Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Funderland for night photography

• 24-04-2011 6:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭

Anyone fancy an evening trip to Funderland in Cork for a bit of slow shutter speed/triffid photography? It closes on Monday 2nd May, so that gives a week to make the trip. It costs €1.50 to get in if you don't want to go on any of the rides, so not expensive.

If there's any takers, post your interest here and we can arrange something for later in the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

My sister and I were planning on doing some shooting before it disappeared so I'd be well up for coordinating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

My sister and I were planning on doing some shooting before it disappeared so I'd be well up for coordinating!

Excellent - the more the merrier, and safer. In terms of availability, I'm free tonight, Thursday, Friday and Sunday nights. Let me know when suits and we'll take it from there.

Good stuff. I wouldn't be around this evening so I'd say one of Thursday, Friday or Sunday would suit me. I'll flag this to some of the other lads that were around for the last walk in case they miss it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

thurs or sun is best, great idea!

Niall (twomers) also expressed an interest. Hopefully there'll be a good gathering.

OK guys, Friday is now out for me - I'm racing. So it's either Thursday or Sunday, with Thursday looking like the best bet. One more question, how does one get to Funderland if one is without automobile? :(

I *think* Sunday could end up being better for me, but hopefully I'll be grand for Thursday. I'll know tomorrow or Thursday morning.

Andy, if you got the bus to Douglas I could collect you and we could drive over together.

I *think* Sunday could end up being better for me, but hopefully I'll be grand for Thursday. I'll know tomorrow or Thursday morning.

Andy, if you got the bus to Douglas I could collect you and we could drive over together.

OK, after saying Sunday is good, I've just realised I'm in Cobh from about 3:00 onwards photographing two cruise ships - namely Celebrity Eclipse and Independence of the Seas, so Thursday is really the only day I can do... :(

Re getting over to Douglas - no problem, I could meet you at Douglas Shopping Centre. I'm presuming the number 7 goes there? As for a time, if you PM me your mobile number, we can take it from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭dinneenp

I was there with my four year old daughter and had my camera with me (bad combination) so I only got to take a few shots. I'm in Galway so won't be able to join but I'm sure ye'll get some class shots.
    Here's a few of mine:

5655243992_939cf92212_z.jpg

5654660789_45e477958e_z.jpg

5654636391_afae9b8d53_z.jpg

5654590177_b1e5f5aa08_z.jpg

Right so guys, my sister and another friend are in, as well as Niall who you met on the photowalk.

So we've got:

Myself
    Lisa
    Mark
    Niall
    Andy
    John

Which means we need two cars. So I figure a) I drive myself, Lisa and Mark to Douglas, pick up Andy and Niall, which would mean John would have to drive as well or b) Mark might want to drive himself so we could pick up Andy and Niall between us, then swing out to John's house and collect him.

Should we aim to arrive at around 8? It would leave us an hour to take shots while there's still some daylight, without having time to exhaust the place before it gets dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

mark here, in case the user name didnt give me away. im happy enough to drive, i was heading into town afterwards anyway, so if anyone is going back to the city i can drop them

• Registered Users Posts: 14 twomers

mawk wrote: »
    mark here, in case the user name didnt give me away. im happy enough to drive, i was heading into town afterwards anyway, so if anyone is going back to the city i can drop them

Super kew!

Edit: This post marks a very special event for me. It marks an average of over one post every year I have been on boards!

8 posts in six years? you niall, are a liar.

A few of mine from last night. We were extremely limited as to the shots we could take as we weren't allowed to use tripods - "people might trip over them, they're an 'Health and Safety' issue!" Yeah, right... Anyway, we were like Marines and 'improvised and overcame'...!

7926F3F4346A47F5A4D75EC145B3E05E-0000323026-0002293303-00800L-0FFB004C87B44A24B629E499E3E99588.jpg

C2CE91114C1047C4B74E40CB2235C003-0000323026-0002293297-00800L-7984CB9FD7FE454CA60E093D0989F60F.jpg

A133923B1761438AB2FE21CE34929801-0000323026-0002293289-00800L-3DFC74ECD9624BC283A4C03F97C099F7.jpg

AD86714F980644B89AA40E5F6D4F3689-0000323026-0002293290-00800L-AC6877A396F44EB7B15E99BEAC0A02C7.jpg

E0CCF80562EC405E938B646F1F2EF678-0000323026-0002293301-00800L-356F0970C6A34BAAA3B36058215756AA.jpg

The Boardsies that were there - all of 'em!

Class shots - love the ferris wheel in particular.

I was cursing work last night, couldn't look at the photos because I knew it'd keep me up all hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

Here's a few I took...good fun!

IMG_3504.jpg

IMG_3598.jpg

IMG_3627.jpg

IMG_3668.jpg

Good Lord - is that not the most fake smile you've ever seen? Who is that guy :D

Just going through mine at the moment - don't think I'll have as much of an output as I'd hoped. Being stuck at handheld was really a handicap on the night.

E3A946DCFCDE41BA8F887136C65057E4-0000336754-0002293619-00800L-2271864997FD44B3BA5DF8C62D8E203F.jpg

A06FCD288FB743D48C7EE8970783EC80-0000336754-0002293618-00800L-EEB63C780328446EB6BB3740E1AD2CD8.jpg

59313BF02D82467E9CF0505E1DF7D443-0000336754-0002293576-00800L-8465A3F2F7E5489893034DEEFDD92E6F.jpg

At least the ferris wheel was isolated so we could get the tripods out for one shot.

Oh your ferris wheel shot is awesome. It's telling that the best shots were taken using the triffids... Fecking H&S :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭foxy123

went back on impulse tonight when the rain eased off as it was the last night. it was practically deserted! here are a few i took and some from thursday night

E9B3504B94F04F99BA895CC3A69DCAD9-0000343166-0002300274-00800L-8E1EBBFFEB284EB183CD489A40DFF6FD.jpg

224F68FDF12D43F4B50E4F8B92D807D1-0000343166-0002300272-00800L-B3DECBE0825C4D8782B256800E6F69D0.jpg

2D5A85D69EF64592B249653298FD9D06-0000343166-0002300271-00800L-DDD47810A50943D2800B4848BB997FE3.jpg

8ABC36FA09434373BD7EDAC796E4FB24-0000343166-0002299261-00800L-EE036CD2CA0D4AF5AD9AE5D141D0A30A.jpg

3FCE44D73B8F4C7597C0C9275630E322-0000343166-0002299259-00800L-3A376C8E9F6145F789A662CA3B3A1F2D.jpg

forgot to come back here and stick a few up. I think we all got fairly similar ones of the ferris wheel

wheel1.jpg

wheel2.jpg

wheel3.jpg

wheel4.jpg

whatdda yiz reckon? stationary or moving?

also

ride1.jpg

the motion blur was all natural, no shooping

Couldn't say, something to be said for stationery and moving!

At the risk of being predictable, I prefer moving...

• Registered Users Posts: 14 twomers

The set is here.

Got my first flickr group invite with the first one. Forgot to post these up.

5689911228_9d16024300_b.jpg
    5689337037_dc092b85bf_b.jpg
    5689911038_fe9e4b172d_b.jpg
    5689337295_c96d3551fc_b.jpg

wow! Niall great shots love the last one. cant believe only saw it now!!!!