Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 17,929 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

iniall wrote: »
    Did you read the review on the link? It doesn't agree with you about the locks (but yes, nothing beats an anglegrinder),
    I read the bit where you bought the cheapest Kryptonite when a few Euro more would have got you a good one, that's all.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭iniall

Thargor wrote: »
    I read the bit where you bought the cheapest Kryptonite when a few Euro more would have got you a good one, that's all.

So... you didn't read the review that concluded that the best bike lock was the Kryptonite Series 2. But hey, good reply!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

GetWithIt wrote: »
    I was somewhat surprised by the initial survey results. The map indicated that there were no real hotspots. It was an almost perfect distribution across the city centre. Not sure what that means.
    The survey does not say that the location is that of any theft incident. If that is what the location is intended for then the survey is fatally flawed in my opinion. That would seem like a key piece of information, but it is not clearly asked. e.g. Why does it ask me for a location if I have never had a theft?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

TheBoss11 wrote: »
    Yeah my job don't let me bring it into the back yard of the building so I lock it to a pole with a cable lock. I'd imagine the cable locks are easily breakable though

It's well worth chasing up on this issue with the boss. It would make a huge difference to your bike's safety.

iniall wrote: »
    So... you didn't read the review that concluded that the best bike lock was the Kryptonite Series 2. But hey, good reply!
    Well the review is clearly wrong then if they conclude that. Go into a shop and hold a Kryptonite New York in your hand and see if you can spot the difference between that and a €30 budget lock like the Series 2 which might actually attract thieves to a bike when they can easily see by the colour that its secured with the weakest lock a brand sells.

Kryptonites own website ratings agrees with me:

Grey series 2: 6/10

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/Pages/ProductInformation.aspx?PNumber=001041

Orange Evolution: 8/10

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/Pages/ProductInformation.aspx?PNumber=001010

Yellow New York: 9/10

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/Pages/ProductInformation.aspx?PNumber=000952

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭iniall

Well the review is clearly wrong then if they conclude that. Go into a shop and hold a Kryptonite New York in your hand and see if you can spot the difference between that and a €30 budget lock like the Series 2 which might actually attract thieves to a bike when they can easily see by the colour that its secured with the weakest lock a brand sells.

Kryptonites own website ratings agrees with me:

Grey series 2: 6/10

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/Pages/ProductInformation.aspx?PNumber=001041

Orange Evolution: 8/10

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/Pages/ProductInformation.aspx?PNumber=001010

Yellow New York: 9/10

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/Pages/ProductInformation.aspx?PNumber=000952

If you're arguing that a lengthy, clearly well-researched and thought-out review - that you haven't read - is wrong, then I'll leave you to it.

I think you're the one that needs to read it, from the way he writes its obvious he's a total amateur at this, he selects the series 2 because it comes with the cable and good mounting bracket... except you get those with the Evolution aswell, and they can be had for a tenner if they don't come with the New York (which I have seen). He then goes straight on to recommend the New York over any of them if your bike is worth more than $1000, which is only about €750-800.

Also the New York locks on both sides, requiring 2 cuts. As has been said multiple times on here, every lock is breakable, its about making someone elses bike more convenient to the thief than yours. If you think those grey cheapo Kryptonites are better than the Fahgetaboutit then you dont have a clue sorry. That article is crazy to recommend something with metal weak enough to pop using the frame as a lever over a lock that requires a few minutes to get through with an anglegrinder (twice). Good luck leaving your bike out in Dublin for a day with something the manufacturer themselves calls a budget lock.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

On a slightly different note, if this week's Web Summit has taught me anything is that you need to innovate to bring in the megabucks. We need to rethink the nature of security, make it a little less passive and a little more active with a little bit of some kind of social media cloud based jiggerypokery added in.

Ladies and Gentlemen, what I'm proposing is a seat post concealing a CO2 actuated bad guy harpoon.
    Step 1 - A bad guy cycles away on your pride and joy without your permission. The bad guy sensing circuitry will activate the device.
    Step 2 - Some kind of webby appy social media wizardry happens and you are alerted on your smart device to 'spike', or 'harpoonerite' your launcher. (The boffins will figure out all these minor details, I'm just here for the big picture!).
    Step 3 - Boom!!! Harpoon in the fundament for a surprised looking bad guy.
    Step 4 - Aiieeee!! Follow sounds of distressed bad guy to collect your bike.

I'll let you all know when I launch the kickstarter campaign...!

Oh, if anyone can think of a snappy name for this device, please forward it on. There will of course be a carbon version for the weight conscious.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭flyguy

BailMeOut wrote: »
    There must be some inexpensive option to 'chip' and GPS track bikes these days?

TrackR Bravo could be an idea, depends on other users having the same app though...
    http://igg.me/at/TrackRbravo/x/4033518

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭BrianHenryIE

quozl wrote: »
    There definitely hadn't been any with the New York locks the last time I read the whole thread (about a year ago but i've read most posts since too) and I can't honestly say that I remember series 4 kryptonites showing up in here?

I looked through the thread a while ago and couldn't find any mention of orange Kryptonites. I bring an orange and a grey one everywhere and add two yellow ones at night. The grey one I have was actually a friend's but when they tried to lever it off with the bike, they ruined the bike and the lock held.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

ballooba wrote: »
    The survey does not say that the location is that of any theft incident. If that is what the location is intended for then the survey is fatally flawed in my opinion. That would seem like a key piece of information, but it is not clearly asked. e.g. Why does it ask me for a location if I have never had a theft?
    Steps in survey
    Step 1: Answer the questions

Step 2: Below the questions you`ll see a street map of Dublin. Double click on map to zoom in to indicate exactly where your bike was stolen.

Step 3: Click the `Submit` button below the map once you`ve indicated the location of the theft.
    Not trying to be smart, just quoting the page. Though I agree that it's not 100% clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

GetWithIt wrote: »
    Not trying to be smart, just quoting the page. Though I agree that it's not 100% clear.

When I did the survey, it wouldn't accept it until I indicated a location on the map. In my case, it was a home location as I luckily haven't had a bike stolen in the past five years.
    Maybe they have fixed it since the other night.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

Hey lads,

A brand new (circa 4 months) old Ridgeback Motion bike was robbed from my back yard today. Fairly gutted being honest as got it via bike2work and couldnt afford another.

Its grey, large frame (I'm six foot), had both both front and rear mudguards on which where black with a silver streak on them.

Attached below is a picture on the off chance anyone spots it there.

d30JLA.jpg

I know its probably a long shot but if anyone here's or sees anythings id greatly appreciate a heads up.

I am off to scour donedeal etc. Any one recommend any other sites where these are usually flogged.

Cheers in advance,

S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭annejohn91

the usual websites such as Adverts and Gumtree. My partner found his bike last week on Adverts so who knows but it was posted 8 days after it was stolen so check everyday for about 2 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

annejohn91 wrote: »
    the usual websites such as Adverts and Gumtree. My partner found his bike last week on Adverts so who knows but it was posted 8 days after it was stolen so check everyday for about 2 weeks.

Cheers,

I had actually forgotten about gumtree. Ill keep an eye on it!

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

TheSheriff wrote: »
    Cheers,

I had actually forgotten about gumtree. Ill keep an eye on it!

Buyandsell.ie do free ads now so expect a few stolen bikes to appear there.

I popped down to a local car boot sale/market this morning.There was a good few bikes for sale.Didn't get to take a good look as I had my hands full with the kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭thewing

Well,

My beloved Specialized Camber Pro Evo 2013 was pinched out of my shed yesterday morning between 10am and 2pm.

See similar in photo http://stwww.bikemag.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/Specialized-Camber-Expert-Carbon-Evo-29.jpg

Its a long shot but no harm in trying, thanks for reading this.

Gutted as it was a wedding present as well. Bastards.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭superman28

White Giant M1, stolen from the bike station at the Spencer Dock Luas station bike rack on the 11th of November during the day between 9am and 5pm.. had a heavey chain lock (not so good in the end)

I only had it 48 hours,, and usually never leave bikes outdoors even during the day.. :(

Please PM me if you come accross the bike anywhere for sale..

http://www.adverts.ie/hybrid-bikes/giant-hybrid-bike-in-great-condition/6741988?notification=617e05b1bd149089712ddf618e27ff5e-1415130816#comment_38924394

Dublin 1 is a no go area at the best of times,, and the Red Luas line is a joke,, rang their customer service to ask about CCTV was told to contact the local "Guards",,, jokeshop..

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭stas

If a person whose bike (blue large Trek I think) was nicked from the basement in The Ash, Bellarmine last night is looking for time - I'm pretty sure it was gone between 23:00 and 0:00, as I went out and came back around the same times to find one of the bikes to be on its side (something I would've spotted when leaving) and one of the bikes missing, locks cut and on the ground and a distinct smell of metal grinder in the air. I have asked another person who was there and getting his stuff out of the car and they didn't see anyone either.

There's a camera there, and with this time interval it should be easy enough to see the thieves if guards get involved.

Bellarmine in Stepaside is famous for bikes getting nicked, please don't leave you bikes in the basement ever.

2014-11-11%2023.57.49.jpg?dl=1

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

10395830_10152845684034483_5952002271106977446_n.jpg?oh=67a0c6b6e2b1a4fcfa1392c9de827e68&oe=54DE484C&__gda__=1424031923_d2e18d1da9313f7cbb26b9edf1e1e8e6

How did they get their hands on that? Whats it worth?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,292 ✭✭✭✭endacl

How did they get their hands on that? Whats it worth?

And how would they sell it?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/irish-man-with-rare-disease-appeals-for-return-of-stolen-specialised-bike-30742225.html

app-barry-rice.jpg
    Barry Rice (33) suffers from Friedrich's Ataxia, a neuromuscular disease that causes progressive damage to the nervous system.

The Dubliner's red tricycle, with a black bucket seat, was gifted to him by Friedreich's Ataxia Research Alliance (FARA) for his efforts in raising awareness and funds for the illness.

It was stolen from a underground Dublin carpark either on Sunday or Monday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Assholes... I see this guy regularly and heard the story on Joe Duffy when I was cycling home from work today.. I mean, anyone who see's that must know its a special needs machine.

I swear to God I'd love to wring the thief's neck for 'em.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,292 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Assholes... I see this guy regularly and heard the story on Joe Duffy when I was cycling home from work today.. I mean, anyone who see's that must know its a special needs machine.

I swear to God I'd love to wring the thief's neck for 'em.

FA is a fcucking horrible condition. If his trike doesn't turn up, I'd chip in for a replacement.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

I'd chip in for a replacement.

Me too. Lets wait a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

endacl wrote: »
    FA is a fcucking horrible condition. If his trike doesn't turn up, I'd chip in for a replacement.

a guy contacted Joe Duffy from Luxemburg with the offer of a free replacement if it can be collected... Now I could be slightly wrong on those exact details, I was in a world of wet misery cycling home through that fecking cyclone today :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

a guy contacted Joe Duffy from Luxemburg with the offer of a free replacement if it can be collected... Now I could be slightly wrong on those exact details, I was in a world of wet misery cycling home through that fecking cyclone today :mad:

You have it right, Maliyah Yellow Rig. The guy in Luxembourg said he'd arrange it if the stolen bike didn't show up over the next few days. Hopefully it'll turn up.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Good news story :)

1982172_341121702735767_6223537492383206376_n.jpg?oh=21c5e557ea9bda975aaa8cd3e40f48be&oe=551C9694

• Registered Users Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I just saw this on FB stolen from a member of the newly formed Gorey Cycling Club.

"One of the GCC members has had his Cervelo bike stolen people. We would appreciate you keeping an eye out for it. Contact the club if you have any info and please share!"

10600669_678935715537942_2830987106853890061_n.jpg?oh=9e408ab9968cc3e9975324e418e46af5&oe=54E19294&__gda__=1428133669_1e8c6b7c51762fe713f8b584725084d8