Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2011 Novices Mentored Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Having a bad week with my knee and was seriously considering dropping my sub-4 goal. It's a relief to see I'm not the only one finding this week tough!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 7,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

Having a bad week with my knee and was seriously considering dropping my sub-4 goal. It's a relief to see I'm not the only one finding this week tough!

I've not been out this week at all, I've got a pain on the top of my foot, its better than it was but prob won't be run able by Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 7 brian_russ

This is my running plan. I am building up and up every week to hopefully hit the day of t he marathon at my peak. I run four times a week, I do three runs and one run where i double up. so if i did three forty minute runs i double up to eighty. Next week i go to 50 minutes for the threeshort runs and one hundred for the long run?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Pacers in the half marathon will be lining up as follows -

Sub 90 pacers - a few rows from the front of wave 1

Sub 100 (1.40) pacers - at the very start of wave 2

Sub 110 (1.50) pacers - halfway back in wave 2

Sub 120 (2 hour) pacers - at the very start of wave 3

brian_russ wrote: »
    This is my running plan. I am building up and up every week to hopefully hit the day of t he marathon at my peak. I run four times a week, I do three runs and one run where i double up. so if i did three forty minute runs i double up to eighty. Next week i go to 50 minutes for the threeshort runs and one hundred for the long run?

So at the end of the month, you are running 90 minutes three times a week and for 3 hours on the weekend?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Having a rough week after the Electric picnic last weekend had a bit to much to drink and had a few sneaky smokes (off them 6 months). Training this week was very tough but looking forward to the 15 mile run this weekend and getting this show back on track.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Obveeusly

jinxy1 wrote: »
    I'm so glad you said that Ecoli because I was having serious doubts over whether or not the marathon would be possible if I had to adopt a whole new way of running. I'll definitely take the advice you listed above, thanks a lot for the advice .

Relieved also to see this...I have been nursing a calf injury for a week and it feels like forever since I've been able to do a LSR. Am very nervous as this is my first marathon. Doing the HH Novice and I just don't see how I'm going to make up for the lost time - I've missed the 15 miler and am still not ready to go back to running yet. The physio said it should be 10 days total resting it; so I've 7 days gone...am I really going to get away with skipping almost 2 weeks training?

Obveeusly wrote: »
    am I really going to get away with skipping almost 2 weeks training?

You can - but don't try to make up time too quickly when you can run again, because that's just asking for another injury. Build up slowly again, and remember to leave 2/3 weeks before the marathon for tapering.

Name|Sessions Completed|This Week|Total so far|Comments
    Vagga|||241 miles||
    Nules10|| |329.5||
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    Concerned2|||440.33 miles||
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Househunter|||390 miles||
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT| ||211m|
    TomD101| | |200since 04/07||
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    red face dave|||100||
    Younganne|||157.5m||
    rom|| |276.34 miles| |
    TiptoeMushroom|| |199.5km since June 22nd. | |
    special1977| | |122| |
    mazken| | |188.8 miles||
    run44 (Aoife)|||366.5 miles total||
    jamesmurphy1|||240miles| |
    dylbert|||128.5||
    maggiemissy|||176 miles||
    specialk1977|||122| |
    maggiemissy|||205 miles||

RayCun wrote: »
    Monday | Tuesday|Wednesday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday|Sunday
    rest|4m/6.5k|8m/13k|5m/8k|rest|12m/20k|cross

Recovery week!

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭run44

Vagga|||241 miles||
    Nules10|| |329.5||
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT| ||211m|
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    red face dave|||100||
    Younganne|||157.5m||
    rom|| |276.34 miles| |
    special1977| | |122| |
    mazken| | |188.8 miles||
    run44 (Aoife)|4|36 miles|402.5 miles since May|
    dylbert|||128.5||
    specialk1977|||122| |

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Vagga|||241 miles||
    Nules10|4|39 |368.5|20 miles today and feel pretty good after it :)|
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT| ||211m|
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    red face dave|||100||
    Younganne|||157.5m||
    rom|| |276.34 miles| |
    special1977| | |122| |
    mazken| | |188.8 miles||
    dylbert|||128.5||
    specialk1977|||122| |

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Thanks for all the advice lads on the new runners, unfortunately i haven't managed to get out since the 5m on Tuesday and the way im feeling at the moment i don't think i'll get out tomorrow.

But I'll see how things are in the morning...i would love to get some sort of a run done but don't think it would be benficial to try and do a 16m LSR if i have a dizzy head and a weak body... :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

Younganne wrote: »
    Thanks for all the advice lads on the new runners, unfortunately i haven't managed to get out since the 5m on Tuesday and the way im feeling at the moment i don't think i'll get out tomorrow.

But I'll see how things are in the morning...i would love to get some sort of a run done but don't think it would be benficial to try and do a 16m LSR if i have a dizzy head and a weak body... :mad:

If you're ill get over it before you push yourself otherwise you could prolong your illness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Mr Slow wrote: »
    If you're ill get over it before you push yourself otherwise you could prolong your illness.

+1 on this. Your Immune system is severely depleted on runs over 90 min so if you are nursing illness then by doing a long run you are risking making yourself worse. Remember to keep the overall goal in perspective. A few days recooperating is better than weeks out with illness.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭mazken

Vagga|||241 miles||
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT| ||211m|
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    red face dave|||100||
    Younganne|||157.5m||
    rom|| |276.34 miles| |
    special1977| | |122| |
    mazken| 4| 32|220.8 miles|16m LSR, 1st time experimenting with gels (just took 1 at mile 12. Took it easy, enjoyed it and not at all stiff today - yay!|
    dylbert|||128.5||
    specialk1977|||122| |

ecoli wrote: »
    +1 on this. Your Immune system is severely depleted on runs over 90 min so if you are nursing illness then by doing a long run you are risking making yourself worse. Remember to keep the overall goal in perspective. A few days recooperating is better than weeks out with illness.

Thanks Lads, yes i agree with ye and i was hoping to get out for a short run today but didn't chance it as still not 100%, so hoping to be back on track for 1/2 marathon on Saturday and if im not up to stratch then i will just take it handy.

I will just have to write off this week to illness and aim to continue next week with my 5m, 8m, 5m & 1/2 marathon. i know it won't affect my overall training and i'm still on track.

Again thanks to you all for the great advice & encouragement over the past couple of moments, don't know how i managed last yr without finding out about Boards!!:P

Vagga|||241 miles||
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT| ||211m|
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    red face dave|||100||
    Younganne|1|5m|162.5m|only got 1 session in due to viral infection so hope to be back on schedule nxt week|
    rom|| |276.34 miles| |
    special1977| | |122| |
    mazken| 4| 32|220.8 miles|16m LSR, 1st time experimenting with gels (just took 1 at mile 12. Took it easy, enjoyed it and not at all stiff today - yay!|
    dylbert|||128.5||
    specialk1977|||122| |

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Vagga|||241 miles||
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT| ||211m|
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    red face dave|3|25|142|Had a good tough 10 mile hill session today|
    Younganne|1|5m|162.5m|only got 1 session in due to viral infection so hope to be back on schedule nxt week|
    rom|| |276.34 miles| |
    special1977| | |122| |
    dylbert|||128.5||
    specialk1977|||122| |

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

Vagga|||241 miles||
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT| ||211m|
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    rom|5|44 miles |320.63 miles|18m LSR in the wind and rain :( |
    special1977| | |122| |
    dylbert|||128.5||
    specialk1977|||122| |

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭rom

Anyone got any advice about my morton's toenail fallling off. How do I cover it while its falling off ?

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭TomD101

Vagga|||241 miles||
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT| ||211m|
    TomD101|5 |43.5 |250m since 04/07|11m Sat 1hr30 then 16miles yday. Think I injured myself had to walk last two miles|
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    special1977| | |122| |
    dylbert|||128.5||
    specialk1977|||122| |

Was out for my LSR yday. The mileage increased significantly, 11m Sat, 16m Sunday and I have a severely bruised left foot today.
    Does anyone know anything about planter fascia? Not looking for medical advice btw

• Registered Users Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Vagga|4|22 Miles|263 miles| Easing back into things after 4 weeks out. Knee perfect now I think. CANT WAIT for the half now.|
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT| ||211m|
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    special1977| | |122| |
    dylbert|||128.5||
    specialk1977|||122| |

• Registered Users Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭PaulieC

You can - but don't try to make up time too quickly when you can run again, because that's just asking for another injury. Build up slowly again, and remember to leave 2/3 weeks before the marathon for tapering.

RayCun, when you say build up slowly, how exactly do you mean ? I last ran on 3/09 (almost 10 days ago, not including a horrendous 4 miles last tuesday), which was 16 miles. I've been giving my ankle a rest since then, but I thin it will be OK to start again tomorrow. AFAIK, this is a recovery week on the HH1 plan, so it's 4/8/5/12 miles. Should I just try doing that and consider that a slow build up ?
    Thanks!

Maybe drop it down to 4/4/4/8?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Vagga|4|22 Miles|263 miles| Easing back into things after 4 weeks out. Knee perfect now I think. CANT WAIT for the half now.|
    liamog|||233.5 miles| |
    cr17|| |167 miles| |
    Mr Abbey|||177miles||
    PDCAT|2 |21|232m|
    ShivDCM|||261m||
    BobMac104| | |270.05 ||
    special1977| | |122| |
    dylbert|||128.5||
    specialk1977|||122| |

Only two run's last week as gave myself four days off without running, so as to rest the legs. Ran 16.5 miles on Saturday and felt ok after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Ray,

i did 15 on sat.

Half this weekend but two weeks after that is the 3/4 in Athlone. Is it too much to go 15, 13, 17 and then to 19 in that time frame ?

Ray,

i did 15 on sat.

Half this weekend but two weeks after that is the 3/4 in Athlone. Is it too much to go 15, 13, 17 and then to 19 in that time frame ?

And 15 was your longest so far? What is your plan for the 3/4? You should be fine if you treat it as a long slow run and don't get sucked into going faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

And 15 was your longest so far? What is your plan for the 3/4? You should be fine if you treat it as a long slow run and don't get sucked into going faster.

15 was my longest. I am going to treat it as a LSR but with race condition........as it water stops, no ipod, warm up, warm down etc.

good plan. You could run it as a proper race rehearsal - wear the same gear that you will wear for the marathon and (as much as possible) follow the same routine as you will follow next month. Cut your toenails Tuesday, lay out all your clothes the day before, have your pasta the day before, the same breakfast you will have on the day, and so on.