Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Margaretta D'arcy

• 17-04-2011 7:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭

she seems to have a letter into the Advertiser every second week and she featured in today's Sindo (pg 25).

Apparently she snubbed a minute's silence for the murdered PSNI member Ronan Kerr by refusing to stand, the only member of the 120 strong Aosadana to do so.

In a time when even the Shinners are condemning such murders and committing themselves to the Peace Process it is interesting to see such notable Galwegians swimming against the tide in this way.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Fuinseog wrote: »
    she seems to have a letter into the Advertiser every second week and she featured in today's Sindo (pg 25).

Apparently she snubbed a minute's silence for the murdered PSNI member Ronan Kerr by refusing to stand, the only member of the 120 strong Aosadana to do so.

In a time when even the Shinners are condemning such murders and committing themselves to the Peace Process it is interesting to see such notable Galwegians swimming against the tide in this way.

She's notable?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

Wompa1 wrote: »
    She's notable?

I heard much of her, but until today was unable to put a face with the name. Anyone know what she has written.

The Sindo says that she was (or is?) a Republican who supported the woman's no wash protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

various members of aosdana also rallied around cathal o'searcaí when all the furore about him engaging with young lads in nepal came into the open. they're a strange bunch them poets!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭inisboffin

various members of aosdana also rallied around cathal o'searcaí when all the furore about him engaging with young lads in nepal came into the open. they're a strange bunch them poets!

Aosdána aren't just poets..

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭El Mullo

Complete waste of taxpayers money.

Her critics will slate her for her conduct. Even RSF is keeping a low profile on the cop slaying, but she draws attention to herself. is she active in Galway's Republican Dissident Scene?

she has her own wikipedia entry.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Margaretta_D'Arcy

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭Chicken1

And whats even worse about this is that she gets a grant on €17,000 of our money every year for what????????, she is a complete waste of space.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭grainnereills

oh dont say things like that...

you'll only go and draw the attention of her chief courtier fred johnston onto boards and we'll have to put up with his diatribes in this forum as well as in whatever rag will print them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭beagle001

Another crackpot,
    It`s not your one that preeches outside corbetts court on a saturday morning with her end of the world prophecies.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

beagle001 wrote: »
    Another crackpot,
    It`s not your one that preeches outside corbetts court on a saturday morning with her end of the world prophecies.

Where has she been lately? Not the same walking onto shop street without hearing someone being called a harlot etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

As long as you keep it civil this thread will remain open.
    No potshots or digs thanks.

Ya she is probably margetitas sister and Biko why dont you just **** right off sometimes we are haveing a bit of a laugh thats all,sick of the mods and their little threats.

User banned

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭inisboffin

beagle001 wrote: »

No, that's not her (I'd hazard a guess that her politics might even be the polar opposite of D'arcy lol).

Yeah I'd agree, whatever you feel about their politics, there's probably a more interesting way of discussing it than calling a couple of older Galway residents derogatory names?
    I don't see the craic in it myself anyway (and I wouldn't necessarily agree with either of them on some topics for sure)

To be honest it is great entertainment to watch that nutjob preeching on a saturday,always gives me a chuckle at the utter close minded views of these folks.

no not the nutjob outside corbetts...

think she is from out clooboo side, just cant think of her name at present.

ms d'arcy is the partner of John Arden the playwright/author. they are lauded by certain left-wing circles in Galway. their cheerleader-in-chief is Fred Johnston, they are quite elderly now and don't seem to be as active as they once were - although you will often see her at the table of many of the usual protests outside Lynch's Castle and Taaffes on a Saturday e.g. palestinians, socialist workers, class war, anti-clerical etc etc

indymedia has quite a few videos and posts in its galway section which show her in her element.

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭celty

What do you mean 'many of the usual protests'?

The problem with Ireland is that not enough people protest. Our last, rotten corrupt Government bankrupt this country and all we did was elect another bunch with the exact same policies.

Ordinary, decent people in North Mayo have been criminalised and thrown into jail for defending their land and homes. If Enda Kenny can't sort that out, how's he going to sort out the whole country?

As for those pesky Palestinians, well sure they have only been thrown out of their homes, colonised, and locked into a prison with no control over their own borders. But sure Irish people wouldn't know anything about stuff like that.

When 'looney lefties' are the only ones protesting, I despair for this f--ked up land with its gobs--te politicians and compliant population.

i'm just saying the usual protests, cause that's what they are! every wkend the organisation may vary but the core group of people seems to transcend each group...

oh and i leftout the bete noir of the Galway boards...the GAAW, of which she is a pivotal member.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

I think Fred went a rant too far in the Advertiser last year so they won't publish his letters any more. :)

Going back to my previous post, I may be a 'loonie leftie' but agree with you guys that it is a disgrace if Ms Darcy failed to respect a minute's silence for a murdered policeman. Contrast that with the dignity of Micky Harte, who carried the coffin after burying his own daughter just three months ago.

If she is in recepit of Government funding, then it should be scrapped.

celty wrote: »
    What do you mean 'many of the usual protests'?

The problem with Ireland is that not enough people protest. Our last, rotten corrupt Government bankrupt this country and all we did was elect another bunch with the exact same policies.

Ordinary, decent people in North Mayo have been criminalised and thrown into jail for defending their land and homes. If Enda Kenny can't sort that out, how's he going to sort out the whole country?

As for those pesky Palestinians, well sure they have only been thrown out of their homes, colonised, and locked into a prison with no control over their own borders. But sure Irish people wouldn't know anything about stuff like that.

When 'looney lefties' are the only ones protesting, I despair for this f--ked up land with its gobs--te politicians and compliant population.

relevance to the thread?

Fuinseog,

My reply was to the previous post, about all the 'usual' protests. It just sickens me that the only ones who protest in Ireland are the lunatic fringe and then legitimate causes - such as those of the Palestinians - are somehow seen as irrelevant.

As for the thread, by all means I agree with previous posters that someone who won't respect the memory of a murdered PSNI officer should not be entitled to taxpayers' funding. If it's true, Margaretta should be ashamed of herself and her Aosdana funding should be scrapped.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I had honestly never heard of her before this thread, i'm not too interested in checking out any of her works either.

in view of her support for dissident Republicans and assuming she is in full command of her faculties, maybe she should be shunned in Galway.

If the article from the Sindo contains a grain of truth to it then she should be ostracised unless Galway wants to be seen to be supporting "the war". Those days are over. Those who invite her to a literary festival and support her, support her cause, which include murdering policemen.

If the Advertiser and papers continue to give her a platform to spread poison and hatred then they have a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Those who invite her to a literary festival and support her, support her cause, which include murdering policemen.

That's one hell of an assumption.

I think that she should have stood for the minute's silence.

Assuming that she supports murdering policemen, because she refused to stand for a minutes silence take some stretch of the imagination.

The article stated that she supported the republican cause during the troubles. Thankfully, a lot of hardline republican's have moved on from that.

It also stated that her reason for not standing was because she did not support Aosdana being used for political purposes. Nowhere did it say it was because she supported the murder of policemen.

I do not agree with a lot of the views of Margaretta and other protesters who won't agree on a middle ground, but I admire their ability to continue doing what they believe is right, in the face of ridicule, and sometimes real hostility. Our history books are full of famous and now 'popular' figures who were equally steadfast in their ideals.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Kinda ironic in a way, there was a minutes silence for a murder victim and she did not respect it because she felt artists should not be political,but wasn't she the one that made the goodwill gesture into a political one by her actions?

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭antonf

She may be notable (in certain circles) but she's not a Galwegian.

antonf wrote: »
    She may be notable (in certain circles) but she's not a Galwegian.

apparently you become a Galwegian if you live in the place long enough. By birth she is a Brit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

oh dont say things like that...

you'll only go and draw the attention of her chief courtier fred johnston onto boards and we'll have to put up with his diatribes in this forum as well as in whatever rag will print them....

Ever see him singing on youtube?? lol :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭antonf

apparently you become a Galwegian if you live in the place long enough. By birth she is a Brit.

Not that easy to become a Galwegian. She is, and always will be, a blow-in to true Galwegians (no disrespect intended - just the way it is).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

galwayrush wrote: »
    Kinda ironic in a way, there was a minutes silence for a murder victim and she did not respect it because she felt artists should not be political,but wasn't she the one that made the goodwill gesture into a political one by her actions?

she's political when she fancies it. How dare she hide behind the arts when she messes up.