Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenagers

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

MonkeyGuy wrote: »
    I play guitar, I play in a band and have been through a few for about the last six years. However it;s not very social seeing as how you only get to talk to the other member of the band? Once you hit eighteen you can go to pubs, nightclubs, drive. Closest thing I can do is cycle to the swimming pool.

Go busking with your band and earn yourselves a few quid. Round up a bunch of your mates and go off on a day trip. Present yourself at your local volunteer centre and see if you can be of any use to some needy organisation. Join your local youth club. Ask your folks if you can earn some pocket money by doing jobs around the house/garden. On that note, borrow a lawn mower and tell your neighbours you'll cut their grass for a fee.

OP,when you hit the age of 18 boredom doesn't just disappear. There are plenty of people a lot older than you who claim boredom. What they lack is imagination. Don't wait for someone to knock on your door with stuff for you to do-get out there and be inspired. Life is there to be lived - and at 16, you should be having a blast!!

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭Dangerdunf

I've no problem pulling women but riding is still illegal.

Its only illegal if you get caught!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭MonkeyGuy

I don't think you're really getting my problem here. I don't mean in general so much as in terms of going out?

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭Dangerdunf

Have you even tried to get into a night club/late bar??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Dude theres always plenty of all age gigs around,go to them?

I wasnt much for the teen discos when I was younger and the all age gigs were some craic.

Blast and blast beat back in the day :D(Back in the day being only a few year ago :pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

That's exactly the point? What is there to do for us like?

I got a part time job, watched TV & movies, met up with friends and embarked on a ferocious campaign of ****. So you know, what every teenage boy does in their spare time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

I don't think you're really getting my problem here. I don't mean in general so much as in terms of going out?

You see you're at that stupid age where you're too young to get in anywhere and you feel too old for disco's and crap like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

let he that is without sin cast the first stone

first egg surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

What are you interested in? carpentry, mechanic, etc., why not go to a local garage and hang out, tidying up around, making tea, and learning about the trade?

Well said, I like gardening and so forth,
    I went in to the garden center every day, bought a few flowers,made conversation with the workers, helped in ways I could, such as picking up shrubs that fell down, helping people bring stuff to the car, etc etc.
    I got noticed by the bossman after roughly a week and got a job out of it, I was 15(summer hols of 2006)at the time and going into 3rd year and I kept it going at weekends and sometimes after school.
    Now I'm finished school and have a full time job and I am now in a supervisory/managerial position albeit no formal qualifications.
    However,I am studying in my spare time and Saturdays to become a fully qualified horticulturist/landscape artist/cultural engineer/nature preservation technician amongst other things.
    So follow your dreams if any and get some work! And dont be on the dole like most people,
    Be an example to your friends and they might follow suit, some of my friends did and a few were lucky like me to get jobs,some unfortunately were not.
    The Irish recession needs innonative young people to break out and explore not sit down all day and be lazy hormonal brats,
    We,the young people of Ireland are Irelands future and will hopefully break Ireland free of these dark recessionary times.
    Sorry for such a long post just had to make a few points!...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

i was going to suggest an array of things you could do until i saw that you're from laois... tough break kid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Jaysus. ye all seem to live extreme lives. me . . . i . . . . well. . . . am . . . . . lets just say google Chrome incognito window gets used a lot. and the €2 shop has a best buyer for private stuffs. lol. But apart from spending 15hrs a day in my room i dont know what i do. i honestly have no idea. PS has collected so much dust im not sure it ever starts. oh wait. sorry i know what i do now. ...... Dude get a CAR ... and someone's field and rev the shiz out of it and make it look like a bomb hit it. fun in that specially when the car nearly flips over. fun days. dont worry. ive cleared it with the guards that even from the age of 12 you are allowed to drive on private property as long as your no where near public roads.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

[Rasta] wrote: »
    Love how irish see drinking as the only way to socialise.

There are other ways :eek::confused: