Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Bloch wrote: »

Specialized Globe Elite, IG8 (8 internal gears) navy blue
    In Stoneybatter area. I left the bike outside the house for literally 5 minutes with Kryptonite lock around the back wheel. Someone ran off with it, possiblly to O'Deaveny Gardens or to the North Circular Road.

Arrgh, gutted for you and a great lesson to the rest of us. I've often done the same and won't be chancing it anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

In Stoneybatter area. I left the bike outside the house for literally 5 minutes with Kryptonite lock around the back wheel. Someone ran off with it, possiblly to O'Deaveny Gardens or to the North Circular Road.

It has a bracket for a Hamax childs seat, and mudguards and a very slight kink backward in the seat post.

Hub gear bikes are thin on the ground, it might turn up.

Live in Stoneybatter - will keep a sharp eye out!

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Bloch

Thanks Ilikefood I appreciate that.

I've been cycling around keeping an eye out. They couldn't have carried it far. They could well buckle the back wheel trying to get the lock off and just abandon it somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

spec_glb_elite_navy_08_m.jpg

It has a bracket for a Hamax childs seat, and mudguards and a very slight kink backward in the seat post.

Hub gear bikes are thin on the ground, it might turn up.

Hey man,

I saw this bike cable locked outside Swift House on Patrick Street, between Daybreak Newsagents and a pharmacy. It had the specialised name tapped over with a flourescent strip, a rear mudguard with a lip at the end. Suspension seat post but couldn't see any baby chair bracket...took pictures. PM me your email and ill send them to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

My brother in law who lives in Stockport Manchester had his brand new Giant Defy Advance 2, his 2012 Specialized Sirrus hybrid and a Garmin 810 stolen from his garage in Stockport Manchester. Posting here as someone told me that stolen bikes do get shipped abroad quickly after the theft. He and his bikes have an Irish connection as he cycles the ROK and other sportives here every year.

So if you see a very nice Giant Defy Advanced 2 and/or a Specialized Sirrus pop up for sale here let me know.

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭grodge

I'm back!

Went down to my nice and 'secure' underground car park and noticed the bike was gone. Initial disbelief soon became cold realisation that it was stolen, and this was confirmed when I went over to inspect and seen the metal bar that the bikes are locked to ripped from the wall in what I can only describe as a feat of amazing junkie strength.

The thing that pisses me off is that I had a lovely new bike stolen over a year ago. So I bought a solid road bike, second hand. No bells or whistles or anything fancy on it. I even went to the trouble of buying a load of stickers on ebay to cover the bike and make it look even more used than it was. All to no avail.

There is not a single thing you can do in Dublin city that will prevent a bike being stolen. If they want it, they will have it. Last bike had the lock cut with a battery angle grinder in the middle to town at 3pm on a friday, with witnesses. This time a metal bar was ripped from the wall and the bike (still locked with a kryptonite orange lock and rope) was just slid of and the lock dealt with later.

Anyway I have a picture of the bike. There is guaranteed no other bike like this in Dublin. The give away is the Shimano stickers on the forks, and cycle cross brakes on the handle bar (4 brakes in total). Its a TREK 1000 i think

If anyone sees it let send me a PM or say a prayer or whatever. The bike is gone and its not coming back, and its through experience I know this for a fact.
    http://i.imgur.com/kfJjhKG.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/UrugrD8.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/oOeaW82.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

Why do the online sites not look for proof of ownership, if you sell a car you have to provide it, why not the same with bikes. it cant be to much hassle for the online sites, I understand they get a percentage & I am not for a second claiming that they have in any way a relationship with the sellers but if 1 online started to look at "John E Toerag" & not a store who has sold 10,20,50 plus bikes over a period of time they cant be as dumb as a post & they must realise whats going on.

If a site refused to sell bikes (& other items) without proof of ownership & broadcast thats how they intend to operate, it might start a reaction among the others & make it less attractive for those out there currently stealing and selling bikes. (christ Im starting to sound like Joe Duffy)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭sebcity

Bloggsie wrote: »
    Why do the online sites not look for proof of ownership, if you sell a car you have to provide it, why not the same with bikes. it cant be to much hassle for the online sites, I understand they get a percentage & I am not for a second claiming that they have in any way a relationship with the sellers but if 1 online started to look at "John E Toerag" & not a store who has sold 10,20,50 plus bikes over a period of time they cant be as dumb as a post & they must realise whats going on.

If a site refused to sell bikes (& other items) without proof of ownership & broadcast thats how they intend to operate, it might start a reaction among the others & make it less attractive for those out there currently stealing and selling bikes. (christ Im starting to sound like Joe Duffy)

I have screenshots of one "John E Toerag" selling many bikes over a few weeks during the summer. They all came with the "I barely used this bike so selling it, still have the warranty" spiel too. Website or Gardai couldn't give a monkeys.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,210 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

sebcity wrote: »
    I have screenshots of one "John E Toerag" selling many bikes over a few weeks during the summer. They all came with the "I barely used this bike so selling it, still have the warranty" spiel too. Website or Gardai couldn't give a monkeys.

A website/company cannot move against a person selling items unless a report or complaint is made against the seller. For example, on DoneDeal you will some times see tractors for sale for, for instance, €6000, when anybody familiar with the market would know that particular machine should be costing €15,000.
    If Ad is reported, it will be removed, and the seller blocked from advertising on the site.
    The biggest problem, in this and many other aspects of criminality in this country, is the easy availability of SIM cards and "throw away" untraceable mobile phones. I could advertise 10 stolen bikes, and easily have a different phone number and Done Deal account for each one.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,292 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    The biggest problem, in this and many other aspects of criminality in this country, is the easy availability of SIM cards and "throw away" untraceable mobile phones.

True dat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Saw this on the Garda Twitter, unusual for them to be asking for the whereabouts of a specific bike ?

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/519423078817103874

• Registered Users Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Saw this on the Garda Twitter, unusual for them to be asking for the whereabouts of a specific bike ?

Probably belongs to a member of AGS or perhaps the seat post is packed full of golden brown.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭moby2101

Hi
    My mates bike was stolen from the back of his car this evening (Sunday) outside a shop on Henry St Limerick..Cube 29er.. same as the one in the photo.

If anyone comes across it online or in the flesh, would be appreciated if you could post here.

V
    Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Jmcmen

Ah back to this Thread again......

For what its worth, Came down on Saturday and the two wheels off my commuter bike were taken from the underground carpark. They took other bikes but couldn't snip my lock on the frame, Its a large motor bike lock that I leave there all the time. Usually lock them through religiously but was in a mad rush coming home one evening last week. Couple of other bikes in the racked seemed to have been snipped and taken

They are either in a bush or sold for about €20 and will end up costing me circa €200/250 to replace. Had just put a new set of Durano Plus Tyres on them. Very Very annoying.

Death Penalty is the only reasonable punishment for a bike thief in my book :-) !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,210 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Jmcmen wrote: »
    Death Penalty is the only reasonable punishment for a bike thief in my book :-) !!!

D lock them by the neck to a handy railing, some wet night.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 LugsB

Jmcmen wrote: »
    Ah back to this Thread again......

For what its worth, Came down on Saturday and the two wheels off my commuter bike were taken from the underground carpark. They took other bikes but couldn't snip my lock on the frame, Its a large motor bike lock that I leave there all the time. Usually lock them through religiously but was in a mad rush coming home one evening last week. Couple of other bikes in the racked seemed to have been snipped and taken

They are either in a bush or sold for about €20 and will end up costing me circa €200/250 to replace. Had just put a new set of Durano Plus Tyres on them. Very Very annoying.

+1 on the type of punishment!

My bike was stolen from the 'secure' lockup in my apartment basement.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 kevthedoer

hi Lads. Cannondale super six evo ultegra 2014 stolen in Clane yesterday. Very distinctive blue. Image on naas CC FB page. Can ye keep a look out? Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭Ryath

kevthedoer wrote: »
    hi Lads. Cannondale super six evo ultegra 2014 stolen in Clane yesterday. Very distinctive blue. Image on naas CC FB page. Can ye keep a look out? Cheers
    10696404_647062645392229_2591185977482560581_n.jpg?oh=ee41df82646baba0d3642eda7a147d3d&oe=54C5A62D&__gda__=1421542129_65fcd25da59101a9396690cf8fa9b9f4

• Registered Users Posts: 11 t_dog

My boyfriends bike was stolen from an apartment's underground ("secured") car park in Ballsbridge. After being told that the security cameras aren't working so nothing has been caught.

It's a grey hybrid Scott bike with dynamo lights. haven't posted enough so unable to post a picture...

I've had a good luck on done deal, adverts etc but no sign yet. Anyone have any advice on where to keep an eye out?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Amazingfun wrote: »
    Arrgh, gutted for you and a great lesson to the rest of us. I've often done the same and won't be chancing it anymore.

Whats the issue with Kryptonite locks? When i got my bike everybody was telling to to get one.

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭AlanDeGenerous

chopper6 wrote: »
    Whats the issue with Kryptonite locks? When i got my bike everybody was telling to to get one.

I think they're referring to leaving a lock around the back wheel.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

chopper6 wrote: »
    I think they're referring to leaving a lock around the back wheel.

Judging by the story, someone locked the bike to itself and the thief picked the whole lot up and carried it away. Didn't really matter which lock was being used in that case, unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭Finglas Incubus

On the train this morning @ about 8am, spotted a dark red Trek MTB left unattended beside a waste bin on the platform in Navan Road Parkway train station. It might be innocuous and the owner was closeby but I couldn't see anyone on the platform. Might be something, might be nothing...

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭dragon_lordMTB

My 2013 Trek 1.5 road bike and my 2011 Canyon AM MTB were stolen from garden shed in Lucan on Tuesday night 14th October. Canyon has new Hans Dampf tyres.
    Xfe8bhxEKZAlI7Egzqw8oZSiLa6BftRbKokxg6PRMlGB=w347-h207-p-no
    HTjHAq-9Y9cvt14D0quZmt2-_MWsc6ffCIkECYkgHHNN=w367-h207-p-no
    J1H3KvMGPXNg4QjlcKcdh0iB0UYnog89v0-Kd4bHE3Gu=w276-h207-p-no

Locked together in locked garden shed behind locked side gate. Determined thieves!

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭ocisorrenta

Guys, a red Dolan Preffisio was stolen from the Cherrywood Business Park, Loughlinstown, Dublin 18 on Tuesday afternoon. Please keep an eye out for this online and out on the road. A reward is offered for its return.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭Medceltic

Dark Grey Hide bike (Specialized written in Metallic Grey) 24" bike with mudguards, Continental tires, Leather Seat.
    Stolen from Lidl Children's Road Limerick Sunday 5th October 15:30.
    Please if anyone see it, would you please Contact by phone Limerick, Roxboro Garda station.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Guys,

I am thinking about setting up a volunteer Stolen Bike Recovery facebook, this will help owners and gardai recover their bicycles, i have two sucecss stories, and 1 pending investigation that was published on the garda twitter 2 weeks ago.

Basically, i would like a few users to have access to the facebook, help look through poosts and forms, search done deal and adverts and inform gardai and victims. Also it would share tweets and posts from Garda HQ on bicycles that havent been claimed.

Any interest?

ThisRegard wrote: »

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/519423078817103874

On adverts for sale day after the reported theft, suspicion is reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭sebcity

Galway K9 wrote: »
    Guys,

I am thinking about setting up a volunteer Stolen Bike Recovery facebook, this will help owners and gardai recover their bicycles, i have two sucecss stories, and 1 pending investigation that was published on the garda twitter 2 weeks ago.

Basically, i would like a few users to have access to the facebook, help look through poosts and forms, search done deal and adverts and inform gardai and victims. Also it would share tweets and posts from Garda HQ on bicycles that havent been claimed.

Any interest?

Does bikeregister.ie kind of do this already?

sebcity wrote: »
    Does bikeregister.ie kind of do this already?

Looks it, didnt think they went through for sale ads tho, always thought was a report bike stolen and enter serial number for bikes also. Thanks for reminding me of this.