Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schalke 04 vs Manchester United, Champions league semi final first leg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Well if you read most United fans taughts on this thread you will see that many of us don't think it's a stroll in the park and far from it.

If United were able to rest their best players at weekend and the coming one like Schalke are able to do I be little bit more confident that we would pull through, but at the moment United are only slight favourites imo.

I didnt mean on here, i meant while i was in work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Melion wrote: »

Yes I know, but didn't you just ask us what our taughts, (as in people who follow United on boards?) think about our prospects. I just suggested to have a look at the posters from United fans and most of us are nervous and think we just scrape through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Where can you watch this tonight, lads?

Doesn't seem to be on RTE1/2 or BBC/ITV. All I'm seeing is Sky Sports 2, which I unfortunately do not have at home.

Its on TV3 100% (just looked it up )

Yes I know, but didn't you just ask us what our taughts, (as in people who follow United on boards?) think about our prospects. I just suggested to have a look at the posters from United fans and most of us are nervous and think we just scrape through.

I did have a look after i asked, its good to see that people on here arent as stupid as people i was talking to at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,749 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Looking forward to this one, Schalke are having a good run of it in Europe this year, with some pretty clinical and convincing results.

While United will have been delighted to be on this side of the draw, it is not to say they will take this lightly.

League form counts for nothing in this for me, I think it will be a close one tonight, I'm tipping schalke to win by 1 goal, with United hoping it will be 2-1 rather than 1-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,791 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I'd be absolutely amazed if Ferguson rested anyone tonight because of EPL games.

The league is over, people on here can talk all they want about mathematical whatevers, but someone with as much experience as Ferguson of fighting on multiple fronts will know how to manage his resources.

The idea that he will risk leaving anybody out of the CL semi-final for a game in a league that as good as has the bow on it is crazy.

Any perceived non-standard selections will be 100% based on the tactical approach we decide to take to tonight's game and 0% to do with the game against Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

keane2097 wrote: »
    I'd be absolutely amazed if Ferguson rested anyone tonight because of EPL games.

The league is over, people on here can talk all they want about mathematical whatevers, but someone with as much experience as Ferguson of fighting on multiple fronts will know how to manage his resources.

The idea that he will risk leaving anybody out of the CL semi-final for a game in a league that as good as has the bow on it is crazy.

Any perceived non-standard selections will be 100% based on the tactical approach we decide to take to tonight's game and 0% to do with the game against Arsenal.

Finally a guy who speaks sense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

2-1 Schalke . Tonight

3-2 Schalke after 2nd leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Warper wrote: »
    Finally a guy who speaks sense

No mention of a best XI though! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

keane2097 wrote: »

Also gotta note that there's 5 days between this game and Arsenal. That's nearly a week's rest so the players will be fine. League is not over btw. If United lose on Sunday and Chelsea win it's very much on.

Here who i think Fergie will play tonight.

VDS
    O Shea Vidic Ferdinand Evra
    Valencia Carrick Giggs Park
    Rooney
    Chico

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭d93c2inhxfok4y

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Its on TV3 100% (just looked it up )

Cheers mate!
    Wish it was on BBC HD or ITV HD tho. Might head to the pub for SS2 coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Wish it was on BBC HD or ITV HD tho.

ITV HD would be good alright!

BBC never show live champions league though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,241 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Can't wait for the game now, really looking forward to what will be a very interesting challenge for United. Schalke have had a poor season domestically but have really shone in the CL this season and are not to be underestimated but I think United will be too much for them both home and away.

Hopefully we will go with Wazza and Chico up front with Tony and Park on the wings it gives us a nice balance. I would be less optimistic if we don't start with two forwards. Would also like to see Ando start in midfield alongside Carrick with Giggs or Scholes to come on to see the game out.

My prediction 1-2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

I really hope that Utd take Schalke for granted. Very doubtful though. I reckon this will be a score draw. Schalke have been great for the CL this season, playing with no fear. Hopefully the moment won't get to them. It shouldn't after dismantling the defending champions at home and away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭TheEscapist

I can see United taking a goal back to OT, but I think Schalke are a dangerous team going forward so my prediction is 1-1. Then a comfortable United win at home. Not taking Schalke for granted I just think United at home have been very impressive and professional this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Will this be the year we break our German hoodoo,our record against German teams is atrocious.Would like to see that changed tonight,an away goal would be priceless but after what happened with Bayern I'd like to be a couple up going into the second leg.

I think it's vital that United get an away goal tonight and the more the better. 0-0 draw would not be the worst result but then first goal at OT will be massive then.

Just have feeling Schalke will win tonight more I think about it, hope im wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I think it's vital that United get an away goal tonight and the more the better. 0-0 draw would not be the worst result but then first goal at OT will be massive then.

Just have feeling Schalke will win tonight more I think about it, hope im wrong.

As long as we don't lose 1-0 or any scenario where we have a two goal deficit, I'll be reasonably confident going into the second leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Your work place must hire some serious idiots so! Schalke will be no push overs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

ExcitedCat.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Have a feeling Schalke will do a job on United tonight, possibly 2-0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I did have a look after i asked, its good to see that people on here arent as stupid as people i was talking to at the weekend.

Funny how all the stupid people tend to gravitate towards you and you only.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Have a feeling Schalke will do a job on United tonight, possibly 2-0.

Theres a shock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Friend of mine moved to Essen to work just sent me a picture message of himself and Bobby Charlton. Jammy fecker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Can't wait for this game. If you were to compare the two teams on league form, you'd think that Man United would walk over Schalke who currently lie tenth in the Bundesliga.

Should make for an interesting game anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭The Floyd p

Whoever wins will be torn apart by either Barca or Madrid.

Barca's midfield is far superior to United's and Schalke's.
    Madrid are too solid and have too good a manager to lose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Theres a shock

I just feel the players have taken their eye off the ball with the whole Twitter thing and also I think the Boards.ie shenanigans of the weekend are bound to affect the players in some way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

whatever about the rest of your post the bolded bit is just comical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

This is probably the most ignorant post I've read in a long while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,454 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

1 - 1 draw tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

This is probably the most ignorant post I've read in a long while.

If that's the case you really need to venture away from the soccer forum every now and again.

I think United will progress though I do hope Schalke give them a good game in the first leg to at least keep it interesting. I'd like to see Schalke take a 1 goal lead to OT, they probably won't though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,138 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

1-0 utd

Rooney to score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Quandary

Really worried about this game :(

Hopefully Utd can scrape a draw with an away goal.

Surprised to hear some people mentioning many over confident Utd fans :confused: Practically all of my mates are Utd fans and not one of them are confident about tonights game!

flahavaj wrote: »
    Funny how all the stupid people tend to gravitate towards you and you only.;)

I was thinking that too, but then i realised you seem to follow me around every thread like a bad smell, and surely you couldnt fall into that category.

Correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

A better comeback would have been how he was mistaking gravitational force for magnetic force and it was a case of opposite attraction but never mind, the opportunity has passed... :P

Tension is now really building for me

Think we will go with the personnel in the OP

VDS

JOS
    Rio
    Vida
    Evra

Carrick
    Giggs

Valencia
    Park

Rooney

Chico

Can see Chico not starting with Rooney up top and then not sure whether they will switch Park central and Nani wide.

Just watching SSN and just looking at the Schalke empty stadium is making me nervous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    Tension is now really building for me

Think we will go with the personnel in the OP

VDS

JOS
    Rio
    Vida
    Evra

Carrick
    Giggs

Valencia
    Park

Rooney

Chico

Can see Chico not starting with Rooney up top and then not sure whether they will switch Park central and Nani wide.

Carrick needs to have a big game .. Schalke are lethal on the break .
    If he doesn't break up things then it could be a very busy night for the Man U defence

Just watching SSN and just looking at the Schalke empty stadium is making me nervous

dont worry it will be full for the match! :P

mixednuts wrote: »
    If he doesn't break up things then it could be a very busy night for the Man U defence

and 10 other players will have to play well too, if we are to win this.

mixednuts wrote: »

For sure, we need the Carrick that played in both legs v Chelsea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

All the Schalke fans on boards.ie are hiding too, not one post in this thread.

emm.. yeah I'd love to see Raf and Valencia on the right, great partnership between those two.

Whatever about Carrick needing a good game, Evra needs to keep the defensive side of his in check, he’s starting to worry me… strange as it sounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Carrick will do his defensive duties brilliantly tonight, Rooney and Hernandez will have Metzfelder in tears and United will march out of Shalke with a comfortable 2 goal lead to take home

Either that, or the complete opposite anyway :)

smokedeels wrote: »
    All the Schalke fans on boards.ie are hiding too, not one post in this thread.

emm.. yeah I'd love to see Raf and Valencia on the right, great partnership between those two.

Whatever about Carrick needing a good game, Evra needs to keep the defensive side of his in check, he’s starting to worry me… strange as it sounds.

Yeah I've been concerned about Evra for some time now. Whats most annoying is how he seems to jog back into position if he gets caught upfield instead of busting a gut to get back like he should. He's a cracking little player, but he has been out of sorts all season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

For sure schalke will be no pushovers tonight, i can't see a repeat of the Inter scoreline thats for sure, it will be a very tight game i feel, no team will want to make a mistake making it a crappy game to watch for the Neutral, prob a 1-1 draw i reckon, but i don't give them a hope at old trafford, but the return leg should be good viewing at least, maybe i'll be proved wrong with tonight's game but i highly doubt it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Even when Carrick plays bad his defensive work is normally good. It is his too conservative use of the ball, not looking for the ball enough, and the occasional brain fart he has while in possession of the ball that people get annoyed with.

I've no doubt he will be to the job of assisting the defence in breaking up counter attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,506 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

If Schalke get a draw it'll be a good result. I'd love to see a Bundesliga side in the final again this year but I don't see it happening. United are too strong.

0-0 tonight.
    2-0 at Old Trafford.

I would love to be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,260 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

find it hard to get in the mood for this, I'm just not all that pushed about the CL. Want us to win tonight, but in the same way I want us to win every match.

All about the league for me, would be different, i reckon, if another English side still had a chance.