Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Read about this one, turns out it belonged to a Guard

That is not true. It belonged to a German tourist and was returned to him

http://www.stickybottle.com/latest-news/gardai-hunt-man-trying-to-sell-two-e18000-stolen-bikes-for-e200/

Fair play to the Garda involved

rubadub wrote: »
    hmmm, well it does now, just like the 50 notes in wallets handed in or swiss army knives taken off young lads...

Hmmm, No, it doesn't. It was returned to its owner, see previous post

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Stolen on Orchard Road/Clonliffe Road between 2 & 6pm today.
    35in5fp.jpg

ARghghghgh

• Registered Users Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    If anyone has or knows of someone that has had a juicy bikes e bike stolen in the last while possibly a good few months ago. I have some details as to its whereabouts.

Plan to contact the supplier to see if they have an owners data Base failing that it will be dropped to gardai and more than likely head to auction.

It was someone's pride and joy at some point and not a cheap investment. I would assume it was stolen in Dublin area.

Screenshot_2016-08-12-09-13-23_zpsh7lt2nom.png

Just an update on this.

Returned to owner who was over the moon.

Owner was tracked down through the store he bought it off luckily they kept his name on file. Possibly something all shops should consider doing. The possibility that he may have sold it on since original purchase did cross my mind but he had all the details and the battery :)

Come to think of it I never considered checking bike register website. Is that still running or was it a flop?

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭Savage_Henry

Trek 7.5 fx stolen from temple bar, 27.08 Between 12:11 and 12:27
    it was in my shop (unlocked) and they just wheeled it out and the guy at the till didnt notice.

It had fitted front light and rear light was fitted lower on the frame, also had a little alarm box under seat. Also had abus bordo lock in its pouch on the frame.

IMG_20140504_184749.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 15 tsuful

REWARD FOR ANY INFORMATION !!!!

Hi Guys,

Today , two bikes were stolen :(
    If You could keep an eye out for them or the some of the unique parts.
    Photos attached on the bottom.

I will list some of the spec:

-Production Privee Shan 27.5" XL hardtail (small ding on the top tube) with BOS Deville FCV fork, Schmolke carbon handlebars,Syntace stem, Sram Guide Ultimate Brakes, KS Lev seatpost, Carbon wheels on Syntace hubs, XT Cranks and mix Shimano/SRAM 11spd drivetrain.

- Knolly Warden Carbon L with BOS Deville FCV fork, EXT Storia LOC shock, Schmolke carbon handlebars, Syntace Stem, Sram Guide RSC brakes, Race Face Next SL cranks with mix Shimano/SRAM drivetrain, YEP seatpost and Ibis carbon wheelset.

We would really appreciate any help

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

tsuful wrote: »

Hi Guys,

-Production Privee Shan 27.5" XL hardtail (small ding on the top tube) with BOS Deville FCV fork, Schmolke carbon handlebars,Syntace stem, Sram Guide Ultimate Brakes, KS Lev seatpost, Carbon wheels on Syntace hubs, XT Cranks and mix Shimano/SRAM 11spd drivetrain.

- Knolly Warden Carbon L with BOS Deville FCV fork, EXT Storia LOC shock, Schmolke carbon handlebars, Syntace Stem, Sram Guide RSC brakes, Race Face Next SL cranks with mix Shimano/SRAM drivetrain, YEP seatpost and Ibis carbon wheelset.

No photos...

Cant post any photos :/
    I'm a new user

Hi Guys,

Taken from Mad Elk I assume they're the same bikes. Very distinctive hopefully they turn up.

14067664_1161366813924339_6351680226770745895_n.jpg?oh=15b731e40844b01a5b56704c24e195d5&oe=5847F222

14055031_1161366900590997_641575315962474540_n.jpg?oh=b35102836302ea2ece92e52d62f2c547&oe=584077F2

Taken from Mad Elk I assume they're the same bikes. Very distinctive hopefully they turn up.

They're tye same bikes.
    Thanks very much. Appreciate it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Hi Guys,

Thurles by any chance?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,919 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Just after 5am coming back through Thurles we seen a member of traveller community pushing two bikes out towards the Horse and Jockey road near the Turtulla/Clongour area. The Gardai were called and notified about it. If anyone is missing two bikes in Thurles PM for info.

Thurles by any chance?

They were stolen from Ballymount in Dublin yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Scott Speedster 15 just stolen from my garden shed :( 10.30pm, Dublin 12.
    The gardai called round to tell me someone had reported seeing it being stolen, was weird having the gardai tell me my bike was stolen instead of the other way around.
    Went to the back shed and sure enough, there was an empty space where I'd left my bike after working on it this evening.
    General features: Black with purple detail, 52cm/ small frame, compact 105 groupset, alexrims front wheel AAHHHH brand new Conti GP4000s tyres front and back just bought and fitted, Mavic Aksium back wheel, cross lever brakes would be an unusual feature I added myself, brand new dark silver Shimano spd pedals (A600?) just fitted this evening ready for the Great Dublin ride in 2 weeks.
    'Yorkshire' sticker on the front.
    An 'MKM - Harrogate' sticker on the downtube and a name sticker 'Hannah Hauxwell' towards the back of the crossbar.
    Specialized Lithia saddle.
    Gardai have all details, so fingers crossed.
    Trouble is they know where the shed is now and that I have n+1 bikes.
    No problems living here for 10 years, upping the security was always on my to do list.... bollx.

blogger-image--1617690820.jpg

IMG_1212.JPG
    blogger-image--2087780820.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Storck Scenero stolen tonight from van outside the hole in the wall pub nr Phoenix Park.

Its filthy dirty, has a Ffwd 60mm front wheel and a Campagnolo Zonda rear. Fabric saddle. Mix of SRAM Rival and Apex. Power2Max power meter.

Van was broken into sometime between 8:20 - 9:20.

Bike has changed since photo - now has black handlebar tape and saddle - also rear wheel is a Zonda.

13191339095_2ea4cc542e_k.jpg2013-04-16 11.44.01 by couerdelion2013, on Flickr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

As someone that believes in strong law and order and a recent purchaser of my first bike in probably 20 years (a Giant Defy 1) I'm sickened by this thread and how rife thefts are.

Thank f**k I'm in a rural area and plan on using the bike just for spins and not commutes so I won't be locking it anywhere.

Still, I really need to buy a lock for when I go on longer cycles and might stop into a village shop to grab something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

As someone that believes in strong law and order and a recent purchaser of my first bike in probably 20 years (a Giant Defy 1) I'm sickened by this thread and how rife thefts are.

Thank f**k I'm in a rural area and plan on using the bike just for spins and not commutes so I won't be locking it anywhere.

Still, I really need to buy a lock for when I go on longer cycles and might stop into a village shop to grab something.

I've actually taken my bike into shops with me at times. I've never been given out to for it by staff.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

traprunner wrote: »
    I've actually taken my bike into shops with me at times. I've never been given out to for it by staff.

I have taken the front wheel off and walked in with it, so at least I could run after someone if they did nick it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

as you'll also see bikes are often stolen from sheds so best to ensure wherever you keep it at home is properly secure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Folks please keep an eye out for a stolen Cervelo P2 as seen in the pic. It was stolen last night from a business premises in the Coolock area.

Any info please pm me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

They were stolen from Ballymount in Dublin yesterday.

Looking at Facebook these have been recovered :)

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Puggy

Does anyone look at these?

Stolen Bikes: Cube Peleton and Focus Culebro

Bikes were taken after the Great Dublin Bike Ride from a car parked here
    Claude Road (https://goo.gl/maps/DkW7EVhCopA2) between :1430 15:15.

The Cube had Conti 4000s11 23mm's and the Focus has 25mm's.
    The Focus had a Roadlink derailleur hanger attached and an 11-34 cassette.
    Both bikes had Crud Mk11 mudguards.

There was a red audi nearby that drove away, but it may have been a coincidence.

The Focus was a prize from the Junior RAS Sportive last year, and is of sentimental value. The bike was donated by BikeWorx in Celbridge @TeamBikeworx

#GDBR2016

https://goo.gl/photos/7G7n3CqHKDsALajh7
    Photos 1 - 2 are recent, showing location of identification marks.
    Photos 3 - 6 are of each bike
    Photo 7 is the serial number of the Focus
    Photos 8 - 10 are the serial numbers of our Garmin bike computers and Sat Nav (logged with Garmin and flagged as stolen on Garmin Conect).
    Photo 11 is the RoadLink.

Any information to Mountjoy Garda Station. Incident No is 13219971

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭2RockMountain

Why do they cuff their hands to the front. I'd be cuffing them bhind and find a revolving door I had to keep passing through.

He was probably back there a half hour later. These are the kind of idiots scumbags that steal your bike and sell it for a tenner for a quick score.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Folks just for anyone in the Ashtown area. My bike a black specialised with yellow decals, handlebars and a yellow trim around the wheels was stolen from the supervalue in the village centre.

Please keep an eye out for any fitting that description. Sorry I don't have a photo. It was on my old phone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

A friend just said to me "**** it, I've had five bikes stolen in the last two years, I'm going to buy new bikes for my kids - they'll probably be stolen bikes and I don't care."
    Obviously he's going to have a problem making the moral case when his teenager comes home with a phone he bought from a man in a pub a few years from now…
    There really needs to be a Garda publicity campaign about the fact that if you buy something that might be stolen, you're helping to support the theft industry.
    I was glad to see someone advertising a Cannondale on adverts.ie today with the receipt photographed to prove ownership (with identifiers blacked out).

Why do they cuff their hands to the front. I'd be cuffing them bhind and find a revolving door I had to keep passing through.

Health and Safety.