Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Build help - Budget up to €1400. Total noob.

Options

Comments

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,281 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

Get this 6950 instead of the 6870. Its cheaper AND better.

If you don't plan to crossfire you can get a lower wattage PSU. If you do plan on it you want a motherboard that supports x8/x8

You might as well get 8GB of RAM too, just because its so cheap right now.

The rest looks good, maybe just grab an SSD as well if you want to spend a bit more.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Stress test? Sounds like a waste of money.

Next items for bumping up would be the GPU to 6950 or 560.
    Otherwise an SSD for for boot and access speeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

Pre-built systems are generally not as good as when you select the parts yourself.

Few thing I would change on that build.

You've chosen an underpowered card for that price, this one is a good bit faster.

Sapphire HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 PCI-Express - €212.65
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=41640&agid=1165

The motherboard you've chosen is ok but I would choose one with two PCIe x16 lanes so you can upgrade to two graphics cards in the future making your system futureproof.

ASRock P67 Extreme4 (B3), Sockel 1155, ATX - €133.64
    http://www3.hardwareversand.de/articledetail.jsp?aid=43134&agid=1601

Your PSU isn't great. If you decide to overclock or stick in a second card it's not up to task. This one will see you through future upgrades.

Super-Flower Amazon 80Plus 800W - €82.27