Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donuts

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Grammar and punctuation help a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

E39MSport wrote: »
    Grammar and punctuation help a lot.

Would that be directed at me??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

General comment :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

E39MSport wrote: »
    General comment :)

Phewwwww you had me checking my last few posts for grammatical errors :D, I try but when i get hot headed it tends to out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Testament1

teednab-el wrote: »
    Who said normal day driving on public roads is motorsport? Any clown would know that you wear tyres more by doing silly doughnuts on the road than that of normal driving. :rolleyes: So it doesnt matter if its diffing handbrake turns or drifting, you are harder on tyres. Full stop.

No-one, including ProjectGTR, said that normal day driving on public roads is motorsport. Maybe you should have another read of his post. I honestly dont see how you can compare the levels of tyre wear that you would get in drifting with what you would get from pulling a few handbrake turns. Unlike drifting you'd have to be driving around for a loooong time with the handbrake up and the back wheels locked to get any real significant tyre wear! You'd wear out your tyres faster from poorly aligned wheels than you would from a few handbrake turns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

This threads got me wanting to go do some donuts..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 the candy man

to be honest i dont see what all the fuss is about. i live in an area with quite a high amount of modified cars ( silvias, 180's, twincams, skylines etc) these lads do there donuts down a road towards an abandoned quarry. no one travels down this road (as the quarry is abandoned so they would have no reason to) and after 15 minutes of burning rubber these lads leave. i understand that this might not be the case everywhere but if people who do donuts wanna fork out 200 odd euro for tyres every month let them be. I personally come across more assholes driving erratically ( which i regard as much more dangerous then a few donuts) daily then i have ever come across people doing donuts at crossroads in the dead of night or daytime for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Considering that the drift track in portlaoise (which Tomebagel posted pics/vids of) recently got closed due to complaints about noise AFAIK... there's not much you can do when if you take the legal route, you get shafted and people still complain.

I regularly attend and take photos at drift events, and the level of skill of the countries drivers is unreal. Just last weekend there was an all-Irish podium at Drift Allstars European series rd1 in the UK. There's currently 3 Irish drivers competing in Formula-D in the US after being scouted from Prodrift in Ireland. It's quite sad to see such a lack of public backing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Right, i see an a**hole in a BMW who spun his car on the killarney bypass this evening, he pulled out on the road from advance pitstop and deliberately spun his car with cars coming from both directions. Its the rally weekend and a lot of this nonsense going on. And some people say that these drivers do things like this in safe areas. Makes me wonder.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭shogunpower

Right, i see an a**hole in a BMW who spun his car on the killarney bypass this evening, he pulled out on the road from advance pitstop and deliberately spun his car with cars coming from both directions. Its the rally weekend and a lot of this nonsense going on. And some people say that these drivers do things like this in safe areas. Makes me wonder.:rolleyes:

:eek: he could have killed everyone. did he not think of the children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

:eek: he could have killed everyone. did he not think of the children?

obviously he thought of no one but his own fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

rallying is a motorsport that is run on closed public roads with the go ahead from co councils ,gards ,residemts etc,rallycars are extremely safe,with rollcages ,6 point harness ,fire extinquishers etc.these are not the guys doing donuts around the areas you live in .rallying wants nothing to do with the boyracers that blacken the crossroads around ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Unfortunately drifting is crap, and they should be actually using their talents to actually race and not prance about like glorifed ballet dancers but thats just my opinion!

i know your opinion about drift for awile, but ussually drifting is the way for someone to start in motorsport.

a drift or a donut is fun, might you like it or not ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

Serious set of rings on the M7 southbound opposite Goffs. Whoever it was must have been dizzy after!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Unfortunately drifting is crap, and they should be actually using their talents to actually race and not prance about like glorifed ballet dancers but thats just my opinion!

I'm a little disappointed to hear this from you of all people. I'm not a rice rocket fan at all but IMO drifting is a spectacular sport and gives me what rallying did in the group B days, i.e. loads of sideways action. If I had the spare dollars I would definitely like to give drifting a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

If these drivers want to do donuts on the roads why not find a racing track or something? Not the public road for heavens sake. The attitude amongst some people here is apalling. Some people think its ok to do this kind of thing at night when all is quiet on the road and with no danger or risk to anyone. To me thats like saying, Il drive my car out at night with no insurance or tax because there is far less traffic on the roads at night than during the day and nothing will happen. Ridiculous. Its illegal simple as, diffing on public roads is not on the rules of the road and if your caught by guards you should be arrested for dangerous driving full stop.
    I was kind of sympathizing with you till here, now I think your just another moaner.
    1 - No its not fair to endanger the publics safety by performing rings / drifting / any thing else in a car, no question. Now, I know for a fact that most people have lads out looking for oncoming cars and have cb / passenger on the phone etc so that no one gets hurt.
    2 - I think people getting absolutely sh!t faced at the weekend / getting stoned off their head is a complete and utter waste of money but do I go moaning about it? No, because its not my money therefore not my problem. What gives you the right to take a moral high ground on how people spend their money? If someone wants to buy a set of tyres and roast them off, how does it effect you? There not using your tyres, there not using your petrol there in absolutely no way effecting your day to day life.
    3 - They shouldnt be done near houses. Not going to argue with you hear as people have young kids etc and are entitled to a nights sleep.
    4 - Are you saying you have NEVER broken the rules of the road? You have never crossed the white line at night to get a smooter ride, never broken the limit when you could see no speed traps, never used your phone etc etc etc. As another poster has as their signature "let he without sin cast the first stone".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Signpost wrote: »
    4 - Are you saying you have NEVER broken the rules of the road?

By this logic, anyone who has ever broken a speed limit has no right to complain about someone driving the wrong way down a motorway. The two offences are not equivalent, and the law recognizes this. One gets a fine and points, the other gets dangerous driving conviction and a ban.

Doing donuts on the M6 is driving the wrong way on a motorway, on purpose. Then the right way. Then the wrong way.

It's extraordinarily dangerous driving, and the fact that you'd need lookouts with CB radios to keep sketch just proves that.

By this logic, anyone who has ever broken a speed limit has no right to complain about someone driving the wrong way down a motorway. The two offences are not equivalent, and the law recognizes this. One gets a fine and points, the other gets dangerous driving conviction and a ban.

Doing donuts on the M6 is driving the wrong way on a motorway, on purpose. Then the right way. Then the wrong way.

It's extraordinarily dangerous driving, and the fact that you'd need lookouts with CB radios to keep sketch just proves that.

No said it's not dangerous, but those who doing it, they make sure no one will get hurt. I say fair play to them.

I better have them doing rings with people watching for upcoming traffic, then some young fella trying to see how fast can he get out of his 1.4 civic on the back road...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

1 - No its not fair to endanger the publics safety by performing rings / drifting / any thing else in a car, no question. Now, I know for a fact that most people have lads out looking for oncoming cars Cops and have cb / passenger on the phone etc so that no one gets hurt arested.

FYP - Like hell these "look outs" are there out of a concern for public safety!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I'm a little disappointed to hear this from you of all people. I'm not a rice rocket fan at all but IMO drifting is a spectacular sport and gives me what rallying did in the group B days, i.e. loads of sideways action. If I had the spare dollars I would definitely like to give drifting a go.

Doing rings on a road is not drifting, nor is it skillful in anyway either though.*

*Sorry if thats out of context, I haven't read the whole thread.

I better have them doing rings with people watching for upcoming traffic, then some young fella trying to see how fast can he get out of his 1.4 civic on the back road...

I'd rather see both the donutter and the Civic maxxer arrested, convicted, heavily fined and banned from the road for a good long stretch for dangerous driving.

I cannot for a second understand someone saying "fair play" to lads who are deliberately committing dangerous driving offenses on our motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Agree with Lightning!

As for CB - It is for the safety of others. Any lads I go I've heard about who go out at this craic with have never once had anything resembling a close call, from what I've been told as we they go out to remote areas and are about as likely to get caught by the law as cathing the lads who stole Shergar.

And tbh I dont think I've seen one comment condonding doing rings on a motorway? That is 100% braindead, no question, no argument no pity for any lad getting caught doing it but I do think that out in remote areas is a very different argument, pretty much the same kind of argument as comparing "dangerous driving" to speeding to generalise ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

Considering that the drift track in portlaoise (which Tomebagel posted pics/vids of) recently got closed due to complaints about noise AFAIK... there's not much you can do when if you take the legal route, you get shafted and people still complain.

I regularly attend and take photos at drift events, and the level of skill of the countries drivers is unreal. Just last weekend there was an all-Irish podium at Drift Allstars European series rd1 in the UK. There's currently 3 Irish drivers competing in Formula-D in the US after being scouted from Prodrift in Ireland. It's quite sad to see such a lack of public backing.

Never heard it was closed? it wasnt an actual drift track just a very large tarmac'd area,not sure what exactly its used for?

Yes you dislike drifting,this must be the 100th or more time youve told us,anthing else? Drifting is a motorsport,you are the motorsport forum moderator,how do you think that makes you look?
    MCMLXXV wrote: »

x2

And tbh I dont think I've seen one comment condonding doing rings on a motorway?
    See Shadowhearth's "fair play to them" at #125

Haven't seen more short sighted person in my life... I am foreigner and sometimes it's hard to read what a wrote, but you just can't read at all I guess.

I said fair play for having people watching for upcing traffic, if they do that sort of stuff, atleast they taking some sort of safety actions. There were no mentioning of motorways. If you will go back to beginning, you will see my earlyer post and my opinion about all this.

There is a very good Irish saying, I think I can apply it for you: " how's the view from that high horse?" I am using it right?

I remember hearing a quote from a famous Irish tarmac rally driver (cant remember his name) when asked why is he so quick, he response "I keep the car as straight as possible and drive the racing line"

Rally driving has nothing in common with drifting, I wouldnt advise saying the above to hardcore rally fans they would take your head off :)

What annoys me about it is that they have good car control so why dont they actually race? I watched some of the forumla D stuff on TV a while ago and it was mind boggling listening to the commentary. Not to mention its judged by a group of people so there is all sorts of bias and favouritism going on. I know a couple of guys that stopped doing it due to that. Anyway back on topic.

Maybe they find controlling a car going sideways more enjoyable. I think its great to watch. When the rally comes around near me I position myself somewhere that will involve the most sideways action.

Watching someone like ken Block (just to pick someone everyone has heard of) tearing around a course is as enjoyable to me as watching almost any other car racing, a lot of which is a procession around a track.

Dont get me started on that Block chap! He isnt doing so well in the WRC not suprised really as all his famous videos were all pre-prepared with loads of edited footage. I`m not saying he is terrible but he isnt a patch on Loeb.

I don't agree on your take with drifting, but I 100% agree on that chap. ;)

Over rated, those big jump stunts are more math then actual skill. He is good driver, but he gets way toouch praise then he deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

draffodx wrote: »
    Doing rings on a road is not drifting, nor is it skillful in anyway either though.*

*Sorry if thats out of context, I haven't read the whole thread.

It is!;)
    I remember hearing a quote from a famous Irish tarmac rally driver (cant remember his name) when asked why is he so quick, he response "I keep the car as straight as possible and drive the racing line"

Rally driving has nothing in common with drifting, I wouldnt advise saying the above to hardcore rally fans they would take your head off

What annoys me about it is that they have good car control so why dont they actually race? I watched some of the forumla D stuff on TV a while ago and it was mind boggling listening to the commentary. Not to mention its judged by a group of people so there is all sorts of bias and favouritism going on. I know a couple of guys that stopped doing it due to that. Anyway back on topic.

Good answer LIGHTNING! :)

But my point was as a spectator it's (drifting on a track) cool to watch, much like 70's & 80's rallying was cool to watch. Nowadays with all this 4WD carry on I don't get half as much fun out of watching a rally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Watching someone like ken Block (just to pick someone everyone has heard of) tearing around a course is as enjoyable to me as watching almost any other car racing, a lot of which is a procession around a track.

He is closer to autotest than drift. His best skill is marketing though not motorsport.

If you look at any autotest final you'll see why.

I'll admit I don't understand drift, I have power slid a car on a couple of occasions and its amusing for a while but for me it is a waste of tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Testament1

But on gravel and snow rallies the fastest way through corners is usually sideways. I love rally but I'm a big fan of drifting aswell. The D1 drift series in Japan is great to watch although I get where you're coming from on the favouritism thing which unfortunately can show its head at times.
    I agree with you about Ken Block though, for all the hype about him he does well to finish a rally without crashing.

There were no mentioning of motorways.

Your English is excellent, but if you read #125 again, you'll see you quote me specifically writing about donuts on motorways, so you can't blame me for thinking that's what you were talking about.