Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do celebs get in shape so quick for roles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

superfish wrote: »
    I totally agree that its more inspiring that way and im all for natural training as I think guys who use roids are just cheats and its fake strength so to speak, but ya you can get very big on some roids very fast some of my mates report gains of near 2 stone in 10 week using oxialvi 50s with the correct training and water consumption. but what makes me laugh when it comes to roids is il always be the same strengh and will be consistently for a long time to come, but a lot of my mates on roids shoot up in strength to benching like 160kg and more and think they are fecking great. but the funny thing is I bench 130kg naturally for atleast 4 sets of 10 and when they are off the roids they can barely bench 90kg so whos fecking great now lol

A drop from 160kg to 90kg is purely poor PCT.

Theres alot of negativiity around steroids, but a lot of that has to do about lack of knowledge on the subject. Theres alot of guys taking steroids that when you mention PCT to them, they just look back at you like "wft" :confused:.

I know all talk about steroid usage is banned from this fourm, but education on the subect is needed badly I think. It will inform people, and stop people who havnt a clue distroying their endocrine system.

And in reponse to the threads subject :) Hell yeah he used to gain that mass so fast, sure its all in the movies. Look at Stallon and Arnie back in the day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

every one is different some the lads reccon for every stone they gain on the gear they keep 3quatars whilst off it but most the lads take creatine to try maintain their size whilst off the gear the thing they dont realise is one day they will have to stop and its all going to turn saggy

Stop talking ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

gymsoldier wrote: »
    I know all talk about steroid usage is banned from this fourm.

Not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

Not true.

"General discussion about steroids is fine but absolutely no pushing, advise on how to use, information on where to buy or detail on how to use them will be tolerated."

I got brought up on it before by a mod, and all I did was mention a certain steroid. I didnt say anything about use or dosage etc.

All we can talk about on the fourm is a subject like this thread. Did "X" use steriods to get big.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Stop talking ****e

No more of that. User infracted for personal abuse..

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

"General discussion about steroids is fine but absolutely no pushing, advise on how to use, information on where to buy or detail on how to use them will be tolerated."

So you can talk about steroids in a general way as long as you don't push, advise how to use or give info on where to get them. Simples.

Back on topic, it's likely that Dre, Stallone etc. get there steroids in a perfectly legal manner. Doctors can descride testosterone injections for low testosterone, that's why synthetic test was developed in the first place not.

I doubt Bale needed them though, with the right diet and training he could get back to a decent size no bother. Actors have the most valuable commodity of all at their disposal: TIME. They don't need to worry about working, picking up the kids, going to college or the million other things the rest of us need to think about.

In fact their are people on this board who's physiques would hold up againest a lot of actors. I think the bar has been lowered a lot for what is considered big these days compared to the 80's. Look at Arnie v Bale.

they/them/theirs

A drop from 160kg to 90kg is purely poor PCT.

I think it has more to do with the numbers being fictional than PCT to be honest.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

Stop talking ****e

lol love it ive been in this game a long time fella when you grow up a bit and see the effects steroids have come back and comment then

young bucks pumping themselfs full of the ****e and think they know everything and have the cocky attitude that comes with it

and yes 160 to 90 was true a friend of mine was notorious for pumping himself full of the ****e and got up to benching 160 very fast got into a relationship did not train for 3 years, got fat and can only just bench 90kg now fact

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

pumping himself full of the ****e and got up to benching 160 very fast got into a relationship did not train for 3 years, got fat and can only just bench 90kg now fact

Wow... guy who trains hard and gains tonnes of weight while juicing up struggles to bench significantly less 3 years after stopping training. Shocking stuff. "Fact".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

Steroid usage is a lot more common than most people realise.

Back in 2004 I worked for another gym in Dublin, which has lots of gay members. Quite a few of them openly admitted to doing steroids - their aim, they told me, was to gain muscle and look good on a dancefloor in a club. Seriously, that's what they told me! :D

I know of at least 2 personal trainers in Dublin who have gone on a "cycle" or two and have used them to go from being skinny to muscular in a very short time. For them, it's a business move and their physique is their business card, which greatly helps attracts new personal training clients. Sad but true.

For celebs, it's a no-brainer, especially if they are being paid millions to transform their physiques for a role.

Hanley wrote: »
    Wow... guy who trains hard and gains tonnes of weight while juicing up struggles to bench significantly less 3 years after stopping training. Shocking stuff. "Fact".

wow theres that cocky attitude sound just like most lads I know on the gear ;)

have a look at this lads post http://forums.isteroids.com/anabolic-steroids-questions-answers/83929-strength-loss-after-cycle-pct.html

and before you guys suggest I dont know what im talking about il just let you know im naturally 17stone of lean mass at 6,3 with 50"chest and 18.5" arms 15" forearms thats without taking that crap thats what 8 year of dedication and knowing your stuff gets you

Wow - imagine how big you'd be if you took steroids!

SanoVitae wrote: »
    Wow - imagine how big you'd be if you took steroids!

dont think Id live too long if I did im big enough without them besides I spend enough on food as it is id prob end up eating twice as much lol

I actually came to a realisation today which is pretty relevant here.

Being big means **** all really, when talking about training knowledge and programming in general.

I should have realised that ages ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Bit of a contradiction there no?

Is your mate ronaldo on gear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Is your mate ronaldo on gear?

I hope not:D

I actually came to a realisation today which is pretty relevant here.

Being big means **** all really, when talking about training knowledge and programming in general.

I should have realised that ages ago.

your right when I first started it was all about getting big but as you grow up you realise its no big deal I prefer the lifestyle now more than anything good healthy clean diet and weight training is great for the mind as it helps produce serotonin that gives you that happy feeling having a good body is just a side effect lol

no I get what ya mean though lol what I meant was naturally as in with out the use of body enhancing drugs obviously im not that big without 8 years of training although I wish I was ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,904 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

and yes 160 to 90 was true a friend of mine was notorious for pumping himself full of the ****e and got up to benching 160 very fast got into a relationship did not train for 3 years, got fat and can only just bench 90kg now fact
    that's totally different to what you originally said.
    ... but a lot of my mates on roids shoot up in strength to benching like 160kg and more and think they are fecking great. but the funny thing is I bench 130kg naturally for atleast 4 sets of 10 and when they are off the roids they can barely bench 90kg so whos fecking great now lol

Even if he wasn't taking roids, take 3 years off training is going to cause a drop in max lift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Doolee

Training...all day every day.

My line of work means Im around "celebs" a lot and they are auditioning for film roles before we have even heard of the films. While they are shooting one film, they are preparing themselves for the next one. Photographers are behind when it comes to getting shots until they have been announced as the next superman or whatever.

But honestly, they train soooo hard with their personal trainers. One particular actor I worked with recently was always in good shape, then was auditioning and hoping to get a certain role which needed him to be extra buff so he was going for 2 hour cardio trainings with his PT before shooting on set, then doing hours of weights and his diet was amazing.

I'm sure steriods might come into it with some actors, but most of the ones I've worked with just put the work in.:D

Doolee wrote: »
    I'm sure steriods might come into it with some actors, but most of the ones I've worked with just put the work in.:D

Regardless of whether or not they are taking steroids, it's a given that they all eat well and train incredibly hard.

If they need to gain a lot of muscle in a very short period of time, however, steroids would seem to be the natural choice (ironic pun intended)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

wow theres that cocky attitude sound just like most lads I know on the gear ;)

Ummm... how about you go f*ck yourself?

Just because you posted some crap to try and prove a point, and then got forced to explain what you actually meant, and proved you were talking crap is no reason to go on that attack at me.

I get accused of being on gear on a monthly basis. It's nothing new. When I was competing in PL I was tested as much, if not more than any other Irish lifter over a 3 year period. If you want to know why I'm in the shape I'm in, have a look at my log and thne come back and apologise.

What are your legs like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

superfish banned for a week. I don't take kindly to people insinuating that respected forum users are on gear.

Hanley banned for a week. I don't take kindly to respected forum users telling other people to go f8ck themselves either.

Maybe Hanley was actually saying "Go feck yourself".

It's never offensive once you replace the "u" with an "e"....;)

If you want to know why I'm in the shape I'm in, have a look at my log

Have you been reading Gillian McKeith's books again?

SanoVitae I'm more than happy to give you a weeks' holidays too if you keep that up.

Back on topic now please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

It's turning into an online 'look' magazine here sometimes, why do people always seem to want to ignore the fact that to make changes requires damn hard work, consistency and application in both training and nutrition? Harder for some than others, and easier for those using enhanced substances.

They have the same physiology as you or I, the same propensity for storing endless amount of fat. The same 'quality' trainers and information are available to everyone here in this country and on the internet if people take the time to educate themselves a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

poisonated wrote: »
    Yeah it's pretty interesting alright. To see that transformation is pretty cool.

he survived on a can of tuna a day iirc on the set of The Machinist..:eek:

Class actor, one of the best of his generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

Also Robert Downey Jnr. He built a great physique for Sherlock Holmes/Iron Man. Nothing spectacular but for a 40 something, ex addict it was impressive!

I wouldn't think there would be any reason why they wouldn't go on a cycle training for a role, I just assume anyone that looks in shape in a film IS on the juice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭coach22

http://www.cracked.com/article_15623_celebrity-ripped-club-8-non-athletes-whove-gotta-be-steroids.html

stumbled accross this article the other day on non athletes possibly taking steroids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

I would say fundamentally when it comes down to it, all it takes is actually following the programme the trainer gives you and the diet plan the nuritionist gives you and not allowing yourself to make up bull**** excuses like most of the planet (me included)

it is their job after all

PeakOutput wrote: »
    I would say fundamentally when it comes down to it, all it takes is actually following the programme the trainer gives you and the diet plan the nuritionist gives you and not allowing yourself to make up bull**** excuses like most of the planet (me included)

and a sound PCT also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Can't believe this thread reached 6 pages. It's obvious that people who bulk up in a short period of time are on steroids. People think "oh well I eat a doughnut twice a week at lunch and he probably trained harder than me" while in the same time frame the actor has put on 30+ pounds while you gained 4. Get ****ing real. These 50 something year old actors happen to be massive naturally because they train well? Stallone just maintained his physique all these years (ignoring the fact that he was caught with steroids)? People can be so clueless when it comes to gaining weight, honestly. To get as big as some of those actors are could take 10+ years and they do it in 1. They don't have some super secret marvellous personal trainer who knows more than the rest of the world while their personal chef cooks up the leanest meat from the leanest animal in the leanest country in the world, they have drugs. Sorry to burst your bubble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Thanks for that.

That seems a lot. I'd assume a lot of that is just getting back to a reasonable level of bodyfat and such. But still 6 months?

Its very doable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭BlueIsland

The "having time" reaction annoys me!!! People in the know constantly say that the rest period is when the muscle grows after breaking it down during a hard session! So is it different for celebs. Cos they "have the time" they can do seven hour weight lifting sessions every single day! doesn't work that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

BlueIsland wrote: »
    The "having time" reaction annoys me!!! People in the know constantly say that the rest period is when the muscle grows after breaking it down during a hard session! So is it different for celebs. Cos they "have the time" they can do seven hour weight lifting sessions every single day! doesn't work that way

That's not what people meant.

They mean that they have time to get all their meals in, they're not rushing out the gym door cutting their sessions in half because the kids need to be picked up from the childminders and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

drdeadlift wrote: »
    Its very doable.

As you say it, I had a look at that blog post that was linked to above.

When he isn't viewed from the side with his shoulders hunched forward, he (unsurprisingly) doesn't look all that big really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

g'em wrote: »
    superfish banned for a week. I don't take kindly to people insinuating that respected forum users are on gear.

Hanley banned for a week. I don't take kindly to respected forum users telling other people to go f8ck themselves either.
    No more of that. User infracted for personal abuse..

This thread is just another example of the retarded moderation of this forum.

Killme00 wrote: »
    This thread is just another example of the retarded moderation of this forum.

Meh, if you don't like it, don't stick around. We'll struggle on. Otherwise feel free to PM us and have a constructive conversation about it. But leave these kinds of posts out of this thread please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Biscuits Brown

What are your legs like?

That's a bit Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭COH

That's a bit Irish.

This whole thread is retarded Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭gavtron

cmyk wrote: »
    It's turning into an online 'look' magazine here sometimes, why do people always seem to want to ignore the fact that to make changes requires damn hard work, consistency and application in both training and nutrition? Harder for some than others, and easier for those using enhanced substances.

They have the same physiology as you or I, the same propensity for storing endless amount of fat. The same 'quality' trainers and information are available to everyone here in this country and on the internet if people take the time to educate themselves a little.

I agree with almost everything there, except Gary Taubes would have you believe we don't all have the same propensity for storing fat etc.

...just so we can get another side argument going here :-p

That's a bit Irish.
    COH wrote: »
    This whole thread is retarded Irish

Irish? Is that supposed to be an insult?

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Irish? Is that supposed to be an insult?

It usually means stupid.
    Built off a stereotype pedalled by some bigoted people from the former british empire.

I wonder what nationality the poster is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

gavtron wrote: »
    I agree with almost everything there, except Gary Taubes would have you believe we don't all have the same propensity for storing fat etc.

...just so we can get another side argument going here :-p

...because another side argument is exactly what this thread needs! ;)

But I will clarify what I meant, that we all have the ability for a seemingly unlimited amount of fat storage, hence one ton mum, one ton dad etc etc. That applies to you, me and even Christian Bale if calories are exceeded consistently. If I'm correct Taubes just argues the method by which it's accumulated in certain individuals? I personally wouldn't take what Taubes says as gospel either, he's been proven scientifically wrong on numerous occasions.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    It usually means stupid.
    Built off a stereotype pedalled by some bigoted people from the former british empire.

I wonder what nationality the poster is?

I'm going to go out on a limb here and say Swedish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Biscuits Brown

im naturally 17stone of lean mass at 6,3 with 50"chest and 18.5" arms 15" forearms thats without taking that crap thats what 8 year of dedication and knowing your stuff gets you

What are your legs like?

>>>>
    RealistSpy wrote: »
    I hope you work on your legs aswell yeh?
    That's a bit Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Maybe Im missing something(I usually am) but why is everyone so quick to throw the steroid card out at Bale.

He bulked up to a massive:pac: 200 lbs give or take after being a skinny boy in tha machinest.

Before the machinest he was about 180-185 lbs in american psycho and leaner than he was in Batman begins .

Is it not possible he just went into fatboy mode after the machinest for a few months and gained everything he lost plus a few lbs because his body was crying out for nutrients.

What am I missing here?