Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reclaiming the "Ball"

Options
  • 07-04-2011 12:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 13,011 ✭✭✭✭

I don't know if it's the fact that I'm a mature student, or if I'm just old-fashioned; but after four years at UCD, the word "ball" on posters still gets the old eyes rolling. It seems to be used for any kind of student session, without any regard for the type of gathering or the dress code. Would you kindly stop doing that, please? rolleyes.gif

Even the mostly 'Merican authors of the Wikipedia article are on the ball, so to speak, since they start with "A ball is a formal dance", and link to articles on white tie and black tie. Using it for informal gatherings - such as the aborted UCD "Ball" - is out of step with the rest of the world, basically. The word has no meaning left, if you slap it on every poster for boozy sessions.

If a UCD org. put on a genuine black tie ball - complete with dinner and formal dancing (this ain't no disco!), I might consider going to such an event. It's not just an age thing: fashion goes in cycles, so the question is: am I behind, or am I ahead? A "ball" that requires the closure of the whole university and the presence of masses of security sounds like a vision of Hell to me - and I'm a regular poster in the Atheism & Agnosticism forum. :eek:

PS: I've just been told that the TCD Ball is a bit like that - but I wasn't thinking of them. It sounds as if they wear the formal clothes, OK, but don't behave as if it was a real formal ball, anyway. The queues outside the dry-cleaners must rival those outside the Apple Store on iPhone launch day. :o