Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been scammed, fleeced or robbed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Doublin wrote: »
    True, do people who feck people over not expect payback? Feck that.. Don't want to derail this thread into comparing it to what has happened in this country, but I apply the same principle..

Treat people fair, pay what you owe, they pay what they owe. Each taking responsibility.
    Yep, you reap what you sow occasionally - but some gobschites never learn that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

EmacB wrote: »
    5 troll posts in two pages give us a rest jesus your coming across as a tool.

Nothing that big, but when i was about nine in an arcade in a holiday camp in italy, i needed change for 2 euro, my only 2 euro. Anyway the change machine was out of order but along comes some german kid offering to go get change for me. I was thinking, nice chap cheers here ya go......as soon as he went out the door it dawned on me wait....... hes not coming back is he :(:o
    Ruined my trust in people :(:P

dam german gypsies:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Not really scammed, but my wallet was pickpocketed from my front pocket in a supermarket in London. Only realised when I got to the till.

Went through the security tapes afterwards. Could clearly see that I had my wallet in my pocket until I walked into an aisle which wasn't covered by security camera. When I stepped back into view of the camera in less than a minute my wallet had been taken. It was a relatively busy supermarket, so it could have been one of about 20 people, but however they did it I've no idea. They were obviously clever enough to operate in the blind spot, skillful enough to take it from my front pocket without me or anyone else noticing, and good enough at blending in that there was no obvious culprit from the footage. Left me fairly paranoid of strangers for a while.

My wallet was found that night chucked behind some stuff on the shelf with the cash taken, but everything else intact, so it'd obviously been done swiftly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

Do cowboy builders count. :mad: ones that do windows and doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

bluewolf wrote: »
    For goodness' sakes they are roma not romanian

I thought everyone would know this by now - the romanians hate them as well

Do you know what passports they had?

Blisterman wrote: »
    ...My wallet was found that night chucked behind some stuff on the shelf with the cash taken, but everything else intact, so it'd obviously been done swiftly.
    Thats another tactic. As soon as they get what they want from it, they have to dump it as soon as possible.
    They don't want to be caught with it on them - especially if they are suspected or spotted. Dump and run...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

on the other side of the coin -

When i was 11/12 i went around Dun Laoghaire with an old friend with raffle tickets saying it was for saving the baths - made around 30pounds. it was brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

When I was 16 (around 1995) I was robbed at knife-point by a scumbag on my way home from working in Superquinn one Saturday evening. I never forgot his face and even remember seeing him around on the Dart a few times over the years - he even sat beside me one time and laughed to me about it, as if I was his mate - real casual. And then he robbed my mate a few years later too. He wasn't afraid of getting caught or people knowing who he was - he told my mate he'd burn his house down if he ever called the Guards.

Then in 2001, he got his face smashed in by a hammer in St. Annes park. The Garda who dealt with my mugging years earlier actually called to let me know a few weeks after it happened.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2001/0402/raheny.html

Justice!! I giggled my f*cking ass off when I read it. (note that the original article used to have his picture - that archived version doesn't). I've attached it anyway - I kept the article on my PC. :)

When I was 16 (around 1995) I was robbed at knife-point by a scumbag on my way home from working in Superquinn one Saturday evening. I never forgot his face and even remember seeing him around on the Dart a few times over the years - he even sat beside me one time and laughed to me about it, as if I was his mate - real casual. And then he robbed my mate a few years later too. He wasn't afraid of getting caught or people knowing who he was - he told my mate he'd burn his house down if he ever called the Guards.

Then in 2001, he got his face smashed in by a hammer in St. Annes park. The Garda who dealt with my mugging years earlier actually called to let me know a few weeks after it happened.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2001/0402/raheny.html

Justice!! I giggled my f*cking ass off when I read it. (note that the original article used to have his picture - that archived version doesn't). I've attached it anyway - I kept the article on my PC. :)

Karma!
    Ya got to love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭heidi_ho

my passport was nicked out of my bag in the tube in London...

my car was nicked and burnt out by a non blood relative...

being fleeced by the country every day i leave the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

franklyon wrote: »
    Thats the least of your problems :D

One time a mate and I were travelling around Europe and we were walking around Naples so he sees these two guys selling mobile phones on the corner, one a top of the range phone for a third the normal price, anyway the guys give the phone to my mate and tell him call who you want (basically so he can see it works perfectly, he hands it back and agrees a price of 70 euro, so they wrap it up nice for him in a box, and halfway down the street, he opens the box and inside is a plastic water bottle, very clever scam as we even saw him putting the phone into the same box, obviously a bait and switch scam.

I didn't pull the piss too much and we went back to see if we could find them, no luck though...

Ha man that is crazy the exact same person got my mam and dad, they went on a cruise and one of the stops was naples, exact same thing mam buys phone goes to cafe to check it out and its a bottle of water cost her 50 euro :pac:
    Amazing ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Once bought a '16 gig mp3 player' from hong kong... Long story short it arrived and was a 256 meg. The shop I bought it from shut down a few months later. Reason? Fraud. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I'm thinking this bastard's gonna grab this so stepping back even further from where I was, I removed the box slowly from my bag and ...

Guy comes from behind me, grabs the box and tears up the road on his toes. Out of instinct I took off after him before it dawns on me .. 'he's with the cunt on the motorbike' and as I turn around to go back and grab him - he rips past me on the motorbike following the guy running, stops at the top of the road and the two of them are away to inject my phone device into their fucking arms no doubt, the bastids.
    So, now you have no milk for the week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Oranage2 wrote: »
    on the other side of the coin -

When i was 11/12 i went around Dun Laoghaire with an old friend with raffle tickets saying it was for saving the baths - made around 30pounds. it was brilliant!

when i was around 7 or 8 i found a card with lines and a picture of a waterfall on it,i went up the road to houses that didnt know me(so i couldnt get caught:pac:)and said i was looking for sponsors to fund us cleaning up the dodder(the dodder has a small waterfall beside us:D)i got a few people telling me they didnt believe me but most paid up,i got about 20 pound when i gave up.......i eventually got caught because i was counting the money i had left when me da asked where i got it from.My parents where so mortified that they let me keep the money so no one around the area would find out:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Pauleta wrote: »
    2 members of my travelling community stole me and my mates cans
    thats no on bud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Was in Bangkok with my brother on holidays.

Went to see the grand temple, but got pulled aside by a policeman who kindly told us that the temple was "closed for cleaning", which it wasn't of course.

So instead we went on a massive day long tour of several smaller temples, markets etc.

Saw more of the city after being scammed than if we hadn't, so no biggy.

Still fairly miffed though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

Not a scam as such, but pure stingy.

I used to work in a well known bar/nightclub, without naming names (as much as I want to) it could be said to be centrally located in a large town between Naas and Kildare Town.

They had a habit of pouring cheap Tesco bought Vodka into the large Smirnoff bottles on the shelf and instructing bar staff to serve as the genuine article.

One new-comer objected to it in strong terms and his employment was promptly terminated.

Haven't given them my service in a few years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

thats no on bud

Hopefully the time police can go back and sort him out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Similar thread here already