Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derek Mooney Show *MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Holy crap this old lady is wrecking my head. She's basically coming on accusing the humanist guy of attacking the catholic church and isn't listening to a word that anyone says. She's like a throw back to a bygone era.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Dirigent

Holy crap this old lady is wrecking my head. She's basically coming on accusing the humanist guy of attacking the catholic church and isn't listening to a word that anyone says. She's like a throw back to a bygone era.

She was a modern day Henry Ford: "You can have it any colour you want. As long as it's black".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I thought that was an interesting segment.. The old woman was funny, reading the worst connotations of everything that the Humanist guy said.. Mooney was funny too, "do you send back tax returns to the Revenue".. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I'm going to go out on a limb here and guess that this guest is homosexual. I wonder what % of Mooney's guests are gay in comparison to the general population. Is he officially out yet himself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I wonder what % of Mooney's guests are gay in comparison to the general population.

Or middle-aged women.

I'm going to go out on a limb here and guess that this guest is homosexual. I wonder what % of Mooney's guests are gay in comparison to the general population. Is he officially out yet himself?

I'd say Francis is gay alright, but he's a very entertaining guy.. Cant believe how much the hotel rooms cost though... €606 euro a night during the boom, €285 a night now... Who has that kind of money???

(That "rule of three" sh1te is really starting to get on my nerves)

€285 a night now... Who has that kind of money???

Lots and lots and lots of people. Don't be believin liveline when it tells you that the entire country is broke. The people who thought nothing of spending 600 euro a night in the boom are scrimping now but think nothing of spending 300+ for a night in a spa.

syklops wrote: »
    Lots and lots and lots of people. Don't be believin liveline when it tells you that the entire country is broke.

Well I was talking about the rest of ye (peasants), Skid.. I frequently drive the Bentley up there.. Jeeves has a bit of trouble opening the big gates out the front of the hotel though.. :pac:

This guy is really annoying me.

Man:"If you get something for nothing then you dont have to pay VAT, anyway move on"
    Derek:"Wait, explain it to us"
    Man:"Oh I don't know Im just saying myself"

Its the blind leading the blind.

Eanna talk about sh1t on the Derek Mooney show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

I'm all for people preserving their accents, but the likes of Eanna should do something about her diction, which is dreadful.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

I think she's fantastic!

I'm constantly amazed at how she merely has to shreik a few words in that awful indescribable voice and five people here literally scramble over each other to switch over to another station.

Surprised she didn't audition for that "Big Maggie" play, the ad for which "I'm de Boss!" is currently driving otherwise sane people up the wall. (Probably be better than the wagon that's doing the voice-over, but not by much :eek:)

Just watching Mooney's new quiz show on RTE ONE... Is he hand picking the teams himself or what?

thebigquiz.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Linda (camel toe) Martin is on there now. Brek is the best nickname I've heard in a long time. Why is she on the show? She Sounds like a foghorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,531 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Gophur wrote: »
    I'm all for people preserving their accents, but the likes of Eanna should do something about her diction, which is dreadful.

I have no problem with her accent but apparently her attitude is a big turnoff. I've spoken to two people who attended community/school events where she was an invited speaker, she speaks down to her audience. When she has the floor it's pretty clear that no dissent is tolerated, she is always right and you better pay attention.

She's also a very sloppy dresser, she turned up at one of the events looking as though she'd just spent four hours gardening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭sudzs

A half hour piece (!) on hair loss followed by an ad break that starts with an ad for a private clinic specialising in hair replacement....

public service broadcasting at it's best...:rolleyes:

Didn't hair the piece (sorry!) :rolleyes:

Sounds like Derek (or Brek) is in the market for a freebie hair transplant. Hope he has it done before Eurovision, those plugs can look fairly obvious....and who better than a Eurovision audience to spot them. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,170 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

remember when derek had his own bad hair day:

Derek Mooney - Bad Hair Day - Insults Cancer Sufferer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=lTPEVYVtcHE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Nick Guats

That man talking to mooney now has such a strange accent

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Fcuk me, from Abba to Barbara Streisand!! :rolleyes:

Seriously, who are Derek's audience? I would have thought all the geriatrics left over from Liveline unable to change the channel?!?

Most likely, a particular breed of geriatric...

gay.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭sudzs

Dolls hospital.... really????

Anyone remember Rattlebag??? I want to cry.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

sudzs wrote: »
    Dolls hospital.... really????

Anyone remember Rattlebag??? I want to cry.....:(

I really can't understand how they got rid of Rattlebag and replaced it with this junk. I remember a few years ago when Jeanette Winterson was being interviewed on Rattlebag and she thought it was fantastic that there was an arts programme on a mainstream radio station in the middle of the day.

All has changed, changed utterly! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,394 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Derek bring in a Dutch guy working for met Eireann and what does he do ? Asks him about the cost of health insurance in holland and the silence from the chap after been asked a few times how much it cost was painful. And the royal family of holland and jokes.

Playing the man-of-the-people bit was he?, another RTE Champagne Socialist along with Duffy.

I can only imagine he was off on a rant about how cheap everything is in the Netherlands compared to "here". Funny how the likes of Mooney/the Maid or Duffster never compare TV Licence fees / broadcasters salaries, etc. in other countries with "here".

Did Mooney get a mention in for on Iceland is now booming since his visit to the land of fire and ice? ( a regular feature of his show I believe). Seem to recall he takes the advice and opinions of Reykjavik taxi-drivers as gospel........they must have given him great directions to certain :P clubs in the city on top of all that up-to-date economic wisdom as is the wont of cabbies everywhere. :rolleyes:

europa11 wrote: »
    Playing the man-of-the-people bit was he?, another RTE Champagne Socialist along with Duffy.

Well to be fair to Mooney has said (on air) a few months ago that he would be happy to do the job for 100k .... And he doesnt even claim to adhere to socialist ideals, like comrade Joe Duffy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

dEREK mOONEY TALKING ABOUT rUGBY.

aNOTHER REASON TO NEVER TO ATTEND A Rugby game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I agree with Derek about the swipe card thing for health card. That's what we have in France, so when you go to the GP, he swipes your card, which has all your details on it, and all details of your healthcare (so no hassle if you have to go to the doctor elsewhere or whatever). Details are automatically passed on to the social security and then to your private health insurance (if you have any). You pay your 23 euro, and then in a week or two, part is reimbursed from the state into your bank account and the rest by your private health insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Linda Martin has the same stylist as Ronald McDonald:)

They left a window open and hung a microphone outside to get Twink's opinions of Linda .. :D

"If the kids saw Johnny Logan, Red Hurley, Linda Martin.... "

they'd go home and take a hammer to every iPod and radio in the house..

there wasn't a single glass left after Johnny Logan:
    4GlassShaterLarge.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Did I hear right he won the bet on Ireland losing? He seems to have a gambling problem. Anytime he is on the radio (which is not long in my household) he is talking about winning or losing money betting.

Lassie and Linda martin seperated at birth:

lassie.jpg

Linda%20Martin_0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

ssneaky.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Did I hear right he won the bet on Ireland losing? He seems to have a gambling problem. Anytime he is on the radio (which is not long in my household) he is talking about winning or losing money betting.

he's mad for Bingo in the George too. Suppose he has to find something to spend that ridiculous salary on.
    http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/around-town/i-might-marry-a-woman-yet-hints-mooney-2198684.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭califano

The blunderbuss Brenda Donoghue inquiring and forcing an admission from Mooney that he's wearing makeup today!. Closest ive ever heard him sound embarrased!.

something to look forward to:

Most Jokes In A Minute
    June Rodgers attempts to beat Paul Malone's record of telling 28 jokes in one minute!

i hope she does her Oliver Bond sketch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Will Mooney ever feck off with his Eurovision and his June Rodgers. Have June Rodgers and Brenda Donoghue ever been seen in the same room together??

This programme is the epitome of Groundhog Day.

Will Mooney ever feck off with his Eurovision and his June Rodgers. Have June Rodgers and Brenda Donoghue ever been seen in the same room together??

take solace, your not Paul G's (Derek's Eurovision Expert) wife.

Don't think they get on, so rarely enough AFAIK.

6a00e54ee7b64288330133ee07c3ff970b-500wi

Some interesting questions on the gardening slot on the Mooney show over the past two weeks:

"..... Dermot can you recommend a flowery all rounder for early and late planting?.....!"
    Dermot O'Neill was a bit taken aback, but Derek seem to understand the question.

A woman last week had a question about her "wonderful old bush",.....a cameila bush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Jedward have announced the name of their Eurovision entry.

http://www.digitalspy.ie/music/news/a364368/jedward-announce-2012-eurovision-song-whats-your-number.html

Hopefully Mooney won't cock it up again this year by playing the song in advance of the Irish Eurosong Contest.

Why the hell is Mooney defending Stephen Ireland.. he lied, he left, said he didnt want to play any more, and was generally disrespectful to Trap... He should come back and ASK to play if he wants to play, not cowardly messages from his missus..

Brenda says she'd never walk under a ladder? I be more worried if she got UP on the ladder.

That ladder would want to set at some weird angle in the first place if Brek was to get under it, superstition or not.

Is this show exclusively for gay listeners now? Is it official ? Gay footballers and more Eurovision coming up...:rolleyes:

Derek's producer must have no influence whatsoever regarding programme content.

No problem if it is but its a pretty niche market for the middle of the day on Radio 1.

I thought it would be more of a late night thing...:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

thank you Derek, you've re-doubled my determination to never ever pay for a TV license.

That Eurovision promo was WAAAAAAAYYY too long.. He dedicated two days last week to Linda Martin... we dont need to be reintroduced to her achievements.. same with Harrington..

Pretty clever I thought. The overly scripted segment took up an entire sixth of his show.

Lazy Marian is looking on enviously...

Just gimme one show without Brek ffs..

Did they put in the soundtrack for Slumdog Millionaire by mistake? :confused: