. This summer I hope to be joining the range and I am thinking of getting a vintage rifle aswel. If i was to get one I'd like to get one with the side mounted scope on it.

Just wondering what rifle/rifles can be set up like this and roughly how much would I be paying for them? I would prefer a .303 because the ammo is relatively cheap but am open to others if ammo price isnt too dear! :eek:

Also what competitions are these rifles allowed in? I presume they ain't allowed in the regular vintage shoots as the scope would give an unfair advantage? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

patsat wrote: »
    Back last summer I went to the midlands range with a friend of mine. when I was shooting there was a fella beside me with a vintage rifle. I cant remember the make or caliber (7mm or something like that) but I do remember it was issued/made in the 40's..

The rifle had a side mounted scope on it which he was zeroing at the 100 yard range. This summer I hope to be joining the range and I am thinking of getting a vintage rifle aswel. If i was to get one I'd like to get one with the side mounted scope on it.

Just wondering what rifle/rifles can be set up like this and roughly how much would I be paying for them? I would prefer a .303 because the ammo is relatively cheap but am open to others if ammo price isnt too dear! :eek:

Also what competitions are these rifles allowed in? I presume they ain't allowed in the regular vintage shoots as the scope would give an unfair advantage? :confused:

The Russian rifles are popular(ish)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mosin_nagant

I have not seen one of these here, Bunny may have
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M1903_Springfield

The LE is very popular.
    Duffy in Galway can get Garands in .308 which I would love to have a go of.

Be very careful buying a military rifle, as you may not like it when you get it.

Scoping can sometimes be difficult, the Mauser being case and point as a result of the type of bolt on it.

An always be carefull that if you buy something can you sell it, as many lads love to shoot Mil spec, for an hour or so; then they want to go back to what they know.

I got feck all for my old Mauser and nobody wanted to buy it.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭cra

The VCRAI (Vintage Classic Rifle Association of Ireland) are running a shoot in Castlemaine, Kerry this Sunday. I reckon if you pop over there those guys will help you out.

I think they run an open classification which would allow scopes.

Midlands also advertise "historic rifle" shoots which I presume would suit you aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭clivej

It could have been a Garand with the scope on, as it's a top loading and ejecting the scope on these rfile were mounted to the side.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭gunhappy_ie

Its great that youve decided to get into the classic rifle shoots :)

There are several rifles out there but from what your saying... your looking for a enfield (as you want .303) and you want a side mound scope on it, it should be mentioned that several rifles of that era had side mount scopes on them.

The classic rifle competitions allow for scopes up to x4 power. There is a competition on this comming sunday 03/04/2011 that would be of interest to you shouls you have the time to travel to kerry for it.

John Kavanagh in Fingalsports specialises in Classic rifles as well as ammo for them.

http://www.fingalsports.com/classic.html

He sells .303 @ €70 per 100 or €14 per 20

He has both new manufacture (privi partizan) and surplus ammo at that price.

http://www.fingalsports.com/ammo.html

If theres a rifle that you want thats not there (M1 Grand, M1 carbine, M1A, etc etc) he can get it too :)

GH

• Registered Users Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭patsat

clivej wrote: »
    It could have been a Garand with the scope on, as it's a top loading and ejecting the scope on these rfile were mounted to the side.

Definatly wasn't a Mauser as it wasn't a semi it was a bolt action gun! They were used a vice grips to adjust the scope!

In regards to not liking it and wanting to sell on.. I'd just like something different! Just a gun where I could squeeze off a few rounds after spending the day using my 22-250!

And of course maybe take part in a few comps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Its great that youve decided to get into the classic rifle shoots :)

There are several rifles out there but from what your saying... your looking for a enfield (as you want .303) and you want a side mound scope on it, it should be mentioned that several rifles of that era had side mount scopes on them.

The classic rifle competitions allow for scopes up to x4 power. There is a competition on this comming sunday 03/04/2011 that would be of interest to you shouls you have the time to travel to kerry for it.

John Kavanagh in Fingalsports specialises in Classic rifles as well as ammo for them.

http://www.fingalsports.com/classic.html

He sells .303 @ €70 per 100 or €14 per 20

He has both new manufacture (privi partizan) and surplus ammo at that price.

http://www.fingalsports.com/ammo.html

If theres a rifle that you want thats not there (M1 Grand, M1 carbine, M1A, etc etc) he can get it too :)

GH

An M1A eh you sure? I'd like to get a vintage rifle, I'd have guessed a garand might be the limit but an M1A ? you sure.
    I'd love to get into it but was down in the midlands once, was an awful lot to join, even before getting the rifle, without knowing if you'd get licenced for it? It was a nice set up, plus plenty of interested, friendly people willing to help.
    I'm not mad keen on a LE 303, like garand or maybe an M1A! which I'm suprised to hear about, will be sticking with my .22LR for a while.
    Definatly wasn't a Mauser as it wasn't a semi it was a bolt action gun! They were used a vice grips to adjust the scope!

In regards to not liking it and wanting to sell on.. I'd just like something different! Just a gun where I could squeeze off a few rounds after spending the day using my 22-250!

When I think vintage and Mauser I thin k K98, which is a bolt action, I know they have their uses but a vice grips :eek:

Mauser is a bolt
    Garand is a Semi

Vise grips to adjust a scope???:eek::eek:

Pat, you have bought several rifles in the past couple of years, so you will invariably want to sell the next one at some stage.
    You have to be a club to shoot targets

Sorry lads my mistake...I meant to say it wasn't a garand! :rolleyes:

I actually think it was a Mauser but not 100% on that!

Yes Tack I'm planning on joining the midlands in the summer! And would like something different to have with me aswel as my 22-250!

Won' be able to make the shoot at an riocht lads by I'm sure I'll get along to something during the summer!

Merch wrote: »
    An M1A eh you sure? I'd like to get a vintage rifle, I'd have guessed a garand might be the limit but an M1A ? you sure.
    I'd love to get into it but was down in the midlands once, was an awful lot to join, even before getting the rifle, without knowing if you'd get licenced for it? It was a nice set up, plus plenty of interested, friendly people willing to help.
    I'm not mad keen on a LE 303, like garand or maybe an M1A! which I'm suprised to hear about, will be sticking with my .22LR for a while.

When I think vintage and Mauser I thin k K98, which is a bolt action, I know they have their uses but a vice grips :eek:

Yes M1As can get gotten as easily as M1/M1 Grands

Sorry lads my mistake...I meant to say it wasn't a garand! :rolleyes:

I actually think it was a Mauser but not 100% on that!

Yes Tack I'm planning on joining the midlands in the summer! And would like something different to have with me aswel as my 22-250!

Won' be able to make the shoot at an riocht lads by I'm sure I'll get along to something during the summer!

Perhaps a Mauser 8mm German.
    http://media.photobucket.com/image/8mm%20mauser%20offset%20scope/plumbernater/mailgooglecom.jpg

It had a side mounted scope tho Tack? Wasn't an 8mm either I'm nearly sure it was 7mm!

Have tried looking through the net but finding it hard to find any good info on these kind of rifles!

It had a side mounted scope tho Tack? Wasn't an 8mm either I'm nearly sure it was 7mm!

Have tried looking through the net but finding it hard to find any good info on these kind of rifles!

My Da has a sided mounted atlas scope on a .22

Are you sure it was 7mm exactly not 7 point something

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Could be a Spanish or Chilean Mauser in 7x57. Not many of them about. Would be a lovely gun if you could find one.

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Kryten

A few of us have the Lee Enfields. A lot to be said to be able to get a good score at 300yds with battle sights. And thats the appeal to me. It really is a level playing field with the vintage classic rifles.

I have used a modern rifle, CZ550 with Leupold Scope, and can shoot all day getting 10's. (not all tens, that would be jammy) Where you only drop a few points into the 9 or on occasion an 8. Just dont get a buzz from it.

K98s have side mounted scopes but being 8mm are classed as restricted, this shouldnt put you off 1 if you want 1 though. just explain that was the norm at the time to have big calibre rounds.

The Swiss, Schmidt Rubin K31s are a 7.5x 55 GP 11. I have seen them in Ireland but any mounts that ive seen online seem not to be side mount.

The French MAS 36 is a 7.5x51.... Ive not seen 1 in Ireland and any mounts that ive seen are not side mount.

True tack it may well have been a variant starting with 7 even a 7.62!

@ Gunhappy I'd rather stick to an unrestricted firearm for now! If I was going that route it would be a Garand!!

Anyways what gun it was is besides the point! I'd really like to know what would be the best vintage rifle to get with a side mounted scope???And I presume you could still use the open sights with this set up??

• Registered Users Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

BTW the SMLE also was set up for a side mounted scope. 7mm suggests somthing European.[Mannlicher?] that might have been possibly built on a Mauser action.Would possibly tip on a Swedish mauser.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭clivej

True tack it may well have been a variant starting with 7 even a 7.62!

@ Gunhappy I'd rather stick to an unrestricted firearm for now! If I was going that route it would be a Garand!!

Anyways what gun it was is besides the point! I'd really like to know what would be the best vintage rifle to get with a side mounted scope???And I presume you could still use the open sights with this set up??

The Garand is still a restricted rifle because its a semi-automatic. But I would not see that as a problem as it will be use for the vintage competitions.

Info here
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M1_Garand

With scope
    M1C.jpg

Thanks Clivej but what I was sayin tho was if I was to go the restricted route I'd go with the garand over the 8mm k98! :)

Does anyone have any experience/ recommendations of a Mosin-Nagant with a PU sniper scope??

An unissued Mosin can be got for ok money it seems?

While not spot on 7mm the Mosin Nagants are popular here too if you want to go for "The enemy at the gates" look :P:P:P and use side mount scopes. 7.62x54R so there classed as unrestricted.

Guns can be bought for little money along with scopes and ammo.

Matching serial numbered Mosin Nagants with crisp bores dates between 1934-1943 €385 @ fingal sports..

Origional PU 3.5 scope/mount with lense covers €265

7.62x54R 149grn surplus ammo. Pack of 100 @ €59

• Registered Users Posts: 804 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

7.62x54 shouldn't be restricted surely?
    single-shot or repeating rifled centre-fire firearms of a calibre not
    exceeding 7.62 millimetres (.308 inch) and whose overall length
    is greater than 90 centimetres,
    And from what I remember of the Mosin, "overall length greater than 90cm" isn't something it'd have trouble with :D

Gunhappy that post about the Mosin pretty much made up my mind! :D

Is there any problems that mosins may have that I should look out for??

The stock design is a little, how shall I say, rough. Proportions don't really do anything to lessen the impact of recoil, so while it produces energy similar to a .308, its felt recoil tends to be pretty considerable. Probably more like a .30-06 or 7mm magnum. It's by no means unmanageable, but not everyone is going to want to put lots of shots through it. I found the 8x57 in the full length k98 nasty off the bench because the comb was too low and every shot meant it cracked me in the cheekbone, but the lighter carbine version suited me better. Worth trying a few if you can. Personally, for curiosity value and because I really like the rounds, I'd be torn between a Swedish Mauser in 6.5x55 and a Spanish or Chilean one in 7x57, with preference for the latter.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

A little rough, he says. You couldn't use it as a tractor part because tractors have higher standards :D

Found out there on the web (it's a bit... american, but funny nonetheless):
    Stuff you know if you have an AK-47 |Stuff you know if you have an AR-15 |Stuff you know if you have a Mosin Nagant
    It works though you have never cleaned it. Ever. |You have $9 per ounce special non-detergent synthetic Teflon infused oil for cleaning. |It was last cleaned in Berlin in 1945.
    You are able to hit the broad side of a barn from inside. |You are able to hit the broad side of a barn from 600 meters. |You can hit the farm from two counties over.
    Cheap mags are fun to buy. |Cheap mags melt. |What's a mag?
    Your safety can be heard from 300 meters away. |You can silently flip off the safety with your finger on the trigger. |What's a safety?
    Your rifle comes with a cheap nylon sling. |Your rifle has a 9 point stealth tactical suspension system. |You rifle has dog collars.
    Your bayonet makes a good wire cutter. |Your bayonet is actually a pretty good steak knife. |Your bayonet is longer than your leg.
    You can put a .30" hole through 12" of oak, if you can hit it. |You can put one hole in a paper target at 100 meters with 30 rounds. |You can knock down everyone else's target with the shock wave of your bullet going downrange.
    When out of ammo your rifle will nominally pass as a club. |When out of ammo, your rifle makes a great wiffle bat. |When out of ammo, your rifle makes a supreme war club, pike, boat oar, tent pole, or firewood.
    Recoil is manageable, even fun. |What's recoil? |Recoil is often used to relocate shoulders thrown out by the previous shot.
    Your sight adjustment goes to "10", and you've never bothered moving it. |Your sight adjustment is incremented in fractions of minute of angle. |Your sight adjustment goes to 12 miles and you've actually tried it.
    Your rifle can be used by any two bit nation's most illiterate conscripts to fight elite forces worldwide. |Your rifle is used by elite forces worldwide to fight two bit nations' most illiterate conscripts. |Your rifle has fought against itself and won every time.
    Your rifle won some revolutions. |Your rifle won the Cold War. |Your rifle won a pole vault event.
    You paid $350. |You paid $900. |You paid $59.95.
    You buy cheap ammo by the case. |You lovingly reload precision crafted rounds one by one. |You dig your ammo out of a farmer's field in Ukraine and it works just fine.
    You can intimidate your foe with the bayonet mounted. |You foes laugh when you mount your bayonet. |You can bayonet your foe on the other side of the river without leaving the comfort of your hole.
    Service life, 50 years. |Service life, 40 years. |Service life, 100 years, and counting.
    It's easier to buy a new rifle when you want to change cartridge sizes. |You can change cartridge sizes with the push of a couple of pins and a new upper. |You believe no real man would dare risk the ridicule of his friends by suggesting there is anything but 7.62x54r.
    You can repair your rifle with a big hammer and a swift kick. |You can repair your rifle by taking it to a certified gunsmith, it's under warranty! |If your rifle breaks, you buy a new one.
    You consider it a badge of honor when you get your handguards to burst into flames. |You consider it a badge of honor when you shoot a sub-MOA 5 shot group. |You consider it a badge of honor when you cycle 5 rounds without the aid of a 2x4.
    After a long day the range you relax by watching "Red Dawn". |After a long day at the range you relax by watching "Blackhawk Down". |After a long day at the range you relax by visiting the chiropractor.
    After cleaning your rifle you have a strong urge for a stiff shot of Vodka. |After cleaning your rifle you have a strong urge for hotdogs and apple pie. |After cleaning your rifle you have a strong urge for shishkabob.
    You can accessorize you rifle with a new muzzle brake or a nice stock set. |Your rifle's accessories are eight times more valuable than your rifle. |Your rifle's accessory is a small tin can with a funny lid, but it's buried under an apartment building somewhere in Budapest.
    Your rifle's finish is varnish and paint. |Your rifle's finish is Teflon and high tech polymers. |Your rifle's finish is low grade shellac, cosmoline and Olga's toe nails.
    Your wife tolerates your autographed framed picture of Mikhail Kalashnikov. |Your wife tolerates your autographed framed picture of Eugene Stoner. |You're not sure there WERE cameras to photograph Sergei Mosin.
    Late at night you sometimes have to fight the urge to hold your rifle over your head and shout "Wolverines!" |Late at night you sometimes have to fight the urge to clear your house, slicing the pie from room to room. |Late at night, you sometimes have to fight the urge to dig a fighting trench in the the yard to sleep in.

Gunhappy that post about the Mosin pretty much made up my mind! :D

Is there any problems that mosins may have that I should look out for??

Have you held a Mosin yet ? There basic/rugged/well built soviet block rifles (im not knocking them, id like to have 1 in my collection). They can be a little rough on the outside (and inside) but they shoot well. You also have to remember that they were the "battle rifle" of the day so there triggers arent a crisp 2-4lbs pull by any means.

After that it depends on what you call a problem :P but anything that breaks on them is easily fixed :)

Seriously though I dont have one to comment on specific problems so your best bet it so ask the VCRAI boys @ http://www.vcrai.com/

The last 2 rifles ive gotten came through John @ fingal sports, 1 of them being surplus so John had it proof tested in the UK to make sure she was fit to fire so whatever you get off him it will be a sound gun.

Yeah, but you never even shot the damn thing as I recall. :p It's stout, but not so bad. Everything there about its construction is true however, including the use of special levers to cycle the bolt, but that's really a big part of its charm too. It is truly, truly agricultural, but it's not horrible to shoot and it feels like the perfect peasant rifle it truly was.

Me ??? yep... fired 1 before.

Nono, that was to Sparks. He didn't like the look of what was happening to me and others with it...