Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Commerce with Irish

• 29-04-2011 3:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭

Looking for some current student feedback and opinions on this course please. I'm strongly considering perusing it at third level based on what I've read up on on the course to date. It sounds like it may suit me very well. I have a great interest in business (current affairs as well as the topics of the LC business course) and I would like to peruse a career in a business area. I also have a love for Irish, which I tend to soak up quite well. What's involved in this course with regard to the business/language balance? Is the Irish ''heavy'' with literature study etc? Unfortunately, the UCC website gives a poor outline of what the Irish course consists of. Any feedback at all is greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭capslock88

hey, finished the course not so long ago....enjoyed it..very do-able really...while there are busy periods with assignments now and again the workload is generally grand...about 12-16hrs a week between lecs and tutorials. Irish is fine really, i'm not from a gaeltacht or anything but got on grand with it...literature etc isn't to bad, wouldn't say it was heavy atall... i had more trouble with the grammer classes (they expect you to have a fairly high level in 1st yr) but these are alright too with some work!...the balance is roughly equal with more commerce in 1st/2nd yr but levelling out in final year..you get an opportunity to do economics, accounting, government, law, management, marketing etc - quite broad in this regard in 1st/2nd yr...can specialise in one if you want in final year...

third year is spent either in scotland studying commerce and gaelic language or in irish gaeltachts like baile mhuirne or an rinn working with a Gaeltacht business or with Gaelainn in dublin...
    Found it nice to go from irish subject to commerce subject gave you a nice break and a change...give us a shout back if uv other questions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

capslock88 wrote: »
    hey, finished the course not so long ago....enjoyed it..very do-able really...while there are busy periods with assignments now and again the workload is generally grand...about 12-16hrs a week between lecs and tutorials. Irish is fine really, i'm not from a gaeltacht or anything but got on grand with it...literature etc isn't to bad, wouldn't say it was heavy atall... i had more trouble with the grammer classes (they expect you to have a fairly high level in 1st yr) but these are alright too with some work!...the balance is roughly equal with more commerce in 1st/2nd yr but levelling out in final year..you get an opportunity to do economics, accounting, government, law, management, marketing etc - quite broad in this regard in 1st/2nd yr...can specialise in one if you want in final year...

third year is spent either in scotland studying commerce and gaelic language or in irish gaeltachts like baile mhuirne or an rinn working with a Gaeltacht business or with Gaelainn in dublin...
    Found it nice to go from irish subject to commerce subject gave you a nice break and a change...give us a shout back if uv other questions...

Did you get a job out of it?

i went on to do further study....didnt look for a job...alot of people seem to go teaching, both primary and secondary from the course...some go do masters in commerce or irish...anyone in my class who looked seriously for a job in the commerce side ie. accounting firms, financial institutions got a job...however havent heard of anyone who got (or sought) a job in an irish language business, though you'd probably be well qualified to get a job in one if an opportunity arose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Toyota_Avensis

Thanks Capslock88 for your account of the course, I've taken on board what you have said.
    For your third year, did you study in Scotland or do the work placement? If you don't mind me asking, what grade did you get in LC Irish? Just curious as to the standard which is expected for the course. Despite not being ''literature heavy'', was the Irish element tedious, or was there a good emphasis on the oral aspect and gaining proficiency?
    I'm living in the North East of the country, and the closet alternative seems to be the BA Gnó agus Gaeilge in Fiontar, DCU. Considering my prime goal would be a career in a business area, do you reckon that the Commerce approach leaves me with better options of work/further study as opposed to the BA? I also like the option of teaching if I were to want to persue that instead of a business career. Anybody else with opinions on the BA Vs. Commerce in UCC option, please share them. Info much appreciated Capslock88.

there isn't a huge emhasis on spoken irish to be honest, you do have ranganna cómhrá in 1st and 2nd yr and a scrúdú béil each year but id say my spoken irish improved best through the 3rd yr work placement...i stayed in ireland and worked in a gaeltacht which really improved my spoken irish...also lots of people doing irish would get summer jobs as cinnirí in the irish colleges supervising children...it was great for learning and using irish...
    In scotland, my classmates chose between edinburgh (a fair bit of work but useful) and aberdeen (a bit of a doss from what i heard)...i got a b1 but i'd say if you got anything from a b3 up you'd be grand...nah i wouldn't say irish is tedious, a bit boring at times but the literature/history/poetry stuff was mostly grand...you need decent grammer alright though...i don't know much about the dcu fiontar option, but i'd imagine the irish would be tougher there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,913 ✭✭✭deisedude

Thanks Capslock88 for your account of the course, I've taken on board what you have said.
    For your third year, did you study in Scotland or do the work placement? If you don't mind me asking, what grade did you get in LC Irish? Just curious as to the standard which is expected for the course. Despite not being ''literature heavy'', was the Irish element tedious, or was there a good emphasis on the oral aspect and gaining proficiency?
    I'm living in the North East of the country, and the closet alternative seems to be the BA Gnó agus Gaeilge in Fiontar, DCU. Considering my prime goal would be a career in a business area, do you reckon that the Commerce approach leaves me with better options of work/further study as opposed to the BA? I also like the option of teaching if I were to want to persue that instead of a business career. Anybody else with opinions on the BA Vs. Commerce in UCC option, please share them. Info much appreciated Capslock88.

I'm in final year straight Commerce so if you have any specific questions on that i'll answer them for you. I'll refrain from comparing it with Commerce and Irish as i don't know much about it

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Lovelyhurlin94

Thinking of doing this course next year and I've learnt more from ye than anywhere else so thanks for that lads.
    What's UCC like in general? And is there much chance to do a bit of Irish outside of the course to help out with the everyday side of the language?

Thinking of doing this course next year and I've learnt more from ye than anywhere else so thanks for that lads.
    What's UCC like in general? And is there much chance to do a bit of Irish outside of the course to help out with the everyday side of the language?

UCC's a great college thoroughly enjoyed my 4 years there. There is an Irish room in the O'Rahilly building where you can go and talk just Irish. Don't really know the specifics of it too much as i never used it myself.
    I think there is an Irish class you can take for extra credit too where you pay a small sum and get reimbursed once you attend a certain number of classes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 bhc2011

from waterford and 100% puttin commerce and irish UCC first on the CAO but havnt a clue what the points will be? i know they were like 440 last year which isnt too bad but they seem to go up and down the whole time! would hate to get like 480 and end up havin to stay in waterford to do business and irish in W.I.T!! if anyone has any ideas what the points for commerce with irish in UCC will be this year (2012 LC) could they gimme a shout!

bhc2011 wrote: »
    from waterford and 100% puttin commerce and irish UCC first on the CAO but havnt a clue what the points will be? i know they were like 440 last year which isnt too bad but they seem to go up and down the whole time! would hate to get like 480 and end up havin to stay in waterford to do business and irish in W.I.T!! if anyone has any ideas what the points for commerce with irish in UCC will be this year (2012 LC) could they gimme a shout!

Its impossible to know what they are going to be. Its based on demand that year. For courses with a small intake like Comm and Irish the points have a higher tendency to fluctuate

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭moleary20

Hiya, currently in third year of this course, out on placement in a secondary school at the moment! If you've any more questions, I'd be happy to be of help!

• Registered Users Posts: 4 manuz

hey i currently do this course and i was just wondering what the gaelainn in dublin would entail?

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭moleary20

Just finalising my modules for final year now and currently I have one accounting, a maths module, stats module and 3 food business. I'm afraid that I'm putting all my eggs in one basket with my emphasis on food and that my lack of economics will come against me later, has anyone been in this position before or have any opinion on it? Like I know there are 2 modules which are second year modules and are meant to be very doable so I would consider these.

I am hoping to get a graduate contract in an accounting firm next year so this is why I'm worried about avoiding economics. I have always done well in economics I just loved food marketing in second year, hence why I focused on that.

Would love any feedback!!!