Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2011 Outdoor Results

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Hession starts his season well with a 200m in Rome at the Diamond League meet with a solid perfomance. 8th (9 runners) in a time of 21.06

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

ecoli wrote: »
    Hession starts his season well with a 200m in Rome at the Diamond League meet with a solid perfomance. 8th (9 runners) in a time of 21.06

21.06 is slow by his standards, even if it is the start of the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Ciaran O'Lionarid ran 29.09 to finish 3rd in the East region prelims for the NCAA, qualifying comfortably. He is due to run the 5k on Saturday. David Rooney ran 29.48, failing to qualify.

David McCarthy ran 3.50.72 in the 1500 heats, failing to get through by one place. He is an alternate for Saturdays semi finals.

http://iuhoosiers.cstv.com/livestats/m-track/ncaaprelim11/

04072511 wrote: »
    21.06 is slow by his standards, even if it is the start of the season.

True not as fast as previous openers ( think 20.66 and 20.58 have been times in recent years) however the fact that this year he has not opened with a 100m first might just show a little race rust hopefully

Yeh hopefully, as 21 seconds is not encouraging. But Christian Malcolm ran only 1 tenth quicker, and he won the silver medal in Barca last year.

Have just seen the Diamond League from Rome (it was on at 3am here so stayed away from the results of all races, except Men's 200, so I could watch the repeat properly):

There was nothing in the women's 100m Hurdles and Men's 400m that would have Derval and Gillick worried.

Usain looked very laboured, but first race of the year it is to be expected I guess. How many people can run 9.91 and be considered to have run a sub standard performance. Another great run by Lemiatre by the way.

Felix outstanding in the 400m. Don't know why she ran the 200m. Utterly crazy decision. There was no way she could do herself any justice 45 minutes after a sub 50 400m. I'm a bit concerned that she could over-race going into the Olympics and try bite off more than she can chew. But great run in the 400m, and destroyed Richards, who looked well out of shape.

Blanca Vlasic hasn't been setting the world on fire as you would expect, but its early days and I'm sure she'll come good in time for Daegu.

Great to see Dai Greene challenging the big boys in the 400 Hurdles.

And a great crowd of 47,000 last night. Always good to see athletics get big crowds. Hopefully the Koreans hop on board for the worlds in august.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭SeanKenny

Does anybody know if Thomas Chamney or David Campbell have opened their seasons yet?

David Flynn 7th in the NCAA D2 Championships in the Steeplechase clocking 8.58 after hitting 9.02 the day before in the heats

O'Lionaird ran 14.06 in regionals to easily qualify for the NCAA 5k. It will be interesting to see what he decides to do at nationals. With a front running 3.40 1500 behind him this year, a medal cannot be that far away. It's a pity Sam Chalanga is hanging about in both events!

http://iuhoosiers.cstv.com/livestats/m-track/ncaaprelim11/

Brian Murphy had a super run in a time of 47.09 in Geneva with Eoin Mulhall and Jason Harvey also running 48.15 and 48.8 respectively

Also Claire Bergin with a time of 11.86 into a -0.7 headwind. This was followed up with a 53.99 in the 400m while Michelle Carey ran 53.45

May other athletes also in action

Full Results

Jessie Barr ran 58.19 in 400h to get the Euro u23 standard in Belgrade while Ciara Giles Doran got the EYOF standard in the 200 running 24.64

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Fionnuala Britton ran 15:30 or so in Hengelo this afternoon.

Edited to add: for 5k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Tangle2

Its been a great weekend for some Irish athletes. In addition to those mentioned elsewhere on this thread Paul Robinson got the European U23 time for 1500m, Liam Markham achieved the standard for the European Junior 1500m as did Shane Quinn for the 5000m. Well done to all and its fantastic to see the number of qualifiers rising by the week!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

Gillick making his return this week:
    From Sindo:

Irish 400m record holder David Gillick has switched plans about making his return to competitive 400m action where he has a world-class 44.77 time to his credit.

Last week Gillick announced his first race would be the Diamond League meeting in New York on June 11 but, having examined the quality of the opposition, he felt that he would need the benefit of a previous outing before taking on such strong field which includes Olympic and world champion Jeremy Wariner.

So he has managed to secure a 400m race in Clermont, Florida a week earlier.

Nice run by Bergin over 400m in Geneva; she's looking increasingly likely to replace either Furlong or Andrews on the 4x400m team at the Team Championships later in June alongside Carey and Cuddihy (if she's running/not injured).

Roseanne Galligan in the 800 in Manchester with a 2.06. Hot on her heels was Ciara Everard in 2.07. Should be interested to see how both get on as i think Ciara is looking to step up to the 1500 this year. Could be a good move for her

One missed at the weekend. Kourosh Foroughi winning in Germany with a 2.18m jump

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=19402

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭TrackFan123

John Travers ran a 3:42, great speed for a 5k specialist! European u23 qualifier as well

Cragg in action this weekend at the Pre Classic. Surely aiming to hit the WC standard

http://www.diamondleague-eugene.com/Live-StartlistsResults/Overview/10000m-Men/

Cragg in action this weekend at the Pre Classic. Surely aiming to hit the WC standard

http://www.diamondleague-eugene.com/Live-StartlistsResults/Overview/10000m-Men/

Seems to be a full weekend of 10k running for Irish athletes with the following running in the European Cup:

Mary Cullen
    Gary Thornton
    Joe Sweeney

Results from Belgium tonight:

Steven Colvert 10.59 in the 100m and 21.02 in the 200m (well inside u23 standard)

John Travers 8.03 in the 3k

Encouraging results for both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Panie Janie

2 June 2011 - Bonneuil(Paris), French D2 National Meet

4x100m W
    3rd/3 Ireland 46.19
    (Ailis McSweeney, Claire Brady, Amy Foster, Niamh Whelan)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 patfol

Ferrybank AC set a new National Club record in the 4 x 100m at the European Clubs Championships in Belgrade last weekend in a time of 46.03, knocking nearly a second off the previous record (also held by Ferryabnk AC)
    -Mairead Murphy, Niamh Whelan, Ciara Giles-Doran, Kelly Proper

Kerry Harty's recent NI records are ones that slipped under the radar.

10:13 in her debut 3000m Steeplechase. Should go much faster when in faster races and with more experience over the barriers. And then 15:58 for 5000m.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

patfol wrote: »
    Ferrybank AC set a new National Club record in the 4 x 100m at the European Clubs Championships in Belgrade last weekend in a time of 46.03, knocking nearly a second off the previous record (also held by Ferryabnk AC)
    -Mairead Murphy, Niamh Whelan, Ciara Giles-Doran, Kelly Proper

Faster than the National squad did last night. Also, one change in particular (Whelan to Proper) was deliberately safe so they will go sub 46 next time they race at that level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

They need in the region of 43.50secs to challenge for a place at the Olympics though. I'm sure they'll get close to it...the European team championships will provide an ideal opportunity to have a crack at it.

2 June 2011 - Bonneuil(Paris), French D2 National Meet

4x100m W
    3rd/3 Ireland 46.19
    (Ailis McSweeney, Claire Brady, Amy Foster, Niamh Whelan)

Note that's the results shown on the French website - the photographs seem to show Ailis, Derval O'Rourke and Claire Brady running the first three legs with no pic of the final leg.

Other results given for the same meeting are:

100m W
    Heat 3 (+3.2): 5th/5 Claire Brady 12.12

200m W
    Heat 1 (+4.2): 1st/5 Amy Foster 23.65
    Heat 2 (+2.7): 5th/5 Niamh Whelan 24.39

The OCI and AAI seem pretty set on only sending people with A-Standards to London (in fact they seem to be suggesting that unless an athlete has a realistic chance of top 16 then they wont be sent. Madness!), but does anybody know what their policy is for the World Championships in Daegu? Will they send some people onn B-Standards for experience?

I'm getting the feeling that the team for Daegu may be very small, with the toughening of the standards set down by the IAAF, and the fact that last year's times can't carry over to this year, like in the past.

The OCI and AAI seem pretty set on only sending people with A-Standards to London (in fact they seem to be suggesting that unless an athlete has a realistic chance of top 16 then they wont be sent. Madness!), but does anybody know what their policy is for the World Championships in Daegu? Will they send some people onn B-Standards for experience?

I'm getting the feeling that the team for Daegu may be very small, with the toughening of the standards set down by the IAAF, and the fact that last year's times can't carry over to this year, like in the past.

I got the impression from reading an interview with Ireland's new performance director Kevin Ankrom that only athletes with the A-standard will be sent. He said this would be the case for major championships and as you said, even athletes with the A-standard are not safe. He made an interesting point that some athletes are adept at qualifying perennially for major championships but do not perform when it comes to the crunch. So all signs point to the fact that B-standards may not be sufficient for Daegu.

Dan man wrote: »
    I got the impression from reading an interview with Ireland's new performance director Kevin Ankrom that only athletes with the A-standard will be sent. He said this would be the case for major championships and as you said, even athletes with the A-standard are not safe. He made an interesting point that some athletes are adept at qualifying perennially for major championships but do not perform when it comes to the crunch. So all signs point to the fact that B-standards may not be sufficient for Daegu.

Any up and coming athlete who achieves a B-Standard should be sent, for experience.

And in my opinion, if somebody achieves a standard that is deemed good enough by the IAAF or OCI then they should be allowed compete, regardless of form. For some people just making an Olympics or World's is the fullfillment of maximum potential, and a life long goal. Doesn't seem right for this to be taken away from them because the OCI or AAI want to save a few quid! (I appreciate this has been done to death).

If the AAI don't want to pick them, then they should still be allowed to pay their own way.

Only sending people who have a chance at top 16 is quite shortsighted! And if we do that we will have a team of about 5 athletes!

They should save their cash by sending over less useless officials, and allow the athletes to compete in a championship that they have achieved a qualification standard for.

Any up and coming athlete who achieves a B-Standard should be sent, for experience.

And in my opinion, if somebody achieves a standard that is deemed good enough by the IAAF or OCI then they should be allowed compete, regardless of form. For some people just making an Olympics or World's is the fullfillment of maximum potential, and a life long goal. Doesn't seem right for this to be taken away from them because the OCI or AAI want to save a few quid! (I appreciate this has been done to death).

If the AAI don't want to pick them, then they should still be allowed to pay their own way.

Only sending people who have a chance at top 16 is quite shortsighted! And if we do that we will have a team of about 5 athletes!

They should save their cash by sending over less useless officials, and allow the athletes to compete in a championship that they have achieved a qualification standard for.

I personally love to see as many Irish competing as possible, even if they only hit the B-standard. I'm not embarrassed by seeing some of our athletes bringing up the rear in some events because I can appreciate the achievement in simply qualifying for the championships. The only thing that disappoints me is when I see an athlete not performing to their potential. I can see the validity in the argument of only sending athletes who can compete for places in the final, but I think this stance is more beneficial for large countries such as G.B. where there is a bigger pool of athletes to choose from. Regardless, I'm confident that a good number of our athletes can step up to the plate and do us proud come Daegu/London.

Suppose somebody like Ciara Mageean was to hit the B-Standard in time for London. Surely it would make sense to send her to London for experience, something which could be huge in the development of her career, and her prospects in Rio. It's very shortsighted to only pick athletes on A-Standards. Olive Loughnane came way down the field in her first major championship and look where she is now. It's all about giving the young athletes experience that will benefit them in the future. I would have though this was obvious, but the AAI aren't exactly the sharpest tools in the box.

You're right, and Rob Heffernan and Gillian O'Sullivan also progressed no end after a couple of championships to the point where they were able to challenge at the very top. I may be wrong but didn't Hession fall foul of this rule when he missed out on the A-standard for Athens by 0.01secs and they didn't send him? Ciara Mageean should definitely be sent if she hits any of the standards but I have a suspicion that she will achieve the A-standard by then, even though it will be tough. Laura Reynolds also should be sent to Daegu this year as she has the B-standard and the experience will do her all the good in the world prior to London. I hope a bit of common sense will come into the decision but I wouldn't count on it either I'm afraid.

. I hope a bit of common sense will come into the decision but I wouldn't count on it either I'm afraid.

It's so disappointing to constantly see such incompetence at the head of our sport in this country. It's infuriating reading about this "top 16" requirement they are pulling out of their @rses of late!

"Here's a good idea lads. Let's kill all interest in this sport here in Ireland, by basically sending less than half a dozen athletes to a major global championship".

It frustrates me too when I see the standards of international governing bodies adjusted by AAI especially at underage levels. However, Ireland are not the only people who do this, its regular enough. At senior level I can see the merits of not sending a 28 year old on a B standard but again if a standard is gained then maybe they should be allowed go.

However, what also frustrates me is someone with comments like this.
    , but the AAI aren't exactly the sharpest tools in the box.

04072511 - are you saying you believe people like Kevin Ankrom ( he seems to have a good record from NZ but is yet to be tested here) and Brid Golden or Teresa McDaid (coach to so many top youth, junior, U23 and Senior athletes of international standard) are not the sharpest tools in the box. What knowledge, experience and success of your own allows you to make such a strong statement essentially against these people?

By the way, not denying there are HP issues.

Result from Regensburg today:

Rk. StNr. Name Jg. Nat. Verein Leistung
    1. 490 Schembera Robin 1988 GER TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen 1:46.41 1./I
    2. 389 Limo Timothy 1987 KEN Kenia 1:46.51 2./I
    3. 106 Rifesser Lukas 1986 ITA SSV Bruneck 1:47.17 3./I
    4. 141 Jurkevits Dmitrijs 1987 LAT OC Daugavpils (Lettland) 1:47.52 4./I
    5. 359 McBrearty Darren 1991 IRE Irland 1:47.79 5./I
    6. 360 McCarthy David 1983 IRE Irland 1:47.80 6./I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

At the European Cup 10000m in Oslo today, Mary Cullen finished 11th in 33.02, race was won in 31.39 by Sara Moreira (Portugal).

In the men's B section, Gary Thornton finished 13th in 30.42, Joe Sweeney down as a DNF in A section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭longjump67

Jason Smyth runs 10.29 in America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭TrackFan123

Ciara Mageean ran 2:04.72 at the IMC, not bad for a season opener! Her coach Eamonn Christie commented on it on the athletics NI website so this fully dismisses the rumours on here that she was leaving her ocach and had an achilles problem

http://www.niathletics.org/news/default.asp?ID=2234&itemId=219&topicId&va=0

Big PB for Jason Harvey as well

The official results posted on the IMC website show a 2:05.08 for Ciara.

thirtyfoot wrote: »
    However, what also frustrates me is someone with comments like this.

04072511 - are you saying you believe people like Kevin Ankrom ( he seems to have a good record from NZ but is yet to be tested here) and Brid Golden or Teresa McDaid (coach to so many top youth, junior, U23 and Senior athletes of international standard) are not the sharpest tools in the box. What knowledge, experience and success of your own allows you to make such a strong statement essentially against these people?

By the way, not denying there are HP issues.

It was a comment in reference to the organisation in general. One only has to trawl through these boards to see the general level of disgust at the rubbish that goes in within the AAI. Seeing a load of useless officials getting essentially a free trip while athletes who have achieved qualification standards are left at home is a disgrace and nothing will change me on that.

I'm not saying anything about Kevin Ankrom, and I am quite optimistic about his appointment. However I do not agree with his "top 16 policy" that he has been suggesting. Having a team of 5-6 athletes at an Olympics is not the way to promote the sport in this country. The more athletes seen competing on the world stage the better!

There's a chance we won't see him running a relay for Ireland again I would guess.

:(

It was a comment in reference to the organisation in general. One only has to trawl through these boards to see the general level of disgust at the rubbish that goes in within the AAI. Seeing a load of useless officials getting essentially a free trip while athletes who have achieved qualification standards are left at home is a disgrace and nothing will change me on that.

I'm not saying anything about Kevin Ankrom, and I am quite optimistic about his appointment. However I do not agree with his "top 16 policy" that he has been suggesting. Having a team of 5-6 athletes at an Olympics is not the way to promote the sport in this country. The more athletes seen competing on the world stage the better!

So you seem to be basing your 'useless officials' theory on what you read here. Aside from maybe one person there has been no animosity towards the 'useless officials' who go to majors. The majority of 'officials' who go are the personal coaches of the athletes who go. There are medical staff too of course but no Olympic Council style lads swaning around in blazers from Mickey Mouse sports who have never had an athlete get near an Olympics. Be carefull with tarring all with the same brush based on what you read on the Internet. Speaking to people in the real world of our sport they believe boards is full of anoraks, quacks and agitators. There are some of these here but the majority are not so it's probably unfair to tar all boards posters as that, same as unfair to tar all officials as useless.

Back on topic, Gillick run is worrying but no need to panic. If he runs 46 on next day out then it could be panic stations. I believe that a change of coach and regime can sometimes lead to some shaky races early in the process. Different pace or rhythm in training can sometimes mess up your race pattern although not usually to the extent of 2 seconds over 400.

Ciaran O'Lionaird in action this week in the NCAA finals. Is down for the 5/10k having qualified in both.

Thursday

Event 8 Men 10000 Meter Run
    ===============================================================================
    Final only. Random draw. Double waterfall. 2/3 on main
    Name Year School Seed
    Section 1 Timed Finals
    1 705 Bo Waggoner SR Duke 29:14.65
    2 1163 Shadrack Kipchirchir SO Western Kentucky 29:08.64
    3 1016 Miles Unterreiner JR Stanford 29:14.46
    4 1166 Jon Grey SR William and Mary 29:25.03
    5 953 Luke Puskedra JR Oregon 29:19.68
    6 691 Nate Edelman SR Cornell 29:10.11
    7 1008 Chris Derrick JR Stanford 29:13.10
    8 621 Stephen Sambu JR Arizona 29:16.72
    9 943 Colby Lowe JR Oklahoma State 29:11.83
    10 732 Ciaran O'Lionaird SR Florida State 29:09.75
    11 818 Sam Chelanga SR Liberty 29:00.94
    12 1170 Maverick Darling SO Wisconsin 29:17.56
    13 1002 Jeff Schirmer SR So. Illinois 29:14.91
    14 725 Michael Fout SO Florida State 29:09.89
    15 1009 Elliott Heath SR Stanford 29:11.44
    16 788 Leonard Korir SR Iona 29:10.58
    17 825 Michael Eaton SR Louisville 29:14.14
    18 901 Keith Gerrard SR New Mexico 29:14.67
    19 954 Parker Stinson FR Oregon 29:20.89
    20 1013 Jake Riley SR Stanford 29:13.75
    21 1022 Tito Medrano SO Syracuse 29:10.01
    22 789 Alexander Soderberg JR Iona 29:18.45
    23 686 Joe Bosshard SO Colorado 29:15.57
    24 981 Matt Llano SR Richmond 29:11.06

Saturday

Event 7 Men 5000 Meter Run
    Final only. Random draw. Double waterfall. 2/3 on main
    Name Year School Seed
    Section 1 Timed Finals
    1 779 Ben Hubers JR Indiana 14:08.30
    2 913 Andrew Colley FR NC State 14:08.43
    3 915 Ryan Hill SO NC State 14:06.99
    4 917 Diego Estrada JR Northern Arizona 13:35.03
    5 1169 Reed Connor FR Wisconsin 13:48.59
    6 966 Mark Amirault SR Princeton 14:08.03
    7 678 Eric Finan JR Cincinnati 14:07.54
    8 967 Donn Cabral JR Princeton 14:06.55
    9 904 Ross Millington SO New Mexico 13:36.39
    10 618 Lawi Lalang FR Arizona 13:30.64
    11 642 Ben Cheruiyot JR Auburn 14:08.08
    12 1009 Elliott Heath SR Stanford 13:47.38
    13 942 Thomas Farrell SO Oklahoma State 13:34.83
    14 902 Nicholas Kipruto JR New Mexico 13:41.90
    15 732 Ciaran O'Lionaird SR Florida State 14:06.26
    16 1004 Cameron Levins JR Southern Utah 13:46.48
    17 1008 Chris Derrick JR Stanford 13:48.84
    18 1167 Mohammed Ahmed SO Wisconsin 13:34.23
    19 900 Rory Fraser SR New Mexico 13:48.74
    20 1133 William Mulherin JR Virginia Tech 14:06.68
    21 781 Andrew Poore JR Indiana 14:09.37
    22 686 Joe Bosshard SO Colorado 13:34.44
    23 818 Sam Chelanga SR Liberty 14:06.16
    24 788 Leonard Korir SR Iona 14:06.78

Will be interesting to see whether he focuses or whether he feels there is enough rest between them to double which such quality fields

Good luck to him in both. Current temperature in Des Moines is 33 degrees. Though the forecast is for lower temps (22) and thunderstorms on Thursday. He might be lucky.

Hollie Knight also runs in the women's 10k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭downwithfacses

high performance director kevin ankrom back in his pomp...has jumped 2:22 for the high jump too, good level so hopefully he can inspire irish field eventers to even higher performances

Note that's the results shown on the French website

The photographs show Amy Foster, Derval O'Rourke and Claire Brady running the first three legs
    - the final leg had to be Niamh Whelan.
    Not that it really matters now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

According to AAI website, the 4x100m team was Ailis McSweeney, Claire Brady, Amy Foster and Niamh Whelan. But according to Derval's blog she ran it as Ailis has a niggle.