Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Commissioner 'concerned' over growhouses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

seamus wrote: »
    Theoretically it would be nice to ignore them, but the problem is that they rely on existing dealer networks to sell their product.

Dealer networks who are the usual scum that are also dealing heroin and coke and murdering people on a weekly basis.

This isn't specifically about targetting marijuana, it's about disrupting money supplies for Limerick and Dublin gangs as well as the CIRA.
    That's not necessarily true, the grow ops don't need them. Any grow op I've seen or discussed sold to friends the weed was gone out the door as soon as it was ready and not a gun wielding Dub or Limerick gang member is site. Even among a small group of friends they can't grow it fast enough.

The cannabis growers are the only people in this country making real inroads into stopping organised crime. All the government do is encourage it and secure ever increasing profit criminal gangs. Growers take the money away from them.

Although I'm cutting down my cannabis use due to price, their all just taking the piss at this stage and I encourage ever smoker I know to do the same, the prices here are completely ridiculous and people have to stop paying them.

Just wish they were as concerned at all the junkies selling their **** all over O' Connell Bridge , Talbot Street, and the Boardwalk areas of Dublin.
    There's a great little business around the phone box at O'Connell Bridge. No one seems concerned about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

ScumLord wrote: »
    That's not necessarily true, the grow ops don't need them. Any grow op I've seen or discussed sold to friends the weed was gone out the door as soon as it was ready and not a gun wielding Dub or Limerick gang member is site. Even among a small group of friends they can't grow it fast enough.

The cannabis growers are the only people in this country making real inroads into stopping organised crime. All the government do is encourage it and secure ever increasing profit criminal gangs. Growers take the money away from them.

Although I'm cutting down my cannabis use due to price, their all just taking the piss at this stage and I encourage ever smoker I know to do the same, the prices here are completely ridiculous and people have to stop paying them.

Sorry if I am being stupid here but are the grow houses being raided by the guards not being run by Asian criminal gangs?

Are you talking about mates with a few plants or do you know people who have houses full of the stuff and every possible room taken up with as many plants as can be possibly fitted?

Jake1 wrote: »
    Just wish they were as concerned at all the junkies selling their **** all over O' Connell Bridge , Talbot Street, and the Boardwalk areas of Dublin.
    There's a great little business around the phone box at O'Connell Bridge. No one seems concerned about that.

That's the equivalent of them going after every small dealer around.

They go after the main sellers.

Nearly every week there is a report of a raid which netted €100,000 or more of heroin or cocaine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Maybe he should be more concerned with the head guy in AIB walking away with a €3m golden handshake,fingers €1m (that was never returned),Seanie,Drumm and lets not forget Bertie costing the taxpayer €1m a year despite having a ****load of money he cannot account for????....and of course Patrick Neary without whom this mess would not be half as bad!

reprazant wrote: »
    That's the equivalent of them going after every small dealer around.

They go after the main sellers.

Nearly every week there is a report of a raid which netted €100,000 or more of heroin or cocaine.

Ah, I know, and Ive no problem with that, Im just cranky :) Go after the gangs by all means, but leave the people who grow for their own use alone. Its amazing how they ever got away with criminalising a plant to begin with.

bonzos wrote: »
    Maybe he should be more concerned with the head guy in AIB walking away with a €3m golden handshake,fingers €1m (that was never returned),Seanie,Drumm and lets not forget Bertie costing the taxpayer €1m a year despite having a ****load of money he cannot account for????....and of course Patrick Neary without whom this mess would not be half as bad!

God, I was wondering when someone was going to mention that bankers.

No matter what the issue is, there is always one.

BUT WHAT ABOUT THE BANKERS! no matter what the issue is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

God, I was wondering when someone was going to mention that bankers.

No matter what the issue is, there is always one.

BUT WHAT ABOUT THE BANKERS! no matter what the issue is.

That shower are getting away with absolute murder, no wonder people are angry at the garda crackdown on growing a plant, while these guys are getting away scott free with huge sums of money after destroying our country.

People have a right to bring it up at every opportunity. Tough if you don't like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

The more recent ones seem to be on a large scale though. It's hard to believe that grows like that are just being sold to friends etc.

One which seems to be one of the smaller finds recently had growing equipment seized which was worth €10,000. Who has that kind of money to be throwing around? So the bigger grow houses must have a much bigger investment to start with.

EDIT: Link

Shulgin wrote: »
    That shower are getting away with absolute murder, no wonder people are angry at the garda crackdown on growing a plant, while these guys are getting away scott free with huge sums of money after destroying our country.

People have a right to bring it up at every opportunity. Tough if you don't like it.

Cool.

Next time there is some thread on some child abuser, I will moan about how the authorities can find the time to bring this degenerate to justice but not the BANKERS AND FF and I expect you to back me up on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

Shulgin wrote: »

If you want to talk about bankers, why don't you go onto one of the countless threads already dedicated to the issue instead of dragging this one way off topic?

Anyway, so what if people are making a lot of money from large grow ops? It means there's obviously a huge demand for the product. The only issue with people making these vast sums of money is the fact that they are necessarily criminals. If it were a legitimate business like, say, a brewery, it wouldn't be an issue. The problem is prohibition. It doesn't do what it is intended to and punishes people for something they are going to do regardless of its legality. Make it legal and regulated and it won't be gangs making the money but legally registered companies, with all the applicable taxes levied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

the_syco wrote: »
    If the Gardai didn't raid weed houses, other flowers would be grown. Opium poppies, for example.
    Hookah wrote: »
    Field poppies, surely?

Can you grow opium poppies in Ireland?
    It is 100% legal to grow opium poppies in Ireland. They sell the seeds in Woodies as 'Breadseed poppies'. You need only look for a Somniforum (sp) variety.

I could tell you how to get the opium out, but then it becomes illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

Cant you just make poppy tea for the same effects?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

DaveDaRave wrote: »
    Cant you just make poppy tea for the same effects?
    SSSHhhhhh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Just introduce legislation that a person can grow one or two plants for personal use.

I think there's just to much money to be made by guards, solicitors etc in keeping it illegal.

Sorry if I am being stupid here but are the grow houses being raided by the guards not being run by Asian criminal gangs?
    There is a percentage but they're going after any grow ops.
    Are you talking about mates with a few plants or do you know people who have houses full of the stuff and every possible room taken up with as many plants as can be possibly fitted?
    Yes that happens. 3 or 4 plants aren't going to keep you never mind others in weed for long. There's a minimum of 3 months turn around on a crop.
    The more recent ones seem to be on a large scale though. It's hard to believe that grows like that are just being sold to friends etc.

One which seems to be one of the smaller finds recently had growing equipment seized which was worth €10,000. Who has that kind of money to be throwing around? So the bigger grow houses must have a much bigger investment to start with.

EDIT: Link
    Garda figures on value are completely pie in the sky made up, nothing they say as to the value of equipment or drugs value can be trusted. €10,000 is a ridiculous figure and a large crop could be grown for a quarter of that price, a really large crop.

Gangs are growing it, but I would say the vast majority of grows have nothing to o with gangs and where started to avoid those gangs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

There is a percentage but they're going after any grow ops.

Yes that happens. 3 or 4 plants aren't going to keep you never mind others in weed for long. There's a minimum of 3 months turn around on a crop.

Garda figures on value are completely pie in the sky made up, nothing they say as to the value of equipment or drugs value can be trusted. €10,000 is a ridiculous figure and a large crop could be grown for a quarter of that price, a really large crop.

Gangs are growing it, but I would say the vast majority of grows have nothing to o with gangs and where started to avoid those gangs.

I hadn't taken in to account the fact that they do blow figures out of all proportion alright.

I still find it hard to believe that a small harmless group are responsible for most of the finds. Do groups get together and rent out a full floor of a building and use it for this purpose? That is the kind of set ups that are being found.

Are there really harmless groups that get together and can afford rent / equipment / risks ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I think the Gardai are the people in all this who least deserve citicism. They're just doing their job after all and they don't make the laws. It's probably much easier for them to find people cultivating mass amounts of a plant indoors (heat-seeking cameras, smells, etc.) than it is to find heroin and cocaine and the like.

The people in the Dail are the ones that need to have a discussion about this and have a look at some facts and figures.

I'd be of the opinion that there would be none of these very unsavoury Chinese-run growhouses if Cannabis was properly addressed rather than swept under the carpet. People have continued to use it in spite of the laws and it's rapidly becoming more and more widespread, making the laws a lot less legitimate as they target a good deal of people who aren't involved in any other kind of illegal activity and never will be.

I don't remember a time when Cannabis was in the news as much as it has been this year, whether it's the Schengen agreement law being changed, the issue of Ming Flanagan's growing or the seizure of the growhouses. If it continues at this rate then they won't have the option to ignore it for much longer.

I still find it hard to believe that a small harmless group are responsible for most of the finds. Do groups get together and rent out a full floor of a building and use it for this purpose? That is the kind of set ups that are being found.

Are there really harmless groups that get together and can afford rent / equipment / risks ?
    Well when you measure it up against going to a known drug dealer and paying 10 to 20 times the cost of production the risks and costs even themselves out. Especially considering you could grow six plants for less than €300 the price of one ounce of weed. It's no more expensive to grow cannabis indoors than it is to grow any other plant.

We see the big seizures on the news we don't hear of the people that get caught growing one or two plants after a tip off from neighbours. I'd like to see how many of the seizures are that kind of person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Belfast

not sure what the law in Ireland on small amounts of opium poppies is.
    They are widely grow in private gardens and public parks in small amounts for decorate reasons in Ireland.
    There are legal to grow in Britain in small amount for decorate reasons. only become illegal of you try to extract opium form them.

I believe you would need 400 sq meter and a lot of labour in an idea climate to produce enough opium for one user.

I think this is why it is many done in paces like Afghanistan where the climate is idea and they have plenty of cheap labour.

Not very practical or economical to try apart form being illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

hope i'm not too off topic here,
    why do we get some reports in the newspapers saying
    marijuana in the long term causes schizophrenia or some other
    pscychosis, yet they're now starting to prescribe it as a medicine
    for cancer patients and people with painful ailements?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

wild_cat wrote: »
    Just introduce legislation that a person can grow one or two plants for personal use.

I think there's just to much money to be made by guards, solicitors etc in keeping it illegal.

You need two plants to cross polinate. Did some research on it looking at wouldi t be viable to grow it commercially if they ever legalised it, Much more effected cost wise to grow it centrally in glasshouses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

I honestly don't understand why they don't legalise this stuff, people are gonna smoke it anyway, so at least if it was legal and the quality uniform then the government would be bringing in revenue from it.

If people wanna smoke it then let them, I've no interest in it, tried it a couple of times and wasn't a fan of it, if others wanna do it then what gives the government the right to stop them? if the folk are smoking it away from others who don't like it then what's the problem?

We seem to live in a nanny state, government needs to get out of people's everyday lives IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

seamus wrote: »
    Dealer networks who are the usual scum that are also dealing heroin and coke and murdering people on a weekly basis.

Sorry seamus, that's a complete generalisation and untrue. I am very touchy where I source mine, and am 100% sure it doesn't end up in the coffers of CIRA or any such organisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I'm off the gear for over three years... I'd like to point out that one can buy almost no product without risking supporting scum, whether the legitimate corporations that could teach any illegal organization how it's done or some illegal organization over in wherever the f*ck that is getting protection money off the producer or importer or whatever.

Exactly, everyone that wears gold is supporting child slavery, and anyone who buys anything is supporting a class system in China that see's rural folk treated as second class citizens that have none of the rights city folk have.

Child slavery is easily ten times worse than any drug pushers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I'm after buying a few 250W CFL bulbs for my living room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

Needler wrote: »
    I'm after buying a few 250W CFL bulbs for my living room.

2700 or 6500k?

Jagle wrote: »
    2700 or 6500k?
    Jesus that's insane money, you should try buying online.

2700 or 6500k?

More cosy warmer colour light tbh wouldn't go near them other yokes

I don't think you need high power bulbs to make those anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

This is outrageous coming from the commissioner, So people grow their own and stop fuelling "Criminal gangs", And he still isn't happy.

Iv yet to ever hear a high ranking Gardaí express concern about Church paedophilia yet they seem to make comments about Marijuana on a regular basis, Just shows the priorities of those higher ranking Gardaí.

Ill always judge any Garda by their personality but as an organisation as a whole they can get the finger...The middle...

charlemont wrote: »
    This is outrageous coming from the commissioner, So people grow their own and stop fuelling "Criminal gangs", And he still isn't happy.

Iv yet to ever hear a high ranking Gardaí express concern about Church paedophilia yet they seem to make comments about Marijuana on a regular basic, Just shows the priorities of those higher ranking Gardaí.

Ill always judge any Garda by their personality but as an organisation as a whole they can get the finger...The middle...

Thanks for specifying, otherwise I would have wondered.

theyll see you right out till the end too.

enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

kylith wrote: »
    It is 100% legal to grow opium poppies in Ireland. They sell the seeds in Woodies as 'Breadseed poppies'. You need only look for a Somniforum (sp) variety.

I could tell you how to get the opium out, but then it becomes illegal.

Actually it is 100% ILLEGAL to cultivate opium poppies in Ireland. The seeds are legal for use in baking and food production only. Although the Gardai don't prosecute this, ever, and there is no end of grannies innocently growing opium poppies in their garden, unaware that they're actually in breach of the law.
    Just another example of how the Gardai pick and choose who to go after in relation to lawbreaking.
    Motorist doing 10 mph over the limit on the motorway? Easy target.
    Middle class punter growing a few cannabis plants? Likewise.
    White collar banker who raped the state for billions? Car and fuel thieving traveller gangs? Heroin dealers? Even begging Roma? Too much like hard work for our boys in blue.

Actually it is 100% ILLEGAL to cultivate opium poppies in Ireland. The seeds are legal for use in baking and food production only. Although the Gardai don't prosecute this, ever, and there is no end of grannies innocently growing opium poppies in their garden, unaware that they're actually in breach of the law.
    Just another example of how the Gardai pick and choose who to go after in relation to lawbreaking.
    Motorist doing 10 mph over the limit on the motorway? Easy target.
    Middle class punter growing a few cannabis plants? Likewise.
    White collar banker who raped the state for billions? Car and fuel thieving traveller gangs? Heroin dealers? Even begging Roma? Too much like hard work for our boys in blue.

Completely. Out. Of. Order.

Our boys & girls in blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Since when are majiruna smoker considerate? My housemate keeps eating my junk food when high, my brother drives when high...idealistic view!

Fecking opium poppies are a pain in the arse. I mow down a good few every year cause if I don't all I'll have left around the house is fecking opium poppies. Lucky I don't live in Dublin or there would be junkies coming up to my house to harvest them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Completely. Out. Of. Order.

Our boys & girls in blue.

Unlike Britain, there aren't many (if any) female cops in the senior positions to be calling the shots as regards tactical policing priorities in this country. Anyhow, that point made, I stand corrected.

but... but..... but I was only thanks whoring...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Know of a few growhouses in my area which were raided. Waste of time if you ask me as someone else will just see the opportunity available and take it. Always a demand, always.
    Wouldn't have been too bad if my own two plants survived. Unfortunately the rain did them in and they were only a few weeks from retirement.

Yakult wrote: »
    Know of a few growhouses in my area which were raided. Waste of time if you ask me as someone else will just see the opportunity available and take it. Always a demand, always.
    Wouldn't have been too bad if my own two plants survived. Unfortunately the rain did them in and they were only a few weeks from retirement.

sorry to hear that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

The 2nd in command of the guards who would be in charge of operational policing priorities, is a woman.

http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=7712&Lang=1

280 counts of simple possession at oxegen, id say 50% weed 25% pills 25% coke/mdma whatever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

wild_cat wrote: »

Bang on, The Gardaí would have a terrible time trying to look busy without it, And solicitors make a fortune from it being illegal.

charlemont wrote: »
    Bang on, The Gardaí would have a terrible time trying to look busy without it, And solicitors make a fortune from it being illegal.

sorry but 2 plants aint worth it, 12 minimum it would have to be, 2 plants couldnt yeild enough weed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

sorry but 2 plants aint worth it, 12 minimum it would have to be, 2 plants couldnt yeild enough weed

2 plants in rotation would be enough for most casual smokers. 12 is possession with intent to supply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Seachmall wrote: »
    2 plants in rotation would be enough for most casual smokers. 12 is possession with intent to supply.

A friend of mine was found with four plants which were fully grown and the arresting guard decided to slap on an intent to supply charge. It was contested in the court and he was not found guilty, but found guilty of cultivation which actually carries a heavy penalty (community service plus a multiple K fine or even prison), even just for the four.

Two in rotation grown well is definitely enough for one person and a couple of mates to enjoy themselves on the weekends. Everything in moderation ;)

Seachmall wrote: »

can only be charged with supply if you have baggies/scales/ and there is evidence of you supplying other people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

cannabis kills