Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭robgti

cipo wrote: »
    Lads

Can't believe this has just happened but my pride & joy Wilier Cento Uno in white, red, carbon has just been nicked from my office!! It's 2010 model with SRAM force groupset and ksyrium ssc sl wheels. White bar tape, hudz and saddle with PRO stem and handlebars!!!

Obviously a long shot but anyone who might by the biggest stroke of luck come across it please get in touch...

I can't upload a pic as I'm on my iPhone....

Logged with Gardai and security guard in building who was entirely useless and immediately was on the defensive!!

Anyway don't know what else to do....

Dave

I feel sick for you man savage bike, I know it's your property but it was on there property better again in there property, they should be liable, what would be the resale value? Hit them with that bill that's what I'd do and I wouldn't let the push me off ither... Do you mind telling us what do you work as?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,128 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

robgti wrote: »
    I feel sick for you man savage bike, I know it's your property but it was on there property better again in there property, they should be liable
    Why?

It's your responsibility to do whatever you consider appropriate to protect your property (whether by locking, insuring or whatever). You could not expect a car park owner to compensate you if you had your car nicked from their property!

Beasty wrote: »
    I feel sick for you man savage bike, I know it's your property but it was on there property better again in there property, they should be liable
    Why?

It's your responsibility to do whatever you consider appropriate to protect your property (whether by locking, insuring or whatever). You could not expect a car park owner to compensate you if you had your car nicked from their property!

I agree if it was in a carpark but as he works in an office and thats were he said the bike was taking from, I tought the securty/company would be more liable for it! I would think if important information was stolen that he obtained trough work they would be all over it! I'd look into it more weather I'm or your right. I'm sure there's something the company can do!!

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭cipo

Thanks for replies guys!!

I work in a large office block from which the bike was stolen. It was withink the office block, not in a car park. It appears that they broke in undetected through a fire door or window within 2metres of my desk( only an internal fire door separates them) at 2.20 in the day!! No alarm on fire door / window.

I was out of office from 10am & returned at 5pm....

CCTV clearly shows them with the bike and attempting to gain access through other doors on the lane that is adjacent.

I'm not holding my breath.

They broke into our offices through secure windows / doors to a space that staff regularly walk through... We re just lucky that no one ended up confronting them by accident as it could ve been a lot worse!!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,128 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I agree if it was in a carpark but as he works in an office and thats were he said the bike was taking from, I tought the securty/company would be more liable for it! I would think if important information was stolen that he obtained trough work they would be all over it! I'd look into it more weather I'm or your right. I'm sure there's something the company can do!!
    If it's a requirement that he brings his own bike to work and leaves it in the office you may have a point, but from what I can see he brought it into the office of his own freewill. You cannot expect an employer to mind your personal belongings (that are not required to do your job) for you

Beasty wrote: »
    If it's a requirement that he brings his own bike to work and leaves it in the office you may have a point, but from what I can see he brought it into the office of his own freewill. You cannot expect an employer to mind your personal belongings (that are not required to do your job) for you

I suspose so, that slipped my mind beasty

• Registered Users Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

cipo has lost his bike. I'm sure he doesn't want to loose his job as well by threatening his boss ...

route66 wrote: »
    cipo has lost his bike. I'm sure he doesn't want to loose his job as well by threatening his boss ...

Haha this is true!!

It's complicated my co. rent from another company.

I now know they got in through the fire door with a simple screw driver or long file.... Scary how easy it is... I always thought they were alarmed!!

Is there any pint in me trying to put a pic up here... It's just it's very unique and would be obvious if anyone saw it....

Thanks again

Dave

• Registered Users Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Haha this is true!!

It's complicated my co. rent from another company.

I now know they got in through the fire door with a simple screw driver or long file.... Scary how easy it is... I always thought they were alarmed!!

Is there any pint in me trying to put a pic up here... It's just it's very unique and would be obvious if anyone saw it....

Thanks again

Dave

Its no harm putting up photos

x2_cb78bfe
    This without cosmic SLR wheels. Has older Mavic ksyrium ssc on it.

D

Not showing up image .. I'm taking it directly from twitter link of pic and pasting it in between img img ... Any ideas??

Dave

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭-PornStar-

I cant get the pic to work either. The way twitter handles pictures, purposely messes up trying to directly link to it. An image locker like photobucket is a lot better for sharing pics on forums.

You can see the pic if you link directly to the url though.

http://lockerz.com/s/213355518

I did it by copying the shortcut from the host website and wrapping the image tags around the url

Hopefully it's rare and distinctive enough of a bike for someone to spot it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

Do you cycle by fairview usually cipo? I someone on a Wilier exactly like that I think it was yesterday around 3:30pm caught my eye.

Crow92 wrote: »
    Do you cycle by fairview usually cipo? I someone on a Wilier exactly like that I think it was yesterday around 3:30pm caught my eye.

Hey

I do all the time... I live out the coast!!

Are you sure it was y/day?? Cos it wasn't me y/day...

Fk it... I had hope that we might find it by today lunch time!!

Not much chance now!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

Shoot may of been tuesday not 100% sure, last few days cycling have been a blur for me. I will keep an eye out though, very distinctive bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

I remember someone on here had their Bianchi stolen about 18 months back and posted up a CCTV pic of the guy who did it. I saw someone very similar get on a bus a couple days later in Fairview. Just sayin.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 davyboyjones

STOLEN - Black genesis day 00, Shimano Sora levers.

Please spread the word so that nobody buys a knock off and hopefully I might get it back.

Frame # 890CH09H11 (I think)

Lads

Can't believe this has just happened but my pride & joy Wilier Cento Uno in white, red, carbon has just been nicked from my office!! It's 2010 model with SRAM force groupset and ksyrium ssc sl wheels. White bar tape, hudz and saddle with PRO stem and handlebars!!!

Obviously a long shot but anyone who might by the biggest stroke of luck come across it please get in touch...

I can't upload a pic as I'm on my iPhone....

Logged with Gardai and security guard in building who was entirely useless and immediately was on the defensive!!

Anyway don't know what else to do....

Dave

hi cipo

<snip> do not post details of any adverts you consider may be "dodgy" - you can PM the poster or report it to the Guards - Beasty

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭allez

So sorry to hear that clipo :( i remember there used too be two scumbag teenagers who managed to steal an s-works from bluepool and tried selling it to us in the bike shop i once worked in. we contacted the guards and i believe he got the bike back. Hopefully theyre thick enough to do something stupid with such a recognizable and unique bike.

Lads

Thanks for the messages... Don't know what to think re: ads. I can't be suspecting anyone and everyone but it's tough not to!! ;-)

I'm just hoping someone tries to sell it somewhere and one of the many decent folk in this world picks it up or notifies me!!

I think lots have sen it on twitter so fingers crossed ...

Thaks

Cipo (dave)

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭cyclocross!

Hi Everyone,
    I know this is a long shot and an all to often occurance on this forum. But I have just had a six-day old Sensa Trentino Cyclocross bike stolen from my garden shed. It is a bloody big bike 61cm and when you add in the extra ground clearance it is very big. It is a very unusual bike so if you see it knocking around or up for sale anywhere please let me know. link below to Sensa website, Exactly the same as this bike Ultegra group and black Richey stem rather than white one.

http://www.sensabikes.com/product_info.php?cPath=7&products_id=508

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I would advise against posting your personal email here. Sorry to hear about your bike, hope you get it back.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 chapster

My bike was stolen today (from UCD for anyone who would have their locked up there) despite having two good locks on it.

I've reported it to the Gardaí (frame number, description, etc.) but realistically I'm not holding out much hope. I was advised to keep an eye on websites like Gumtree and BuyandSell to see if it pops up there but I've also heard that there's a place in town (I think somewhere around Smithfield) that most stolen bikes end up. Does anyone know anything about this?

chapster wrote: »
    I've also heard that there's a place in town (I think somewhere around Smithfield) that most stolen bikes end up. Does anyone know anything about this?
    No naming here of specific establishments you suspect could be handling stolen goods. Report them to the Guards

Beasty

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭elderberry

2 bikes stolen from shed in back garden in Mount Argus estate, Harolds Cross. Possibly taken abt 4am this morning (19/6) as neighbour woken by his dog barking around then, the scum came in through the side of his house & then hopped over fence

1. Specialized Hardrock MTB
    exactly as in attached pic, it's a 20" frame

2. Cannondale 14 speed racer
    Don't have pic but very similar looking to bike in attached pdf.

White aluminium frame (abt 19/20") with "CANNONDALE" in red lettering & red cable casing. It's from late eighties, still has old school shifters on frame. Two bottle cages on it, one metal and one cheap hard plastic. Black Crivit (aldi/lidl one) saddle, silver metallic Cinelli headset with black handlebar tape. Schwalbe tyres, raleigh road pedals with toe clips. Pic of saddle & pedals attached too though frame is fairly distinctive so would stand out to anyone who knows their bikes

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Joe blogs the third

Hi all

Thanks for all the comments, tips etc on here.

Had my new felt qx 85 stolen last Sunday night in stillorgan. Complete disaster, loved the bike. Was well locked but cutting device used.
    It's all black, with distinctive green stripes. Hydraulic disc brakes really make it stand out from other hybrid bikes. It has a unique code on it which can be seen under uv light even if removed. Don't see many of them about at all so I have some vague hope that someone on here may see it or be offered it in sale.

Not holding out much hope that gardai can find it so relying on a good deed to undo the bad deed.

Sean

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ninap

Terrible to hear of so many bikes getting nicked. In general, It might help others to know what type of locks were being used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭Tobyglen

Bike nicked in Ranelagh last night/Sat night, by Northbrook clinic.

It had a U lock which cost 50 quid, the bike itself was worth about 120 & there seems to be no evidence of use of electric tools. No sign of lock either. Bit strange really.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭managerman

yo all

bike stolen from grosvenor square last night, a reebok trakker, had chain on it, used bolt cutters to get chain off, just to let people know

pics atttached of bike and of link of chain found on ground

sorry mods if not meant to mention address