Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Aviva yesterday

• 10-04-2011 11:33am

I know this happens a lot at games, but yesterday it annoyed me more than usual.

The 1st 15 minutes of yesterdays match was completely lost on me as I was up and down in my seat every 30 seconds letting latecomers stroll in and take their seats. I know that this is something that happens a lot at Irish sporting events in general but my oh my is it annoying. Surely it wouldn't be unreasonable to stop people from rocking into the ground 15 minutes after kick off, and instead if you're THAT late you can wait until half time to take your seat? It's not fair on the fans who are there to actually enjoy a game of rugby rather than just be at a social event.

Some of the morons I saw yesterday seemed to have no interest in the match. There was a couple near me who came in about 13 minutes into the game, sat down and then chatted away with no eye at all on the game. Another fella, who came in about 10 minutes late, seemed to find the seat numbering system all too much for him so decided that standing in the aisle in everyones way was the best solution. Then when everyone behind him started telling him to get out of the way he became bullish and aggressive. Honest to God. If they want to waste their money that's their prerogative, but it isn't fair that their tardiness affects the real fans whoa re trying to watch and enjoy the game.

Also, one more minor thing, surely an announcement at half time to indicate the 2nd half is about to start could help to slightly alleviate instances of the above at the start of the 2nd half? I know most people are aware that half time is 10 minutes, but it wouldn't hurt!

/ rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Also, one more minor thing, surely an announcement at half time to indicate the 2nd half is about to start could help to slightly alleviate instances of the above at the start of the 2nd half? I know most people are aware that half time is 10 minutes, but it wouldn't hurt!

I think the half time thing is always going to happen. People getting drinks/food and/or taking a wee - there were some awful queues yesterday at half time for both. Much more so than at the RDS, and there's a lot more toilets in the Aviva (and yes, a lot more people). Not sure those toilets are designed the best - surely a roundabout system like the RDS would let more people through in a shorter time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

I think the half time thing is always going to happen. People getting drinks/food and/or taking a wee - there were some awful queues yesterday at half time for both. Much more so than at the RDS, and there's a lot more toilets in the Aviva (and yes, a lot more people). Not sure those toilets are designed the best - surely a roundabout system like the RDS would let more people through in a shorter time?
    Wouldn't make a difference if they had a personal driver to their seats and regardless of venue. They would still be late. Grog more important to these folk, it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Baffles me. That match yesterday was compelling. I couldn't take my eyes off it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

durkadurka wrote: »
    Baffles me. That match yesterday was compelling. I couldn't take my eyes off it.

Baffles me most when people leave a match like yesterday's early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

JustinDee wrote: »
    Wouldn't make a difference if they had a personal driver to their seats and regardless of venue. They would still be late. Grog more important to these folk, it seems.

If you have to go, you have to go. Lots of folk care about watching the game and enjoy having a pint at the same time. It's nice when you can time it to do both, but sometimes it just doesn't work out like that (like me yesterday). I went out straight away at half time queued for the jacks, took a wee and bought a pint for myself and my mate. Got back about thirty seconds after second half kick off. Most of that time was toilet queuing.

Not a particularly big gripe to be honest as I don't mind missing thirty seconds of the game, but the toilet system isn't the best designed. I just think the RDS ones are better designed - more efficient. Anyways, this is kinda besides the point of the thread - I know it's the people that are very late/up and down for whatever reason that are the OPs pet hate. So I'll leave it.

Surley wrote: »
    Baffles me most when people leave a match like yesterday's early.

There are groups (home and visitor ticket holders) standing at the bars, watching the game on the screens while shouting 'C'mon Whatever team' ... while the game take place a few footsteps away through the stand!
    No game excepted. Leinster v Munster, Ireland v NZ/England, Leinster v Leicester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

There are groups (home and visitor ticket holders) standing at the bars, watching the game on the screens while shouting 'C'mon Whatever team' ... while the game take place a few footsteps away through the stand!
    No game excepted. Leinster v Munster, Ireland v NZ/England, Leinster v Leicester.

Yeah, I'd well believe it. I guess I just don't understand the mindset and never will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Really no point in going mad about this kind of thing. Especially on a rugby forum where you are only going to get consent. It's a part of any Irish sporting event. You'll either have to suck it up or watch the match from the comfort of your home.

Teferi wrote: »
    Really no point in going mad about this kind of thing. Especially on a rugby forum where you are only going to get consent. It's a part of any Irish sporting event. You'll either have to suck it up or watch the match from the comfort of your home.

People already suck it up. What I see as a pathetic trait is a perfectly valid grievance to have a yap about and typically so for this little island of ours, the majority has to tolerate someone else's inconsideration/ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Well then Justin, you feel free to go mad about it. I'll be more worried about Leinster winning the HC and Munster winning the Amlin.

Teferi wrote: »
    Well then Justin, you feel free to go mad about it. I'll be more worried about Leinster winning the HC and Munster winning the Amlin.
    I'm not going "mad".
    I'm posting about it on an internet forum.

I'm with Justin . I don't say that often. I was at the Ireland match in Scotland too and couldn't believe the number of Irish fans with absolutely zero interest in the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭TheRevolution

Ques were very bad yesterday in fairness. At the bar in the east lower the workers behind the cashier weren't pouring pints they were just chatting with each other. The whole point is that they are meant to continuously pour pints so the pints are ready upon payment. It was my round (would have left it otherwise) so I reluctantly decided to go 1 minute before half time to beat the ques, By the time I had the pints it was 3 minutes into the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Unfortunately you are alkways going to get this when its all seater and people have to find their way to a specific place. The fact that there are bars selling drink everywhere doesnt help things with people nipping out all the time for refills. Maybe they should the bars during the game?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

I was in the upper east stand. I too was pished off of the latecomers and people who had zero interest in the game. Was right beside a walkway and spent the first 10 minutes of each half bobbing and weaving trying to get a view of the match.

Im sure the season ticket holder sections would be a better place to enjoy the rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭whysomoody

Be careful not to bite the hand that feeds you though, the more fair weather supporters the better as they are plouging money into the game.
    You will never get 80,000 people filling Croke Park or 50k in Aviva being staunch supporters, but be thankful they choose to give their money to Rugby rather than a junket to Man Utd etc.

Everyone has to start somewhere and it's great that the game is reaching new people all of the time.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

I dont like drinking at matches as I hate having to get up and go to the john in case I miss something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I think blocking access to the stands a short while after kick off would be a fantastic idea. As would shutting the bars during the match (half time included). It absolutely ruins the match when people who don't really care about the match are up and down like yo-yos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

tolosenc wrote: »
    I think blocking access to the stands a short while after kick off would be a fantastic idea. As would shutting the bars during the match (half time included). It absolutely ruins the match when people who don't really care about the match are up and down like yo-yos.

What about people who do care about the game but for whatever reason (bus is late, have a prior appointment, get stuck in traffic, etc) can't get to the ground until shortly after kick off? You are banning them from attending games.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

i wouldnt say ruins the match but it is very annoying.

one thing to keep in mind is
    a) ask to swap seats with them as its obvious they want to be on the outside
    b) ask them to go out the other way if they're taking the piss by being up and down every few mins
    c) be really really slow and deliberate about moving.

Just switch the TV screens off when game is on and hey presto, people will head to stands. If they don't, they are truly a waste of a ticket.
    In my opinion anyway.

Just switch the TV screens off when game is on and hey presto, people will head to stands. If they don't, they are truly a waste of a ticket.
    In my opinion anyway.

Sod them, let them stay out there, they're not pissing me off when they're out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

People already suck it up. What I see as a pathetic trait is a perfectly valid grievance to have a yap about and typically so for this little island of ours, the majority has to tolerate someone else's inconsideration/ignorance.

An extremely accurate and unfortunately poignant observation that can be applied to an ever increasing number of features of Irish society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

danthefan wrote: »
    What about people who do care about the game but for whatever reason (bus is late, have a prior appointment, get stuck in traffic, etc) can't get to the ground until shortly after kick off? You are banning them from attending games.

Well, if the rule is well known, and you're genuine, you'd be mighty pissed off and be straight to your seat once the half time whistle has gone. I find that those who are there for the rugby tend not to be the ones who stroll up to the stadium at kickoff time, they're usually there a good half hour beforehand.

I wasn't in the ground half an hour before the game yesterday, am I not a real rugby fan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Ridiculous idea but dantheman already posted a reply that I like.

My opinion is that when you buy tickets you have in effect rented those seats for those 3 hours or so; therefore you should be entitled to use that seat at any point throughout that time. Is it annoying when someone shows up late? Sure. Do I miss any of the game because of it? Well about as much as I do each time I blink so it's not a big deal to me.

The question probably should be do people who show up late/leave early ON PURPOSE deserve those tickets? Maybe not but as I said they paid for them and money makes this world tick so let them at it if they want I say.

I wasn't in the ground half an hour before the game yesterday, am I not a real rugby fan?

I think the point he is making is that real rugby fans, if such a rule were introduced, would get to their seats on time to ensure they don't get refused entry until half time. Real rugby fans certainly don't saunter in 15 mins late with a hot dog and a beer and disturb/block the view of half of the stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,568 ✭✭✭✭phog

IngazZagni wrote: »

My opinion is that when you buy tickets you have in effect rented those seats for those 3 hours or so; therefore you should be entitled to use that seat at any point throughout that time. Is it annoying when someone shows up late? Sure. Do I miss any of the game because of it? Well about as much as I do each time I blink so it's not a big deal to me.

The question probably should be do people who show up late/leave early ON PURPOSE deserve those tickets? Maybe not but as I said they paid for them and money makes this world tick so let them at it if they want I say.

What are the T&C on the tickets, usually, there is mention about not being permitted to the grounds within a certain timeframe of kick-off, not sure if it has ever been enforced but I think it's there.

Having a ticket doesn't give automatic right to come and go as you please, the ticket holder must show some regard to the prople they are disturbing as they enter/eixt their seats.

I think the point he is making is that real rugby fans, if such a rule were introduced, would get to their seats on time to ensure they don't get refused entry until half time. Real rugby fans certainly don't saunter in 15 mins late with a hot dog and a beer and disturb/block the view of half of the stand.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRXyyAeMXoGuT3z0Pj8fZhB-52rSuKMZto0L_l4qAqzKwR5Imfi

I am not having the exact same discussion with 2 people at the same time.

IngazZagni wrote: »

You see this is the sort of "entitlement" attitude that epitomises these people. Absolutely no consideration for other people. You miss as much as when you blink? Nonsense. I'll tell you what, I'll stand in front of you at the semi final shall I? And I'll disturb you ever 30 seconds asking you to stand up over and over. After 15 minutes we'll see how much of the game you've really taken in. Sure, you may know the score, but you won't have any feel for the game ata all. I know this because that's exactly how my day went yesterday.

You have "rented" the seat WITH CONDITIONS. If you were to punch the person beside you, chant racist chants, sit drinking a 6 pack, refuse to sit down or follow the directions of a stewart, etc etc, then you would be ejected from the ground without a refund.

You are not entitled to do whatever you want with your seat, nor should you be. In my opinion, excessive tardiness should be another condition for refusal to get to your seat until half time.
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRXyyAeMXoGuT3z0Pj8fZhB-52rSuKMZto0L_l4qAqzKwR5Imfi

I am not having the exact same discussion with 2 people at the same time.

Welcome to message boards. PM's are for 1 on 1 conversations. People are going to add to a debate. After 3000 posts I would have thought you would have grasped that concept, but keep looking for excuses to post a facepalm pic ;)

You are entitled to go buy a pint though.

Just for the record I didn't leave my seat at any stage other than half time, but closing the stadium the second the game starts is an absolutely daft idea.

You are entitled to go buy a pint though.

And funnily you're not supposed to be allowed bring booze into the stands (my brother was stopped from bringing a pint into the stand at half time). So unless your pint is that important to you that you sacrifice 10 mins of the match to go and buy it and then drink it, this shouldn't be an issue. Could always watch it in the pub............
    Just for the record I didn't leave my seat at any stage other than half time, but closing the stadium the second the game starts is an absolutely daft idea.

It's not though. When I was in college, a lot of lecturers wouldn't let you into class if you were late. They purposely delayed the lec by 2 or 3 mins and then it was off limits. Fair enough IMO.

AFAIK, I may be wrong, but I was told today that they do this at French and German league soccer matches.

It's not a "daft" idea. It just doesn't fit with the casual "ah sure it'll be grand" attitute this country has.

You can bring pints into the lower tier at lansdowne.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,630 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

While I wouldn't be in support of closing the stand when the game starts it's not as if it's a crazy idea. If you end up late for the theatre you'll often be left outside for a while. It's unfortunate for people who are late for reasons out of their control, but **** happens and all that.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,603 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Podge_irl wrote: »
    While I wouldn't be in support of closing the stand when the game starts it's not as if it's a crazy idea. If you end up late for the theatre you'll often be left outside for a while. It's unfortunate for people who are late for reasons out of their control, but **** happens and all that.

It is a crazy idea, the guards would never allow it. There would be a massive risk to crowd safety pre game if people became that desperate to get to their seats.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

copacetic wrote: »
    It is a crazy idea, the guards would never allow it. There would be a massive risk to crowd safety pre game if people became that desperate to get to their seats.

People would get used to it and adjust their arrival time accordingly. If someone had a prior engagement that was going to mean they were going to arrive late they could just choose to either wait until half time or just sell their ticket in advance.

copacetic wrote: »

I suppose. I'm not in favour of it, as I said, though people arriving late does irritate me a good deal.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,603 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Peter B wrote: »
    People would get used to it and adjust their arrival time accordingly. If someone had a prior engagement that was going to mean they were going to arrive late they could just choose to either wait until half time or just sell their ticket in advance.

No, to bring it in they would have to have 5 times as many stewards and guards on duty to enforce it and even then there would be a danger of trouble if for some reason large numbers were delayed getting to the ground.

It'd be chaos and then they would start delaying kick-offs to allow people get in to their seats while still allowed. It's not that big an issue anyway, just happened to be a late start on a lovely sunny day and more people were slow to get to the ground that usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

They should do like ice hockey in the states and not allow anyone back to their seats when the ball is in play.

At half time I headed for the toilet in the south upper, it took 15min, missed the first 3 of the second half.
    A big help there would be to allow people to bring their pints to their seats rather than stand in the back of the stand finishing them.

Sundy wrote: »
    They should do like ice hockey in the states and not allow anyone back to their seats when the ball is in play.

At half time I headed for the toilet in the south upper, it took 15min, missed the first 3 of the second half.
    A big help there would be to allow people to bring their pints to their seats rather than stand in the back of the stand finishing them.

You bring pints into the stands in the lower tier.

The gent's in my section of the south stand weren't open which didn't help, but it took me 15 minutes just to get out to the jacks and back again.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Lets just have an "area" where by buying a ticket you agree to
    • Arrive at your seat before KO
    • Remain in your seat until HT
    • Arrive back at your seat before KO
    • Remain in your seat until FT

Failure to abide by these and you are ejected from the stadium.
    Also this section has 2 bar/food stall staff and 5 toilets per person.

Carlsberg dont do Stadium Sections but if they did theyd probably be the best Stadium Sections in the world.

No need to apply any stringent ruling. Wouldn't work anyway. Irish people hate being told what to do. Hard enough for authorities trying to get to pay heed to the rules of the road, never mind foresaking beer for a whole 80 mins.

Just get to your seat and don't play the victim, if someone takes issue with you mucking up their day.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

No need to apply any stringent ruling. Wouldn't work anyway. Irish people hate being told what to do. Hard enough for authorities trying to get to pay heed to the rules of the road, never mind foresaking beer for a whole 80 mins.

Just get to your seat and don't play the victim, if someone takes issue with you mucking up their day.

Just to be sure I wasnt being serious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

You know what really pisses me off?! when people stand to cheer after a try. My seated view is blocked and I don't think its fair, I should be allowed to see the entire match unobstructed.

Its a live match, you are seeing live, with real live people, get over the individuals getting in your way complaints and just appreciate the match.

If you want a completely unobstructed, perfect view then get a box, better hope you aren't sitting in the second row or the person in front might get in your way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Have to say I got extremely annoyed during the match as well. People late, leaving before half time, arriving back late, leaving early. Not being able to make it the 40 mins without needing a piss.

Now I like a pint as well, but I never drink in the Aviva in the second half due to the fact I know I will never make it to the toilet, get a pint and make it back by the time second half starts.

I'm well used to these things at Stadiums, it was just the sheer volume of it yesterday that caused my annoyance. I also know that the increased capacity of the Aviva over the RDS was the cause. You obviously aren't gonna fill the Aviva with "hard-core" supporters who are there for the match rather than the social aspect. I also know that the increased capacity is too important to the IRFU and province to turn it down, so its something I find it hard to complain against. I just wish I had kept my season tickets seats for the quarter final rather than moving as I think I would have been in more like minded company in my old seat.

I don't get the attitude that we should just deal with it. Like respecting the kickers we should be trying to encourage new fans, who might not be aware of the annoyance they are causing, to respect the other fans, and come and enjoy the game, rather than the day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭purcela

Not allowing people in to the stadium after the kick off is a ridiculous suggestion. While I agree that it is a disgraceful there were so many people arriving in late to the stadium on Saturday, you have to understand that some of those people may have had a genuine exucse for being late. I, for example, had a hurling match at 4, which didn't end until after 5.15, then had to change and get dropped into Ringsend and sprint the entire way around the stadium, and unfortunately was sitting in the upper stand which meant it took me another few minutes to get up the stairs to my seat. Made it in with only 3 minutes of the game gone so I thought I had done well, but I was shocked at the number of people arriving in at the same time, who hadn't run the whole way around the stadium or made any effort to speed up.

And it could be worse, at least there isn't a situation like so many Dublin football matches in Croke Park where the kick off gets delayed by 15 minutes because so many people purposely stay in the pub for one last pint before going to the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Yes its annoying but when you are in a confined area with 50,000 other people you can't expect them all to behave the same way.

I think with the new stadium there are definitely still teething problems though.

1: The new route system is causing people to be late as people are being re directed all around the world to get to their entrance. They could have all intentions of arriving on time but still some people are unaware that you cant just walk up Lansdowne road if you are in the East Upper etc and are being sent on a 15 minute walk to get to the right route. This is causing people to arrive late.

2: The bars are an absolute shambles. Like it or not a pint and a match go hand in hand for a lot of people but the way the bars are being run in the Aviva is beyond stupidity. Pints are still being poured to order. Why in the name of god they cant have a few hundred pints ready to go at half time is beyond me. This is leading to people coming back late after half time. Also the price of the pints is €5.40 which means the spotty teenagers behind the bars have to count out change meaning further delays. Witness the pros running the pubs in Ballsbridge on the day charging €5 for everything. No need to be fecking around with coins and churning out the pints quickly.

3: Log jams at toilets. Why some of the toilets were built with only 1 entrance I will never be able to figure out. For the first time on Saturday they seemed to be trying to implement a 1 way system at the toilets that have 2 entrances so they seem to be learning as each match goes on.

4: Stupidly numbered seating. If I have seat number 1 in my row I would expect that to mean I have the aisle seat. Not in the Aviva. In the Aviva it means you are in the very middle seat in the row.

Hopefully they can iron out these problems. Also when the general population become more familiar with the stadium there should be less problems with people finding their seats and knowing which way to approach the ground.

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    1: The new route system is causing people to be late as people are being re directed all around the world to get to their entrance. They could have all intentions of arriving on time but still some people are unaware that you cant just walk up Lansdowne road if you are in the East Upper etc and are being sent on a 15 minute walk to get to the right route. This is causing people to arrive late
    It is more a case of people chancing their arm and trying to cut across the access routes. Information on access routes is made clear and is sent with tickets. It is also signposted around the area and on DART.
    Once again, a case of Irish people not liking being told what to do.
    MikeHoncho wrote: »
    2: The bars are an absolute shambles. Like it or not a pint and a match go hand in hand for a lot of people but the way the bars are being run in the Aviva is beyond stupidity. Pints are still being poured to order. Why in the name of god they cant have a few hundred pints ready to go at half time is beyond me. This is leading to people coming back late after half time. Also the price of the pints is €5.40 which means the spotty teenagers behind the bars have to count out change meaning further delays. Witness the pros running the pubs in Ballsbridge on the day charging €5 for everything. No need to be fecking around with coins and churning out the pints quickly
    Could have a point on the price rounding-off for sure. Personally I just feel its volume of people arriving late at stadium from first port of call. They should just really arrange if possible to leave their previous port-of-call a little earlier and meet up a little earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

It is more a case of people chancing their arm and trying to cut across the access routes. Information on access routes is made clear and is sent with tickets. It is also signposted around the area and on DART.
    Once again, a case of Irish people not liking being told what to do.

Yeah but most people just don't think to check this stuff and just presume they will be fine. The more games that have been on the more people will learn what way to go and more importantly where is suitable to go for a pint beforehand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

I have to say that unfortunately I was one of those people who was late in. Missed the earlier DART & ended up being bout 7 mins late. Luckily, my sister and I knew exactly where are seats were & that they were at the edge of a row so we'd be able to slip in without causing too much hassle (hopefully) to the people around. And believe me, we hated the fact that we were running late.

I don't mind letting people in and out of the rows during the matches but it seemed a bit excessive on Sat. There was one couple who turned up later than us, left after about 20 mins to get some beer etc & then did the same in the second half. Was a bit annoying to everyone around.

I do agree that the bars etc are a shambles. I left at half time to go and get some water & chocolate. The queueing was none existent & I was skipped repeatedly....even got an elbow in the back of the head by one guy trying to skip past me into a quicker moving queue. Took me most of half time to get that & I was one of the first out as our seats were really near the entrance/exit.