Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Distorted tv picture from AV receiver

Options
  • 11-04-2011 7:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭

Hi

I was hoping someone could give me some advice. I am a slight novice when it comes to AV setup but have enough technical background to make it all work. I recently bought a Sony STR DH810 and I am trying to connect all my gear (Sky PVR, WII, PS3 etc) into the Sony. The Sky decoder (its the non-HD version, so no HDMI output), my HTPC and WII connects to my Sony with RCA connectors. The only exception is the PS3, which connects to the Sony with an HDMI cable. From the SONY I connect with a HDMI cable to my TV (Samsung PS42A451P1).

The PS3 image on the TV is spectacular. The problem is everything else looks slighty distorted. The Sky EPG appears to have a slight "ghost" shadow, which also appears to "flicker", and at times viewing channels it appears that the video has parts that appears to be distorted - as if its pixelated. Channel logos and text sometimes appear almost illegible. Overall its not really that bad, just enough to annoy me. When I connect the Sky RCA directly to the TV, its fine. So my guess is that its got something todo with the Sony AV unit. I've tried playing around with the Video settings (resolution for upscaling set to 1080p at the moment), but I don't know what else to do. Is it possible that it has something todo with the HDMI cables?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

When you say you connect the sky via rca, I presume you mean the yellow red white cables?