Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not sure how to afford next year

Options
  • 24-04-2011 3:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

I am a mature student doing a fetac course. There is another year left on the course. I have been to college before so I wasn't entitled to the grant. I left a job, so i wasn't unemployed, so wasn't entitled to the BTEA.

For the past year I was living of savings. But dont have enough for next year. I was going to take a year out and save again but im not sure for a number of reasons. If i dont get work, it'll be a waste of a year. There is talk of adding an extra year onto the course so by the time I go back, I might have another 2 years to complete. And having to take another year out to save for third year. I made friends on the course, so would like to obviously finish with them.

I was going to stay clear of loans cause I don't want to finish owing money. But i was looking at my savings and i might not need to borrow that much. It depends really.

I was going to live of my savings until I some work. But I have read that mature students can claim the dole over the summer. Is this true? That can sort me out for living expenses over the summer, so i wouldn't have to dig into my savings and put it towards the cost of next year. When i say next year, its september again.

So i am looking at taking out a student loan of about 7k which isn't that much really.

So what is the best thing to do here? What would you do? Take a year out and save, depends if you get work? Take a loan out? And are you entitled to the dole over the summer?

Comments