Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

chainsaw course

• 30-03-2011 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭

hi i am an unemployed carpenter. i am out of a job about a month now. i have looked in to doing a 5 day chainsaw course with coillte it costs nearly €700 and have to provide chain safe gloves trousers and helmet and visor which will cost another few hundred euro. my question is am i wasteing time and money?? what are my chances of getting employment??

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭David brown

see is there anyone in ur area sub contracting for esb cutting timbr under powr lines and try thm 4 job.they need all them certs ur talkin about.u dont need them 4 farm work;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

If you intend operating a chainsaw for hire or reward, you'll have to have the qualifications.
    It would be insanity for a person to hire someone for chainsaw work who doesn't have both the proper qualifications AND adequate insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Rinker

If you're out of work over 6 months FAS give you €500 towards this course. Friend of mine was into them yesterday about it.
    You could look at doing a hedgelaying course as there seems to be a bit of work in that at the moment. You'd need a chainsaw licence to do that work too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Rinker

Sorry just re read your post- I'm not 100% about how long you have to be unemployed to get the money from FAS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig