Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

DjKlubster wrote: »
    I dont really like when people say that cause it not because of me?? I havent owned a car till the one i have now which wont be on the road for another couple of months.. so iv never crashed or had a loud exhaust on...

...yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

DjKlubster wrote: »
    Clearly Not 12....19 actually!!

Course you are, and I'm Batman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭DjKlubster

Course you are, and I'm Batman

Sweet!!! Hello Batman haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

If the Guards may allow people to do this off the road in private locations, with everything above board there would be less on the roads doing it.

There are no proper locations to let them blow off steam, after all I class drifting as a sport. Donuts are just away of venting their adrenaline.

If we encouraged these people to drive more on track and not public roads, and stopped branding them as 'Boy racers' but branding them as 'Modified car enthusiasts' instead.

Most of the general public have a dim view of modified cars, thinking its stupid and a waste of money, but if we could organize more public events where the general public can go and watch these enthusiasts, they might have a better view of them and each would show more respect to each other.

Obviously there will be exceptions to this as everything.

People don't realize they amount of time, effort and money people put into cars.

Me and a few others are organizing a drift day in Limerick, so if anyone is interested ill post details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

RoverJames wrote: »
    How could anyone into cars be too lazy to sort themselves out with a license, like saying I love women but couldn't be arsed hooking up with any of them :confused:

...or could be arsed depending on your orientation I guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

YBTurbo wrote: »

If we encouraged these people to drive more on track and not public roads, and stopped branding them as 'Boy racers' but branding them as 'Modified car enthusiasts' instead.

People who do this on public roads are not enthusiasts,they're people like DjKlubster who are complete muppets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

If these drivers want to do donuts on the roads why not find a racing track or something? Not the public road for heavens sake. The attitude amongst some people here is apalling. Some people think its ok to do this kind of thing at night when all is quiet on the road and with no danger or risk to anyone. To me thats like saying, Il drive my car out at night with no insurance or tax because there is far less traffic on the roads at night than during the day and nothing will happen. Ridiculous. Its illegal simple as, diffing on public roads is not on the rules of the road and if your caught by guards you should be arrested for dangerous driving full stop.

By the way, I'm not referring to all car enthusiasts here, I know there are many sensible ones out there who love cars and dont do this sort of behaviour on public roads, but there are also quite a few who do unfortuntely.

teednab-el wrote: »
    If these drivers want to do donuts on the roads why not find a racing track or something? Not the public road for heavens sake. The attitude amongst some people here is apalling. Some people think its ok to do this kind of thing at night when all is quiet on the road and with no danger or risk to anyone. To me thats like saying, Il drive my car out at night with no insurance or tax because there is far less traffic on the roads at night than during the day and nothing will happen. Ridiculous. Its illegal simple as, diffing on public roads is not on the rules of the road and if your caught by guards you should be arrested for dangerous driving full stop.

By the way, I'm not referring to all car enthusiasts here, I know there are many sensible ones out there who love cars and dont do this sort of behaviour on public roads, but there are also quite a few who do unfortuntely.

This is why we need more tracks.

To the person saying their not enthusiasts, thats just painting everyone with the same brush.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Sorry but thats BS, we could have a track in every county and you would still get idiots doing rings in estates. Why? because you have to pay into tracks. Just look at the UK, they have a large number of excellent circuits and they still have issues with people acting the clown in cars in estates.

It would NOT get everyone of them off the road BUT would certainly improve the current ratio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

There is an industrial estate near enough to my house and sometimes at stupid o clock you can here the eegits fannying about. Burning rubber does smell lovely though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,111 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Sorry but thats BS, we could have a track in every county and you would still get idiots doing rings in estates. Why? because you have to pay into tracks. Just look at the UK, they have a large number of excellent circuits and they still have issues with people acting the clown in cars in estates.

The thing is that now they use the excuse that they've nowhere to go. If they where places available and cheap they'd have no excuse.

Del2005 wrote: »
    The thing is that now they use the excuse that they've nowhere to go. If they where places available and cheap they'd have no excuse.

I think it would work, well certainly help the problem.

Tomebagel wrote: »
    In fairness a few rings on a road at 4 in the mornin when the roads are very queit isnt the worst thing that can be done,how exactly does it affect you op?

As bad as it seems,the people that do it are very careful not to do it when theres other cars coming towards them etc..

I have my doubts about this. See plenty of donut marks on bends, where it would be impossible to see if there was traffic approaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

n97 mini wrote: »
    So... they have a representative association, and you are head of that association, or how do you speak with such authority.

Acting the bolix is acting the bolix and therefore dangerous.

You have some cheek dont ya,do you feel like a big man now?

Who is they?

When i said they try to be very careful where they do it,i meant twincam,skyline,180,sylvia ownersetc...are not gonna go trashing their expensive cars about on a blind spot,whereas the ones that probably do are young lads in cheap ****box sierras with welded diffs,which i wouldnt class as a modified car enthusiast..

Who is they?

When i said they try to be very careful where they do it,i meant twincam,skyline,180,sylvia ownersetc...are not gonna go trashing their expensive cars about on a blind spot,whereas the ones that probably do are young lads in cheap ****box sierras with welded diffs,which i wouldnt class as a modified car enthusiast..

I sir agree with you.

PS : I like Sierra's :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Roads recently around my location are destroyed with donuts and tyre marks. An absolute disgrace that the guards aren't out targetting these types of drivers. These drivers should not be allowed on the road with their cars.

Its a puerile activity which iv never been any good at or interest in. My brother and uncle were pretty nifty at it though.

Guards have better things to target like serious crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,729 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I just laugh at people doing donuts because I know they'll be paying out for new tyres, a new clutch, new wheel-bearings, gearboxes and all other little bits that die some more with each ring!

YBTurbo wrote: »
    I sir agree with you.

PS : I like Sierra's :P

So do i,especially with a welded diff but ya cant go sayin that around here:rolleyes:

Its a puerile activity which iv never been any good at or interest in. My brother and uncle were pretty nifty at it though.

Guards have better things to target like serious crime

Hahaha you so funny:pac:

In fairness a few rings on a road at 4 in the mornin when the roads are very queit isnt the worst thing that can be done,how exactly does it affect you op?

Of course it is. The roads are not meant for that. Like I said earlier its not on the rules of the road so that doesnt make it alright to do it at whatever time in the morning.

As bad as it seems,the people that do it are very careful not to do it when theres other cars coming towards them etc.

I dont think these people give a toss about anyone else on the road or the rules of the road for that matter.

Who is they?

,i meant twincam,skyline,180,sylvia ownersetc...are not gonna go trashing their expensive cars about on a blind spot,whereas the ones that probably do are young lads in cheap ****box sierras with welded diffs,which i wouldnt class as a modified car enthusiast..

You say expensive? how much would you pay for a 10-15 year old twincam or 180 that is fully modified?

Anywhere between €6,000 and €15,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭DjKlubster

Look i know alot of people may have taken me up wrong or vice versa earlier in this thread!!....

But ill just one final thing from my point of view..

i think the gaurds should find the county in ireland which is worst for donuts and diffing and drifting..what ever term you have on it yourself.. Then Set some spot up eg. a track car park etc.
    Make sure this spot is central of the county and have it as trial!! If it cuts down all the messing and Pri*k acting on the roads then bring it into every county??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

How many donutters give the tyres a thorough inspection to see if the're safe for road use after they've had their bit of fun??????
    More rubber on the road , means less on the tyre where its supposed to be.

From a story in the news last year about an idiot who got his girlfriend and her child killed from a burst tyre.

"The court was told that the right rear tyre had blown out prior to the impact.
    An analysis of the rear tyres showed they were defective and that this was caused by excessive use of the handbrake.
    A friend of Hanlon said they had been doing handbrake turns the previous weekend following the Donegal Rally"

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1109/hanlonc.html

Anywhere between €6,000 and €15,000

:eek::eek:

THall04 wrote: »
    How many donutters give the tyres a thorough inspection to see if the're safe for road use after they've had their bit of fun??????
    More rubber on the road , means less on the tyre where its supposed to be.

From a story in the news last year about an idiot who got his girlfriend and her child killed from a burst tyre.

"The court was told that the right rear tyre had blown out prior to the impact.
    An analysis of the rear tyres showed they were defective and that this was caused by excessive use of the handbrake.
    A friend of Hanlon said they had been doing handbrake turns the previous weekend following the Donegal Rally"

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1109/hanlonc.html

please dont compare a retard doing handbrake turns to someone diffin or drifting,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

please dont compare a retard doing handbrake turns to someone diffin or drifting,
    Indeed

Somone doing handbrake turns after a rally is a "retard" - fair enough.

But lads diffin or drifting on public roads at night are not :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Dual carriageways are not a place to be doing rings the n7 is in use 24 hours a day not a quiet road.

Also going to comment on the doughnuts I saw on the road on the way down to waterfront this morning, people doing them would not have being able to see traffic approaching as they'd been done between 2 blind bends.

Drifting on a track is a sport going around in circles on a main road is retarded.

You can only hope these geniuses never learn how to create an offspring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,629 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Thats a motorsport event, by entering the stage you have agreed to the terms&conditions of the event. Plus there is marshalls/medics and other support staff at all such events.

I totally understand that,
    BUT
    My point was, If anything went wrong with that car and it went out of control.. How many bystanders would have been Killed/Crippled for life or seriously injured..??
    Where was the safety barrier that you see at a drift event??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

cabrwab wrote: »
    You can only hope these geniuses never learn how to create an offspring.

I really doubt there is any hope at all for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭lav1

with some vtec owners replying about there dislike of donuts on public roads, i wonder if any of them would own up to drag racing other vtecs on public roads??:eek:

lav1 wrote: »
    with some vtec owners replying about there dislike of donuts on public roads, i wonder if any of them would own up to drag racing other vtecs on public roads??:eek:

I don't bother with drag racing...no matter how aggressive my VTEC sounds and how much I love it!

Sure I haven't heard it in a few days, I rarely do seeing as I don't act the bollox anymore!

Not fair to tar all VTEC owners with the same brush though :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

If more of this thing was done there would be alot less of it done in public

only way to stop it on public roads is to provide a safe place to do it instead i.e a large closed off carpark at night where it wont be busy with people

Exactly the Canadian government found that by hosting a range of motorsport events for local enthusiasts and by going alot harder on those caught on public roads that there were significantly less road crashes involving Modified cars, it also creates a sense of community with the guys who do it legit who in turn frown upon those who do it on the streets

I have to say personally speaking i found myself speeding significantly less since i started attending track days, imo it gives you a sense of maturity , and lets you get it out of your system in a fairly controlled enviroment

Thinking of anyone in particular?? Also VTECs are notoriously bad drag racers ;)

Can i ask an honest question? have you ever let the rear end of you Twincam step out kinda accidently on purpose??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭lav1

[
    Thinking of anyone in particular?? Also VTECs are notoriously bad drag racers ;)

we wont go into that.

Can i ask an honest question? have you ever let the rear end of you Twincam step out kinda accidently on purpose??[/QUOTE]

never;)

whats the difference? They all burn rubber and wear tyres dont they?

[

we wont go into that.

Can i ask an honest question? have you ever let the rear end of you Twincam step out kinda accidently on purpose??

i have;)[/QUOTE]

thanks thats all i need
    whats the difference? They all burn rubber and wear tyres dont they?

Now thats a silly comparison :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Who is they?

They are the people you seem to be talking about. I've come across a tool in a twincam doing doughnuts at a crossroads on the N5 in the dark. Another one doing doughnuts on the M4 outside Kinnegad. Another who wasn't so lucky and ended up sticking his Sylvia in the 5 foot deep gripe which runs beside the R149.

Seriously, there's no difference between a tool in a twincam and a tool in a Sierra with a welded diff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

While on the topic, did anyone notice there is a good few of them on the N7 near Naas (going south)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Max_Damage wrote: »
    While on the topic, did anyone notice there is a good few of them on the N7 near Naas (going south)?
    Yep:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71828307&postcount=16
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,251 ✭✭✭sdanseo

As bad as it seems,the people that do it are very careful not to do it when theres other cars coming towards them etc..

Well, it pisses me off fairly hugely that the little knackers living at the end of my 30-house culdesac think they can floor it down the end at 60-70kmh at 4am, then pull a j-turn to finish off. They think they're kings of the road, where in actual fact they're scum who should be culled for the good of society.

sdonn wrote: »
    Well, it pisses me off fairly hugely that the little knackers living at the end of my 30-house culdesac think they can floor it down the end at 60-70kmh at 4am, then pull a j-turn to finish off. They think they're kings of the road, where in actual fact they're scum who should be culled for the good of society.

Thats not what diffin is or what doin donuts is do please de-quote my comment.

sdonn wrote: »

if its happening alot , do something about it!! get a camera video it and go to your local garda station, i wouldnt tolerate people messing in my estate one bit, a knock on the door from the local Garda will sort most of these lads out

projectgtr wrote: »

Now thats a silly comparison :rolleyes:

According to you.

Yes according to me. All motorsport involves wearing tyres so they are all the same :confused: ????? yes i stand by what i said its a silly comparison.

If you are really going to compare a retard doing handbrake turns to someone diffin or drifting you seriously do not have a clue imo

Yes according to me. All motorsport involves wearing tyres so they are all the same :confused: ????? yes i stand by what i said its a silly comparison.

If you are really going to compare a retard doing handbrake turns to someone diffin or drifting you seriously do not have a clue imo

Who said normal day driving on public roads is motorsport? Any clown would know that you wear tyres more by doing silly doughnuts on the road than that of normal driving. :rolleyes: So it doesnt matter if its diffing handbrake turns or drifting, you are harder on tyres. Full stop.

Goodnight and goodluck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

I'm going to plant my Landcruiser Amazon in their face if I bother to get my ass out of bed. Which I might very well do.

Goodnight and goodluck.

tbh i feel your arguing for the sake of arguing, and your a person stuck in your ways.Your post didnt make any sense, and while i did write a response i do feel whats the point.......