Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

queens visit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

stovelid wrote: »
    Make sure and get one of those union jack body warmers for your pit bull.

I've got one for my dog. It doesn't look so intimidating on a pug though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Is it just me or does this article read like a poor copy and paste from an English paper?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/celtic-stars-father-held-in-dawn-raids-2614359.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Is it just me or does this article read like a poor copy and paste from an English paper?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/celtic-stars-father-held-in-dawn-raids-2614359.html

Elaborate, please? (with references to the text :D)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Im going to head down to this with my Ulster banner and stand next to them and see what they say. I hope i can see her majesty.

A donegal banner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

mike65 wrote: »
    A Union Flag flies on the Quay here in Waterford, but then we are a Home Rule type of town! ;)
    Speak for yourself.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Elaborate, please? (with references to the text :D)

It makes references to 'the queens visit to Ireland' and 'Dublin the Irish capital'. Reads like it was written by an English journalist at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It makes references to 'the queens visit to Ireland' and 'Dublin the Irish capital'. Reads like it was written by an English journalist at times.

Unless it's been edited, no it doean't. EDIT not the second one. As regards the first, what's wrong with it? If you think it should jsut read "the Queen's visit" then you're assuming it will only be read in Ireland.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Speak for yourself.:rolleyes:

He usually does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Waterford was well known as being a Home Rule city during the push for independence, John Redmond was a Wexford man but his power base was definitely Waterford City and the old Sinn Fein didn't win a seat in the landslide 1918 election, there is a theory that says the reason we have been ignored by FF for most of the states existence is down to that fact. Sounds a bit conspiratorial to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭moceri

I wonder if she will furtively try the Throne in Dublin Castle to see if it is comfortable to the Bottom Royal?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:%28Ireland%29_Dublin_Castle_Interior_%28Throne%29.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Sigh, she's going to be over for 4 days and I have exams on 3 of them. Don't know which of those days she'll be in the college for but I doubt I'll be lucky enough to miss it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Im saying that it is very convenient that the father of a Celtic footballer, and one of the most prominent anti visit campaigners had ammo in his shed(apparently).

It's a very convenient slur too.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

major bill wrote: »
    same here he is a funny ****er at times......I robbed this off Sickipedia.org

''''Found this online and it has convinced me that Prince Philip is a founding member of Sickipedia, it's a list of many of his politically correct one-liners:''

# "Still throwing spears?" (Question put to an Australian Aborigine during a visit in March 2002)

# "If a cricketer, for instance, suddenly decided to go into a school and batter a lot of people to death with a cricket bat, which he could do very easily, I mean, are you going to ban cricket bats?" (in 1996, amid calls to ban firearms after the Dunblane shooting)

# "How do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to get them through the test?" (Speaking to a driving instructor in Oban, Scotland)

# "It looks as if it was put in by an Indian." (in 1999, referring to an old-fashioned fuse box in a factory near Edinburgh)

# "You are a woman, aren't you?" (in 1984, in Kenya, to a native woman who had presented him with a small gift)

# "You can't have been here that long - you haven't got a pot belly." (in 1993, to a Briton in Budapest, Hungary)

# "Aren't most of you descended from pirates?" (in 1994, to an islander in the Cayman Islands)

# "You managed not to get eaten, then?" (in 1998, to a student who had been trekking in Papua New Guinea)

# "If it has got four legs and it is not a chair, if it has got two wings and it flies but is not an aeroplane, and if it swims and it is not a submarine, the Cantonese will eat it." (at a 1986 World Wildlife Fund meeting)

# "Brazilians live there” (On key problems facing Brazil)

# "Do you know they have eating dogs for the anorexic now?" (Sharing a joke with a blind, wheelchair-bound girl with a guide-dog)

# "In the event that I am reincarnated, I would like to return as a deadly virus, in order to contribute something to solve overpopulation."

# 'Ever been on a plane before? It was just like that.' (To the leader of Paraguay when asked how his flight was)

# 'Deaf? I'm not surprised with that bloody racket!' (To a class of deaf children sat next to a brass band)

# 'Do you have a licence for that?' (To a man in a motorized wheelchair)

# 'If you stay here much longer you'll all be slitty-eyed.' (To British students in China during Royal visit there in 1986.)

he is hilarious in all fairness. the fella off mock the week does a good impression of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Or even more likely they are harassing Stokes the owner of the Players Lounge for being against the visit.

Hold up a moment. You think that there is a high level Garda conspiracy afoot to plant ammunition and frame an innocent man because he objects to the Queen's visit? My God, that's delusional. When can we expect the raids on Sinn Fein so? Seriously, it frightens me somewhat when obviously intelligent people so blatantly twist reality to fit with their own worldview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

The reality of the queens visit:

- loads of irish people will say we dont want her here. that she shouldnt be coming over.
    - yet a few thousand people will flock to the streets to see her :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Im going to head down to this with my Ulster banner and stand next to them and see what they say. I hope i can see her majesty.

Good on ya Keith, Ulster as a province provide us with the most strongest Gaelic football teams but I fail to see how Lizzie will be impressed by this??:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

The Queen is totally in the RA boys. I sawed her being in it. She had a fist full of nitro fertilizer...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Trooperboyo

I'm not sure if this was mentioned but does anyone think it's a bit odd that she will be visiting the Garden of Remembrance in Dublin. It seems like such a polliticaly sensitive location for her to be visting, I mean there are many beautiful locations for her to visit, why here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I'm not sure if this was mentioned but does anyone think it's a bit odd that she will be visiting the Garden of Remembrance in Dublin. It seems like such a polliticaly sensitive location for her to be visting, I mean there are many beautiful locations for her to visit, why here?

Its normal for heads of state to visit it. I mean they're seen as the founders of the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭CommuterIE

I don't mind her visiting, I just hope the authorities are better prepared for any trouble that may happen, not like the love ulster thing when O'Connell St was a massive building site...

There may be a hardcore element who'll want to be seen and heard...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Wait and see then. :)

I see this post and raise to...

PICS OR GTFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

it's a bit odd that she will be visiting the Garden of Remembrance in Dublin. It seems like such a polliticaly sensitive location for her to be visting,

Apologise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Trooperboyo

Its normal for heads of state to visit it. I mean they're seen as the founders of the state.

I guess so, but it strikes me as odd that instead of visiting a garden of remembrance where there's a memorial for those killed fighting in British Uniform, she gets to visit the garden where it is a memorial to those killed fighting those in British Uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

CommuterIE wrote: »
    I don't mind her visiting, I just hope the authorities are better prepared for any trouble that may happen, not like the love ulster thing when O'Connell St was a massive building site...

There may be a hardcore element who'll want to be seen and heard...

I think the authorities have a plan to send Charlie Bird down O'Connell Street as the same time as the Queen. Just like at the Love Ulster rally, they reckon the rowdy element in the crowd would prefer to have a go at Charlie rather than the Queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

chughes wrote: »
    I think the authorities have a plan to send Charlie Bird down O'Connell Street as the same time as the Queen. Just like at the Love Ulster rally, they reckon the rowdy element in the crowd would prefer to have a go at Charlie rather than the Queen.

Na, they would rather snort Charlie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

I guess so, but it strikes me as odd that instead of visiting a garden of remembrance where there's a memorial for those killed fighting in British Uniform, she gets to visit the garden where it is a memorial to those killed fighting those in British Uniform.

She is going to the National War Memorial too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

It's common for visiting heads of state to lay a wreath at the Gardens of Remembrance. Albert of Monaco did the same last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭jumpin jaysus

Don't blacks use the "N" word to refer to each other?

different context completely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭The Brigadier

different context completely

Care to expand?

Einhard wrote: »
    Hold up a moment. You think that there is a high level Garda conspiracy afoot to plant ammunition and frame an innocent man because he objects to the Queen's visit? My God, that's delusional. When can we expect the raids on Sinn Fein so? Seriously, it frightens me somewhat when obviously intelligent people so blatantly twist reality to fit with their own worldview.

thats only part of it they have been trying to close his business down for a while now they believe it to be a haven for dissidents, and its not the first time the gardai have planted something incriminating at a raid to further their means. or for that matter tamper with evidence.

Care to expand?

brits is a term used by us them whoever its not an offensive term ive often used the term directly to them and never have any of them taken offence as it wasnt meant offensive just as the example i used with dubs i dont know of any dublin people who would take offence to that. on the other hand the'n' word as you put it is an offensive term it has always been used as an offensive term id say the majority of black people would take offence to this with good reason too. i do think your being petty in saying that they use it to describe themselves, people will always say they say it and use it in their songs etc but you dont have to be the smartest person to understand that its still offensive regardless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

éirígí announces details of protests during Windsor visit
    éirígí announces details of protests during Windsor visit, including the
    establishment of an Irish Freedom Camp at Garden of Remembrance.

éirígí has announced its preliminary plans for protests during the visit of the
    British head of state, Elizabeth Windsor. Speaking in Dublin éirígí
    Chairperson Brian Leeson outlined the socialist republican party’s plans for
    protests during Windsor’s engagements at both the Garden of Remembrance and
    Dublin Castle. Leeson said,

‘Although the Dublin and London governments have yet to reveal the exact
    timetable for the Windsor visit I can confirm that éirígí will be organising
    protests at both the Garden of Remembrance ceremony and the Dublin Castle
    banquet. Additional éirígí protests may well be announced closer to the date
    of Windsor’s arrival.

We have chosen to organise a protest at the Garden of Remembrance for obvious
    reasons. This garden is dedicated to those who have given their lives in the
    struggle for freedom from British domination and occupation. To have a British
    head of state visit the garden while the occupation of the Six Counties
    continues is deliberately insulting and provocative.

The fact that that the ceremony is scheduled to take place either on, or within
    a couple of days of, the anniversary of the 1974 Dublin/Monaghan bombings only
    adds insult to injury. Where else in the world would the commander-in-chief of
    a foreign military be feted within yards of where eleven innocent citizens were
    murdered by that same military? The British state has yet to admit its role in
    not only the Dublin/Monaghan bombings, but also the wider policy of collusion
    with the unionist death squads.’

Leeson continued by outlining éirígí’s plans for an Irish Freedom Camp,

‘At 3pm on Sunday May 15th éirígí will hold a rally at the Garden of Remembrance
    in opposition to the Windsor visit. And from that time until Windsor arrives at
    the Garden of Remembrance we intend to establish a twenty-four hour a day
    presence at the gardens in the form of an ‘Irish Freedom Camp’.

We are inviting people to join the freedom camp for as long as they can, at any
    point over the number of days that it will be in place. We hope that the camp
    will act as a rallying point for those who are opposed to this visit and all
    that it represents.’

Leeson concluded by outlining éirígí’s protest plans for the Dublin Castle
    banquet,

‘At a time when so many Irish people are struggling to put bread on the table
    and keep a roof over their heads it is nothing short of sickening that the
    Dublin government have chosen to treat Windsor and her entourage to the most
    lavish of banquets in Dublin Castle. I have no doubt that the banquet will be
    attended by many of the same politicians, business people and other so called
    leaders who are responsible for the current economic mess. I don’t imagine
    that they will be asked to eat the same EU-subsidised cheese that the state was
    so happy to distribute to the population before Christmas.

'éirígí are organising a protest at the Dublin Castle banquet to give the people
    of Dublin and the rest of the country the opportunity to not only register their
    disgust at the Windsor visit, but also to vent their anger at the ruling elite
    of this state who think they can continue to live the like princes and
    princesses while the rest of us face unemployment, poverty, emigration and
    despair.’

Some good ideas there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

éirígí announces details of protests during Windsor visit
    éirígí announces details of protests during Windsor visit, including the
    establishment of an Irish Freedom Camp at Garden of Remembrance.

éirígí has announced its preliminary plans for protests during the visit of the
    British head of state, Elizabeth Windsor. Speaking in Dublin éirígí
    Chairperson Brian Leeson outlined the socialist republican party’s plans for
    protests during Windsor’s engagements at both the Garden of Remembrance and
    Dublin Castle. Leeson said,

‘Although the Dublin and London governments have yet to reveal the exact
    timetable for the Windsor visit I can confirm that éirígí will be organising
    protests at both the Garden of Remembrance ceremony and the Dublin Castle
    banquet. Additional éirígí protests may well be announced closer to the date
    of Windsor’s arrival.

We have chosen to organise a protest at the Garden of Remembrance for obvious
    reasons. This garden is dedicated to those who have given their lives in the
    struggle for freedom from British domination and occupation. To have a British
    head of state visit the garden while the occupation of the Six Counties
    continues is deliberately insulting and provocative.

The fact that that the ceremony is scheduled to take place either on, or within
    a couple of days of, the anniversary of the 1974 Dublin/Monaghan bombings only
    adds insult to injury. Where else in the world would the commander-in-chief of
    a foreign military be feted within yards of where eleven innocent citizens were
    murdered by that same military? The British state has yet to admit its role in
    not only the Dublin/Monaghan bombings, but also the wider policy of collusion
    with the unionist death squads.’

Leeson continued by outlining éirígí’s plans for an Irish Freedom Camp,

‘At 3pm on Sunday May 15th éirígí will hold a rally at the Garden of Remembrance
    in opposition to the Windsor visit. And from that time until Windsor arrives at
    the Garden of Remembrance we intend to establish a twenty-four hour a day
    presence at the gardens in the form of an ‘Irish Freedom Camp’.

We are inviting people to join the freedom camp for as long as they can, at any
    point over the number of days that it will be in place. We hope that the camp
    will act as a rallying point for those who are opposed to this visit and all
    that it represents.’

Leeson concluded by outlining éirígí’s protest plans for the Dublin Castle
    banquet,

‘At a time when so many Irish people are struggling to put bread on the table
    and keep a roof over their heads it is nothing short of sickening that the
    Dublin government have chosen to treat Windsor and her entourage to the most
    lavish of banquets in Dublin Castle. I have no doubt that the banquet will be
    attended by many of the same politicians, business people and other so called
    leaders who are responsible for the current economic mess. I don’t imagine
    that they will be asked to eat the same EU-subsidised cheese that the state was
    so happy to distribute to the population before Christmas.

'éirígí are organising a protest at the Dublin Castle banquet to give the people
    of Dublin and the rest of the country the opportunity to not only register their
    disgust at the Windsor visit, but also to vent their anger at the ruling elite
    of this state who think they can continue to live the like princes and
    princesses while the rest of us face unemployment, poverty, emigration and
    despair.’

Some good ideas there.

Eirigi are psychos - not a word of protest on their site for Prince Albert's visit and I see you have no mention of their tasteless guillotine protest there, no?

"The protest, which is set to take place at 1pm on Saturday April 16th at the GPO in Dublin, will feature a piece of street theatre which will see ‘Elizabeth Windsor’ beheaded in a French revolution-style guillotine."

Subtle.

Eirigi are psychos - not a word of protest on their site for Prince Albert's visit and I see you have no mention of their tasteless guillotine protest there, no?

"The protest, which is set to take place at 1pm on Saturday April 16th at the GPO in Dublin, will feature a piece of street theatre which will see ‘Elizabeth Windsor’ beheaded in a French revolution-style guillotine."

Subtle.
    Pretty sure I posted that earlier. How are they psychos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

From my reading of that, the Queen is responsible for the Dublin/Monaghan bombings? :eek:

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

No, the British state.

Pretty sure I posted that earlier. How are they psychos?

They're a political group with no policies whatsoever - that's a problem. All they do is encourage populist protests surrounding every single leftist agenda possible, with the hope that people will gravitate to at least one of their causes. And they way to actually demonstrate (occupying buildings, throwing paint, throwing Israeli supermarket produce on the ground) is counter-productive and childish in the extreme, designed purely to get them tabloid coverage at the expense of all else.

lol

Must have missed the whole republican 32 county socialist republic bit there.

lol

Must have missed the whole republican 32 county socialist republic bit there.

They have protest campaigns, not policies. Rofl/lolz

I think they make many good points and make a lot of sense on certain issues, although I am not a member myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Some good ideas there.

I agree insofar as long as they don't organise violence or rioting etc., then I have no problem with any protest they conjure up. I may not agree with them but they have every right to.

I think they make many good points and make a lot of sense on certain issues, although I am not a member myself.

Well everybody's entitled to their opinion and protests, but I personally find their methods of protest are invariably illegal in some form or another, hence my opposition. As long as they're not actively encouraging people to riot etc, they're entitled to their protests, although I personally find the beheading 'street theatre' reprehensible

i dont think they'll need to i can see that happening anyway, it sticks out a mile

Meh, as long as no one is hurt its grand with me, nothing wrong with sit ins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Why would anyone want to see the Queen? Just your typcial tabloid trash-reading folk with nothing better to do than to have a gawk at a scandalous out-dated monarchy fogey who has someone to wipe her arse for her as she is so much better than everyone else. Saddos.

Some people here would probably bow before her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Warper wrote: »
    Why would anyone want to see the Queen? Just your typcial tabloid trash-reading folk with nothing better to do than to have a gawk at a scandalous out-dated monarchy fogey who has someone to wipe her arse for her as she is so much better than everyone else. Saddos.

Well, in spite of all of the proven allegations of sexual and physical abuse in schools, and the questionable spending and hoarding of funds, people would still show respect to the Pope, too.

• Site Banned Posts: 124 ✭✭The Queen of England

K-9 wrote: »
    From my reading of that, the Queen is responsible for the Dublin/Monaghan bombings? :eek:

Yes. I make bombs out of corgi's entrails & gin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

From my reading of that, the Queen is responsible for the Dublin/Monaghan bombings?
    The Ulster Volunteer Force did that.

Irish Unionists who live in the Republic? Many Orange men in the Republic will go travel to see her.

The Ulster Volunteer Force did that.

ulster volunteer force = loyalists.

who are they loyal to?..............