Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bullets, bomb scares, death threats, attacked in the streets and now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭gaf1983

getting tiresome at this stage... zzzzzzzzzz

Lennon should get the f**k out of there...

I mean, he cant exactly have a very pleasant lifestyle up there so why put up with it.

hell, he probsably cant even nip across to a local shop without getting lamped.

So is that your answer for any victim of crime? Change your home, your job, your career cos it's impossible to stick up to the thugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    Can't at work since the news websites are blocked, but it's easy to look it up, google 'Neil Lennon IRA money' or something like that.

edit:
    http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_qn4161/is_20100328/ai_n52934586/

I look frward to you posting links when you get home form work.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Anyone see this?
    http://www.berwickrangers.net/newsitem.php?nid=497

Here's the Twitter post in question:
    http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/6659/berwickrangers.jpg

Silly, silly boy. :( WTF is wrong with some people in Scotland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Good to see McCoist coming out and condemning this

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-13141898

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Good to see McCoist coming out and condemning this

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-13141898

Indeed, and fair play to him but yet still nothing form the club itself or any other clubs afaik. FFS why dont they come straight out and condemn it?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Indeed, and fair play to him but yet still nothing form the club itself or any other clubs afaik. FFS why dont they come straight out and condemn it?:mad:

It's a tough one this.

On one hand, i don't want the club to associate themselves with these scumbags - why would they?
    On the other, it is pretty evident that unless they do come out and say something then every single outside observer will tar the club and it's fans with the same brush.

It's already evident in this thread that some people would rather use it as a stick to batter Rangers FC with than offer any suggestions as to how to stop this problem within scottish society and that wont change wether the club speak out or not.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,883 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

I reckon you probably already know the answer to that CB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Paul4As wrote: »
    So Celtic have no sectarian fans??? :confused:
    On a personal note I have experience that they do.
    I was in Albufeira in the Algarve last July and was in a wee Celtic bar...just went in for the craic as there was a live singer...he was singing a mixture of Irish songs and Celtic songs...he sung one Celtic song and the crowd (who were all Scottish and included many middle aged and young women) added on their own lyrics which included the IRA. I had to smile to my wife who is from Mayo as I didn't know what else to do...I'm a Rangers fan...needless to say I left after the 1st drink.
    Sectarianism is a problem with both Rangers and Celtic...that is a fact!!!
    I will continue supporting Rangers and so will many other decent none sectarian Rangers fans!!!
    We will also continue to condemn sectarianism on both sides!!!

You've completly missed my point. My point was that while there are no doubt many sectarian Celtic fans, Celtic as a club are not sectarian, Rangers on the other hand are. I dont know how someone who is not sectarian could reconcile this with following a club which has through out its existance had secterian policies. The irony is IMO, that if Rangers were not a secterian club, Celtic would probably never have been founded in the first place

Also, while I wouldnt condone the 'RA chants, they are not secterian chants, they're Republican chants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

PauloMN wrote: »
    Anyone see this?
    http://www.berwickrangers.net/newsitem.php?nid=497

Here's the Twitter post in question:
    http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/6659/berwickrangers.jpg

Silly, silly boy. :( WTF is wrong with some people in Scotland?

Silly is too mild a word to describe him. Berwick did the right thing

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Rangers on the other hand are. I dont know how someone who is not sectarian could reconcile this with following a club which has through out its existance had secterian policies. The irony is IMO, that if Rangers were not a secterian club, Celtic would probably never have been founded in the first place

I dont want to get draw into this, but you seem to have been seriously mis-educated here buddy.

Celtic were founded on the basis of giving youths of irish descent an outlet within a society that they were marginalised.
    This happens with immigrant groups all over the world, even now.

Do London Irish exist due to Rangers sectarian policies too? Can we just pin every societal issue within the UK on rangers Football Club?

Eirebear wrote: »
    I dont want to get draw into this, but you seem to have been seriously mis-educated here buddy.

Celtic were founded on the basis of giving youths of irish descent an outlet within a society that they were marginalised.
    This happens with immigrant groups all over the world, even now.

Do London Irish exist due to Rangers sectarian policies too? Can we just pin every societal issue within the UK on rangers Football Club?

I'm not suggesting that the sole reason for Celtic's foundation was Rangers secterian policies, but that this did play a part in the marginalising of immigrants in Glasgow and was hence a contributing factor in their foundation. Wrt London Irish, I havent a clue, I know nothing about handball

I'm not, nor have I tried to attribute all of the UK's societal issues to Rangers. My point was that how can someone who opposes xenophobia and secterianism reconcile this with their support of a club who both officially and through their fans show themselves to be just that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I'm not suggesting that the sole reason for Celtic's foundation was Rangers secterian policies, but that this did play a part in the marginalising of immigrants in Glasgow and was hence a contributing factor in their foundation. Wrt London Irish, I havent a clue, I know nothing about handball

I'm not, nor have I tried to attribute all of the UK's societal issues to Rangers. My point was that how can someone who opposes xenophobia and secterianism reconcile this with their support of a club who both officially and through their fans show themselves to be just that
    He might like football. Dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

So, I'll ask again, can you back up your accusations seeing as you posted them as "howevers" to excuse the fact he was sent a bomb?

Never said he was accused, did I ?
    And I never excused anything.

I dont think it had any relation to Celtic's foundation whatsoever, in fact you just need to look at Hibernian's foundation just 2 years after Rangers for pointers in this - groups of immigrants will always set up groups which cater to those who are part of that particular ethnic grouping.
    Last time i was in Dublin (About 6 years ago) i remember seeing posters in pubs, written almost entirely in Polish, advertising 5-A-Side tournaments.
    Is this down to some sort of issue created by Irish clubs at amateur and proffesional level?
    Of course not, it's simply the way of the world.

Also, Rangers were not the powerhouses of Scottish Football that they are now in the 15 years before Celtic's foundation, not even in Glasgow - With Third Lanark, Queens Park and Dumbarton being the major west of Scotland teams around that time. So it's doubtful that Celtic's foundation was in any way a direct recourse to Rangers existance, rather a rivalry that developed through time.
    Scotland was having a hard time adjusting to the mass immigration from Ireland, not entirely disimilar to that of the mass immigration to ireland from Poland and other Eastern European countries in the last 10 years.
    Luckily, Ireland is now a lot more enlightened than Scotland was at that time, but you just need to look at After Hours and other such areas to find evidence of Racism and xenophobia in relation to that.

However Rangers did not start with a sectarian policy, that came later when the divides between Scotland's Catholic and Protestant communities became much more bitter during times of recession and war.

To suggest that Rangers still hold any sort of sectarian policy is wrong though - and people like the fella's you work with supporting the club will be more and more evident and part of the clubs move forward. They are important to the progress the club makes.

Now, i certainly understand your questions regarding the sectarian issues and reconciling that with some of the things that have surrounded the club in the past, and what still exists within our support now.
    However i fully support their case.

Supporting a football club like Rangers (or Celtic) isnt something that people take lightly, by the time you are old enough to understand the issues surrounding the whole thing - you are already bitten. It is nigh on impossible to simply drop it.
    I was brought up to keep football, religion and politics seperate in my own mind, i'm sure many others were too.

No one is denying that we have a large and vocal section of complete and utter idiots in our support, but that will never, ever, stop me or others like me from giving my support to the club itself.

Never said he was accused, did I ?
    And I never excused anything.

Why not just utterly condemn it then? No, you had to add a "however" clause to it, just to highlight the fact that you can't condemn it without the suggestion that he somehow brought it on himself.

You said this:
    Is it because he was involved in shady dealing with the IRA ?

which implies that you have information about him being involved in "shady dealings" with the IRA. I've asked you to back up that claim, and you posted some vague article which says that a different individual he was in business with was investigated for money laundering.

So, unless you can back up your statements, I suggest that you do not post incorrect information about Niel Lennon on here.

Eirebear wrote: »
    I dont think it had any relation to Celtic's foundation whatsoever, in fact you just need to look at Hibernian's foundation just 2 years after Rangers for pointers in this - groups of immigrants will always set up groups which cater to those who are part of that particular ethnic grouping.
    Last time i was in Dublin (About 6 years ago) i remember seeing posters in pubs, written almost entirely in Polish, advertising 5-A-Side tournaments.
    Is this down to some sort of issue created by Irish clubs at amateur and proffesional level?
    Of course not, it's simply the way of the world.

Also, Rangers were not the powerhouses of Scottish Football that they are now in the 15 years before Celtic's foundation, not even in Glasgow - With Third Lanark, Queens Park and Dumbarton being the major west of Scotland teams around that time. So it's doubtful that Celtic's foundation was in any way a direct recourse to Rangers existance, rather a rivalry that developed through time.
    Scotland was having a hard time adjusting to the mass immigration from Ireland, not entirely disimilar to that of the mass immigration to ireland from Poland and other Eastern European countries in the last 10 years.
    Luckily, Ireland is now a lot more enlightened than Scotland was at that time, but you just need to look at After Hours and other such areas to find evidence of Racism and xenophobia in relation to that.

However Rangers did not start with a sectarian policy, that came later when the divides between Scotland's Catholic and Protestant communities became much more bitter during times of recession and war.

To suggest that Rangers still hold any sort of sectarian policy is wrong though - and people like the fella's you work with supporting the club will be more and more evident and part of the clubs move forward. They are important to the progress the club makes.

Now, i certainly understand your questions regarding the sectarian issues and reconciling that with some of the things that have surrounded the club in the past, and what still exists within our support now.
    However i fully support their case.

Supporting a football club like Rangers (or Celtic) isnt something that people take lightly, by the time you are old enough to understand the issues surrounding the whole thing - you are already bitten. It is nigh on impossible to simply drop it.
    I was brought up to keep football, religion and politics seperate in my own mind, i'm sure many others were too.

No one is denying that we have a large and vocal section of complete and utter idiots in our support, but that will never, ever, stop me or others like me from giving my support to the club itself.

You've made alot of very valid points there. Firstly, you're obviously alot more knowledgable on the socio-economic circumstances that prevailed in Glasgow back then, so I'm not going to argue with your points at all. As you have said, immigrants will always seek to form their own groups etc, however I dont think the comparisson to the Polish is accurate, primarily for the reason that when the Irish emmigrated, be it to the UK, US or Australia, they spoke the language. This is something that many immigrants in both Ireland and the UK dont do outside of when required to by work etc, hence strengthening the 'them and us' mentality

Wrt to the lads I work with supporting Rangers, they are all Scottish and mostly from the Scottish Isles. I should point out here that I work at sea and not in Ireland. Their dislike of 'Fenians' isnint something they've learned from their experiences, its something they've been conditioned to think from their upbringing. One particular case which amazed me was when one lad was shocked to discover I was a Catholic, despite the fact I'm quiet obviously Irish. This for me is the major issue, people who are completly uninformed and have these secterian views. While clearly you dont hold any secterian views yourself, this isint the case in alot of Scotland, and in my experience particularly in the more rural areas. This is obviously a much wider issue and one which I cant see being eliminated any time soon

I can understand your point about only understanding the issues etc after being bitten, personally I believe that given the circumstances, its a step to far however you obviously take a progressive sort of attitude towards it so fair play to you

I have to say though, I respect your stance regarding the seperation of politics and football, its a stance that if more took onboard could only be a good thing for both Celtic and Rangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

So, unless you can back up your statements, I suggest that you do not post incorrect information about Niel Lennon on here.

Jelle1880 thinks he's on followfollow when posting here - he makes accusations/flings mud and is unable to back them up when challenged as he's not used to having to explain himself.

Wrt to the lads I work with supporting Rangers, they are all Scottish and mostly from the Scottish Isles. I should point out here that I work at sea and not in Ireland. Their dislike of 'Fenians' isnint something they've learned from their experiences, its something they've been conditioned to think from their upbringing. One particular case which amazed me was when one lad was shocked to discover I was a Catholic, despite the fact I'm quiet obviously Irish. This for me is the major issue, people who are completly uninformed and have these secterian views. While clearly you dont hold any secterian views yourself, this isint the case in alot of Scotland, and in my experience particularly in the more rural areas. This is obviously a much wider issue and one which I cant see being eliminated any time soon

Jesus...now we're dealing with a whole new ball game!

The situation on the islands, wether Catholic or Protestant is almost medievil for many people.

Religion has such a strong hold on some of these islands that it has really held back any progress whatsoever, and football is the least of their problems.
    There were huge disturbances on Lewis, for example, when a passenger ferry service started operating two runs on a Sunday.

You'd be forgiven for thinking this happened in the 1950's - it was actually 2009.

Anyway, thats way OT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

For those who think Rangers are not saying anything about this

http://sport.stv.tv/football/244544-martin-bain-bomb-threats-have-no-place-in-football/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Paul4As

Paul - No offence mate but if that bothers you that much then set up a thread about it.

This is about death threats to Neil Lennon, attacks on him in the street, viable devices sent to him etc... if you want to engage in "whataboutary" then please start up another thread and leave this one.

Thank you.

It didn't bother me that much the singing of IRA songs in Algarve...I think I was more shocked...and shocked to that kids were being exposed to it through Celtic songs with added on lyrics!!!
    I think some people on here who more or less label all Rangers supporters sectarian...and who even say that decent supporters should stop supporting Rangers because of the act of a very small minority...may be they should start up their own thread.
    I think it is a classic case of "Pot Calling The Kettle Black"

You've completly missed my point. My point was that while there are no doubt many sectarian Celtic fans, Celtic as a club are not sectarian, Rangers on the other hand are. I dont know how someone who is not sectarian could reconcile this with following a club which has through out its existance had secterian policies. The irony is IMO, that if Rangers were not a secterian club, Celtic would probably never have been founded in the first place

Also, while I wouldnt condone the 'RA chants, they are not secterian chants, they're Republican chants

Rangers are not a sectarian club...neither is Celtic....both their support however have small elements of sectarian fans though!!!

:D So you think a bunch of folk adding "IRA" to the end of songs in a bar are just as bad as people who plant bombs under cars and blow up policemen for example?

Or have I just been whooshed?

I wouldn't call them a bunch of folk...I would called them a bunch of sectarian folk...folk who celebrate terrorism and terrorists who have in the past planted bombs under cars to blow up policemen!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

So Celtic have no sectarian fans??? :confused:
    On a personal note I have experience that they do.
    I was in Albufeira in the Algarve last July and was in a wee Celtic bar...just went in for the craic as there was a live singer...he was singing a mixture of Irish songs and Celtic songs...he sung one Celtic song and the crowd (who were all Scottish and included many middle aged and young women) added on their own lyrics which included the IRA. I had to smile to my wife who is from Mayo as I didn't know what else to do...I'm a Rangers fan...needless to say I left after the 1st drink.
    Sectarianism is a problem with both Rangers and Celtic...that is a fact!!!
    I will continue supporting Rangers and so will many other decent none sectarian Rangers fans!!!
    We will also continue to condemn sectarianism on both sides!!!

Not the point of this thread, but a song that references the IRA does not make it a sectarian one.

I wouldn't call them a bunch of folk...I would called them a bunch of sectarian folk...folk who celebrate terrorism and terrorists who have in the past planted bombs under cars to blow up policemen!!!

Answer the question Paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Sad to think that in the 21st century a football manager's life is under threat because he manages Celtic a club with historical links to Ireland and the Catholic church yet open to people from all backgrounds and nationalities.

The people who sent these parcel bombs are sick and deranged individuals who need locking up for a long time. In the 21st century it's sad to think that this is happening in Scotland and worse it seems to be acceptable to some people because Lennon is from a catholic and Irish background!

dartbhoy wrote: »
    The people who sent these parcel bombs are sick and deranged individuals who need locking up for a long time. In the 21st century it's sad to think that this is happening in Scotland and worse it seems to be acceptable to some people because Lennon is from a catholic and Irish background!

Who has come on the TV or came out in the newspapers saying that sending parcel bombs to Neil Lennon is acceptable???
    All I have seen and heard has been condemnation from Celtic, from Rangers, from football fans and from non-football fans!!! Rightly so!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

The thing that keeps coming back to me is how it's just all one-sided. There's no bullets being sent to Rangers players.

anti catholicism is a culture , anti protestantism isnt , scotland is an inherently anti catholic country as anyone who has ever worked with scotts can testify to

Who has come on the TV or came out in the newspapers saying that sending parcel bombs to Neil Lennon is acceptable???
    All I have seen and heard has been condemnation from Celtic, from Rangers, from football fans and from non-football fans!!! Rightly so!!!

Quite a few Rangers fans posting on forums that they wished he got the bomb, a Berwick Ranger's trainee got released from his contract for his comments on Twitter about Lennon. Do they not count?

Not the point of this thread, but a song that references the IRA does not make it a sectarian one.

Any song celebrating an organisation that murdered hundreds of people because of their relgion is a sectarian song...sectarian songs are sung by sectarian people. Very simple logic!!!

What about an organisation to freed its people from oppression?

Dempsey wrote: »
    Quite a few Rangers fans posting on forums that they wished he got the bomb, a Berwick Ranger's trainee got released from his contract for his comments on Twitter about Lennon. Do they not count?

It is very easy to type on forums on the iternet...where your identity isn't revealed. There are some sick posts about all topics!!!
    Have you seen anyone on the telly revealling their identity about the Lennon incidents??? I have yet to see anybody thankfully!!!

Do you sings songs celebrating the IRA then???
    I don't sing songs celebrating any sectarian terrorist organisation!!! I prefer peaceful means and democracy!!! :)

It is very easy to type on forums on the iternet...where your identity isn't revealed. There are some sick posts about all topics!!!
    Have you seen anyone on the telly revealling their identity about the Lennon incidents??? I have yet to see anybody thankfully!!!

Whats with all the !!! & ??? ?

So these people posting their hatred because they think that they cannot be identified makes their hatred for Lennon irrelevant? I dont think so.

Do you sings songs celebrating the IRA then???
    I don't sing songs celebrating any sectarian terrorist organisation!!! I prefer peaceful means and democracy!!! :)

I have sang rebel songs that celebrated people that were part responsible in Ireland getting its freedom, those people were IRA members amongst other things. I've no shame about doing so and never will. Does that make me sectarian or bigoted?

Whats with all the !!! & ??? ?

So these people posting their hatred because they think that they cannot be identified makes their hatred for Lennon irrelevant? I dont think so.

Doesn't make it irrelevant...but it is too easy these days to hide behind a keyboard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    People set up Facebook accounts everyday attacking celebrities...making hideous remarks...you have cyber bullying!!!

Good to see Lennon get a clap and roar of support on the 18th minute of tonights game!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

If they would have only targeted the military, fine.
    But they didn't, so there goes your argument.

As soon as you deliberately target civilians you lose any right to call yourself 'freedom-fighters'.

By the way, apparently the Record in Scotland will run a story tomorrow about a Cardinal being sent bullets too :confused:
    Platini has come out as well, saying that politics and religion have no place in football.

I have sang rebel songs that celebrated people that were part responsible in Ireland getting its freedom, those people were IRA members amongst other things. I've no shame about doing so and never will. Does that make me sectarian or bigoted?

If it were to celebrate the IRA of the Troubles in Northern Ireland...yes I would class it as being a sectarian song!!! Just as loyalist songs celebrating their actions during the Troubles are sectarian!!!
    Though you mention Ireland...not Northern Ireland...I assume you don't mean the IRA of the 70s, 80s and 90s.

Doesn't make it irrelevant...but it is too easy these days to hide behind a keyboard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    People set up Facebook accounts everyday attacking celebrities...making hideous remarks...you have cyber bullying!!!

Good to see Lennon get a clap and roar of support on the 18th minute of tonights game!!!

Exactly, they can display their bigoted hate filled opinion without fear of consequence. Its still bigotry and hate filled and its fills Rangers forums on a regular basis without any serious deterrents from those who manage those sites.

If they would have only targeted the military, fine.
    But they didn't, so there goes your argument.

As soon as you deliberately target civilians you lose any right to call yourself 'freedom-fighters'.

By the way, apparently the Record in Scotland will run a story tomorrow about a Cardinal being sent bullets too :confused:
    Platini has come out as well, saying that politics and religion have no place in football.

You should go read a history book or something because you are the most clueless person I've encountered in a long time.
    If it were to celebrate the IRA of the Troubles in Northern Ireland...yes I would class it as being a sectarian song!!! Just as loyalist songs celebrating their actions during the Troubles are sectarian!!!
    Though you mention Ireland...not Northern Ireland.

How do you distinguish between the IRA of say Michael Collins and those of the troubles in the North?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Nonsense. The IRA didn't target hundreds due to their religion. So your "very simple logic" is actually quite noticeably flawed.

You should go read a history book or something because you are the most clueless person I've encountered in a long time.

How do you distinguish between the IRA of say Michael Collins and those of the troubles in the North?

I do not know that much about what went on during Michael Collin's time...I didn't like history at school...but I have lived through the Troubles in Northern Ireland..I have been part of that history....and I can tell you that anybody who supported paramilitaries in Northern Ireland through the 70s, 80s and 90s...they were and are sick. I had no time for it then...and I have no time for people glorifying it now!!!
    So if you are someone who thought the IRA of the "Trouble" were heroes for the people of Ireland...well done you.

I do not know that much about what went on during Michael Collin's time...I didn't like history at school...but I have lived through the Troubles in Northern Ireland..I have been part of that history....and I can tell you that anybody who supported paramilitaries in Northern Ireland through the 70s, 80s and 90s...they were and are sick. I had no time for it then...and I have no time for people glorifying it now!!!
    So if you are someone who thought the IRA of the "Trouble" were heroes for the people of Ireland...well done you.

So you have absolutely no hope of making a distinction between undoubted freedom fighters and the more debatable northern troubles, yet you label anyone that sings about or mentions IRA in a positive light as sectarian because you are just ignorant of Irish History. You sum up alot of Rangers supporters tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

i can't believe the thread is been sidetracked by a lad who heard a few republican songs in some bar on holiday - for god's sake the celtic manager, a qc and a member of the scottish parliament were sent bombs in the post

chalk and cheese

So you have absolutely no hope of making a distinction between undoubted freedom fighters and the more debatable northern troubles, yet you label anyone that sings about or mentions IRA in a positive light as sectarian because you are just ignorant of Irish History. You sum up alot of Rangers supporters tbh.

So you think past IRA actions of the 70s 80s and 90s...actions such as bombings, shootings etc....acts of violence and bloodshed...are OK because of the republican cause and Irish history.
    Yet parcel bombs and death threats to Neil Lennon are terrible and awful.
    As a Rangers supporter I am disgusted by all of the above...that is just the guy I am...I hate and deplore all types of violence, murder, threats...I don't just pick and choose.
    On that note...I am out of this thread.
    Hopefully the Scottish police catch the culprit/s of these parcel bombs and threats to Neil.

So you think past IRA actions of the 70s 80s and 90s...actions such as bombings, shootings etc....acts of violence and bloodshed...are OK because of the republican cause and Irish history.
    Yet parcel bombs and death threats to Neil Lennon are terrible and awful.
    As a Rangers supporter I am disgusted by all of the above...that is just the guy I am...I hate and deplore all types of violence, murder, threats...I don't just pick and choose.
    On that note...I am out of this thread.
    Hopefully the Scottish police catch the culprit/s of these parcel bombs and threats to Neil.

Stop trying to change the subject, I've no interest in going through a discussion on the northern troubles.

donfers wrote: »
    i can't believe the thread is been sidetracked by a lad who heard a few republican songs in some bar on holiday - for god's sake the celtic manager, a qc and a member of the scottish parliament were sent bombs in the post

chalk and cheese

Pure 'whataboutary'... and an attempt to perpetuate the 'each is as bad as the other' myth.

Is it because he was involved in shady dealing with the IRA ?

Not a hope I'm letting this go.

Explain yourself or retract and apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Not a hope I'm letting this go.

Explain yourself or retract and apologise.

He pulled the same stunt with 'Celtic Park was closed in the 40's' last week. He won't back it up, but in this case he has landed a libelous statement for the mods to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Don't think this was posted already,shameful cowardly acts.It's just sport ffs.

article-1378752-0BB578F100000578-831_235x418.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Very disappointing that some of the Rangers fans caveat their condemnation with the 'he brings it on himself' line

Shame.