Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shakhtar -v- Barça, Champions league Quarter-final 2nd leg

• 10-04-2011 2:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭

UEFA Champions League
    (1 - 5)
    infos_shakhtar-fcb.jpg
    Donbass Arena
    Tuesday, 12 April 2011
    7:45pm (SSP 4HD, Setanta)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Barça squad:
    Valdés, Pinto, Alves, Piqué, Xavi, Villa, Messi, Mascherano, Keita, Sergio Busquets, Pedro, Milito, Maxwell, Afellay, Adriano, Jeffren, Oier, Fontàs, Thiago, Jonathan.

Abi, Puyo, Bojan injured - Iniesta suspended.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Fontas to start?

I'd love to see him get some minutes

Pinto didnt train last night as a precaution - looking toward the Copa is my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

638995_dead_rubber_ducky.jpg

Barça lineup:
    Valdés; Alves, Piqué, Busquets, Adriano; Xavi, Mascherano, Keita; Afellay, Messi, Villa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Pep's going for then... hope to fook there's no injuries

aaronh007 wrote: »
    Pep's going for then... hope to fook there's no injuries

I reckon he could be trying to start with a lot of pressure, find the away goal then make the changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Shakthar going through would be one of the all-time great European comebacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Glico Man

redout wrote: »
    I reckon he could be trying to start with a lot of pressure, find the away goal then make the changes.

I certainly hope so... get the dynamic duo off as soon as possible for Thiago and probably Pedro or Jeffren, keep Villa on and hope he can get a goal to boost his confidence. Then pray for the remainder of the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Ya he can't afford to take any chances in Donetsk. Its too big a competition. All going well, he can change at half-time.

Would be shocked if Xavi lasts the 90mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Very strong line up all things considered. Fingers tightly crossed everyone comes through unscathed. It would be nice as well if Messi could grab a goal so the record will not be a monkey on his back going into the double Clasico.

Barca hounding them - you wouldn't think they were 5 - 1 up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

Anyone got a decent stream?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

If Shakhtar had brought there shooting boots in the two legs, this tie would be a lot closer.

ah here Pique. Must be watching a bit of Drogba lately :p

48 that is all.

He is something else and still only 23

Time to make a few changes no Pep.
    Messi 1st then Xavi. Think Villa needs to score for his confidence so keep him on.

Good stuff - Xavi off - he will need the rest for the 2 upcoming games.

That was wild from Milito - was it intentional ?

Booked either way.

Why take Villa off? Tie is won, and Messi needs a bloody rest. Good to see Jeffren get a run anyway.

Javi Mascherano - really started to impress me over the past 3/4 weeks.

Pep's having him and Busquets interchange tonight is interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

I genuinely believe Pep wants Messi to break every record he can which is why he plays him close to every game and practically never substitutes him.

If I was manager I'd give him a rest every chance I get but what do I know.

JPA wrote: »
    I genuinely believe Pep wants Messi to break every record he can which is why he plays him close to every game and practically never substitutes him.

48 goals now - he is just one short of the Spanish record held by the late, great, Puskas from the 1959/60 season

Agreed re Mascherano. Said it the last few games that he has been very good. He is a big loss for this saturdays Clasico. That said, if Barca are to lose any of the 4, Saturday is the one I will be least upset about.

The interchange was fascinating actually.

gimmick wrote: »
    Agreed re Mascherano. Said it the last few games that he has been very good. He is a big loss for this saturdays Clasico. That said, if Barca are to lose any of the 4, Saturday is the one I will be least upset about.

The interchange was fascinating actually.

Aye, Valdes deserves a mention also - made several top saves once again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

So delighted Barca are through .The last 15 minutes of the match were the most entertaining ,I thought . Milito is one moron ,clean card sheet kept all night by Barca only to be broken by him two minutes on the pitch.
    I always thought Mascherano was excellent at Liverpool and nobody agreed with me .He used to get some hammering midfield by the opposition but always got back on his feet.Hes a tough one and a fighter.
    Messi was amazing as always .

eternal wrote: »
    So delighted Barca are through .The last 15 minutes of the match were the most entertaining ,I thought . Milito is one moron ,clean card sheet kept all night by Barca only to be broken by him two minutes on the pitch.
    I always thought Mascherano was excellent at Liverpool and nobody agreed with me .He used to get some hammering midfield by the opposition but always got back on his feet.Hes a tough one and a fighter.
    Messi was amazing as always .

eh?

Very interested to see how Pep deals with the DM position Saturday? Will he push Adriano in there, as he can do that position, or will it be Keita? No way will Milito get the CB start anyway. Adriano has been so good lately at LB it would probably be silly to move him, and Keita will always put in a shift.

Amazed I am rueing the loss of Mascherano. Whoda thunk that!

redout wrote: »
    Aye, Valdes deserves a mention also - made several top saves once again.
    yeah that shot from the free kick was going into the net ,only for his touch .Very tricky angle ,he ended up inside the goal himself but great save.

eh?
    I felt I was alone in this opinion. Then Im a weirdo anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Davaeo09

A good performance by Barca tonight.
    Glad to see ibi getting more minutes too. He's adapting very quickly :)

Bring on Madrid! :D

gimmick wrote: »
    Very interested to see how Pep deals with the DM position Saturday? Will he push Adriano in there, as he can do that position, or will it be Keita? No way will Milito get the CB start anyway. Adriano has been so good lately at LB it would probably be silly to move him, and Keita will always put in a shift.

Amazed I am rueing the loss of Mascherano. Whoda thunk that![/QUOTE]
    see what I mean

Not true. Messi wants to play every minute of every game - he is that type that when he is at home he is still kicking the ball off the wall. Messi would hate to be dropped/subbed.

eternal wrote: »
    I felt I was alone in this opinion. Then Im a weirdo anyway.

Nah, sure he was considered one of the best in his role in the world at Liverpool.

Not to mention Capt. of Argentina

^ With Diego as manager.

By Liverpool fans to be fair.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,314 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Warper wrote: »
    Not to mention Capt. of Argentina

nah.... he was useless!! and that alonso fella was worse.....
    what a crap midfield we had....:rolleyes:. :(

Mascherano was one of the few world-class players Liverpool had the last few years. He is a world-class defensive midfielder that does exactly what it says on the tin. A great buy by Pep and what around £16m. Top player and always has been.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    nah.... he was useless!! and that alonso fella was worse.....
    what a crap midfield we had....:rolleyes:. :(
    yeah sure Aquilaini was way better aha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Very professional approach by barca. I love Pique as a defender, but his attitude and antics can be a little bit disgusting at times. Sad to see it so common in the game nowadays. :(

Malty_T wrote: »
    Very professional approach by barca. I love Pique as a defender, but his attitude and antics can be a little bit disgusting at times. Sad to see it so common in the game nowadays. :(

I would agree that he overplayed it but there was no disputing yer man did clatter him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

The Masch was always going to come into his own at this time of season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Mascherano has been superb lately, reminds me of a honey badger. :p

Alves with his 20th assist of the season, delighted!