Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Live bomb sent to neil lennon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

I subjected myself to reading the first page of plebian shyte. Enough already.

Isn't it time that we disband both sectarian clubs for the betterment of mankind?

Well, Hello there Mr.Troll. How are you this fine morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

All the Celtic fans I have met from Ireland England Scotland Spain Oz Wales Sweden etc have been quality people.

Sounds like it alright

Rivalry and sectarianism

In 1980, opposing fans fought an on-pitch battle in the aftermath of Celtic's 1–0 victory in the Scottish Cup Final at Hampden. This remains one of the worst invasions onto a football pitch ever reported, and was instrumental in alcohol being banned from football grounds in Scotland.[4]
    There was serious fan disorder during an Old Firm match played in May 1999 at Celtic Park, as several missiles were thrown by Celtic fans, one of which struck referee Hugh Dallas, forcing the game to be stopped while he received medical treatment.[5] At least four Celtic fans invaded the field of play to confront Dallas during the game,[5] and more missiles were thrown at players on the pitch after the game.[5] Since the events of that day, Old Firm league matches have normally been played in the early afternoon and the possibility of an Old Firm title decider has been deliberately avoided.[6][7]
    The Old Firm rivalry fuels many assaults on Old Firm Derby days, and some deaths in the past have been directly related to the aftermath of Old Firm matches.I][URL="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Citation_needed"]citation needed[/URL][/I An activist group that monitors sectarian activity in Glasgow has reported that on Old Firm weekends, violent attacks increase ninefold over normal levels.[8] An increase in domestic abuse can also be attributed to Old Firm fixtures.[9]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

orourkeda wrote: »
    What does booing a player solve?

Isn't there a reasonable chance that if a player plays for rangers then they're a protestant

I dont care whether or not the player in question is or isint a Protestant, religion dosent come in to it for me

Isn't it time that we disband both sectarian clubs for the betterment of mankind?

Give me one example of how Celtic are a sectarian club?
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Sounds like it alright

Rivalry and sectarianism...

Every club has its idiots. The fact remains though that Celtic's fans are well behaved in general and have won awards from UEFA for their behaviour and conduct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

The acts are different but the cause is the same
    This is the stupidest thing I have ever heard.

Booing a player who playes for your rivals team, versus attempted murder.

Catch youself on, I can't believe you're that stupid.

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Every club has its idiots. The fact remains though that Celtic's fans are well behaved in general and have won awards from UEFA for their behaviour and conduct

'An activist group that monitors sectarian activity in Glasgow has reported that on Old Firm weekends, violent attacks increase ninefold over normal levels.'

Where does that come out of then? Must be all the Rangers lads so! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Give me one example of how Celtic are a sectarian club?

they were set up to keep the catholic population away from protestant churches running soup kitchens and the club was set up by a priest

Celtic are not Sectarian. Celtic did not have a sectarian signing policy for almost 100 years.

Pauleta wrote: »
    they were set up to keep the catholic population away from protestant churches running soup kitchens and the club was set up by a priest

Was set up by a Marist Brother, Andrew Kerrins. The principles for setting it up was as follows
    • The first was to raise funds to provide food for the poor of the East End of Glasgow, an area of the city that was greatly impoverished and had a very high rate of infant mortality.
    • Within the East End was a large Irish community and friction was growing between native Glaswegians and the new influx of Irish. Brother Walfrid saw the need for social integration and his vision was a football club that Scottish and Irish, Protestants and Catholics alike could support. A new football club would be a vehicle to bring the communities together and this was the second aim.
    • The Marist brother sought for the club to have both a Scottish and Irish identity and hence the club's name, Celtic, representing a bridge of cultures across the Irish sea.
    Now, please stop talking if you don't have the facts.

Who said Rangers was a religion?

When was the last time you heard a Catholic Celtic player was booed?

Aiden McGeady, at away matches the lenght and breath of Scotland.

'An activist group that monitors sectarian activity in Glasgow has reported that on Old Firm weekends, violent attacks increase ninefold over normal levels.'

It also rises over bank holiday weekends, during the Glasgow Green fair and at New Years. All times where alcohol is at peak consumption, but lets not consider facts when when there's an easier target to make you feel smug.

but lets not consider facts when when there's an easier target to make you feel smug.

Yore Ma! :p

Can you give an example of Celtic being a sectarian club yes or no? Im not disputing that there has been trouble involving Celtic fans, they however on the whole extremely well behaved. This being a prime example of that:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/3313371.stm

There's plenty of people on here who seem happy to make assumptions about Celtic fans, yet noboady seems to have examples of secteriaism on the part of the club. People are happy to jump to the conclusion that Celtic are sectarian, that they are as bad as Rangers in that sense, but its simply not true

Can you give an example of Celtic being a sectarian club yes or no? Im not disputing that there has been trouble involving Celtic fans, they however on the whole extremely well behaved. This being a prime example of that:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/c/celtic/3313371.stm

There's plenty of people on here who seem happy to make assumptions about Celtic fans, yet noboady seems to have examples of secteriaism on the part of the club. People are happy to jump to the conclusion that Celtic are sectarian, that they are as bad as Rangers in that sense, but its simply not true

No, I don't follow Celtic or Rangers or soccer at all. However on Wikipedia it says this:

'
    There have been nearly 400 Old Firm matches played as of 2011. The games have been described as having an "atmosphere of hatred, religious tension and intimidation which continues to lead to violence in communities across Scotland."[41] The rivalry has fuelled many assaults and even deaths on Old Firm Derby days. Admissions to hospital emergency rooms have been reported to increase ninefold over normal levels[42] and journalist Franklin Foer noted that in the period from 1996 to 2003, eight deaths in Glasgow were directly linked to Old Firm matches, and hundreds of assaults.[42][43] Rangers fans' singing of the Famine song has also caused controversy.[44][45][46][47]
    Both sets of fans fought an on-pitch battle in the aftermath of Celtic's 1–0 victory in the 1980 Scottish Cup final at Hampden Park.[48] There was serious fan disorder during an Old Firm match played in May 1999 at Celtic Park; missiles were thrown by Celtic fans, including one which struck referee Hugh Dallas, who needed medical treatment, and a small number of fans invaded the pitch.[49] In 2008, a Celtic fan was convicted of a religiously aggravated breach of the peace for wearing a t-shirt with the slogan "dirty horrible huns".[50]'

No, I don't follow Celtic or Rangers or soccer at all. However on Wikipedia it says this:

So you are basing your arguement on what you read on wikipedia. Firstly wiki is not all factual, anyone with an agenda can change it suit that agenda. Secondly, as you admit yourself, you dont follow football, you dont know what you are talking about. Why not leave it to people who do to make these arguements, people who can actually put forward a decent arguement
    There have been nearly 400 Old Firm matches played as of 2011. The games have been described as having an "atmosphere of hatred, religious tension and intimidation which continues to lead to violence in communities across Scotland."[41] The rivalry has fuelled many assaults and even deaths on Old Firm Derby days. Admissions to hospital emergency rooms have been reported to increase ninefold over normal levels[42] and journalist Franklin Foer noted that in the period from 1996 to 2003, eight deaths in Glasgow were directly linked to Old Firm matches, and hundreds of assaults.[42][43] Rangers fans' singing of the Famine song has also caused controversy.[44][45][46][47]
    Both sets of fans fought an on-pitch battle in the aftermath of Celtic's 1–0 victory in the 1980 Scottish Cup final at Hampden Park.[48] There was serious fan disorder during an Old Firm match played in May 1999 at Celtic Park; missiles were thrown by Celtic fans, including one which struck referee Hugh Dallas, who needed medical treatment, and a small number of fans invaded the pitch.[49] In 2008, a Celtic fan was convicted of a religiously aggravated breach of the peace for wearing a t-shirt with the slogan "dirty horrible huns".[50]'

Of course the Old Firm is hate a hate filled affair. Rangers are a club that openly discriminated against Celtic for most of their history. Celtic have never done so to people of any colour or creed. The only eveidence you can put forward of sectarianism on Celtics part is an example of a fan referring to Rangers as huns. I've heard Man Utd fans, Liverpool fan's and Chelsea fan's refer to black people as n*****s, while thats completly wrong, it dosent mean that Man U, Liverpool or Chelsea ar racist clubs, simply that one ejit who supports them is

You dont know what your talking about, you've admitted so yourself. You're basing your whole arguement on wikipedia to support your agenda. You see chavs in Dublin walking around in Celtic tops, people who have probably never been to Parkhead in their lives and assume that these are representitive of the real Celtic supporters, but you're wrong

So you are basing your arguement on what you read on wikipedia. Firstly wiki is not all factual, anyone with an agenda can change it suit that agenda. Secondly, as you admit yourself, you dont follow football, you dont know what you are talking about. Why not leave it to people who do to make these arguements, people who can actually put forward a decent arguement

Of course the Old Firm is hate a hate filled affair. Rangers are a club that openly discriminated against Celtic for most of their history. Celtic have never done so to people of any colour or creed. The only eveidence you can put forward of sectarianism on Celtics part is an example of a fan referring to Rangers as huns. I've heard Man Utd fans, Liverpool fan's and Chelsea fan's refer to black people as n*****s, while thats completly wrong, it dosent mean that Man U, Liverpool or Chelsea ar racist clubs, simply that one ejit who supports them is

You dont know what your talking about, you've admitted so yourself. You're basing your whole arguement on wikipedia to support your agenda. You see chavs in Dublin walking around in Celtic tops, people who have probably never been to Parkhead in their lives and assume that these are representitive of the real Celtic supporters, but you're wrong

I have no wish to get involved in the soccer scene, nor I have any wish to become involved in sectarianism. However I do like to try educate myself on topics of interest / discussion. Wikipedia is not an exact science, it is damn close though. However, just to please you I did a quick search of the Encylopedia Britannica and found this:

'Celtic, in full Celtic Football Club, also called Celtic FC, Scottish professional football (soccer) team based in Glasgow. Nicknamed “the Bhoys,” (the “h” is said to have been added to phonetically represent an Irish pronunciation of the word boys) Celtic shares a fierce rivalry with the crosstown Rangers, which is often of a sectarian nature, with Celtic and its supporters seen as the Catholic team and Rangers as the Protestant side. Together, the two teams have long dominated Scottish domestic football.'

I suppose the Encyclopedia Britannica is wrong too!;)

I have no wish to get involved in the soccer scene, nor I have any wish to become involved in sectarianism. However I do like to try educate myself on topics of interest / discussion. Wikipedia is not an exact science, it is damn close though. However, just to please you I did a quick search of the Encylopedia Britannica and found this:

'Celtic, in full Celtic Football Club, also called Celtic FC, Scottish professional football (soccer) team based in Glasgow. Nicknamed “the Bhoys,” (the “h” is said to have been added to phonetically represent an Irish pronunciation of the word boys) Celtic shares a fierce rivalry with the crosstown Rangers, which is often of a sectarian nature, with Celtic and its supporters seen as the Catholic team and Rangers as the Protestant side. Together, the two teams have long dominated Scottish domestic football.'

I suppose the Encyclopedia Britannica is wrong too!;)

Its a sectarian rivalry only because Rangers make it that. Yes Celtic were formed by a Catholic, however the club has never discriminated against any colour or creed. Go to Parkhead and look at the crowd, you'll see people of varying ethnicities in amoungst the home crowd, in stark contrast to what you'll see at Ibrox. If anything Celtic are a club for immigrants not simply Catholics

You say that you are just trying to educated yourself, and fair play. So in all your research can you provide one single example of Celtic acting in a sectarian way, or of Celtic fans singing sectarian terrace chants? Because without such, I'm baffeled as to how you can come to the conclusion that they are a sectarian club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Mahou wrote: »
    Neil Lennon played for Northern Ireland with no problems when he was a Leicester City player. When he went to Celtic he retired from international football becuase of death threats. As a player he had threatening graffitti painted outside his house, was attacked on nights out and a car tried to run his car off the road.
    As manager he has been again attacked -knocked unconscious on a night out, has been sent bullets in the post, has received more death threats, he and his family have had to be moved from his home during the small hours and now we hear he has had a viable bomb addressed to him but luckily intercepted.

A rangers player got booed in lansdowne road once, wow.

Wow indeed

For the millionth time I didnt attempt to equate the seriousness of the two. I dont know how many times I have to say this. And I'me sure if you had read the thread you would seen me type this in on a number of different.

Another pathetic attempt to put words into my mouth.

Its a sectarian rivalry only because Rangers make it that. Yes Celtic were formed by a Catholic, however the club has never discriminated against any colour or creed. Go to Parkhead and look at the crowd, you'll see people of varying ethnicities in amoungst the home crowd, in stark contrast to what you'll see at Ibrox. If anything Celtic are a club for immigrants not simply Catholics

You say that you are just trying to educated yourself, and fair play. So in all your research can you provide one single example of Celtic acting in a sectarian way, or of Celtic fans singing sectarian terrace chants? Because without such, I'm baffeled as to how you can come to the conclusion that they are a sectarian club

I don't really give a toss TBH. I saw the thread, had a bit of a read and a bit of a google. Came up with the wiki quote which isn't could enough for you folloewed by the EB quote for good measure. From reading same my understanding is that both teams are sectarian.

Also, from my own personal experience of celtic fans many of them are low life scroates, but then again I could just be hanging out in all the wrong places. ;)

I don't really give a toss TBH. I saw the thread, had a bit of a read and a bit of a google. Came up with the wiki quote which isn't could enough for you folloewed by the EB quote for good measure. From reading same my understanding is that both teams are sectarian.

Also, from my own personal experience of celtic fans many of them are low life scroates, but then again I could just be hanging out in all the wrong places. ;)

Of course they are. One may be worse than the other but they both do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 celticbhoy1888

These loyalist vermin never seem to amaze me,absolute scum,one neil lennon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Your point being?

You cant find one single example to back up your point. Says it all really
    Of course they are. One may be worse than the other but they both do it.

Again, can you provide one example of Celtic fans en masse chanting sectarian songs, or an example of Celtic Football Club adopting a sectarian stance?

You cant find one single example to back up your point. Says it all really

So Encyclopedia Britannica is wrong and you are right? I'll just go give 'em all the sack then shall I?:D

This is exactly what you quoted from Encyclopedia Britannica:
    Celtic shares a fierce rivalry with the crosstown Rangers, which is often of a sectarian nature

It states that the rivalry is sectarian. I'm not disputing that, what I am disputing is that Celtic are sectarian. Rangers for most of their history had a no-Catholics policy, from players right down to staff, their fans sing songs about being ''up to their knee's in Fenian blood''. This to me is the reason that the rivalry is sectarian, as has been stated in what you quoted. Celtic Football Club have never had sectarian policies, this is my point, and it's a point you have not been able to disprove

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Cheer up Advocaat
    Oh what can it mean?
    To a.....sad Orange bastard
    And a **** football team
    Oh Oh oh

Seemed to the popular song last time I was in Celtic Park, quite a number of years ago. Definitely heard it several times in the game
    And this was Celtic and Hearts game! Rangers not even playing

Not particularly pleasant you'll have to agree.
    But you'd hear much the same at many clubs. So I'm not bothered or pushed about the song but a lot of posts here and you'd think Celtic fans were angels

Celtic Football Club have never had sectarian policies, this is my point, and it's a point you have not been able to disprove

They might not openly have sectarian policies but there members / supporters are not unkown to have sectarian tendencies as far as I can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Celtic fans aint as lovable as you all think.....in this match celtic fans showed alot of disrespect during a tribute to British soldiers,Celtic aint the most liked club in Britain, the notion that they are is bullsh1t. so please cut the crap both clubs fans are easily offended by lil things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Rangers are the Republic of Irelands rivals:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Everything you need to know about their fans
    http://sweepingsince1888.blogspot.com/

As i said earlier, the world would be a better place without the both of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

When was the last time a manchester united player or a liverpool player was booed at an ireland match for no reason?

Roy Keane v Romania??? It wasn't all cheers for his comeback!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Nobody said the Celtic fans were angels.You could pile a dossier like that on any club.Nice to see you went to the trouble to do so though.It would also be nice if you could post a neutral perspective and not something compiled by Rangers fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭francis1978

the compilers of that delightful website are called the 'vanguard bears', if you have a bit of time it might be worth your while googling 'vanguard' see what comes up, i would not consider them to be in any ways fair minded they have their own agenda to push. it is true that celtic have a element which follow them who are not just football fans, unfortunately there is not a lot the club can do about it. i'm a big celtic fan i don't get involved in the political crap cos it aint for me, the people who are sending these devices and the other crap to players and other indivduals associated with celtic will have to be found and dealt with. over in the soccer section there is aposter called Jellefish who incinuated that neil lennon was to blame for the situation for various reasons, most of which were bulls***. i dont support people at ROI matches booing rangers players i believe we are better than that (although i can only recall it happening once), we don't seem to come across a lot of them in the international matches. my big fear is now that some lunatic on our (the celtic side) will start this kind of **** with rangers players and drag celtic into the mix too. at the momnet celtic are fighting their corner against what they percieve to be a bias against them in the scottish establishment, this and the existing dislike for lennon is the reason for the bombs and **** being sent to him. sorry if i have gone off topic in this rant.

regards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Since when were Rangers a religion?I'm pretty sure Catholic Rangers players have been booed at Ireland games.
    To many people, The Rangers FC is a religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

This is exactly what you quoted from Encyclopedia Britannica:

It states that the rivalry is sectarian. I'm not disputing that, what I am disputing is that Celtic are sectarian. Rangers for most of their history had a no-Catholics policy, from players right down to staff, their fans sing songs about being ''up to their knee's in Fenian blood''. This to me is the reason that the rivalry is sectarian, as has been stated in what you quoted. Celtic Football Club have never had sectarian policies, this is my point, and it's a point you have not been able to disprove

Rangers also had the policy that you cant marry a Catholic Alex Ferguson will tell you all about how he was driven out of Glasgow because of this!

When Rangers signed Amorusso on his first game he blessed himself going onto the park and his own fans booed him until he was subbed he never blessed himself again after that and made captain.

Celtic certainly are not sectarian they may sing sons of a republican nature but if these songs were banned so would rule Britania and flower of Scotland that have a very close similarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

KeithAFC wrote: »
    To many people, The Rangers FC is a religion.

Hahahaha.Sorry,I can only laugh.

:pac: I pay to it everynight. Don't be offensive.

I hear there pretty bad financially but do you really have to pay every night?

cosanostra wrote: »
    I hear there pretty bad financially but do you really have to pay every night?
    Aye. Diouf might score another goal this season. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Keith: Can you tell me what the general attitude to rugby is up in Norn.

Buceph wrote: »
    Keith: Can you tell me what the general attitude to rugby is up in Norn.
    Why? I ain't a big fan of it really. Like England in the international thing but thats it.

I'm a rugby fan and I'm curious.

But I suppose you've answered part of it with your like of England over Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

"why don't you go home, the famines over". Wonderful. I'm glad to see you've kept your track record of zero useful contributions intact.

Buceph wrote: »
    I'm a rugby fan and I'm curious.

But I suppose you've answered part of it with your like of England over Ireland.
    Ah yeah well, i have family members who would support the Irish rugby team but i don't. Many Unionists do of course but i don't. I don't see it as my team.

To continue with the theme of questions to KeithAFC why do you think as a rangers supporter Neil Lennon is such a target of abuse from quite a large portion of your teams support?

cosanostra wrote: »
    To continue with the theme of questions to KeithAFC why do you think as a rangers supporter Neil Lennon is such a target of abuse from quite a large portion of your teams support?
    Don't know really.

Fair enough. I'd like to imagine it's a Irish thing that transcends nationalist and unionist divides, seeing as rugby has generally been apolitical (and most shinners would ignorantly deride it as a West-Brit thing anyway.) Guess other elements will always come into.

And if you're not much into rugby you wouldn't be able to answer my other questions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Don't know really.

How many teams do you support this week?

Arsenal, Rangers, any more we don;t yet know about?

karma_ wrote: »
    How many teams do you support this week?

Arsenal, Rangers, any more we don;t yet know about?
    Tyrone GAA :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Tyrone GAA :pac:

You're kidding, no one likes them, they are universally hated.