Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do culchies hate Dubs so much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

Anyway, Dublin's saving grace is it's access to the sea, the hills and the mountains. For that reason I prefer it to London.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

I love how people talk about 'The Dublin accent' as if there's only one accent in the whole city.

How many accents are there? Isn't the South Dublin accent a created accent?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin_4#Accent

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

As a nordie culchie (donegal) living in dublin for 4 years, i can confirm not everyone hates you. We just find it quite humourous that you think we have an inferiority complex when you are the ones with a big phallus in the middle of your main street.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

markesmith wrote: »
    How many accents are there? Isn't the South Dublin accent a created accent?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dublin_4#Accent

Yahew wrote: »
    And yet, people say there is an Irish accent. Living in England people ask me if I am from the North or The Republic. I wudda thought it obvious, but English people hear things differently.

ergo, there is a commonness to the Irish accent, as there is to the Dublin accent.

Of course there's similarities. That doesn't mean however that there's not many Irish accents.

You can't honestly say that someone from Cork and someone from Dublin don't have different accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Probably because some of the culchies turn into cowards once they hit the Naas Road, All those bar stool conversations about junkies and crime has them terrified, Some people prefer to wallow in ignorance, So to put on the brave face they claim to hate Dublin as its easier than admitting they are sh*tting themselves there, Dublin gets confusing for the average culchie, Cant understand the lane changes, signposts etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Of course there's similarities. That doesn't mean however that there's not many Irish accents.

You can't honestly say that someone from Cork and someone from Dublin don't have different accents.

The bloke installing my dish remarked that I had a bastardised accent.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

People from Cork and people from Cork can have different accents.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    People from Cork and people from Cork can have different accents.

They all sound Jamaican to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

jimpump wrote: »

but i just cant understand the reason why, can any country folk explain?

When a father gives his children love and opportunity, then the son dissapoints him, the father will grow to hate the child according to Freud.

This is why we hate the dubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I'm from Co. Galway (not the city) myself and living in Dublin for 12 years now. It's very much my home now. I've even officially transferred counties via the GAA when I joined a club here and if my club can spare me a ticket for the final, I'll be cheering the Dubs.

HOWEVER, there are a few things about the city that I dislike.

Number 1: Junkies - I hate them. I wish they could all be picked up at night and destroyed.

Number 2: Scumbags - I hate them. I wish they could all be picked up at night and destroyed.

Number 3: Gypsies - I hate them. I wish they could all be picked up at night and destroyed.

Number 4: Beggars - I hate them. I wish they could all be picked up at night and destroyed.

Number 5: Chuggers - I hate them. I wish they could all be picked up at night, beaten and then destroyed.

Essentially, I hate all the lowlifes who want to separate me from my cash. I understand that Limerick and Cork have similar problems too but I don't have much time for them either. I hate the midlands too. It's so dull without a coast and the place is full of farmers.

Everywhere from Galway city to farther west is great, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

charlemont wrote: »
    Probably because some of the culchies turn into cowards once they hit the Naas Road, All those bar stool conversations about junkies and crime has them terrified, Some people prefer to wallow in ignorance, So to put on the brave face they claim to hate Dublin as its easier than admitting they are sh*tting themselves there, Dublin gets confusing for the average culchie, Cant understand the lane changes, signposts etc

Must be this alright...I mean, as i read a thread of imaginary reasons for an imaginary hatred this one is definitely the most imaginary.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Feisar

I do my best to treat people as individuals but some of the reasons could be:

West Brits - Coined by DP Moran around 1916 - 1920
    Jackeens - Comes from the Union Jack
    To long spent in the Pale
    At actions of fans at GAA matches, chanting "easy" and finger pointing thats English, nothing wrong with it but its not Irish. Basically Dubs dont act like the rest of the country so we dislike whats different. Humans are programmed to dislike other "tribes" its a survival thing from way way back in the day!
    When a culchie comes up after the fry on the 8th of December on the train they're met with the best Amien St and its environs have to offer (dont flame me if your from Amien st or its surrounds!) junkies roaring and shouting and being junkies.

Just a few ramblings, dont take them to seriously!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Let's face it:
    - Dublin's a bit grim
    - there's a quite public heroin problem in the city
    - one of the accents is very sharp and the other one quite false
    - Dubs like to give culchies a bit of stick so it's reciprocated
    - like any big city, it can be quite impersonal and difficult to meet people

I personally found large parts of north inner-city Dublin to be rough and a bit depressing (people unconscious on the kerb, lots of begging, lots of chavs).

On the Southside, there's a lot of general douchery, pink shirts, sunglasses on head, ridiculous accents, a lot of Ross O'Carroll Kelly stuff.

Generalisations of course, but anyone who's spent time in Dublin knows what I'm talking about. Lived there for 15 years, wouldn't live there again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭aoife_bennett

Because compared to us they had no childhood. Who needs shopping sprees on O Connell Street when you can roll around on a few bales of hay?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

listen it's not my fault or any other dubliners fault that culchies have to rely on Dublin,It's not Dublins fault that it is the superior part of the whole Island.

Because compared to us they had no childhood. Who needs shopping sprees on O Connell Street when you can roll around on a few bales of hay?

and that is why Dublin is better

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭twistyj

probably because you refer to us all as "culchies"

twistyj wrote: »

i'm sorry,bogger is a better term.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

John Doe1 wrote: »
    As a nordie culchie (donegal) living in dublin for 4 years, i can confirm not everyone hates you. We just find it quite humourous that you think we have an inferiority complex when you are the ones with a big phallus in the middle of your main street.:rolleyes:

thats not a phallic symbol...its a beacon for culchies to gather under on the 8th of December

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

pmcmahon wrote: »
    twistyj wrote: »

i'm sorry,bogger is a better term.

Yeah, because there are bogs in the centre of all the other cities :rolleyes:

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Yeah, because there are bogs in the centre of all the other cities villages :rolleyes:
    FYP

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Because Dubs are actually from Britain and they took our land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Yeah, because there are bogs in the centre of all the other cities villages :rolleyes:
    FYP

No you didn't - you just changed the meaning of it completely in an effort to make yourself seem smart, and ironically had the opposite effect.

The word "other" should have been a hint, because your post above ends up referring to Dublin as a village!

So I think the suitable internet retort is :

FAIL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 kjmbreslin

Maybe its cause the Jackeen was the only silly fecker that waved the queen of england into ireland with english flags......therefore the dubs are turncoats and wannabe english men and that might be the reason why every other county in ireland hasn much time for the dubs!! FACT

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

We don't hate Dubs, we just don't think about you..

When I do go to Dublin, I like to joke that it's nice for a while, but it's good to leave and go back to Ireland. And now with the internet and An Post, there's even less need to be going there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

mattjack wrote: »
    thats not a phallic symbol...its a beacon for culchies to gather under on the 8th of December

Funny guy....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 kjmbreslin

listen it's not my fault or any other dubliners fault that culchies have to rely on Dublin,It's not Dublins fault that it is the superior part of the whole Island.

haha yar funny, ya mean the only part of the country that fecking destroyed the whole country with its reckless spending stupid planning authorities for infrastructure that have miserably failed. take a walk around 'superior' dublin and ya will see for such a large population of people the infrastructure is pretty awful compared to the mighty cities of europe. If yas are so superior then why don't yas lead by example and sort out your county and then set an example for the rest of Ireland, until then just shut up ya muppet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

All this proves is theres a lot of dickheads in Ireland.

Irelands full of really great people but unfortunetely you still have this playground crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

funny to see since dublin qualified to play kerry in the all ireland final, i find my country friends are all supporting the dubs...what's seldom is wonderful!

we'll still lose tho!