Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chef or Cook

Options
  • 30-04-2011 4:23pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭

Can anybody tell me the difference between a chef and a cook for the purposes of visa applications. I am a fully trained chef and have worked in different classes off kitchens ranging from fine dining, a hospital,a work place kitchen(large american call center canteen),a normal restaurant, a carvery and I am now running a take away in a entertainment center.
    I thought I would be called a chef as it is my job title but looking at the forms I see chefs are on the list and cooks are not and some of my work experience would be classed as a cook.

"CHEFS plan and organise the preparation and cooking of food in dining and catering establishments."

"COOKS prepare, season and cook food in dining and catering establishments."

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭markymark21

Can anybody tell me the difference between a chef and a cook for the purposes of visa applications. I am a fully trained chef and have worked in different classes off kitchens ranging from fine dining, a hospital,a work place kitchen(large american call center canteen),a normal restaurant, a carvery and I am now running a take away in a entertainment center.
    I thought I would be called a chef as it is my job title but looking at the forms I see chefs are on the list and cooks are not and some of my work experience would be classed as a cook.

"CHEFS plan and organise the preparation and cooking of food in dining and catering establishments."