Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can Gardai ask you where you're going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

once..

"I was doing at least 70mph and you were still getting away from me"
    "well how are we here having this conversation then guard?"
    "..................licence please"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

"How much did you have to drink tonight?"
    "I had 9 pints"
    "Could you blow into this?"
    "Do you not believe me! :mad:"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Josiah Bounderby

If you take a pin to your car's washer jets you can get them to aim sideways. Then fill your washer tank with either piss or Liquid Ass and give them coppers a good blast the next time that you drive by. That'll learn 'em!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Biggins wrote: »
    There is a number of reasons why they ask you something.

1. They listen to your voice to see if your slurring your words!
    2. They might be seeking someone that resides in a particular area.
    3. They might actually be advising people to avoid an area once in a while and do so when they hear your direction!
    4. They might be delaying you while they check out your details and try spot the tax/insurance dodgers...
    ...and so on!

For gods sake, if all it takes to get your gall up is a simple question, you really need to grow up OP.
    Gardi don't particularly like standing out on cold nights, on dark roads, having to stop people - but once in a while they do actually catch folk that are out of their heads on drink and/or drugs that are driving. Folk that maybe might have otherwise got away and injured/killed someones son/daughter/mother/father!
    I hope its not your family effected some day OP.
    ...Just answer the question, drive on and get on with your life!

5. The Gard wanted the guys facebook and to rape him!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

lifestyle wrote: »
    did they ask you for your dlicence and insurance?she musnt ave been chattin to ya

yup and showed her them....she either had a blocked nose that day or just was a stoner herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,688 ✭✭✭worded

ya have drink taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

what age are you 18? dont act the bollox with the gards and they wont act the bollox with you.

couldn't disagree more; its the gaurd in question more so then the force itself...

i got pulled the other day and it was all grand since i had everything in the windows and papers to back it up licence etc and the only question i got asked was why i am driving a broken car ( heads going; pishing blue smoke but still going... :D ) to which i said " its working, its only a wee bit... shes got nct etc, only needs the knackered engine fixed as ya can see " and he let me away.

normally in this situation in other cars all ive gotten was 15 minute long convos on cars ( qiute a few traffic corp lads are mad into cars ) and then they let you go... others... fine tooth comb over everything but thats to be expected no ??

i think you got away lightly op.

Came across a checkpoint tonight. All well and good the usual, then the Guard asked me where I was going. I .

You should have given him the route "AA" routemap style, right down toi the minutest detail.
    "! shall be prodeeding along this road until I get to the trafficlights next to the Luas stop in ...." About 20 minutes of that will make him wish he'd never asked! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Police supposedly ask stupid questions to subconsciously establish that they are the authority figure & you answer to them. Maybe he was practising on you.

So next time it happens say something like well where are you going, ill ask the questions around here.

They have no authority to ask where you are going, however I would just say home to shut them up. Unless I was feeling energetic and had all the paper work for the car in order.

You don't need authority to ask a question. You only need it to demand an answer. I suggest you learn the difference.
    jive wrote: »
    I get stopped at the same checkpoint probably twice a month (every other weekend it seems to be there) and always get breathalysed. Gets ****ing annoying after a while so I know where OP is coming from. People can argue that they are just doing they're job but when they ask you "where are ya heading?" every time they stop it gets a bit ****ing tedious - if I've been travelling home every weekend for the last 2 years where do you think I'm heading this weekend. And if it's to test if I'm slurring my words I must be sound like a right dope because I'm breathalysed without fail every time (male, 22). I don't mind being breathalysed but why ask me the same question the whole time and breathalyse me anyway.

If it's a guard that hasn't seen me before then I don't mind but a guard that has stopped you 2 or even 3 times pisses me off. Third time is the charm, however, that's the occasion where I don't bin their plastic breathalyser. It's my gift to them. Two guards have received gifts from me. :D

Do you really think you are that memorable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

k_mac wrote: »
    Do you really think you are that memorable?

I'm a 22 year old male driving a pink car. You tell me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I hate the nosy lying fcukers too OP.

Shudda just said you where off home tbf.

I'm a 22 year old male driving a pink car. You tell me

Probably not to be honest.
    Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I hate the nosy lying fcukers too OP.

:eek: No way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Op, the Gardai are nothing like the Russian police, they're pussy cats in comparison...

(At 5:50 you can actually see the policeman shooting out of the passenger window).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Came across a checkpoint tonight. All well and good the usual, then the Guard asked me where I was going. I told him it was none of his business then he got a bit cranky and leisurely walked around the car with my licence in his hand to waste my time. Do they think that this is the Soviet Union or something?. What right have they to ask people where they are going?.

Every right.....they're Gardai.

Would it have been so hard to answer the question? Why did you feel the need to get shirty with them? Where were you going that you didn't want them to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Probably not to be honest.

:rolleyes: So you're telling me you wouldn't remember a pink car at a checkpoint you've been at before? Not only is the car pink but it also has a male driver? And I'm living in a town not a city. I have seen 1 other pink car around the town. If you think it's not memorable then you're kidding yourself. I stick out like a sore penis.

If the guards can't remember me from stopping me before then I'd seriously question their brain capacity. They are meant to be observant individuals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Tbf OP, I used to have a similar attitude when I was stopped at checkpoints, my attitude was that if I'm not doing anything wrong, why should I tell them my business. However, I wouldn't be like that at all any more. The way I look at it now is, the less time they waste chatting to me, the more time they have to do something useful, so I'm always cordial with them

The one thing though that does drive me mad is when after seeing my licence, tax disc and insurance disc they then ask me to produce my insurance cert within 10 days. I don't understand the point in carrying an insurance disc if I'm still going to be asked to produce the cert regardless, its just an inconvenience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

OP the best way to deal with the Gardai is with respect and politeness. Get shirty with them and you'll be repaid in kind. Be polite, courteous, helpful etc and you'll get on fine.

You were asked a simple quesion requiring a simple answer and you should have just told him what he wanted to know. There was no reason not too unless you had something to hide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

the_syco wrote: »
    It'd be funny, though. You roll down the window, and ask the copper "and where are you going tonight?"... :pac: Would probably confuse the hell out of them :P

Reminds me of a scene from a Cheech & Chong movie, maybe Up in Smoke, where a motorcycle cop pulls over the van (bodywork made of hash, touching exhaust system, dope fumes going down the road), cop walks up to the car and asks them what do they want.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

:rolleyes: So you're telling me you wouldn't remember a pink car at a checkpoint you've been at before? Not only is the car pink but it also has a male driver? And I'm living in a town not a city. I have seen 1 other pink car around the town. If you think it's not memorable then you're kidding yourself. I stick out like a sore penis.

If the guards can't remember me from stopping me before then I'd seriously question their brain capacity. They are meant to be observant individuals.

Sure they would remember you, a guy in a pink car with a sore penis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

"Just heading home"

Three words, is it really that hard? If it is you can shorten it to two words "Heading home". Still too much for you? Then shorten it to one simple word, "Home". It's not that much of an inconvenience to you. Stop trying to make trouble where there is none.

My point wasn't that you need authority to ask questions. But if its none of your business and they are not relevant why ask them? Oh and by all means demand an answer, but stopping us under the road traffic act we don't have to tell you anything - other than the usual.

I never said you had to answer the questions. Gardaí have the freedom to ask anyone any question. It's how the job is done. There are many reasons for asking seemingly random questions other than simple nosiness.

A man driving a pink car, with everything in order on it, is not particularly remarkable in the grand scheme of things, especially when you consider that a Garda doing a few checkpoints could stop over 100 cars that day. Other than the colour of your car, which you appear to have an issue with, is there anything else that makes you think you're worth remembering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Horndawg

pebbles21 wrote: »
    Would you be so smart if your house was getting broken into ???

Now that's a Garda question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Came across a checkpoint tonight. All well and good the usual, then the Guard asked me where I was going. I told him it was none of his business then he got a bit cranky and leisurely walked around the car with my licence in his hand to waste my time. Do they think that this is the Soviet Union or something?. What right have they to ask people where they are going?.

Attitudes like this make Checkpoints a bigger hassle. A bit of cop on goes a long way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Aoifey! wrote: »
    "Just heading home"

Three words, is it really that hard? If it is you can shorten it to two words "Heading home". Still too much for you? Then shorten it to one simple word, "Home". It's not that much of an inconvenience to you. Stop trying to make trouble where there is none.

Nah, "f*ck off and mind your own business" is the correct response in this situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

I'd say judging by the number of cars I see in the tescock car park with no/out of date tax, most people aren't worried about being asked where they are going, they are too busy trying to "think of a good lie, think of a good lie"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

A man driving a pink car, with everything in order on it, is not particularly remarkable in the grand scheme of things, especially when you consider that a Garda doing a few checkpoints could stop over 100 cars that day. Other than the colour of your car, which you appear to have an issue with, is there anything else that makes you think you're worth remembering?

Yeah I'm black and have bleached white eyebrows and a tattoo which extends from ear to ear across my face.

Would you consider me memorable now?

Also a man in a pink car is memorable. If a guard doesn't remember a man in a pink car then he's in the wrong job. I know you will argue your point that obviously this doesn't make me worth remembering but anyone with half a brain would be able to recognise that a man in a pink car is a rarity and therefore should stick out. Lol @ you for trying to imply otherwise.

Also I like how you never replied to me in the gun thread lololol. I win, you lose. 2-0 me.

I never said you had to answer the questions. Gardaí have the freedom to ask anyone any question. It's how the job is done. There are many reasons for asking seemingly random questions other than simple nosiness.

Wrong. They don't have the freedom to ask anyone any question. What you fail to realise is that's not how the job is done. It may be how they check for slurred words at a checkpoint but that isn't applicable to all scenarios. If I am walking along the road (just walking, wearing clothes, nothing else to draw attention) and a guard questions me where I'm going it is harassment. I have the freedom of mobility.

Also with regards to checkpoints you have no legal obligation to co-operate. It's none of his concern where you're going and if you really don't want to tell him then ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up. The guard will either hassle you (he can't do much if your car is in full working order, taxed, insured etc.) or more likely let you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

jimpump wrote: »
    but the thing is i rolled down the window for the bean guarda and was ****tin it cos i thought she would search us for weed...but she just sent us on our way

she must be a stoner herself!

Its not her job to search for weed,her area is in Bean related crimes.

ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up. The guard will either hassle you (he can't do much if your car is in full working order, taxed, insured etc.) or more likely let you go.

Best thing is ask him/her for their Garda ID and the name of her/her super and what station they are attached to. I never fail to be surprised at the basic lack of manners and courtesy from Gardai...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Halt citizen! Deine papiere bitte!

Best thing is ask him/her for their Garda ID and the name of her/her super and what station they are attached to. I never fail to be surprised at the basic lack of manners and courtesy from Gardai...

While taping them on your phone :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

jimpump wrote: »
    sure i got stopped at a check point a few days ago in coolock after smoking some skunk in the car......and they just let us on our way. they either dont have a clue or dont give a crap

Cops in the cities are relatively lax on the weed or hash, but if that was out in the country you would be stopped/searched and brought to court for the smallest nodge..
    Personally I wouldn't drive after skunk as id be way too paranoid at a checkpoint, cops would lamp that straight away..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Attitudes like this make Checkpoints a bigger hassle. A bit of cop on goes a long way.

I agree, At least the question is normally asked in a friendly manner, but then its followed by "What were you doing up there ?".
    Then there's the popular "What are ye doing up here at this time of the night".
    I hate being asked it myself but its better than being asked for a bribe like in some countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I stayed away from AH for a while because of all the anger.
    I see that people are still angry over pointless crap.
    Most of you need to lighten up a bit. Or stop smoking weed and snorting coke and being so paranoid.

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Shouldve told him you were going to 'finish what you started' then sped off....
    That was so much better with your avatar. :)
    Sunflowers is right. Get smart with a garda and they'll take note of you.
    Then they'll continually hassle you.

Yeah I'm black and have bleached white eyebrows and a tattoo which extends from ear to ear across my face.

Would you consider me memorable now?

Also a man in a pink car is memorable. If a guard doesn't remember a man in a pink car then he's in the wrong job. I know you will argue your point that obviously this doesn't make me worth remembering but anyone with half a brain would be able to recognise that a man in a pink car is a rarity and therefore should stick out. Lol @ you for trying to imply otherwise.

Also I like how you never replied to me in the gun thread lololol. I win, you lose. 2-0 me.
    I love you and want to have your babies.

Wrong. They don't have the freedom to ask anyone any question. What you fail to realise is that's not how the job is done. It may be how they check for slurred words at a checkpoint but that isn't applicable to all scenarios. If I am walking along the road (just walking, wearing clothes, nothing else to draw attention) and a guard questions me where I'm going it is harassment. I have the freedom of mobility.

Also with regards to checkpoints you have no legal obligation to co-operate. It's none of his concern where you're going and if you really don't want to tell him then ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up. The guard will either hassle you (he can't do much if your car is in full working order, taxed, insured etc.) or more likely let you go.

Go and get a law degree. Put your knowledge of pointless laws to good use instead of wasting the time of the Gardaí every time they ask you a question.
    Just answer the question and move on.

Don't like that solution?
    Get elected and push or a law preventing the Gardaí from asking members of the public where they are going.

Not happy with that one?
    Get the boat.

Terry wrote: »
    I stayed away from AH for a while because of all the anger.

If you think it's bad here you should throw an eye into Personal Issues, can't get over the amount of people completely depressed there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Tell him you are going to meet the missus for a ride.

then ask him his plans for the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

If you think it's bad here you should throw an eye into Personal Issues, can't get over the amount of people completely depressed there...
    Was never a fan.
    I spend about 10 hours a week listening to incessant whining from various people. I don't need to know about the problems strangers are having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Callipo

You should try that approach if you are ever in Norn Iron at a checkpoint and see how hospitably you get treated :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,485 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Ha ha We all believe you ..... not.

Terry wrote: »
    Go and get a law degree. Put your knowledge of pointless laws to good use instead of wasting the time of the Gardaí every time they ask you a question.
    Just answer the question and move on.

Don't like that solution?
    Get elected and push or a law preventing the Gardaí from asking members of the public where they are going.

Not happy with that one?
    Get the boat.

I don't need a law degree to practice law but thanks for the suggestion. When have I ever wasted the time of Gardaí? I already said I answer the questions, read up. Also you'd be hard pushed to waste a guards time at half 2 in the morning at a checkpoint on an empty road. I don't even know how I'd go about it.

There already is a law preventing them from asking needless questions. You can only be stopped or questioned by a Garda in accordance with law. "Any person (note: including a Garda) who, without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, wilfully prevents or interrupts the free passage of any person or vehicle in any public place is committing an offence under Section 9 of the CRIMINAL JUSTICE (PUBLIC ORDER) ACT, 1994”.

I suggest you read up a little before you unleash on your keyboard in an attempt to be condescending. Good night sweet prince.

I agree with you saying people need to lighten up a bit. Asking you where your going is a harmless question and if you really don't want him to know you could always *gasp* lie. If you get offended by someone asking where your going you should really consider topping yourself

Tell him you are going to meet the missus for a ride.

then ask him his plans for the night?

I don't think the Garda would believe him as he's talking to a guy driving a pink car!

Bosco boy wrote: »
    I don't think the Garda would believe him as he's talking to a guy driving a pink car!

It is wrong of you to assume that I cannot get a girlfriend because I am the proud owner of a pink car. I am awfully offended by this. I fear that you are insinuating that pink is associated with homsexuality. Pink is just a colour just like blue. I am offended.

I laugh so hard when people are 'offended'. LOL. What difference does it make to your life that you are now 'offended'? I'll tell ya - no difference. The best part about people who write complaints into ofcom and the likes about being 'offended' by a broadcast is initially there might be a few hundred complaints or so. People then go and look for the clip which may cause offense and then several thousand complaints pour in. Life: ya got none

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

a garda asked me one night what do i work at!! what was that all about!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ABSOLUTE RANTING COBBLERS!

1. "They don't have the freedom to ask anyone any question."

* Yes - They god-damn do. They have been given the legal powers to do so. In the interests of the safety of the public and property, they are indeed allowed to ask simple questions of anyone. If you think different - you have your head up your arse with bucketfuls of stupidity!

2. "If I am walking along the road (just walking, wearing clothes, nothing else to draw attention) and a guard questions me where I'm going it is harassment. "

* More absolute pure ranting, ill-thought out mindless schite.
    Put the chip on your should to one side for just a minute and actually think!
    Do crooks go down the street wearing a sign that says "Crook". Do they wear outstanding clothes all the time that make it obvious that they are up to no good?
    Seriously!
    No, they wear most of the time the same clothes that you and I wear. So the Gardi stop normal dressed people occasionally that they suspect might be up to no good - and guess what - thats actually part their god-damn job! Because cooks don't go around wearing said signs, they job is hit and miss sometimes and you know what! Till the likes of you and I start telling the Gardi out straight who the ruddy crooks are by pointing them out, they have to do this hit and miss effort to play catch-up with the thugs and robbers, etc of this world!
    Go get a grip!

3. "I have the freedom of mobility."

* Well bloody good for you! So do we all!
    The Gardi are not stopping you from being mobile. They are pausing you for a safe moment or two in your long, long life - if only see that others lives are also safe too! Freedom of mobility? Are they holding you down while they ask you a question or two?
    More absolute stupidity!

4. "...with regards to checkpoints you have no legal obligation to co-operate"

* More uninformed, idiotic cobblers.
    Gardi have "qualified privileges" to assist them in the course of their duties. As part of that, if a member of the public is requested to fulfill a simple duty, answer a simple question or assist the Gardi, unless they can show immediate cause not to comply with a Gardi in the course of his duties, I can assure you, you WILL be charged with failing to comply with the Gardi in the said course of his/her duty. The constitution actually allows for this (look it up you might learn something for a change) in that no citizen is to be deprived of liberty except save that in accordance with the law and those carrying it out. Go read the Criminal Justice Act 1984 or even the Criminal Law Act 1997 in relation to "reasonable cause" for gods sake!

5. "It's none of his concern where you're going..."

* YES - IT BLOODY IS!

6. "..and if you really don't want to tell him then ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up."

* Yes, please do that - and see where it gets you. If its behind bars or in a court room for wasting Gardi time, you deserve it for carry out such stupid, thickheaded actions!

O' and do us all here a favour and actually look up the meaning of the term "harassment".
    Being stopped on a very rare (if once at all in your life) to be asked a question is not harassment.
    The levels of stupidity in this country astounds me sometimes!

It is wrong of you to assume that I cannot get a girlfriend because I am the proud owner of a pink car. I am awfully offended by this. I fear that you are insinuating that pink is associated with homsexuality. Pink is just a colour just like blue. I am offended.

I laugh so hard when people are 'offended'. LOL. What difference does it make to your life that you are now 'offended'? I'll tell ya - no difference. The best part about people who write complaints into ofcom and the likes about being 'offended' by a broadcast is initially there might be a few hundred complaints or so. People then go and look for the clip which may cause offense and then several thousand complaints pour in. Life: ya got none

If your driving a pink car you're fairly thick skinned already, I think you'll be ok! Don't be jumping to conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭bedstuybosco

for the prevention and detection of crime .... Get over it :)

* Yes - They god-damn do. They have been given the legal powers to do so. In the interests of the safety of the public and property, they are indeed allowed to ask simple questions of anyone. If you think different - you have your head up your arse with bucketfuls of stupidity!

I have the right to free movement and passage, personal privacy and bodily integrity. A guard does not have the right to 'disabuse' you of those rights ... "save in accordance with the law" (Article 40, Irish Constitution).

2. "If I am walking along the road (just walking, wearing clothes, nothing else to draw attention) and a guard questions me where I'm going it is harassment. "

* More absolute pure ranting, ill-thought out mindless schite.
    Put the chip on your should to one side for just a minute and actually think!
    Do crooks go down the street wearing a sign that says "Crook". Do they wear outstanding clothes all the time that make it obvious that they are up to no good?
    Seriously!
    No, they wear most of the time the same clothes that you and I wear. So the Gardi stop nornal dressed people occasionally that they suspect might be up to no good - and guess what - thats actually part their god-damn job! Because cooks don't go around wearing said signs, they job is hit and miss sometimes and you know what! Till the likes of you and I start telling the Gardi out straight who the ruddy crooks are by pointing them out, they have to do this hit and miss effort to play catch-up with the thugs and robbers, etc of this world!
    Go get a grip!

No most of the time they look like nackers. Sorry to not be PC but its true. Again, you can only be stopped or questioned by a Garda in accordance with law.

3. "I have the freedom of mobility."

* Well bloody good for you! So do we all!
    The Gardi are not stopping you from being mobile. They are pausing you for a safe moment or two in your long, long life - if only see that others lives are also safe too! Freedom of mobility? Are they holding you down while they ask you a question or two?
    More absolute stupidity!

refer to above

4. "...with regards to checkpoints you have no legal obligation to co-operate"

* More uninformed, idiotic cobblers.
    Gardi have "qualified privileges" to assist them in the course of their duties. As part of that, if a member of the public is requested to fulfill a simple duty, answer a simple question or assist the Gardi, unless they can show immediate cause not to comply with a Gardi in the course of his duties, I can assure you, you WILL be charged with failing to comply with the Gardi in the said course of his/her duty. The constitution actually allows for this (look it up you might learn something for a change) in that no citizen is to be deprived of liberty except save that in accordance with the law and those carrying it out. Go read the Criminal Justice Act 1984 or even the Criminal Law Act 1997 in relation to "reasonable cause" for gods sake!

If a Garda cannot, will not, or refuses to use 'the law' by invoking a relevant act (such as Public Order Act or Road Traffic Act or whatever) then you do not have to engage or cooperate with him in any way. He must invoke the law to use the law ... in accordance with the law! If he refuses, he is not acting in accordance with any law and you should invoke your rights to personal liberty and go about your business.

5. "It's none of his concern where you're going..."

* YES - IT BLOODY IS!

No, it's not.

6. "..and if you really don't want to tell him then ask under what provision of law he has stopped you to whind him up."

* Yes, please do that - and see where it gets you. If its behind bars or in a court room for wasting Gardi time, you deserve it for carry out such stupid, thickheaded actions!

It's perfectly within my rights to ask him that question. If that gets me behind bars then I would look forward to my day in court.

O' and do us all here a favour and actually look up the meaning of the term "harassment".
    Being stopped on a very rare (if once at all in your life) to be asked a question is not harassment.
    The levels of stupidity in this country astounds me sometimes!

ha·rass·ment
    a feeling of intense annoyance caused by being tormented.
    If you are frequently being stopped by guards for no reason then yes, it is in fact, harassment.

I applaud your post it was well put together.

Also I don't hassle guards I just comply it's much easier on the very rare occasion you are randomly stopped. I am rarely stopped outside of a checkpoint (which may take the best part of 1 minute, big deal). I'm just stating the facts for people who do intend to be arseholes because frankly many guards are arseholes and deserve the contempt they get. (not all of them, but a lot of them I have found to be like bouncers - a little bit of power goes a long way in the head)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

* Yes - They god-damn do.

No, they don't. They might ask a question, but this does not entail that an answer is required. Being stopped at a checkpoint, questions should generally be confined to that context and not for example - as another poster noted - questions as to employment. In a more general case, if they have reasonable grounds to suspect you of a crime, or that you might be about to commit one, they can question you in that context too. Again, however, not every question requires an answer. They could always arrest you, but they need a real reason for that...