Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David Norris for President....would you vote for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Nolanger wrote: »
    David Norris is living proof that any old blow in with a posh accent who reads Joyce can fool our nation.

He's a blow in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Nodin wrote: »
    Theres nothing inaccessible about a good deal of Joyces work.

The "common vernacular culture" is reading balance sheets, charge sheets and building dodgy enterpries on land/in areas that would, in other countries be protected......Hmmmmm. You seem to have entirely missed the point
    A portrait and Ulysses are not easy reads by a long shot. And yes dance halls decorated by christmas lights are part of the vernacular culture of this country. Many more people enjoy this culture than those who read joyce. To dismiss it and the politicians that identify with it is elitest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Whats wrong with having a constitutional lawyer for someone who is meant to be the guardian of the constitution, .

The incumbent I have nothing against, the previous mary we could do without a repeat of.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

I dont agree with his stance on having sex with young boys

..........And yes dance halls decorated by christmas lights are part of the vernacular culture of this country. Many more people enjoy this culture than those who read joyce. To dismiss it and the politicians that identify with it is elitest.

Christ spare me......try again......
    We need a Bertie. Or a P Flynn. Some shite that wouldn't read anything only a balance sheet or a charge sheet and whose idea of culture is christmas lights round the dance hall he built in a bird sanctuary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

sesna wrote: »
    He's against it. What about it appeals to you?

What stance was that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You prefer a different stance for having sex with young boys? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

It's OK, he wouldn't touch you with a barge pole, you're safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

His stance on sex with young boys? He finds it abhorrent! You don't? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

HLB is malicious, a moaning motormouth with a past which stifled and closed down restaurants and now like a returning weed, back to do no good.

The roof wasn't big enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭Peanut

A portrait and Ulysses are not easy reads by a long shot. And yes dance halls decorated by christmas lights are part of the vernacular culture of this country. Many more people enjoy this culture than those who read joyce. To dismiss it and the politicians that identify with it is elitest.

I was under the impression that a lot of JJ's writing was specifically all about the so called vernacular culture of the time (for example, "Dubliners").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Nermal

And yes dance halls decorated by christmas lights are part of the vernacular culture of this country. Many more people enjoy this culture than those who read joyce. To dismiss it and the politicians that identify with it is elitest.

Elections are supposed to be elitist. Otherwise we end up with Healy-raes.

HLB is malicious, a moaning motormouth with a past which stifled and closed down restaurants and now like a returning weed, back to do no good.

The roof wasn't big enough.

It certainly wasn't big enough!

What I can't understand about HLB and Enoch Burke is that David Norris has faught and campaigned very hard for equality, political and personal rights, FOR EVERYONE, no matter colour, race, gender or creed! These are rights that they (and his other detractors) take full advantage of, and give him no credit for, and rights that he would still protect even though they do nothing but attack him.

Peanut wrote: »
    I was under the impression that a lot of JJ's writing was specifically all about the so called vernacular culture of the time (for example, "Dubliners").

It was about the vernacular but it (Portrait and Ulysses I'm thinking of here) was written in a stream of consciousness style that makes it inaccessible to most.

This is beside the point and has nothing to do with Norris unsuitability for the Aras

RachaelVO wrote: »

What I can't understand about HLB and Enoch Burke is that David Norris has faught and campaigned very hard for equality, political and personal rights, FOR EVERYONE, no matter colour, race, gender or creed! These are rights that they (and his other detractors) take full advantage of, and give him no credit for, and rights that he would still protect even though they do nothing but attack him.

I'm afraid she did give him credit for his campaign, she contributed to it.

...but he's a GAY!!!!!!!!!!.

Not according to him on Pat Kenny today she didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Nermal wrote: »
    Elections are supposed to be elitist. Otherwise we end up with Healy-raes.

So then! Elections are elitist in the Kingdom?

I know, in my attempt to make a point I probably over did it slightly, but I will say my point does still stand for Enoch Burke (burke by name...) and the rest of his ultra right wing detractors.

...but he's a GAY!!!!!!!!!!.

Now I'm getting a bit tired, so sarcasm radar is a bit banjaxed, but please tell am I right in gauging sarcasm in that statement?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

It's incredible the amount of ignorant people who will vote for him. At least the role of president isn't hugely important, although it does affect perceptions of Ireland abroad.

http://mylesday.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/david-norris.jpg?w=240&h=156

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

It was about the vernacular but it (Portrait and Ulysses I'm thinking of here) was written in a stream of consciousness style that makes it inaccessible to most.

This is beside the point and has nothing to do with Norris unsuitability for the Aras

Ulysses fair enough in terms of difficulty is awful but really portraits a fairly easy read. But either way his reading list is not the issue at hand. The man has done significants amounts for equality in the last 20 years. My main issue is that he may in fact do far more important work outside of the presidency. Although , I think he'd be a fantastic one.

Now I'm getting a bit tired, so sarcasm radar is a bit banjaxed, but please tell am I right in gauging sarcasm in that statement?

No, I've been defending Norris in two threads because I hate the Gays even more than I do the blacks, Jews and kittens.

Not according to him on Pat Kenny today she didn't.

I think she did in the original Mcgill article. In as much as Im seriously starting to dislike her, he's right, she did give him credit for it, just not yesterday on Duffy!

No, I've been defending Norris in two threads because I hate the Gays even more than I do the blacks, Jews and kittens.

Grand, it was dripping with sarcasm so...

flash1080 wrote: »
    It's incredible the amount of ignorant people who will vote for him. At least the role of president isn't hugely important, although it does affect perceptions of Ireland abroad.

He grabbed an oompa loompa. Which of us can say hand on heart we haven't at some stage?

Do the people re-posting this image honestly believe it's some sort of damning indictment of him?? I am both shocked and appalled!

He grabbed an oompa loompa. Which of us can say hand on heart we haven't at some stage?

It's completely unprofessional.

Was he in work at the time?

No at all - that rear approach and double boob grab shows remarkable craft for a man whose normal interests don't lie in that direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I couldn't find the word ADULT in that piece (the contentious bit).
    Ah could you explain how that is please?

Read the quote again. He clearly says he finds the idea of sexual attraction to children abhorrant but that he is ok with older adult men and younger men (note men, not boys or children) having relationships.

But this has been clearly twisted to imply he supports paedophilia.

It's ignorant to support Norris? How so?

He's just joking around. Lighten up a little.

No at all - that rear approach and double boob grab shows remarkable craft for a man whose normal interests don't lie in that direction.
    He's just joking around. Lighten up a little.

He's a politician, he's in the public eye, like it or not when photos like that appear people are going to question whether they're good representatives. There has been many politicians who've been slated for less than that photo.

There has been many politicians who've been slated for less than that photo.

...well if you got the rear grab but missed one of the bosoms, you'd deserve a slating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Id say even Poor Joe duffy might be a bit under pressure to stretch a whole show out of this "scandal". lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,070 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Neither was the Garda who got the suspended sentence for assault but it didn't prevent criticism, nor will this. You still have to be professional and make proper decisions.

...well if you got the rear grab but missed one of the bosoms, you'd deserve a slating.

Good to see you bury your head in the sand when you can't defend the man.

He's a politician, he's in the public eye, like it or not when photos like that appear people are going to question whether they're good representatives. There has been many politicians who've been slated for less than that photo.

You don't actually think he is attempting to be lurid in that photo do you? You can see that they are both smiling and laughing?

He's just larking about, don't take it so serious.

zuroph wrote: »
    Id say even Poor Joe duffy might be a bit under pressure to stretch a whole show out of this "scandal". lol

People on here have slated other politicians for less than that, why the double standards?

Neither was the Garda who got the suspended sentence for assault but it didn't prevent criticism, nor will this. You still have to be professional and make proper decisions.

They are too entirely different things and you know it.

Again this is obviously a jokey picture, it is not serious at all.

Good to see you bury your head in the sand when you can't defend the man.

I can't defend something that doesn't need defending. Its as pointless as - fer instance - attacking something that doesn't deserve attacking. Whatever that might be.

assault is assault! its criminal! having craic for a photo is not a crime!

seriously, Can you address what crime David norris might be "guilty of" as you said earlier? Or are you avoiding the subject?

You don't actually think he is attempting to be lurid in that photo do you? You can see that they are both smiling and laughing?

He's just larking about, don't take it so serious.

He's messing about, but that doesn't take away from the fact that it's unprofessional and it isn't an image that a lot of people would like politicians to project.

Ah right, so you can compare his actions in that photo to someone getting a suspended sentence for assault... got it!

People on here?

What ones? Why not take it up with the specific individuals?
    have slated other politicians for less than that, why the double standards?

A few examples of the "less than that" please.

People on here have slated other politicians for less than that, why the double standards?

I see no double standards to be honest, it's just a jokey picture.

Other politicians have been slated because they are corrupt etc, not because of silly photos.

Please point out examples of this. I sincerely doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 thoroughly decent chap

VOTE NORRIS #1!

He's messing about, but that doesn't take away from the fact that it's unprofessional and it isn't an image that a lot of people would like politicians to project.

how dare our politicians have fun with others. we want to see them all sour faced and charmless.

Speak for yourself. I see no problem with it. I laughed when I saw it because of the obvious irony.

You're really over-reacting imo.