Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shannon airport and Ryanair

Options
  • 02-04-2011 10:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 49

So I'm sitting here in Shannon departure lounge, waiting to go back to Edinburgh where I'm a student. I can count 7 other non-staff passengers here too. Thats all just 7.

Should Shannon not just be handed over to Ryanair and have a stipulation that the current other airlines operating in it can just continue on as normal with no interference from Ryanair. Even if a trail period of 2-5 years was done and take it from there.

Now I'm well aware I don't have a clear view of the behind the scenes stuff etc.

I'm just throwing an idea out there and seeing what the opinion is of others.

Shannon would increase its numbers greatly. O'Leary would reduce the costs at shannon dramatically, its what he does best. Other airlines would be protected in some form of contract agreement. And of course it would create massive numbers of jobs and tourism for the west of Ireland.

As its stands this place is dying a slow and painful drawn out death.

If I am missing some huge issue that would cause this to be a bad idea, besides the obvious crap that you endure on a ryanair flight/booking, I'm sorry!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Your right in your observation. Shannon airport is basically dead and on life support. I would say the only thing keeping it open is the huge amount of US army personal that pass through it and the associated charges for landing.