Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin bay mudflat rescue

neris wrote: »
    http://www.afloat.ie/safety/coastguard/item/15440-dublin-bay-mudflat-rescue-caught-on-video/

Just came across this today. Happened close to Sutton dart station. Videos a bit of a laugh

I'm sure the person who was stuck didn't think it was much of a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭sagat2

Seriously did that really require a helicopter rescue? Toss him a bit of rope tie it across his chest and under his armpits then have a couple of the firemen pull him out, simple enough or am I missing something?

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭dublincelt

That guy taking the video has got to be the biggest muppet I have EVER heard!

Spanner!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Jesus I don't know who's the bigger eejit, the poor gobshíte who got himself stuck in the mud or the absolute bellend who's giving the 'commentary'

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭donaghs

That's mad! I've jogged along that strand before. From Baldoyle Church around to Howth Station. At low tide it almost looks like you could walk across from the Sutton golf course side to the Portmarnock golf club. I guess best to stay on dry land...

sagat2 wrote: »
    Seriously did that really require a helicopter rescue? Toss him a bit of rope tie it across his chest and under his armpits then have a couple of the firemen pull him out, simple enough or am I missing something?

Well the DFB can be seen in the video so I guess you are missing something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

That video was pretty cool,without Mr Smartarse's commentary obviously.

Wonder what the halfwit was doing there in the first place.digging bait maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Never seen anyone digging for bait there. It's much more muddy than the regular bait digging spots like around the Bull Island. More likely he thought it be an easy walk across. A tourist did the same last year and 6 people in another incident so it's a fairly regular occurance.

http://www.howthcoastguard.com/person-stuck-in-mud
    http://www.howthcoastguard.com/6-rescued-on-sutton-beach

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭cosmic

Videos a bit of a laugh

In what way was that video funny? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

http://www.afloat.ie/safety/coastguard/item/15440-dublin-bay-mudflat-rescue-caught-on-video/

Just came across this today. Happened close to Sutton dart station. Videos a bit of a laugh

the guy speaking sounds like a it of a smart alec. he also seems to be the type of person who would film a person in need in help rather than help them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

That's a pretty cool video (without the twattish commentary obviously!)

Fair play to the coastguard and DFB lads!