Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aironi vs Leinster; Sat 23rd April; 14:30; NO TV Coverage

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Good to see McFadden kicking. Hopefully being so far behind early will take the air of or Airioni and we can get the win and the bonus point. Hope we don't start trying to defend the lead like we have done recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

copacetic wrote: »
    Good to see McFadden kicking. Hopefully being so far behind early will take the air of or Airioni and we can get the win and the bonus point. Hope we don't start trying to defend the lead like we have done recently.

trying to be funny eh?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

3-20 HT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

How long left?

• 40mins

40mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

http://yfrog.com/h3305nfj

Almost like being there.... :(

If someone at the game had a mobile phone (and a million euro for roaming data charges / or an italian 3g contract) they could stream it live to Ustream /justin tv etc. with their iPhone and android apps....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

This is a bizarre way to follow a game. Should secure the BP but I'm sure Schmidt will empty the bench which will disrupt the flow of the game. Win is the important thing; can't see us losing second spot if we win this and Glasgow game in RDS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

GerM wrote: »
    This is a bizarre way to follow a game. Should secure the BP but I'm sure Schmidt will empty the bench which will disrupt the flow of the game. Win is the important thing; can't see us losing second spot if we win this and Glasgow game in RDS.

Pretty fantastic bench to empty.

Strauss, Leo, Ryan, Boss, Sexton, Shaggy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

crisco10 wrote: »

They will boost the game.

crisco10 wrote: »

It is but the game becomes very fragmented regardless of those coming on. Difficult to get up to speed in a short space of time relative to those that are already at full throttle. Plus I'd be surprised if Strauss or Sexton was introduced.

GerM wrote: »
    It is but the game becomes very fragmented regardless of those coming on. Difficult to get up to speed in a short space of time relative to those that are already at full throttle. Plus I'd be surprised if Strauss or Sexton was introduced.

I expect their warm up bibs came with an "in case of emergency, pull off" tag.

Williams gets a yellow.

Canavosio for Tebaldi, Redolfini for Staibano, Pratichetti for Roberston, and Perugini for Al.De Marchi.

Stan on for Ross after 59.

Healy off for VDM. Good to get him off now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

A bonus point would be nice. Would let us guarantee a home semi with a bonus point win against Glasgow.

• BOD off for Horgan.
    SOB off for Ryan?

BOD off for shaggy.

So Ferg to 12, EOM to 13, Shaggy to 14 I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Better to protect players than risk them . The bp isn't particularly necessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Pity Leinster didn't push on and get another try while Williams was in the bin.

Assuming with BOD going off that McFadden will come in off the wing into center where Horgan will slot in

durkadurka wrote: »
    Better to protect players than risk them . The bp isn't particularly necessary

100% agree.

Potentially 5 massive games in 5 weeks. Need to juggle it and try to just win the games.

Sh!t. Try Aironi. Come on guys, don't let it slip!

• ha.

When you bet that a team will win both halves, does that mean that
    a) They're leading at half time and full time
    b) They win the first half. The score resets and they win the second half.

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

ha.

When you bet that a team will win both halves, does that mean that
    a) They're leading at half time and full time
    b) They win the first half. The score resets and they win the second half.

?
    b

B i think.

Heinz to back row! Took me a while to figure that out...

• B for Balls/Bollix/Bastards/Bad Bets

etc

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Is its a HT/FT bet its whoever is winning at that point.

Not sure if its actually worded winning both halves though..

74 mins , be professional and no injuries please?

• Bet is
    Aironi Rugby v Leinster
    Will One Team Win Both Halves? > Yes

/Should probably know what I'm betting on before I make the bet in future!

Four mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Leinster7

A win and no serious injuries is fine. We should have a home semi but if we have to go to Ravenhill we are too strong for the red hand.

Rhys gets MOTM. Fair play!

80 mins

Job done 20-8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Good result. Happy days :D

durkadurka wrote: »
    Job done 20-8

you took the words right outta my mouth.

More than happy with that. Llanelli are the only side to have won with a BP in Aironi this season and only then with 3 tries in the last ten minutes. Professional display from us today. Gave the right players a run out, rest the right ones, used the bench wisely and secured a win. Couldn't have asked for much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Now if Munster could do us a little favour tonight that will round off a good weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Bet is

/Should probably know what I'm betting on before I make the bet in future!

It's a terrible bet to make on any rugby game. Rugby is so psychological that the team behind always make some kind of comeback, it's very rare that any team can maintain control throughout the entire 80 minutes and continue to score, the losing team always come back a bit. If anything you should make the opposite bet. If a team is being well beaten in any game you should bet on them, they will always come back a bit before the dominant team wakes up, if they do wake up, at which point you lay your bet again. Look at the biarritz toulose quarter final as a prime example.

• je sais, je sais.

I intended to bet Leinster HT/FT but misclicked this one! :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Delighted that game's out of the way. I was quite nervous during the week we might slip up. Job done, eyes on next week now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

Did Leinster empty the bench, no score in the 2nd half? Or was it a case of take what we have and get home and prepare Glasgow next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

phog wrote: »
    Did Leinster empty the bench, no score in the 2nd half? Or was it a case of take what we have and get home and prepare Glasgow next week.

Toulouse next week mate. Glasgow the week after. Sentiment is still the same; I'd say they were happy to take the result. They didn't really empty the bench (according to the ML live text), just the standard steady trickle of subs

phog wrote: »
    Emptied it aside from Sexton and Strauss. Looks like they just relaxed and made sure they didn't ship any knocks in the second half. Gave the younger lads 80 minutes. I'm sure Schmidt is unhappy with the lack of scores in the second half but, in reality, a win next week should seal second place regardless and he'll be happier with a clean bill of health.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Turns out I was completely wrong about BOD playing anyway, still very surprised he played.

Highlights going to be anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

danthefan wrote: »
    Turns out I was completely wrong about BOD playing anyway, still very surprised he played.

Highlights going to be anywhere?

Think I read somewhere that highlights would be on the aironi website during the week, probably on the ML site too.

I know previously for the Leinster vs Glasgow game a year ago that wasn't televised, Leinster had their own cameras at the game and uploaded the tries on LR.ie. However, this game was in the RDS so I'm not sure they will have had their set up at a game in Aironi. Good chance though given they'll be working on their video analysis leading up to the Toulouse game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Anyone know what way the semi finals are drawn? Is it 1 v4, 2 v3 or 1 v 3, 2 v4? Leinster still need a bonus point win in their last game and even then that might not be enough for a home semi as Cardiff can still garner another 10 points. We are in the semi's but are far from a home semi.

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Anyone know what way the semi finals are drawn? Is it 1 v4, 2 v3 or 1 v 3, 2 v4? Leinster still need a bonus point win in their last game and even then that might not be enough for a home semi as Cardiff can still garner another 10 points. We are in the semi's but are far from a home semi.
    1v4 and 2v3

I really wouldn't rule out Cardiff blowing their last 2 matches and Ospreys sneaking in to 4th.