Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shin splints to long sprints (triathlon training)

• 04-05-2011 4:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭

Very casual gym goer for years.
    Never did any running until this year (partially due to shin splints, runners from amphibian king have sorted this).
    Self taught swimmer for about 3 years.
    Using a road bike for the first time this year too.
    Liked the sound of triathlons, as training for nothing is boring.
    Hopefully this thread will serve as motivation to me.

My first ever race:
    Fingal duathlon Saturday February 19th 2011:
    Position: 83rd
    Time: 01:16:35
    Run 2.5km: 00:12:54
    Cycle 20km: 00:48:45
    Run 2.5km: 00:14:54

Just starting timing myself now for PB's:
    5km run: 25.20mins
    750m pool swim: 25mins (two 30sec breaks)
    Cycle: Havent timed a known distance consistently yet (working on getting my own bike atm)

Finding open water swimming difficult at the moment (its cold and salty!!!)
    Have registered for the valentia sprint tri on the 21st of May.
    I hope to just be able to finish without stopping.
    Aiming for below 1hr45min time.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Is that your 5k pb or is a typo :eek:

Good luck with the log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

catweazle wrote: »
    Is that your 5k pb or is a typo :eek:

Good luck with the log
    haha yes that is a terrible typo! cheers