Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin hurlers through to League Final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, is that an estimate or the actual number? And based on what ticket prices? I've always wondered where the cut-off point was....
    35,000 is the cut off. The expences are made up of Garda fees, Stadium Security, Medical and Ambulance fees and stuff like that. Once a section of the ground is opened there must be full security in that section. This annoys me as this crap started as a result of the scum at English leagues games and their fans at Lansdowne Rd. Previous to that 90% of stewards in Croke Pk were volenteers from clubs. However various reports into crowd trouble recommended a much bigger security presence at games and this was adopted by our Goverment and Irish sporting organisations putting all good Irish sports people into the same catagory as the troublemakers at Cross channel matchs.
    yahoo_moe wrote: »
    Stick it down in Thurles and I'll be travelling down for it. So should anyone else who calls themselves a Dublin fan.

Its a pity its not on in Thurles, I was looking forward to packing the kids in to car and heading down. I think Dublin need to go outside Croke Pk and beat one of the big 4 or 5 counties in a final or championship game. The league has been great but really now this year more than ever Dublin a piece of silverware. The hurlers have bounced back well from last years defeat to Antrim and the previous year to Limerick but a gracious defeat wont be enough this year.
    corny wrote: »
    Especially when the pressures on in the last 10 mins. You only learn from experience though.:)

Well lets hope they learned from last Sunday and the Galway match. Huge progress has been made in Dublin and while I am more into football I have to take me hat of to the lads who have been working so hard in club Hurling for years to raise the standard and often getting a raw deal from various boards and in some cases in their own clubs. The quality of what the coachs are doing must be recognised as not only are the numbers growing but each year the skill level is improving and Hurling is now getting strong out in North County Dublin where football was the dominant sport but now Hurling appears to be the game of choice for kids. A win in the league final would be some boost for the game not only in Dublin but might also give a boost to Laois, Offaly, Wexford and Antrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,028 ✭✭✭Trampas

LeoB wrote: »
    Its a pity its not on in Thurles, I was looking forward to packing the kids in to car and heading down. I think Dublin need to go outside Croke Pk and beat one of the big 4 or 5 counties in a final or championship game. The league has been great but really now this year more than ever Dublin a piece of silverware. The hurlers have bounced back well from last years defeat to Antrim and the previous year to Limerick but a gracious defeat wont be enough this year.

I would agree with the football about playing outside dublin than the hurling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Trampas wrote: »
    I would agree with the football about playing outside dublin than the hurling

Unfortunately for many Dublin GAA fans who would love more away days during the summer its extremely unlikely. Money talks and we can hardly blame the GAA for taking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭jam08

on the talk of money does anyone know how much tickets for the final will cost. Any incentives to get a bigger crowd in?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

€25 for adults, €5 for kids,

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I'm surprised their hasn't been more talk of this match.

I think the decision to play in Croke Park will backfire, only 35K at the football so would expect a plow enough crowd for this.

So much for the guy who said playing in Croke park will add 15K to the attendance.

At least in Thurles you would get a fair few from Kilkenny/Clare/Limerick as well as Tipp people that may not make the trip to Dublin.

As far as the match is concerned I think it will be a good game. I fancy Kilkenny to shade it but it could go either way.

On the injuries JJ Delaney and Richie Power both played full club games at the weekend.

Tommy Walsh also played but was apparently not 100% fit. Larkin also picked up an injury and will not feature.

How do people think the game will go?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

looking forward to this one, hopefully the dubs can take a national title in hurling - it would be a pity to lose 2 finals inside a week! kk will be favourites but this dublin team can hurl and with a greater spread of scores from their forwards they will certainly trouble kk. I think only 3 or 4 players scored for dublin against cork -I don't think that will do sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 johnnydrama06

McGuire

Corcoran
    Brady
    Kelly

McCaffrey
    Boland
    Durkin

McCrabbe
    Rushe

Keeney
    O'Dwyer.R
    McCormack

Plunkett
    O'Callaghan
    Ryan.P

Kilkenny team:

D. Herity

J. Dalton
    B. Hogan
    N. Hickey

P. Hogan
    J. Tyrell
    JJ. Delaney

M. Rice
    TJ Reid

J. Fitzpatrick
    M. Ruth
    E. Larkin

C. Fennelly
    E. Brennan
    R. Hogan

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

adrian522 wrote: »
    I'm surprised their hasn't been more talk of this match.

I think the decision to play in Croke Park will backfire, only 35K at the football so would expect a plow enough crowd for this.

So much for the guy who said playing in Croke park will add 15K to the attendance.

At least in Thurles you would get a fair few from Kilkenny/Clare/Limerick as well as Tipp people that may not make the trip to Dublin.

As far as the match is concerned I think it will be a good game. I fancy Kilkenny to shade it but it could go either way.

On the injuries JJ Delaney and Richie Power both played full club games at the weekend.

Tommy Walsh also played but was apparently not 100% fit. Larkin also picked up an injury and will not feature.

How do people think the game will go?

What do you expect. The gaa do not have a clue about marketing their games. The Dublin county board did a great job marketing the spring series with their media partners. The gaa in turn come along and up prices for seats from €15 to €25 for the final.. There has not been a whisper in the capital about this game all week. As a dub this game should of been in thurles but the powers that be got greedy again and forgot to do their home work 25,000 max i think will be there on sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

People on here say it was the wrong decision by GAA HQ to have the final on in Croker (thinking that the crowd would be small), but by all reports Cavan are going to bring a huge following with them for the U-21 football final. This will, in the minds of GAA HQ, make the decision valid. But IMO its not a good idea to also jack up the price for a final - in fact the gaa should lower the price. Would it not be better to have 40 or 50 thousand at the game paying a €10 each than have 20 thousand there paying €25 each. The sums might add up, the would be no atmosphere there.

As for the match itself, I think the game will be more important to Dublin because realistically speaking they are a long way off winning an All-Ireland (as are all others except for Tipp or KK) and will put absolutly everything into winning this game. One bad note for them is the news that JJ delaney is back on the starting 15. For a result I would say that KK will shade it by 3 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Yup can see Kilkenny winning by about 3 points and can see no more than 20k turning up to watch it but hopefully im very wrong but I doubt it the figures thrown around last week before the league final were laughable 50k+ tbh I really can see more Cavan fans showing up for their match than us showing up for ours :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,264 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Joekers wrote: »
    Yup can see Kilkenny winning by about 3 points and can see no more than 20k turning up to watch it but hopefully im very wrong but I doubt it the figures thrown around last week before the league final were laughable 50k+ tbh I really can see more Cavan fans showing up for their match than us showing up for ours :(
    Possibly, I would expect between 10 and 15 thousand from Cavan alone. Surely the same amount (or close to it) of Dubs would turn up? Throw in the other 2 counties and an attendance should be 31,712 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

Kojak wrote: »
    People on here say it was the wrong decision by GAA HQ to have the final on in Croker (thinking that the crowd would be small), but by all reports Cavan are going to bring a huge following with them for the U-21 football final. This will, in the minds of GAA HQ, make the decision valid. But IMO its not a good idea to also jack up the price for a final - in fact the gaa should lower the price. Would it not be better to have 40 or 50 thousand at the game paying a €10 each than have 20 thousand there paying €25 each. The sums might add up, the would be no atmosphere there.

They can't really guarantee the 50,000 to make that viable though, can they? The GAA can sell less tickets but have higher profit margins by not having to open up the upper tiers. So from their point of view, the present option is best.

The atmosphere last weekend was quite good and there were only 30,000 odd there.

Well as first halfs go - Utopia for the dubs - Hell on earth for KK:D

As second halfs go - especially injury time - the Dubs were full value for the win! When the Dubs last won the league nobody thought it would be 2011 before ye won it again - and certainly not by the hurlers!! Great game, great result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Attendance of 42,000 ...a whole lot closer to the 50k than 20k some were expecting :)

Also, savage stuff from Dublin - if they can hold it together for the championship we'll be unstoppable :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

Couldn't be more happier than to ever be wrong...

What a day everyone in full voice amazing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭garbanzo

Brilliant for Dublin and brilliant for the small ball game. Delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Have to say that I was absolutely delighted to witness the wonderful display from the Dubs today. I know the Cats were missing players but the manner in which Dub won was amazing. Great credit to the the KK supporters who stayed for the presentation of trophy. Bit disappointed by some of the off the ball tactics served up. I know the championship is totally different but at least we can compete at this level.