Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers v Celtic, Sun 24th April, KO 12.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Thats it lads, circle the wagons.

No one here has said that they particularly blame Lennon for any actions today, in fact most have said that it is understandable.

However that doesnt take away from the fact that he was in the wrong epsecially given the multitude of issues surrounding this tie.
    People on here were calling for all sorts of punishment to be handed down to Diouf for inciting trouble when he went to the Rangers end after the cup game, yet Lennon directly involving himself with the Rangers support is fine?

His behaviour was childish and stupid, no matter what anyone says, and only adds to the tensions surrounding him.

We all feel sorry for his problems over the last while, but it does not make him untouchable.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

In fairness, if I was faced with that:
    lennonorcs.jpg

...I'd have done the same! :D (Image nicked from KDS).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,619 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Any of the 'We stand behind our leader' one?

b0l9g.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

b0l9g.png

Thank you,love it!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Eirebear wrote: »

No one here has said that they particularly blame Lennon for any actions today, in fact most have said that it is understandable.

However that doesnt take away from the fact that he was in the wrong epsecially given the multitude of issues surrounding this tie.
    People on here were calling for all sorts of punishment to be handed down to Diouf for inciting trouble when he went to the Rangers end after the cup game, yet Lennon directly involving himself with the Rangers support is fine?

His behaviour was childish and stupid, no matter what anyone says, and only adds to the tensions surrounding him.

We all feel sorry for his problems over the last while, but it does not make him untouchable.

#1. Diouf had been red carded.
    #2. Diouf ignored the requests of security staff and police and went to the fans.
    #3. Diouf wasn't being given the "how does it feel" patter from the opposition fans.
    #4. Diouf hasn't been subject to the abuse that Lennon has.

Bit different there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I cannot agree with that. His reaction is normal and the reaction to him cupping his ears is childish. I dunno how you can defend the reaction to Lennon standing his ground. Its more evidence of Rangers supporters incapable of controlling themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Snappy the Moose

Singing "whats it like to live in fear" is absolutely disgusting.

I don't follow either club but that is just another blot on the book of a club that really are rotten to the core.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

I take it someone has a link to the Rangers fans chanting this I am led to believe the worst that was done was the booing know I couldn't hear anything else

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

The rangers fans complaining Lennon to the police is your typical school yard bully reaction,when someone stands up to them!

Cowards the lot of them who abused him!

I take it someone has a link to the Rangers fans chanting this I am led to believe the worst that was done was the booing know I couldn't hear anything else

I definitely heard them chanting something,but couldn't make it out.On a completely unrelated note,do u know why the Rangers fans sing Penny Arcade?I mean if your going to sing an 80s song(or whenever its from) at least sing a good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

I definitely heard them chanting something,but couldn't make it out.On a completely unrelated note,do u know why the Rangers fans sing Penny Arcade?I mean if your going to sing an 80s song(or whenever its from) at least sing a good one!

It's a Masonic secret, sorry :pac:

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    It's a Masonicmoronic secret, sorry :pac:

Fixed that for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Mowbray rose above it and never got involved.Look what happened there.The most passionless Celtic team I've ever seen.

So the only two possibilities are

(A) A manager that rises above it = passionless team

(B) Hot headed manager that lets his emotions get the better of him = good team.

Pull the other one. Bullsh*t. Life isn't so black and white.

There is no possibility of having a manager who reserves his passion and emotions for his teamtalk in the dressing room and lets his team do the talking on the pitch, avoiding responding to the crowd and gettng in touchline spats with pathetic WUMS like McCoist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Fixed that for you!

Well done.

Well been speaking to lots of guys that were at the game and they all say they was nothing offensive sang at Lennon have to say though as much as I thought he was daft in what he done anyone that made a complaint about it is very sad.

S for Penny Arcade as far as I am aware its just one of those songs that just caught on and its no worse than the crap one you lot sing ;):p

flahavaj wrote: »
    So the only two possibilities are

(A) A manager that rises above it = passionless team

(B) Hot headed manager that lets his emotions get the better of him = good team.

Pull the other one. Bullsh*t. Life isn't so black and white.

There is no possibility of having a manager who reserves his passion and emotions for his teamtalk in the dressing room and lets his team do the talking on the pitch, avoiding responding to the crowd and gettng in touchline spats with pathetic WUMS like McCoist?

I think Lennon knows better than you about how to handle the Celtic Rangers pressure cooker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

SantryRed wrote: »
    what the fcuk was Lennon doing at at the end of the game? He should have just clapped the Celtic fans and got the fcuk off the pitch. Standing in the middle of the pitch inciting Rangers fans to hurl abuse at him isn't going to do him any favours whatsoever. Absolute fool for doing that.

spot on, he should have got off the pitch. end of

and his post match interview didn't do him much favours either with that constant sneer on his face, the guy reeks of arrogance and bitterness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Lennon's an absolute ****ing fool for what he did at the end of the match. He has lost all credibility now.

You certainly wouldn't see Walter Smith doing that. Lennon needs to cop on and realise he's the manager of a prestigious club, not a scumbag player who tries to rile up the opposition fans.

In saying that, we're still gonna win the league:P Mon the Hoops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I think Lennon knows better than you about how to handle the Celtic Rangers pressure cooker.

The fact that he was given a 5 game ban for his actions after an Old Firm game earlier in the season, and the fact that he's under such scrutiny for his actions yesterday would suggest otherwise tbh.

The fact that he knows beter than some guy on the internet is pretty irrelevant btw. I was merely pointing out that its possible to get a team fired up and ready to win a championshiop/Old firm game without acting like a loose cannon on the touchline. Look at Walter Smith. A gent.

flahavaj wrote: »
    The fact that he was given a 5 game ban for his actions after an Old Firm game earlier in the season

No he wasn't, he was given a four game ban

Lennon's an absolute ****ing fool for what he did at the end of the match. He has lost all credibility now.

You certainly wouldn't see Walter Smith doing that. Lennon needs to cop on and realise he's the manager of a prestigious club, not a scumbag player who tries to rile up the opposition fans.

In saying that, we're still gonna win the league:P Mon the Hoops!
    Did w smith have scumbag "fans" chanting at him during the match? No. Its not just Lennon that needs to cop on, a few people on here need to get a bit of perspective and stop with the bitching!

Watching the rangers fans complaining after the match on sky news last night almost made me puke. Abuse the man throughout the game,then run to the cops when he cups hes ears at the abuse he was getting. Cowards the lot of em. Its easy for them to act the big man in a crowd.Then they wonder why rangers are considered some of the worst fans in the world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

I agree with you that Lennon, given the exceptional circumstances should not have reacted like that, however to suggest he's lost all credibility as a result is a bit OTT IMO.

His gesture to the Rangers fans was no different to Mourinho's to the Liverpool fans during the 2005 League Cup Final. Now I know Mourinho's hadn't suffered the threats Lennon has, but still you couldn't accuse Mourinho of loosing all credibility as a result of his gesture. True you wouldn't see Walter Smith doing that, however they are completely different characters and so you cant really compare them in that sense.

I agree that as Manager of Celtic, Lennon has duty to keep his emotions in check, however with the week that was in it, he should be forgiven

Did w smith have scumbag "fans" chanting at him during the match? No. Its not just Lennon that needs to cop on, a few people on here need to get a bit of perspective and stop with the bitching!

Watching the rangers fans complaining after the match on sky news last night almost made me puke. Abuse the man throughout the game,then run to the cops when he cups hes ears at the abuse he was getting. Cowards the lot of em. Its easy for them to act the big man in a crowd.Then they wonder why rangers are considered some of the worst fans in the world!

First off, I dont agree with the complaints made to police, lets get that out of the way.
    I have already made my feelings on Lennon clear - the guy is an idiot, who went out to wind people up full knowing that his actions can have consequences.

Lastly, there is only one reason i am actually replying again in this thread.
    Did w smith have scumbag "fans" chanting at him during the match?
    That bit made me laugh, genuinely. I'm sure the Celtic fans were wishing that "Sad Orange Bastard" all the best during the game, yeah?

Has anyone got proof of this "Live in fear" chant that was supposedly directed at lennon?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

First off, I dont agree with the complaints made to police, lets get that out of the way.
    I have already made my feelings on Lennon clear - the guy is an idiot, who went out to wind people up full knowing that his actions can have consequences.

Lastly, there is only one reason i am actually replying again in this thread.

That bit made me laugh, genuinely. I'm sure the Celtic fans were wishing that "Sad Orange Bastard" all the best during the game, yeah?

Has anyone got proof of this "Live in fear" chant that was supposedly directed at lennon?

Guess they must have been chanting ''There's only one Neil Lennon'' to get a response from him eh? :rolleyes:

Your club is under investigation by UEFA and has been watched for several years now for being downright despicable, which is to expected when the education you lot receive revolves around the ''we arru peepul'' superiority complex.

celtic723 wrote: »
    Guess they must have been chanting ''There's only one Neil Lennon'' to get a response from him eh? :rolleyes:

Your club is under investigation by UEFA and has been watched for several years now for being downright despicable, which is to expected when the education you lot receive revolves around the ''we arru peepul'' superiority complex.

Welcome back. Must have been a good result for you.

However your post makes absolutely no sense, sort it out and i'll reply.

For folks information the Police only received one complaint about the gesture by NL :p

that is deemed to be front page news :confused:

Well thats something were always going to agree on.

The way the media hype, exploit and perpetuate the issues is nothing short of disgusting.

He went out of his way to wind people up? Are you for real? :confused:

Honestly I don't get what all the fuss is about. If he'd flipped the bird, gave the fingers or gave the w**ker hand gestures or similar, I'd see the issue, but I can't see what he did wrong.

If anyone went out of their way to wind people up, it was those abusing him as he came off the park.

PauloMN wrote: »
    He went out of his way to wind people up? Are you for real? :confused:

Honestly I don't get what all the fuss is about. If he'd flipped the bird, gave the fingers or gave the w**ker hand gestures or similar, I'd see the issue, but I can't see what he did wrong.

If anyone went out of their way to wind people up, it was those abusing him as he came off the park.

So is the guy, unlike any other manager in the world, untouchable when it comes to abuse from the stands?

Lennon, no matter what is happening, has a duty of responsibility to behave himself while he was in and around the pitch area.
    As i said before, the majority of the time i wouldnt give it a second thought - but considering everything that went before this game, it was a stupid move.

So is the guy, unlike any other manager in the world, untouchable when it comes to abuse from the stands?

Lennon, no matter what is happening, has a duty of responsibility to behave himself while he was in and around the pitch area.
    As i said before, the majority of the time i wouldnt give it a second thought - but considering everything that went before this game, it was a stupid move.

What was a stupid move? He didn't dish out any feckin' abuse!!!! I wish he had actually, might as well have made use of all the media attention.

Who said he dished out abuse?

His attempt at "humour" was stupid given the circumstances. Why cant you see that?
    Feck sake Paulo, your getting awful wound up over this.

Who said he dished out abuse?

His attempt at "humour" was stupid given the circumstances. Why cant you see that?
    Feck sake Paulo, your getting awful wound up over this.

:D I'm not getting wound up, just find it bizarre that Lennon cupping his hands over his ears on the way off the pitch is worthy of any attention whatsoever. People - including you - are calling him an idiot for doing it which is bang out of order imo.

You've asked should he get special treatment because of the bombs, bullets and threats - suggesting that he shouldn't get special treatment because of that. Yet you cite the current "circumstances" as a reason why he shouldn't have cupped his hands to his ears. Make up your mind.

:D I'm not getting wound up, just find it bizarre that Lennon cupping his hands over his ears on the way off the pitch is worthy of any attention whatsoever. People - including you - are calling him an idiot for doing it which is bang out of order imo.

You've asked should he get special treatment because of the bombs, bullets and threats - suggesting that he shouldn't get special treatment because of that. Yet you cite the current "circumstances" as a reason why he shouldn't have cupped his hands to his ears. Make up your mind.

I do think it was idiotic, but i have also said it certainly doesnt deserve the media/police attention it recieved.

My comments on it are perfectly fair and reasonable, there was absolutely no need for Lennon to make any gestures towards the Rangers support whatsoever - wether in an attempt at humour or not. In the current climate, where things are on a bit of a knife edge he has a responsibility to keep check on how he acts around the stadium.

You or I, or most other sensible people can shrug it off - but as the events of the last few months have shown, not everyone involved in supporting our clubs are all that sensible.

The abuse he recieved from the fans was no different from the abuse he recieved as a player, the claims otherwise seem to have absolutely no basis whatsoever - and no one has backed them up yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

tommyhaas wrote: »
    His gesture to the Rangers fans was no different to Mourinho's to the Liverpool fans during the 2005 League Cup Final. Now I know Mourinho's hadn't suffered the threats Lennon has, but still you couldn't accuse Mourinho of loosing all credibility as a result of his gesture.

Found the vid:

The rangers football club "fans" were a fine example of this in Manchester!

Ah yes, the old "pull out Manchester when you run out of any viable points to make" maneuver.

Well done you! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Forget about Lenny cupping his hands coming off the pitch, it's a non-story.

What was far worse was that after the two minute applause in support of Lennon the Rangers fans took to singing "Neil Lennon, you're a wanker, you're a wanker"

Now given what Lennon's been through in the last few months and that he's been attacked in the street, has had to be taken from his house in the middle of the night to go to a safe house, has been sent bullets in the post, has had constant police protection, has received death threats and viable devices sent to him in the post etc... then I might have been a bit naive to think that maybe, just maybe, some decent Rangers supporters would have said enough's enough and that they would show a bit of humanity, decency and compassion... not surprisingly they didn't.

From reading this thread it's quite obvious that some posters on here have the mindset that if a girl wears a short skirt then she's asking for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Ah yes, the old "pull out Manchester when you run out of any viable points to make" maneuver.

Well done you! :rolleyes:

Out of interest, what's your opinion on the events that unfolded in Manchester, i.e. Rangers fans disgustingly wrecking a city and making an absolute show of themselves and the club? Just interested to know your stance.

In short, the people who took part in the violence and vandalism that day are scum.

However it has absolutely feck all to do with this thread.

In short, the people who took part in the violence and vandalism that day are scum.

However it has absolutely feck all to do with this thread.
    It has plenty to do with this thread, it goes to show the mentality of the people lennon is being abused by and having hes and hes familys lives threatened by. you want lennon to show these scum respect. These people dont know the meaning of the word!

Holy Generalisation Batman!

Are you accusing every single person who called Neil Lennon a Wanker yesterday of having some involvment in the violence in Manchester?

Really?

Holy Generalisation Batman!

Are you accusing every single person who called Neil Lennon a Wanker yesterday of having some involvment in the violence in Manchester?

Really?
    So your admitting the scum abused lennon yesterday!

As for them wrecking manchester and were they the same fans involved yesterday, i think its a case of monkey see monkey do!

So your admitting the scum abused lennon yesterday!

As for them wrecking manchester and were they the same fans involved yesterday, i think its a case of monkey see monkey do!

"The Scum"?
    Ironic.

I've never denied that the Rangers support gave Lennon abuse yesterday, i'm sure the Celtic support had a few choice words for Smith and McCoist, **** happens.
    Managers take abuse from the stands all over the world - why should Lennon be any different?

"The Scum"?
    Ironic.

I've never denied that the Rangers support gave Lennon abuse yesterday, i'm sure the Celtic support had a few choice words for Smith and McCoist, **** happens.
    Managers take abuse from the stands all over the world - why should Lennon be any different?

After all Lennon has been through in recent months I thought that Rangers fans might find a grain of decency and humanity and not turn yesterday into another hate-fest against Lennon - I was naive.

He's not untouchable Bobby, are we supposed to tippy toe around him now?

Maybe the next time they want him to attend an ibrox remembrance mass he might remember all this and think twice,respect goes two ways,unless your a rangers fan of course!

What in god's name are you blabbering on about?

He's not untouchable Bobby, are we supposed to tippy toe around him now?

When a usually measured and moderate person such as yourself comes out with that comment that I think there's no hope whatsoever.