Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bohs -v- Rovers 15/04 19.35

• 13-04-2011 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭

To replace the other thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,830 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Mon the Bohs! A win is a must.

Is Fagan out?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Trilla wrote: »
    Mon the Bohs! A win is a must.

Is Fagan out?
    I heard that he could be back, fingers crossed, he makes a huge difference.

I'm actually looking forward to this more than I usually would due to the lack of expectation. Rovers obviously have the better team but if our lads give it their all we can give them a go.

2-1 bohs :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Rovers get to sit in The Shed so they can have a better viewing angle this year of the ball hitting their net.

463728.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

What's best about that picture is the player beaten and at fault for the goal, is now a Bohs player. ;)

I can see a 3-0 Rovers win, first time in ages I can say that I'm confident of going out there and dominating from the start. Obviously it depends what kinda team turn up, hopefully the ones that won in sligo rather than that at bray.

No cagey scullyesque performance please, we're champions now.

Oh and I better reserve this bit of my post to reply to how our 1000 fans acted horribly, killing puppies and clubbing baby seals in dalyer.

Ebbs wrote: »
    I can see a 3-0 Rovers win, .

Here we go again. Different year, same old line.

Anyone care to refresh my memory of the last time Rovers won in Dalymount ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Pal wrote: »

I don't actually know the answer so anyone care to refresh my memory of the last time Rovers won in Dalymount ?

Think it was the first season we came back up so quite a while now.

Wouldnt go as far as to predict a win but this is the best chance we have in years but who knows what will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

Care to remind us of the last time Bohs beat rovers in Tallaght?
    Never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

A lot more recently than the last time Bohs beat Rovers away...

As I said on the other thread, the narrative is completely different now. Its a derby and strange things can happen, but not one Bohs player would make the Rovers squad, let alone first team. The sides on paper have never been as skewed in one direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I wonder did Baz fake an injury to avoid standing in front of the shed. :)

It's not like he doesn't have form in that regard...:

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭S.R.F.C.

I missed the ending of the other thread, what was the final nail in the coffin?

Anyway as said there, absolutely buzzing for this, especially because we're in the shed, and after our performance on Monday, Friday can't come quick enough

I did say the first time in ages. Every other year Bohs were one of the favourites to win the league, certainly nearly guarenteed a top 3 spot. This season is different, on paper we are the better side and our results so far have shown this too.

It's just my opinion and prediction. Rovers vs Bohs is always a bit like a cup game, anything could happen, none the less I can see us taking 3 points.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

As I said on the other thread, the narrative is completely different now. Its a derby and strange things can happen, but not one Bohs player would make the Rovers squad, let alone first team. The sides on paper have never been as skewed in one direction.

The first game under MON at Dalymount was a comprehensive defeat. As I said in the other thread, Dalymount is never an easy place to go for Rovers. It's like Cork even when they were in trouble in 2009, Rovers couldn't win there and rarely score more than one. There are difficult venues/games regardless..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Rovers to score 11.

I predict a riot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Cant wait, first time in years that Bohs are underdogs. That tag will suit us.

Rovers are dreading this one. Favourites and all that....

12/5 a big price for Bohs.... ;)

bohsboy wrote: »

I suprisingly agree. We seem to under perform against sides worse than us. Beat everyone...lose to bray etc.

No matter whos in charge of the club, be it MON, Scully, Roddy, Bucko...We always do better against good sides and sit back too much against weaker teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Backing the draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

12/5 :eek: might have a nibble on that!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

That's a good price alright but they've overlooked one thing - I'm going to miss this game. I'll be in London on Friday and every single Bohs v Rovers game I've missed over the last six years - this will be the seventh - Rovers have won.

Is it? If anything there is very little value there. 5/4 for a Rovers win is about right though

From the MSN Facebook

Monday Night Soccer
    Bohs fans are dropping like flies for fanscope - come on guys, get in touch!!!!

One of the replies

David No Shame Billings
    thats crazy,,cmon bohs,,,mayby offer them a little money or sumtin,,,or a tray of dutch gold????

From the MSN Facebook

Monday Night Soccer
    Bohs fans are dropping like flies for fanscope - come on guys, get in touch!!!!

One of the replies

David No Shame Billings
    thats crazy,,cmon bohs,,,mayby offer them a little money or sumtin,,,or a tray of dutch gold????
    How,,,,,, humourous.

It got me :pac:

I like the over zealous comma reference :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Is it? If anything there is very little value there. 5/4 for a Rovers win is about right though

Bohs Rovers fixtures over the years have consistently thought me one thing...... they are completely unpredictable.

League position or squad strength are meaningless in these games.

Correction - 14/5 for Bohs at bwin.com.

Has to be worth a punt after Bray last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Bohs Rovers fixtures over the years have consistently thought me one thing...... they are completely unpredictable.

League position or squad strength are meaningless in these games.

Correction - 14/5 for Bohs at bwin.com.

Has to be worth a punt after Bray last week.
    But after Bray we went away to sligo and beat them two nil in what was a good performance. Like you said, I think this weeks game is too hard to call.

Come on Rovers!

Pedro K wrote: »
    But after Bray we went away to sligo and beat them two nil in what was a good performance. Like you said, I think this weeks game is too hard to call.

Come on Rovers!

Form doesn't really carry into Cup matches imo.

Care to remind us of the last time Bohs beat rovers in Tallaght?

Care to remind us how long you've been in Tallaght ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Care to remind us how long you've been in Tallaght ? :D

sure we won a trophy in tallaght before rovers:)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

What would be the best places to go for a pint before the game ?

Jelle1880 wrote: »

Doyles Corner, some lovely pubs ;)

No where near the ground.

Where do your allegiances lie? I will assume since you are asking they're on the South side of the Liffery. As Ebbs said, nowhere near the ground.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

I don't have any real allegiance to either team, but I'll be in with the home fans.

Then head to the bars in the ground before, thats where the Gypos will be.

Rovers will be in the Hut or the Crossed Guns before.

Sorry to hear ;)

But despite that, pubs around the ground will be packed, you'll be squished in and come match time you'll have gardai all over you, hemming you in.

My advice would be have a beer in a pub not on the liffy side of the stadium and go from there close to match time. Shouldnt have any hassle and a nice pint not in a plastic glass wouldnt go amiss :)

Rovers will be in the Hut or the Crossed Guns before.

The Hut is a fine pub, we met up there last season for our Cup match against Bohs in Dalyer and there was a decent few Bohs fans in there before and after the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

One team with a big scum following against another team with an even bigger scum following. Bring it on! :)

That's gonna go down well.

Rovers will be in the Hut or the Crossed Guns before

Would you like the conversation to descend into a diatribe about even toed ungulates of the family Suidae or would you like to talk about a nice unfriendly game of football ?

We are Gypsies not Gypos !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Go to the ground bars the drink is fairly cheap and there should be abit of atmosphere alot of the pubs are closed around doyles corner. as ONYD said rovers usually take up the hut!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Anyone know a pub in London that will have the game tonight?

Off to the pub shortly, see you on either side of the battleground gentlemen (and women)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Anyone else watchin?

Awesome tackle by Heary there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Bohs playin better so far, Rovers coming into it towards the end of the half though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

both rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Bohs having the better of it in the first half, some decent counter attacks from Rovers, though. Hopefully they pick it up a bit in the second half!
    partyndbs wrote: »
    both rubbish.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

partyndbs wrote: »
    both rubbish.
    Nobody's forcing you to watch it. Go watch some highlights of MLS if you're so bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

One of the Bohs players swearing loudly near a microphone. Will the Irish FA punish him like the English FA did Rooney??? :D Ahh gwan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Nobody's forcing you to watch it. Go watch some highlights of MLS if you're so bothered.

ye hows it like losing 2 derry :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

The above poster has been banned from the forum, please stay on-topic from here on out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Lol.

1-0 Bohs they all count