Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Photos taken on your cycle.

• Registered Users Posts: 923 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

efm3ac.jpg

Grand evening for it, manor kilbride ish

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭darkvalley

First mid week spin with the cycling club. The group leader decided that since we were out on a wednesday evening we must be more serious cyclists than the sunday crowd and therefore took us up a 14% incline, ignoring the fact that we were the sunday group out on a mid-week spin. I stopped at the top of the hill to take a photo of Lough Melvin, not because I was having a heart attack!
    308004.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Moreilly

Time to take the'ol horse out......Sooo unfit !!, lovely evening for a cycle though. Taken along the grand canal near Allenwood.

951E58E19E814B18A209AE32895502BB-0000332700-0003570287-00800L-4E6A820DCCFF4C4ABEE775A0C0B00D17.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭maxamillius

Moreilly wrote: »
    Time to take the'ol horse out......Sooo unfit !!, lovely evening for a cycle though. Taken along the grand canal near Allenwood.

951E58E19E814B18A209AE32895502BB-0000332700-0003570287-00800L-4E6A820DCCFF4C4ABEE775A0C0B00D17.jpg

That's a lovely trek what model is that??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

I'm gonna take a guess that's it's a Fuel Ex 8

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭lismore7

Beautiful evening for a spin... :)

308011.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Moreilly

Thank's, Its a Trek fuel 9.7 carbon

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

That's what I meant :p

• Registered Users Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

darkvalley wrote: »
    The group leader decided that since we were out on a wednesday evening we must be more serious cyclists than the sunday crowd and therefore took us up a 14% incline, ignoring the fact that we were the sunday group out on a mid-week spin.

That guy clearly has "officer material" written all over him. Don't let inconvenient facts get in charge of a good operational theory!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

I can't stand the look of their road bikes, but that bike is luvly!

• Registered Users Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Scrappy600

lismore7 wrote: »

Think i looked at that bike for sale recently enough in Spokes in Waterford, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Did you tty climbing it from Newcastle side yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Hauki

Oh man, Wicklow looks so good. Anyone care to suggest any good Wicklow-routes starting from Bray and maybe ending there as well? Figured I'll cheat a bit and take the Dart from Dublin to there and back and venture deeper into countryside with all that saved energy. Looking for 3-4h ride.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭BFassassin

Had an awesome weekend riding my new DH bike. On Saturday I went to Whistler and got a lesson which was great. So much fun on the trails then. Then on Sunday I took the place of another guy at the new Coast Gravity Park set up by the Coastal Crew. This place has great potential. I stuck mainly to the blue and red runs but everyone else was raving about the big jumps. Thats a bit early for me yet.
    They dont have a chairlift yet but they were running uplifts with a Unimog and a few big trucks.

308160.jpg

308161.jpg

308162.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭g0g

Hauki wrote: »
    Oh man, Wicklow looks so good. Anyone care to suggest any good Wicklow-routes starting from Bray and maybe ending there as well? Figured I'll cheat a bit and take the Dart from Dublin to there and back and venture deeper into countryside with all that saved energy. Looking for 3-4h ride.
    Depends a bit on how fast/slow you go. I'd be suggesting something like this or maybe make it slightly longer/shorter.
    Would suggest trying to include:
    • Road along the river down to Enniskerry is scenic although can be busy with traffic
    • Head up from Enniskerry past Powerscourt Park entrance to get to one of the more quiet routes up to Sally Gap
    • Sally Gap itself and the great route from there across to Laragh
    • Come back from Roundwood via the less busy roads like those in the linked route
    If you have more in the legs you could turn right at Sally Gap at the top and go around Manor Kilbride and back over Wicklow Gap, but that would add a lot more km. Before Sally Gap there's also a great one-way extra climb to the top of Kippure if you're looking for more climbing. Laragh is an ideal spot for a break with a few spots to choose from.

Hope this helps!

Scrappy600 wrote: »
    Think i looked at that bike for sale recently enough in Spokes in Waterford, no?

Bought this particular steed in Dungarvan last year. You maybe saw one of it's relations...?

ford2600 wrote: »

Did you tty climbing it from Newcastle side yet?

Nope not yet. The Newcastle decent is fairlly sharp, so recon climbing it from that side would be interesting challenge. Have you ford2600?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,976 ✭✭✭Plastik

Hauki wrote: »
    g0g wrote: »
    Depends a bit on how fast/slow you go. I'd be suggesting something like this or maybe make it slightly longer/shorter.
    Would suggest trying to include:
    • Road along the river down to Enniskerry is scenic although can be busy with traffic
    • Head up from Enniskerry past Powerscourt Park entrance to get to one of the more quiet routes up to Sally Gap
    • Sally Gap itself and the great route from there across to Laragh
    • Come back from Roundwood via the less busy roads like those in the linked route
    If you have more in the legs you could turn right at Sally Gap at the top and go around Manor Kilbride and back over Wicklow Gap, but that would add a lot more km. Before Sally Gap there's also a great one-way extra climb to the top of Kippure if you're looking for more climbing. Laragh is an ideal spot for a break with a few spots to choose from.

Hope this helps!

Your route isn't visible g0g.

Assuming you're only out to enjoy the sights and smells, maybe some like the following http://ridewithgps.com/routes/4808931

Skip Bray and go to the last stop on the Dart, Greystones. Bray has an more urban feel (no surprise) to it than Greystones which is a more coffee culture relaxed village atmosphere.

The route in my link has nice places for a coffee in 35km, 65km and at the end. If you're feeling particularly energetic you could also include the road up to the Kippure TV mast at 60km.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Haria. Lanzarote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Nope not yet. The Newcastle decent is fairlly sharp, so recon climbing it from that side would be interesting challenge. Have you ford2600?

Went up there this evening, climb it a few times every year. It's the hardest climb in Knockmealdowns after Shanrahan. I'm from within a few miles of Newcastle.

If it's your first year cycling you might be better waiting until August/Sept when you have more miles in.

If you enter Newcastle and turn upby pub (there is only one) that road also crosses knockmealdowns and brings you out between Cats Bar and Cappaquin.

Then there's the Comeraghs.......

Went up there this evening, climb it a few times every year. It's the hardest climb in Knockmealdowns after Shanrahan. I'm from within a few miles of Newcastle.

If it's your first year cycling you might be better waiting until August/Sept when you have more miles in.

If you enter Newcastle and turn upby pub (there is only one) that road also crosses knockmealdowns and brings you out between Cats Bar and Cappaquin.

Then there's the Comeraghs.......

I'm just outside Lismore (hense username) I climb the Lismore side of the Mt Mellary regulary. Midweek it's an up to the top and back down again. On Sunday spins I carry on down into Newcastle road, then left to Clogheen and back over the "Vee" to Lismore around 80k spin.
    Might try oppisite way and give that accent a go??
    Been cycling for 2 years. Off tomorrow to do the Comeragh Challenge but wil probably leave out Mahon Falls this time.... Forecast iffy...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,930 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Plastik wrote: »
    Your route isn't visible g0g.

Assuming you're only out to enjoy the sights and smells, maybe some like the following http://ridewithgps.com/routes/4808931

Skip Bray and go to the last stop on the Dart, Greystones. Bray has an more urban feel (no surprise) to it than Greystones which is a more coffee culture relaxed village atmosphere.

The route in my link has nice places for a coffee in 35km, 65km and at the end. If you're feeling particularly energetic you could also include the road up to the Kippure TV mast at 60km.
    Your route isnt visible either, its just a map of Greystones. Is there any list or blog of good rides from around Bray and Greystones?

EDIT: Nevermind worked the third time I tried it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭route66

Picture taken from the top of Kilmashogue (Strava Segment link) last night.

308780.jpg

Lovely evening for it :)

apgyuw.jpg

2a7euyx.jpg

Last night on a lap around the gap

1byc0.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭tony1980

Not my own but my brother and a few of the lads just spent a week cycling over in Alpe D'heuz.

10390168_10202846800224273_565296926022868745_n.jpg

10390122_10202846803944366_2514469128214194137_n.jpg

10363543_683573878377893_1759696112476671611_n.jpg

10411308_683574028377878_108442063620592144_n.jpg

10350513_10202832438625242_4903843382429238165_n.jpg

10369178_10202831427239958_5016844486834314980_n.jpg

10402615_683572795044668_8623098620106208088_n.jpg

10390543_10202807934452653_2186275799221716113_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,930 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Last night on a lap around the gap

1byc0.jpg
    Where is that exactly?

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭blobbie

May last year on a tour in Peru - Hard.Feckin.Work

• Registered Users Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

2 taken recently on evening spins:
    /camera phone

60B89571E8F84DE585CDC25C11D5050E-0000318644-0003574301-00800L-B93389C836E145F3A952B1456A9BF1E3.jpg

AFCC5A9E63754F1A8B9DC47B25463768-0000318644-0003574300-00661L-FC5326FF21F24FF6834DBD34F37E26A6.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Lads, some of you have some amazing camera phones!