Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The French

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Can the OP afford to feed three prisoners ? Although at least one should turn collaborator.

That's some combination of username and post. I feel certain I'm not the only one who had a Commando comicbook moment after reading that and added "Alles, alles! Raus! Schnell!" in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

kieran26 wrote: »
    Was Poirot not Belgian?
    stovelid wrote: »
    All the same innit.

That's like saying Irish and English are all the same!:p

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Just confront them about being loud and they'll surrender straight away.

There really is nothing more pathetic than this crap from Irish people. It's sad enough having petty gripes with people who have historically been hostile to you but to piggyback other countries' rivalries is ****ing cringeworthy. It's the barstooling of nationalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭hal9000

I like le vin it is bon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    That's like saying Irish and English are all the same!:p

They are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

simpsons sums them up quite nicely:p

and

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

What is the difference between a frenchwoman and a basketball team?
    The basketball team showers after 4 periods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

I shared a house with a French lad at Uni, he was a decent bloke, the only problem was his mum used to send him food packages over that included the most disgusting smelling cheese I've ever experienced (like rotting feet). We had to ban him from having it in the house eventually.

Having said that, I wouldn't share with three of them; not racist, its just that they would naturally form a clique and you'd always be excluded. Its not their fault, three Irish lads and one Frenchman would be the same.

stovelid wrote: »
    They are?

Similar but not the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Thierry Henry telling Paul McShane not to stand goal side and also for telling Shay Given not to come off his line and punch clear. The cheating suggestive prick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭AllYourBass

dpe wrote: »
    I shared a house with a French lad at Uni, he was a decent bloke, the only problem was his mum used to send him food packages over that included the most disgusting smelling cheese I've ever experienced (like rotting feet). We had to ban him from having it in the house eventually.

It was probably Roquefort. Man I love Roquefort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Kaz20

Having moving to france and shacking up with a frenchman - haveta say the french are a lovely bunch of lads! Quite similar to us really- work ethic and party wise! You missed out! Id be hard pushed to move home honestly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

It was probably Roquefort. Man I love Roquefort.

No it was some wierd local thing from where he came from, nothing I'd ever heard of. I love French cheese generally, but this was proper rank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

Hootanany wrote: »
    Can anyone say cut the grass in French

"Tondre la pelouse"

OP: cop on. You're bound to meet a few french people who are complete arrogant cúnts(same with irish, australian, spanish people) but most are lovely, down to earth people who know how to enjoy life.

I would feel the same way. I've lived with French people 4 times and each and every time has been awful. I can't be bothered going into why, but it would be ridiculous of me to put myself through it again. I kept thinking, 'give them a chance, this time it'll be grand' but no, every single time they turned out to be complete w@nkers. Always seemed like they expected to be treated with respect, yet they treated everyone else like ****. And they were all so incredibly stingy as well. Like so stingy it was almost amusing. Pretending that working out everything to the last penny was being 'fair' while they took money from the kitty to buy stuff nobody in the house used or wanted, making me pay bills for another French person who had moved out before I moved in, and claiming that was normal. The thing they all had in common was absolutely no self-awareness. They thought they were amazing people when they were arrogant tossers. No way would I ever do it again.

The only consolation was when the two worst ones (a couple I lived with in Spain) threw a leaving party before they went back to France. I wasn't invited, even though I lived there, and I saw them spend the whole day baking cakes and decorating the front room, preparing for 30+ people. I went out with some friends, but we had to come back in around 11pm to get stuff from my room. The living room door was open and the couple were awkwardly sitting on the couch with one other person, the 4 tables of cakes and food virtually untouched. Hah! My friend (who unfortunately had to take classes with the female half of the couple) couldn't hide her delight. I like to think they had a good, hard think about why that happened, but knowing them, they put it down to people being busy and went on thinking they were deadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Anyone else feel like this?

Racists would, I'm sure.
    Am I racist?

Yup. You're stereotyping based on perceived racial characteristics.
    Or is it built up anger at having to study their camp language for 6 years so I could goto college?

No, it's the racist thing again.
    Or is it just the fact that almost all the French I've met have been loud and crap?

Anecdotal 'evidence' plays a large part in becoming a racist.

You definitely shouldn't move in with them, obviously being a racist towards French people would make it very uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Kaz20 wrote: »
    Having moving to france and shacking up with a frenchman

Too fond of the back-door entry though. Or so I'm told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Kaz20

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kaz20 viewpost.gif
    Having moving to france and shacking up with a frenchman

Too fond of the back-door entry though. Or so I'm told.

:eek: Cheek of ya! First and last time I post in AH!

Excluding this of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I have nothing against the French, I've known a fair few of them and have gotten on pretty well with them. So when I was told that the Irish were quite racist against the French my initial reaction was to think the French person didn't know what the hell she was talking about. But perhaps some people are a little racist.

So now I'm wondering where this racism is coming from. We don't have a contentious history with the French and I haven't noticed them to be especially rude. The only conclusion that I can come to is that we are actually importing it via TV from England, after all they have had a contentious history together, what with the wars and them killing their monarchy. Assuming I'm correct, it's a little bit insane to be racist towards the French considering our history with the English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭AllYourBass

Knasher wrote: »
    I have nothing against the French, I've known a fair few of them and have gotten on pretty well with them. So when I was told that the Irish were quite racist against the French my initial reaction was to think the French person didn't know what the hell she was talking about. But perhaps some people are a little racist.

So now I'm wondering where this racism is coming from. We don't have a contentious history with the French and I haven't noticed them to be especially rude. The only conclusion that I can come to is that we are actually importing it via TV from England, after all they have had a contentious history together, what with the wars and them killing their monarchy. Assuming I'm correct, it's a little bit insane to be racist towards the French considering our history with the English.

In fairness, I would have had a dislike for French people purely based on my personal experiences with Parisiennes when I was interrailing a good few years ago, so I don't think your suggestion holds water. However, this was a bit short-sighted of me as I stated previously, because my g/f and her friends and family, who are French, have the same feelings towards the vast majority of Parisiennes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I'm living in France, and I haven't met this supposed archetype of French arrogance yet. I must not be mixing in the right circles. :rolleyes:

To the OP: You do realise there are 60 million French people? Some of them are bound to be feckers, similarly some Irish people aren't nice either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I wouldnt move in with 3 people of the same nationality, whatever the nationality.
    But on top of my list would be the French because you can forget about them speaking a word of English.

Knasher wrote: »

I don't think Irish people are xenophobic towards the French. I met loads of people in Dublin who were really into French culture and the language. Sure, a lot of people mention frogs legs and smelly cheese and arrogance, but I've yet to meet anyone from anywhere who didn't have that impression. If anything, I'd say the Irish are quite accepting of the French compared to most of Western Europe. Anyone I've met who didn't like them is basing that on personal experience, not history. I've only ever heard the 'cheese eating surrender monkeys' stuff in jest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

In fairness, I would have had a dislike for French people purely based on my personal experiences with Parisiennes when I was interrailing a good few years ago, so I don't think your suggestion holds water. However, this was a bit short-sighted of me as I stated previously, because my g/f and her friends and family, who are French, have the same feelings towards the vast majority of Parisiennes.

Is it possible that you were exposed to the negative stereotype of French people before travelling and when you were exposed to an example of it, rather than viewing it in isolation as you normally would you view it as proof of the stereotype you were exposed to?

Additionally I'd take the French view of Parisians with a pinch of salt, after all you'd get a similar view of Dublin from outside it (or indeed of any major city from the people who live outside of it).

French people are generally sound in my experience. They may take their time to get to know you and may possibly even be what we might consider 'a little off' with you until they have your measure but once they do you have a friend for life. To mee this is better than being all over someone from the get-go and dropping them a week later.

In relation to the France>Paris thing, that train of thought is the exact same in relation to every capital city worldwide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭DrHLecter

theyre necessary when the brits are in the equation.

someone has to be louder, richer and more pig headed. thats the americans
    someone has to be just that bit more efficient and pragmatic. thats the germans.
    someone has to snidely look down on the poshest people and make them seem loud and tacky even if theyre not. thats the french.

a french person only needs a cigarette and a frown to make anything seem tacky and vulgar as a gypsy wedding.

meh...c'est qu'un vulgarite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Yup, handled that ball on purpose, may they simmer in the fires of hell.

Make a good unpasteurised Goat's cheese though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I just checked an amazing house... rooftop terrace, games room, class living room and kitchen, massive bedrooms and all for a good price.
    But my housemates would have been 3 french people and I just couldn't do it.. Give me any and I mean any other nationality in the world and I would have taken it ina heartbeat. But with French people? No way.

Anyone else feel like this? Am I racist? Or is it built up anger at having to study their camp language for 6 years so I could goto college? Or is it just the fact that almost all the French I've met have been loud and crap?

I know you say "with any other nationality", but I'd be inclined to feel that it's a power-bloc in the house, who speak a common language, making it easy, almost natural, to exclude and conspire against you and that's what you're thinking. That would be lessened if it was people of 3 different nationalities, or all the same nationality but English speaking. As it stands, you might as well be moving in with 3 Orcs.

FWIW, I don't think you're racist, that's a whole other order of bigotry, you just have reservations about moving into a situation that might turn out to be unsuitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭DrHLecter

i dont get the americans using this surrender monkey thing btw.
    france tore azz throughout history.

napolean .

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    French people are generally sound in my experience. They may take their time to get to know you and may possibly even be what we might consider 'a little off' with you until they have your measure but once they do you have a friend for life. To mee this is better than being all over someone from the get-go and dropping them a week later.

In relation to the France>Paris thing, that train of thought is the exact same in relation to every capital city worldwide.

A little 'off'? When I worked in France for the summer a few years back, it took about 4 weeks for people to say hello to me. My first day, I walked into the kitchen for lunch (it was a communal table with long benches either side) and was completely ignored. Nobody introduced themselves or even looked at me. They did warm up after about a month, but that's just pig ignorant. I wasn't expecting hugs, just acknowledgment that I was actually there. I know what you mean about people being initially friendly with no substance but there is a happy medium! And I'm fluent in French and had already spent loads of time there, and I still felt like a spare part.