Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Possible Melbourne Boards Beers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

melb wrote: »
    Whats the break down of the group-boys, girls, couples? Don't want to crash in on a loads of young uns on the pull... :D

Haha

Yesterday we had 7 of us. 2 couples, myself and 2 other lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Apologies for missing yesterday - I did receive the text, but didn't see it until this morning. Getting in from the stix is easier some days than others!

• Registered Users Posts: 674 ✭✭✭spunkymunky

04072511 wrote: »
    Good craic again last night. We are going to the Corkman next thursday for anyone who is interested in joining.

Good call. Was in there for Paddys day and the Guinness was a pretty good...would compare it to a good "bad" pint in Ireland! Maybe the best ive has outside Ireland!!
    May have to give a miss as "Im never drinking again" at the moment!! Turning 30 is hard work!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

How far out in the Stix are you Sweeper?

Are you like in Kinglake ?

Further out, Zambia. Mitchell Shire! I'm an hour in the car to northern CBD, more than that to St Kilda (and who wants to drive for beers?!) Train is 10 min drive to station, 1 hour on train to Southern Cross and then however long it takes to cross the city down to St Kilda - 20 mins to half an hour?

• Registered Users Posts: 39 burkulosis

jesus, why do u live out there?

Lol - I live out here, am not just backpacking. I have permanent residency and an option to apply for citizenship. I own a house out here and work for the regional health service, splitting my time between here and Shepparton.

It isn't an exciting life particularly, away from the city, but most if my city friends behave like this is a spa retreat when they get out here! Just for one night though - they probably couldn't manage more, and similarly I couldn't live for more than a few days in a shoebox apartment. I'm on over 1/4 acre on a quiet street. There's a paddock across the road from me that stretches as far as the eye can see. It's still town living though, albeit small town.

(I went into the bank yesterday to activate an account I'd opened online. It took 25 seconds and no paperwork because she knows me.)

I've been out here four years. Will probably rent the house out within the next 18 months and move north for work (himself joined the army). It's usually fine to head out for the CBD or northern burbs, but prahran and st kilda are just a stretch too far unless I'm organised.

ah right, that makes sense so :) we'll def have to organise something up in Fitzroy or Brunswick, theyre great areas for bars.... plus i want to hear more about this country retreat of yours ;)

Well that beats me by miles. The fact the train takes an hour is not bad actually.

At some piont I reckon I will move further out into rural Victoria as the traffic starts to piss me off even more.

I would be just to the east of Epping.

East of Epping? South Morang?

I'm not sure how moving further out will offset the traffic (unless you're planning to get a job out here too!)

The trains aren't great but the lines are under improvement a lot and they provide more services regularly.

Development out here is crazy. After Craigieburn, the main towns on the hume freeway would really be Beveridge, then Wallan, then Kilmore, then Broadford. The level of housing development in Beveridge and Wallan is huge. I hope they start providing the infrastructure to go with the 20,000-odd people they're planning to move into the region over the next few years!

The endless paddock across from me is zoned for housing of a similar density as my block. There's a vacant lot next door to me, the last unbuilt block on my street. We bought our block three years and three months ago, and the vacant block next door (identical in shape and size) sold on 1st February this year for over $50,000 more than we paid.

I keep waiting for the site cut on the block next door. The pain in the bum is that the new neighbours could conceivably build a double story house on their block, thereby ensuring they'll overlook my home and garden constantly. That's a disadvantage to buying in a new build area...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

How about you guys discuss this over beers? May I suggest The Corkman this thursday? :D

East of Epping? South Morang?
    Exactly
    I'm not sure how moving further out will offset the traffic (unless you're planning to get a job out here too!)
    That would be the plan as well
    The trains aren't great but the lines are under improvement a lot and they provide more services regularly.
    Yes the rumour Mill reckons a train line is being built out to here as well but seeing is believing. At least the road is being widened.

Development out here is crazy. After Craigieburn, the main towns on the hume freeway would really be Beveridge, then Wallan, then Kilmore, then Broadford. The level of housing development in Beveridge and Wallan is huge. I hope they start providing the infrastructure to go with the 20,000-odd people they're planning to move into the region over the next few years!
    The level of Growth here and in the crazyburn area is pretty heavy. I dont see where we are getting the people for the houses but considering they dont build the house without a buyer. Someone must be. I know of a few people who plan to live in Doreen and work in the CBD. Not a drive I could do for long.
    The endless paddock across from me is zoned for housing of a similar density as my block.
    I think the paddock across from me is protected for 30 yrs and is also a hill so I reckon I am safe.

There's a vacant lot next door to me, the last unbuilt block on my street. We bought our block three years and three months ago, and the vacant block next door (identical in shape and size) sold on 1st February this year for over $50,000 more than we paid.
    Quite frankly I cant get an honest answer what anything is going for these days.

I keep waiting for the site cut on the block next door. The pain in the bum is that the new neighbours could conceivably build a double story house on their block, thereby ensuring they'll overlook my home and garden constantly. That's a disadvantage to buying in a new build area...

I did that and yes I can see into a lot of my neighbours but the downside is they can see up to us. I have a bit of a tall tree plan to fix the issue. I think there are conditions you can impose on building you think will overlook you. Soon as you see the site cut ask the council about the plans. If it is 2 storey you may request a design change. Its worth looking into as the guy building two doors down from me built so far back on a slope his al fresco floor is the height of the top of the neighbours fence. Mine is set back far enough to avoid that.

Zambia wrote: »
    Quite frankly I cant get an honest answer what anything is going for these days.

That's bizarre. What, people not telling you what prices are realistic, or what?

Growth corridors definitely accelerating. Learned this week in the local paper that the Kilmore-Wallan duplication of the Northern Highway has been scrapped in favour of a bypass. Plans will be finalised over the next two years, construction will begin 2014 and be finished 2017.

Makes it interesting - I bought this block on a quiet street with full knowledge that the area will develop around me. I'm a 15 minute walk tops from Assumption College, which means I'm similar from the creche and primary schools.

All in all this property was definitely a good investment - the only question is whether I can afford to hold onto it and rent it out while pursuing a life in a different city or state.

Country Victorians, in my experience, are not a friendly bunch. It's pretty parochial - people pal around with the people they were in school with and grew up with. Then they get married and pal around with HIS friends from school. They also socialise with their own families. They're not good at inviting you into their group, or taking up invites you extend. They'll really warm to you in a work setting, but otherwise you're on your own. The housing space adds to it - everyone's not crowded on top of each other.

It might be different for people with kids, striking up those school-gate friendships, but even local sporting clubs can be a challenge in terms of including you. Think it's different closer to the city.

Well really I See plots going up for auction and not selling. So its the old addage if the price goes up to X but everyone still is only prepared to pay Y. Has the price really gone up.

Basically I need to find an estate agent and get them pissed enough to tell me what's going on.

In regards to Aussies yeah getting to meet people here is hard enough. I really only meet people via work its a shared interest sort of thing. However they are spread all over Melbourne. The neighbours are friendly but not outgoing. Not to mention the two plots beside me are empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

You two should go to the next one and then instead of going home because its so far you could go to a hostel and GET A ROOM!

Can we stay in your house?

To be honest Doc you travel more than we do, that is if your still hiking over to Kilsyth every day on the Moped?

Zambia wrote: »
    Can we stay in your house?

To be honest Doc you travel more than we do, that is if your still hiking over to Kilsyth every day on the Moped?

Its not a moped :( and yea I do :(

how did the corkman go?? when's the next meetup then :)

Not this weekend for me. Actually have loads of stuff to go to. Which is an extreme rarity. Can we do the next one in the CBD or basically somewhere that isn't St Kilda?!

yup, im up for that. anyone know any good bars with a cheap happy hour in the Fitzroy area??

Good bar Fitzroy Area = Fitzoy Hotel down some back street

Do you mean the Napier Hotel?

I dont think so. Give us a while I will check with her self.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Randomname37

Rite everyone, another meet up next Saturday evening?, maybe 5 or so, reckon Brunswick or Carlton for a change?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Don't mean to hi jack the thread but does anyone know a pub showing the champions league final next Sunday morning 515am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭melb

Slunk wrote: »
    Don't mean to hi jack the thread but does anyone know a pub showing the champions league final next Sunday morning 515am.

Sports bar in the middle of the gaming floor at Crown casino. It's open 24/7. Any game you want to see at whatever time its on... they will have it. Providing its on Fox Sports that is.

You could always watch it on SBS on your own TV.

• Registered Users Posts: 674 ✭✭✭spunkymunky

Great guys. Should be about for this one!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

melb wrote: »
    Sports bar in the middle of the gaming floor at Crown casino. It's open 24/7. Any game you want to see at whatever time its on... they will have it. Providing its on Fox Sports that is.

You could always watch it on SBS on your own TV.

Thanks. I would but housemate sleeps in living room. Works pretty mad hours weekends so rules that out.

ive got a fancy dress sat night but will come along for one or 2 for sure :)

ugh, i hate fancy dress parties, this is the 3rd one since i got here.... does anyone throw normal parties anymore?!?!

sorry guys - i actually wont be able to make this one, sorry to bail so late! hope you guys have a blast tho :)