Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Linux DAW's

Options
  • 20-04-2011 6:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 22

Hi guys I'm new to linux and Boards aswell actually as it is :P , but I was just wondering if anyone has any experience with using Linux for electronic music production. I'm just starting out with the Linux Multimedia Studio ( Linux's answer to FL studio ) and It seems like a solid programme but so far all of the minute long attempts at electro end up sounding they're being played on a Gameboy Color :pac:
    So anybody that has any tips or opinions on Linux as an OS for music production or LMMS itself I'd be happy to hear them !

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Ardour is another one, possibly the best for Linux. Not exactly sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭robz18

none of them come close to the DAWs on OS X/win imo.

is there any reason you want to produce in linux?

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Caffman

Dl'd Ardour and it seems pretty powerful...if I knew what I was doing with it !

Yeah I was guessing that. Na there's no particular reason I want to produce in Linux other than converting my computer over :o I've used FL and Ableton in the past and found them great but I had to change my computers OS because it's getting old and slow on XP and Linux sped it up !
    starting to pick things up In LMMS in bits and pieces though but I'm sorta confused as to where to start off with the whole electro production thing when I'm stuck with Linux :p
    Appreciate the suggestions though, thanks guys :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz