Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

junk phone calls (you just hear a noise)

Options
  • 26-04-2011 11:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭

any one got a solution for these?
    I have been putting up with them for almost 10 years now.
    When they first started I did ring eircom and the data protection people (its a long time ago so I have forgotten the details) but the message I got was that since they come from abroad nothing can be done.
    So I put up with them because they sometimes go away but at the moment they are fairly frequent,
    If you answer them you just get a kind of a fax noise and they might also end up on your answering machine which you have to delete manually as they can end up filing the answering machine quota.
    One solution I had was to add the number(s) to the phone book so as to know not to pick up but they seem to use more and more numbers...
    So has anyone else any experience of this annoyance?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

It could simply be someone trying to send you a fax. A fax machine will often try the number several times until it gets a response then eventually give up.

You'll hear a tone repeating a few times, then it will hang up and wait a while then call back.

Depending on how the machine's programmed, it will eventually give up.

Perhaps try googling the number it comes from.

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭geordief