Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011 Tornado Season Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Just watched Reed Timmer's live feed and he caught a beauty specimen tornado :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

One of yesterday's tornados.... these lads wer in the PERFECT spot!

This was the tornado I saw on Reed Timmer’s live feed last night. Reed first reported a storm on the ground near Bowling Green on the i54 ~ damage later reported from Bowling Green. After a chase of this system to Litchfield some 134 mile [and two hours driving according to Google] Reed also intercepted this same tornado.

A chaser report in the name of Bart Comstock is credited with reporting this tornado. From watching from early on, I saw a large cluster of chasers occupy the same spot on the map and they did not move and just waited a few hours for the storm system to come to them, and it did.

Nice video, thanks for the link.

Iancar29 wrote: »

One of yesterday's tornados.... these lads wer in the PERFECT spot!

Great vid!!!! You must be beside yourself in anticipation !!!! I know I would be.
    :D:D:D

Just saw this on twitter.

BreakingNews Breaking News
    North Carolina death toll rises to 24; governor says 440 homes statewide have been destroyed http://bit.ly/eWhvxG
    12 minutes ago

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

Severe Weather Expert Dr. Greg Forbes says his April #tornado count (272) sets a new tentative record for April. Old record: 267 in 1974.

Tour 1 off next week, signs that the weather is gonna be calmer that they want it too be ...

Im still hopefull for when i go ! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,483 ✭✭✭weisses

Tour 1 off next week, signs that the weather is gonna be calmer that they want it too be ...

Im still hopefull for when i go ! :)

You know what they say in Tornado alley

Once the Tornadoes of april have gone away
    There is feck all to do in the month of May

Supercells possible for DF-Dubya area today.

http://www.theweatherspace.com/news/TWS-04_21_2011_txsupercells.html

As it's 5:30 in Fort Worth and not an echo within 300 miles, I don't see any significant contact during daylight on this one.

The front seems to have stalled since early morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Potential for more severe weather in Illinois tomorrow night (4-22). Next band of storms coming through.

SPC ugraded ther forecast to a moderate Risk for 2day...

Hopefully see some good streams 2nite.

Oh and Reed and the lads are back in the Dominator!
    216036_10150181055069169_166805519168_6481359_3083109_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 695 ✭✭✭talkabout

jebus, Iano, I dont know if us Boardsies should let you go off storm chasing after looking at all the VT of the St Loius Airport :).

I think we should have a vote on whether or not we let ye go :)
    ;);)

Jake1 wrote: »
    jebus, Iano, I dont know if us Boardsies should let you go off storm chasing after looking at all the VT of the St Loius Airport :).

I think we should have a vote on whether or not we let ye go :)
    ;);)

I dont know what ur talking about.......................:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭ian_m

• Registered Users Posts: 9,576 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Scary and enthralling in equal measure!

Slight Risk today, I see 5 Tornado Reports already on the SPC site.

Tomorrow is another Moderate Risk day, rest of the week could be interesting too.

And its only April 24th. I guess this years season of 'Stormchasers' will be about 100 episodes long...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭hotwhiskey

Slight Risk today, I see 5 Tornado Reports already on the SPC site.

Tomorrow is another Moderate Risk day, rest of the week could be interesting too.

And its only April 24th. I guess this years season of 'Stormchasers' will be about 100 episodes long...

I was thinking the same thing Maquiladora. The last number of years the have started the series of slowly, it will be interesting to see how the go about it this year with all the early action in the States.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Are they filming a series now? If my memory serves me right any tornado season that we had in my town that started off really intense early ended up pretty quiet for the remainder.

Moderate Risk for Day 1, Day 2 & Day 3...

http://www.spc.noaa.gov/

Moderate Risk for Day 1, Day 2 & Day 3...

http://www.spc.noaa.gov/

Should be interesting!

Wrecked after working since Friday , was in 6-3 2day... Going for a nap so I hav the energy for virtual chasing 2nite! :)

All hands on deck! :D

Storms already kicking off! :)

Theres a supercell not too far from Dallas DFW where ill be landing on the 20th!... Wish i was there right now! :(

FOX coverage here... http://wwitv.com/tv_channels/b4599.htm

Tornado briefly on SKy 4! .... What a sight! :D

Exciting tonight, I've so many windows open that my cursor is constantly busy and "Are you still watching?" messages all over my screens.

The FOX coverage with the live feeds is pretty impressive. Thanks. :) Rubs hands and Hmm, Reed Timmer is a little out of the action right now, but ... fantastic. :)

Accuweather forecast for the coming week, a belt of severe weather launching hundreds or thousands of tornadoes for the coming week, a wall of tornadoes though to Thursday/Friday? and then we are done.

They are debating if this week sees the finish of the tornado season, a ferociously active season from a slow start to record breaking events and the coming week being described as "Hell" and seemingly never ending.

gbee wrote: »
    Accuweather forecast for the coming week, a belt of severe weather launching hundreds or thousands of tornadoes for the coming week, a wall of tornadoes though to Thursday/Friday? and then we are done.

They are debating if this week sees the finish of the tornado season, a ferociously active season from a slow start to record breaking events and the coming week being described as "Hell" and seemingly never ending.

Where did u see this?... Dont be worrying me with such stories! :(

Anyways... SPC has issued a HIGH RISK for 2day...

index.php?app=core&module=attach&section=attach&attach_rel_module=post&attach_id=116058

DAY 1 CONVECTIVE OUTLOOK
    NWS STORM PREDICTION CENTER NORMAN OK
    0734 AM CDT TUE APR 26 2011

VALID 261300Z - 271200Z

...THERE IS A HIGH RISK OF SVR TSTMS LATE THIS AFTERNOON INTO
    TONIGHT FOR NE TX...FAR SE OK...EXTREME NW LA...AND THE SRN HALF OF
    AR...

...THERE IS A MDT RISK OF SVR TSTMS SURROUNDING THE HIGH RISK...FROM
    NE TX/SE OK TO THE CONFLUENCE OF THE MS/OH RIVERS...

...THERE IS A SLGT RISK OF SVR TSTMS IN A BROAD SWATH FROM THE SRN
    PLAINS EWD/NEWD TO THE MS/OH VALLEYS AND THE LOWER GREAT LAKES...
    ...DANGEROUS TORNADO AND SEVERE THUNDERSTORM OUTBREAK EXPECTED LATE
    THIS AFTERNOON INTO TONIGHT FROM NE TX ENEWD TO THE MS RIVER...

...SYNOPSIS...
    AN INITIAL SHORTWAVE TROUGH OVER MO/IL WILL EJECT NEWD TOWARD LOWER
    MI TODAY...WHILE AN INTENSE UPSTREAM JET STREAK PROGRESSES ESEWD TO
    THE SRN PLAINS BY TONIGHT. MORNING SUBSIDENCE OVER AR /IN THE WAKE
    OF THE DEPARTING WAVE/ WILL BE REPLACED BY ASCENT BEGINNING ALONG
    THE RED RIVER VALLEY OF N TX/SRN OK LATER THIS AFTERNOON...SPREADING
    EWD THIS EVENING INTO SE OK/NE TX AND SRN AR OVERNIGHT. A STRONG
    SURFACE CYCLONE WILL DEVELOP EWD ALONG THIS SAME CORRIDOR IN
    RESPONSE TO STRONG UPPER DIVERGENCE IN THE LEFT EXIT REGION OF THE
    90-100 KT MIDLEVEL JET. THE CYCLOGENESIS WILL ALSO PROMOTE THE
    DEVELOPMENT OF A STRENGTHENING SLY/SSWLY LLJ FROM THE ARKLATEX TO
    THE LOWER MS VALLEY OVERNIGHT. MEANWHILE...RICH BOUNDARY LAYER
    MOISTURE ACROSS E TX...BENEATH A PLUME OF STEEP MIDLEVEL LAPSE RATES
    ORIGINATING TO THE W...WILL PROVIDE MODERATE-STRONG WARM SECTOR
    INSTABILITY IN ADVANCE OF THE DEVELOPING CYCLONE. THE NET RESULT
    WILL BE A STRONGLY SHEARED AND UNSTABLE WARM SECTOR LATE THIS
    AFTERNOON INTO TONIGHT...WHICH APPEARS SUPPORTIVE OF A DANGEROUS
    TORNADO AND SEVERE THUNDERSTORM OUTBREAK.

Where did u see this?... Dont be worrying me with such stories! :(

Accuweather.com USA/under the severe weather tab they have a series of reports, one video follows the other, it's thirty minutes or more long and all the meteorologists give their views.

Severe for today, yes, they said that too, I must reboot my computer as I don't see any activity from the storm chasers, they were out in force yesterday, all day.

Could be Very serious 2nite!... Severe storms with Explosive CAPE values with the potential for strong , long tracked tornadoes !

NOAA SPC

VALID 261630Z - 271200Z

...THERE IS A HIGH RISK OF SVR TSTMS LATE THIS AFTERNOON INTO
    TONIGHT FOR NE TX...FAR SE OK...EXTREME NW LA...THE SRN HALF OF
    AR...SOUTHWEST TN...AND NORTHWEST MS...

...THERE IS A MDT RISK OF SVR TSTMS SURROUNDING THE HIGH RISK...FROM
    NE TX/SE OK TO THE CONFLUENCE OF THE MS/OH RIVERS...

...THERE IS A SLGT RISK OF SVR TSTMS FROM SRN OK/EAST TX INTO MUCH
    OF THE LOWER/MID MS VALLEY...TN AND OH VALLEYS...AND INTO PA/NY...

...AN OUTBREAK OF SEVERE THUNDERSTORMS INCLUDING STRONG TORNADOES
    AND WIDESPREAD DAMAGING WINDS IS FORECAST TO OCCUR LATER TODAY AND
    TONIGHT...

MORNING WATER VAPOR LOOPS SHOW A BROAD UPPER TROUGH OVER MUCH OF THE
    UNITED STATES...WITH TWO SIGNIFICANT SHORTWAVE FEATURES TRACKING
    ACROSS THE NATION. THE FIRST TROUGH IS CURRENTLY OVER THE MID MS
    AND OH VALLEY AND WILL EJECT NORTHEASTWARD TODAY INTO THE NORTHEAST
    STATES. THIS WILL LEAD TO A RELATIVELY LARGE AREA OF POTENTIAL FOR
    ISOLATED SEVERE THUNDERSTORMS AS FAR NORTHEAST AS PORTIONS OF NY/PA.
    ANOTHER SHORTWAVE TROUGH IS OVER CO/NM AND WILL QUICKLY TRANSLATE
    INTO OK/TX BY EVENING. THIS FEATURE IS EXPECTED TO RESULT IN
    SIGNIFICANT SEVERE WEATHER OVER THE ARKLATEX AND LOWER/MID MS
    VALLEY.

...OK/TX INTO THE LOWER/MID MS VALLEY...
    LOW LEVEL MOISTURE IS RAPIDLY RETURNING NORTHWARD THIS MORNING
    ACROSS THIS REGION...WITH MID/UPPER 60S DEWPOINTS NOW AS FAR NORTH
    AS SOUTHERN AR. THE 12Z FWD RAOB SHOWED A PRONOUNCED CAPPING
    INVERSION...WHICH SHOULD INHIBIT STRONG CONVECTIVE DEVELOPMENT UNTIL
    MID AFTERNOON. BY THAT TIME...STRONG DAYTIME HEATING AND CONTINUED
    MOISTENING OF THE BOUNDARY LAYER WILL YIELD MLCAPE VALUES OF
    3000-4000 J/KG AND A WEAKENED CAP OVER NORTHEAST TX/NORTHWEST
    LA/SOUTHWEST AR. ISOLATED DISCRETE SUPERCELL THUNDERSTORMS ARE
    EXPECTED TO FORM IN THIS REGION...WHICH SHOULD TRACK NORTHEASTWARD
    ACROSS SOUTHERN AR/NORTHERN LA DURING THE EVENING. LOW LEVEL WINDS
    WILL BE STRENGTHENING DURING THIS PERIOD AS SURFACE CYCLOGENESIS
    OCCURS OVER TX...LEADING TO INCREASINGLY FAVORABLE SHEAR PROFILES
    FOR TORNADIC ACTIVITY.

MOST MODEL SOLUTIONS SUGGEST A SECOND ROUND OF INTENSE SUPERCELLS
    DEVELOP NEAR THE DRYLINE ACROSS NORTH TX AND SOUTHEAST OK BY EARLY
    EVENING. THESE STORMS WILL ALSO TRACK EAST-NORTHEASTWARD INTO AR/LA
    /ROUGHLY THE SAME AXIS AS THE FIRST WAVE OF STORMS/ AND WILL BE IN A
    MUCH MORE FAVORABLE VERTICAL SHEAR PROFILE FOR RISKS OF
    STRONG/DAMAGING TORNADOES.

TONIGHT...VERY STRONG LOW LEVEL WINDS ARE FORECAST TO DEVELOP OVER
    EASTERN AR/NORTHWEST MS/WEST TN NORTHWARD INTO IL/IND. THERE IS
    CONSIDERABLE UNCERTAINTY REGARDING THE EVOLUTION OF STORMS AS THEY
    PROGRESS INTO THIS ENVIRONMENT. THE STORMS MAY REMAIN DISCRETE
    ACROSS AR WITH A RISK OF STRONG/VIOLENT TORNADOES...OR THEY MAY GROW
    UPSCALE INTO A FAST-MOVING BOW ECHO WITH THE RISK OF WIDESPREAD
    SIGNIFICANT WIND DAMAGE AND ISOLATED TORNADOES. IN EITHER
    CASE...CONDITIONS ARE CLEARLY FAVORABLE A HIGH-END SEVERE WEATHER
    EVENT WELL INTO THE NIGHT. FOR THESE REASONS...HAVE EXTENDED THE
    HIGH RISK FARTHER EAST.

...TN/OH VALLEY INTO THE NORTHEAST STATES...
    THE LEAD SHORTWAVE TROUGH EXTENDS FROM IL/IND INTO MS/AL. A BAND OF
    THUNDERSTORMS ASSOCIATED WITH THIS TROUGH HAS BEEN SLOWLY
    DIMINISHING THIS MORNING...BUT IS LIKELY TO REJUVENATE BY EARLY
    AFTERNOON. WIDESPREAD STRONG MID LEVEL WINDS AND MODERATE CAPE WILL
    LEAD TO A RISK OF HAIL AND LOCALLY DAMAGING WINDS OVER A RELATIVELY
    BROAD AREA FROM AL/GA NORTHEASTWARD INTO PA/NY. DETAILS ON SPECIFIC
    AREAS OF THIS THREAT WILL BE ADDRESSED THROUGH THE DAY IN
    FORTHCOMING MESOSCALE DISCUSSIONS.

I hope News Stations keep the warnings on non-stop .. chasers / spotters will come in much need 2nite , especially if anything drops near populated towns/cities!
    Other than that , Streams are gonna be wild 2nite!

I'm ordering a big pot of coffee. 14 chasers on chase.net Severe not active currently