Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warriors Run 2011

• 08-04-2011 8:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭

So. If you have been reading the general chit chat thread, you will know that there are at least a couple of the Sligo Boardies including my self aiming for it this year. So in light of that thought I would give it, its own thread, as I also know from previous years there was a few others from here who have also done it before as well, so there wisdom will be greatly appreciated.

So, post your tips and hints here, how your getting on with training, etc etc.

Heres the website, registration opens 9th of May and entry is €40.
    What Is The Warriors Run ?

The Run is a competitive and gruelling 15 Kilometre road and hill race which takes runners from the beachfront at Strandhill to the top of Knocknarea mountain (1050ft) around the megalithic cairn known as Queen Meaves Grave and back to the beachfront again. Started in 1985, the Warriors Run has seen runners from all around Ireland and from over 20 different countries compete in one of Ireland's most unique races.

So if you think a 15K run is easy peasy, you've never been to Strandhill !!!

http://www.warriorsfestival.com/about-warriors-run/faqs

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Cool Running

Fair play Stew on getting a thread started nice and early on it. Unreal race. Definitely my favourite race ever. Missed running it last year for the first year in five years and it was devastating to watch it. Wont even be at it this year as out of the country but will follow with interest from here. A must run for any runner from Sligo. Running round the cairn on Knonckarea and glancing down and seeing views of Sligo while racing is just and unbeatable buzz.

One simple training tip would be to do the route at least once before the big day. Just park the car in Strandhill and hit the route. Unfortunately I don't think the new part of the mountain route allows for pre training up it but you can still run up the old route which is from the car park up and down the main path. That is also a great training run just up and down the main path from Knocknarea car park to the cairn and back. Its good practice for the downhill part which some people struggle on after working so hard on the other parts.

Mentally I used to always look at it as 3 runs. A run to the mountain, then the mountain part and then flat out home. Great feeling when ya hit the cairn as it nearly all downhill from then on.

Anyways best of luck to Stew and any other Sligo boardies doing it this year. Ya wont regret it.

Roll on the 27th of August

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Sligo22

would love to do it at some stage, maybe next year... doing the Kesh caves and Knocknashee among other places yesterday really showed me how unfit i've gotten :( any advice on a good reasonably priced gym in town????

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Looked at the map of last years route again ealier on today, and for the first time, the elevation chart, I then got a slightly daunting feeling about the thing. Man that hill is alot lot steeper than I thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I'm definitely doing it again this year. I missed last year's race because I was living where CoolRunning is living now. I last did it when the course changed in 2009, sick as a dog, and broke my cough syrup in my bag taking it out of my car...crappy day but still loved it.

I'll be registering myself, my brother (as a birthday present for him) and my cousin (as a 'I know you don't want to do it, but if I pay for you, you'll have no choice but to go' present :) ) I'll be registering all three of us on the opening day on may 2nd.

It's a great race, well organised and very well supported by the local community, it's my favourite to do.

Sligo22 wrote: »
    would love to do it at some stage, maybe next year... doing the Kesh caves and Knocknashee among other places yesterday really showed me how unfit i've gotten :( any advice on a good reasonably priced gym in town????

I used to be a member in the clarion for the first year it was open, back in 2005-2006. It was expensive at the time (about €600 a year) but I was using it everyday so it worked out well priced for me. I haven't a clue on the cost now though.

If you just want to go running, you should head out towards the racecourse, I used to run around there everyday in the summer when I lived in Sligo...again, not sure if you can still do it though.

cloneslad wrote: »
    I used to be a member in the clarion for the first year it was open, back in 2005-2006. It was expensive at the time (about €600 a year) but I was using it everyday so it worked out well priced for me. I haven't a clue on the cost now though.

If you just want to go running, you should head out towards the racecourse, I used to run around there everyday in the summer when I lived in Sligo...again, not sure if you can still do it though.

You can run it. I've been on it twice during the week, use the access about a few hundred metres up from the sports complex.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Sligo22

Thanks will look into it a the end of the semester when i have time to :D

Sligo22 wrote: »
    Thanks will look into it a the end of the semester when i have time to :D

Bear in mind, the races start next month so may not get into run on race days/evenings.

I've run around it a few times in the early afternoon before an evening race without any problems, you might get to chat to a couple of jockeys trying to sweat out a few more pound before the races while on your run.

cloneslad wrote: »
    I've run around it a few times in the early afternoon before an evening race without any problems, you might get to chat to a couple of jockeys trying to sweat out a few more pound before the races while on your run.

Might get a tip or two as well.

I was working in a bookies at the time too, last thing I had on my mind was losing money on horses like the people coming into the shop

• Registered Users Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Lornen

15km? Crap.

I better up my training :o

Is the time limit still 2 hours?!

Feeling a little sick at the thought! :(

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Mr Cawley

The mountain will sap your legs for the run home, if you haven't run the race in training it'll be a struggle, unless you're used to running beyond that distance comfortably.

Also zig-zagging down the mountain allows for much more pace than climbing down in a straight line.

Mountain running is a must to build flexibility in your calves and achilles otherwise you'll feel serious pain in them in the more vertical sections on the way up.

The first year doing it is the toughest!

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭whatswhat

irish-stew wrote: »
    Looked at the map of last years route again ealier on today, and for the first time, the elevation chart, I then got a slightly daunting feeling about the thing. Man that hill is alot lot steeper than I thought.

Fair play to you. 25 Euro from me, to a charity of your choice if you complete it...........incentives can pay dividends!! All the Best!

Hill training is defo going to be a must, although want to get a bit of distance and strenght in the legs first before attempting that. Have been up to the car park at the base before but need to talk a walk up the public path in the next week or two to familaise my self.
    Lornen wrote: »
    15km? Crap.

I better up my training :o

Is the time limit still 2 hours?!

Feeling a little sick at the thought! :(

Broom wagon is 2 1/2 behind Lornen, based on your times though if you can keep that average pace through out you'll be well within.
    whatswhat wrote: »
    Fair play to you. 25 Euro from me, to a charity of your choice if you complete it...........incentives can pay dividends!! All the Best!

Cheers, but dont forget everyone else on the thread.

This is just a personal adheivement for me. The slagging I'll get if I dont finish it will push me on.

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

I'll be running it again, I have a feeling the places will fly out as soon as it opens!

An event I thought might help with training, not so much the distance and terrain, but running as part of a group as part of an event. The Streets of Sligo 5km, also being discussed here, an entry form is in todays Champion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Just a few initial tips I can think of.

Build up mileage slowly.

Consistant training at the start. Save the hard stuff for when youre fit.

Incorporate cycling if possible as this will make the legs stronger for the uphill and downhill.

Do one long run per week (longer than the rest).

Build this long run up to 9 miles to get around or up to 12-15 for the strenght to push it a bit.

Second run should be 2/3 distance of longest run.

Do 6 by 100m fast but relaxed and walk back after 2 weekly runs (not sprinting, just fast). Wait till youre running a few weeks to try this. It gets your legs used to different paces. These are called strides.

Ive added a sample early week and week closer to teh warriors run for an intermediate runner.

week A

sun 5 miles

mon 3 (6 strides at end)

wed 3

Thur 3 (6 strides at end)

Sat cycle 45 min

Week W

sun warriors route easy pace (9 miles)
    Mon hilly cycle 90 mins.

tues 3 miles very easy

Wed 7 miles (1.5 mile warm up with 3 by 1 mile mile ran at a harder pace, rest for 3 mins after each one then 1.5 mile warm down).

sat 7 miles (20 minute at a hard even continuos pace, or 40 minutes at warriors race pace). Flat or undulating road.

Endurance is important to get you around the course. (long run)
    Leg strenght gets you up and down mountain faster and in better shape (cycling, hilly runs)
    Stamina gets you around quicker and makes you hold the pace (3 by 1 mile, continuous fast runs).

That last week there is advanced enough. Id say endurance and leg strenght are most important.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

MoonDancer wrote: »
    I'll be running it again, I have a feeling the places will fly out as soon as it opens!

Great event and the 800 places aren't long filling up so get in early I'd say.

BTW the Online Registration opening has been changed to 9th May 2011 at High Noon. See HERE

Best of luck to all the Boardsies taking part. I have the onerous duty once again this year of sampling the beers to ensure the highest quality standards are maintained for runners afterwards. I shall also be on cheering duties for finshers so when ye have ye're numbers, post them here so I'll know when to give the extra special roar.

Plazaman wrote: »
    Great event and the 800 places aren't long filling up so get in early I'd say.

BTW the Online Registration opening has been changed to 9th May 2011 at High Noon. See HERE

Best of luck to all the Boardsies taking part. I have the onerous duty once again this year of sampling the beers to ensure the highest quality standards are maintained for runners afterwards. I shall also be on cheering duties for finshers so when ye have ye're numbers, post them here so I'll know when to give the extra special roar.

Any idea if the registration is through runireland.com, or do the warriors run organisers have their own set up.

Would love to have a beer afterwards, unfortunatly, due to prior commitments it will be the soft stuff for me afterwards. But I wish you well on your quaility assurance role.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Any idea if the registration is through runireland.com, or do the warriors run organisers have their own set up.

Would love to have a beer afterwards, unfortunatly, due to prior commitments it will be the soft stuff for me afterwards. But I wish you well on your quaility assurance role.

Ya, I think they operate a standalone system so you can only register through their website.

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭JonnyF

had to miss last year's event cos it clashed with a rugby match, won't have that excuse this time around. can't wait

Registration for the Warriors Run opens midday tomorrow.

Doing the Streets of Sligo 5k next weekend. Need to find a 8-10k training plan after that.

just signed up for the 5k myself, I'll be signing up for the warriors tomorrow too.

There a 10k run here in monaghan next sunday but I have done it before so I figured I'd try a new one instead, plus 5k is shorter than 10k (apparently it's twice as short, but that's only hearsay) so it's a win win all round for lazy old me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭promethius

The entry fee is €40 that is bloody expensive!
    It's a very good event i'm not saying anything in relation to that but there's no way they can justify that as an entry fee. I know what people will say mountain in dangerous for insurance etc but it's a sponsored race that doesn't give a technical t shirt. Someone is making a nice profit on this, which is fine as long as the cost is reasonable.

I've organised races in the past so have an idea of the costs involved and the things that need to be paid for, a total of €32,000 goes a very very long way. I'm planning on doing it all that aside!

Hmm. The home page states registration has opened, but when you go to register, it states another hour before it opens.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Hmm. The home page states registration has opened, but when you go to register, it states another hour before it opens.

Major FAIL, joke of a site.
    Is it just me or has the price gone up too ?

Major FAIL, joke of a site.
    Is it just me or has the price gone up too ?

What was it last year?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

What was it last year?

€30, just found the paypal email in my gmail.
    Disgrace, but will still pay it for the sake of taking part in the event.

€30, just found the paypal email in my gmail.
    Disgrace, but will still pay it for the sake of taking part in the event.

Hope your not in a rush. This is the message on the site.

Bear With Us - Registration Opening Very Soon Servers Slow To Upload