Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OZ

Can't get excited about Australia at all.. Had planned to make it down that far in February but not going near it until everyone has went back to Ireland. Unless something screws up in Asia for me, I'm happy to bounce around here waiting.

Saying that, my brother has a great life in Melbourne as an engineer for the last 6 years.. That's the way to do it in my opinion. I'll only actually fly there if I get a couple of fund accounting interviews lined up.. I will never go working in a field just to be there.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Can't get excited about Australia at all.. Had planned to make it down that far in February but not going near it until everyone has went back to Ireland. Unless something screws up in Asia for me, I'm happy to bounce around here waiting.

Saying that, my brother has a great life in Melbourne as an engineer for the last 6 years.. That's the way to do it in my opinion. I'll only actually fly there if I get a couple of fund accounting interviews lined up.. I will never go working in a field just to be there.

My advice would be get as much time out of SE Asia as possible and screw Australia.
    Horses for courses and all that but unless you have designs on living there just leave it. You're missing nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

lima wrote: »
    The best remain in Ireland? pfft! please, the best have and will move abroad in recession times..

How are they considered "the best" when they can't/couldn't get a decent job in Ireland even during an unprecedented boom?

They must be "the best" at something utterly worthless to the country if they have to move abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭lima

How are they considered "the best" when they can't/couldn't get a decent job in Ireland even during an unprecedented boom?

They must be "the best" at something utterly worthless to the country if they have to move abroad.

That's the problem, whatever these people are doing is 'worthless' in Ireland as there are no jobs in it. For e.g. someone can have an interest in a type of technology that is not used in Ireland for whatever reason (e.g. because of economies of scale), so they must go elsewhere to a more modern and forward thinking larger economy to fulfil their quest.

Ireland is a social backwater on the peripheral of Ireland, once you live abroad, you find that out. The people who cop on to this are the ones who don't want to live blissfully unaware of their backwardness, so they move on, to places better than Ireland where they are worth something.

One more point is that Ireland is painfully cliquely, so once you leave it's extremely hard to get back in, unless Daddy or one of your mates knows someone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Ireland is a social backwater on the peripheral of Ireland, once you live abroad, you find that out.

Guh?

So basically you're saying that if you have a skill that is useless to a given economy (not just Ireland), say "widget making" for the sake of argument, then it is the fault of the economy at large and not the widget maker that their skill is useless?

It's up to the individual to adapt to market conditions, not the other way around. It's the reason we have so many brickies/sparks/chippies sitting at home for the past 3 years. Fair play to to the ones that are willing to leave the country to continue their chosen profession, but don't sit on the dole in Ireland waiting for another construction boom while complaining about the "economy being ****ed" when you yourself aren't willing to do anything to make yourself a more desireable employee.

Guh?

So basically you're saying that if you have a skill that is useless to a given economy (not just Ireland), say "widget making" for the sake of argument, then it is the fault of the economy at large and not the widget maker that their skill is useless?

It's up to the individual to adapt to market conditions, not the other way around. It's the reason we have so many brickies/sparks/chippies sitting at home for the past 3 years. Fair play to to the ones that are willing to leave the country to continue their chosen profession, but don't sit on the dole in Ireland waiting for another construction boom while complaining about the "economy being ****ed" when you yourself aren't willing to do anything to make yourself a more desireable employee.

Yeah well I was encouraged in the late 90's to do computers/engineering 'cos that was where all the jobs were at the time, now there's nothing in Ireland. And it's a lot harder to adapt to current market conditions as there are 100's of applications for each job that's out there. So it's either join the job lottery whilst on the dole, or go and take a chance and go abroad where there are still jobs..

Luckily they are crying out for my industry in Aus, howeverI am also going for the lifestyle ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Yay heading over to Oz on my own in late aug/early sept. Travelling the whole east coast then settling in Melbourne. Am 25 now and spent my whole life living with parents so this is going to be a major adventure, can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

The people I know who are heading south are not the kind of people who make any kind of useful contribution here anyhow. We may lose a few good men, but generally no, the best are not going.

Agreed.

From the people I know who are in Oz at the moment, the best most certainly are NOT going there. The best are going to other parts of the world. London, the US, continental Europe, China. The Australia crowd that I know are just following the herd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

haydar wrote: »
    Myself and the other half off on the fifth of july forever. Though it will be hard to leave my 280 euro a week job night packing in Dunnes

You might be glad of it yet.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Yay heading over to Oz on my own in late aug/early sept. Travelling the whole east coast then settling in Melbourne. Am 25 now and spent my whole life living with parents so this is going to be a major adventure, can't wait.
    You should easily lose your cherry down the east coast!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

As I have been saying for years.. All the Clever ones have left...

Like yourself? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Yeah well I was encouraged in the late 90's to do computers/engineering 'cos that was where all the jobs were at the time, now there's nothing in Ireland.

You must not be looking too hard. I'm not looking for jobs in Ireland at all and yet I've been approached a few times this year about positions there.

You're travellin the east coast before settling but you're skipping Asia... Do ya know how far money goes here? A great time and more to see for a fraction of the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Hope you have a good trip, some very good spots along the East coast but mostly boring. Timing wise is that not late Winter/early Spring in OZ? You'll also need a sting suit to swim in most places (bloody jelly fish). Most places will be closed by 9.00/9.30pm, so you'll have lots of time to call your parents.

Things improve in Melbourne, a bit more of what you expect from a big city, but not much really.

Enjoy and make sure to spend time around the Whitsunday Islands and take lots of money, quite expensive generally.

Hope you have a good trip, some very good spots along the East coast but mostly boring. Timing wise is that not late Winter/early Spring in OZ? You'll also need a sting suit to swim in most places (bloody jelly fish). Most places will be closed by 9.00/9.30pm, so you'll have lots of time to call your parents.

Things improve in Melbourne, a bit more of what you expect from a big city, but not much really.

Enjoy and make sure to spend time around the Whitsunday Islands and take lots of money, quite expensive generally.

Eh what do you mean most places will be closed st 9.30?? Like pubs and bars?? I'm a bit of a drinker tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Pauleta wrote: »
    Its Australia not "OZ"

Cheers for that. I always thought they were moving to the fictional prison, couldn't get my head around it.

Eh what do you mean most places will be closed st 9.30?? Like pubs and bars?? I'm a bit of a drinker tbh

You better believe it, most of the East Coast is how will I put it, lacks nightlife and all that goes with it. Couldn't believe it myself, going into a very large Irish bar & restaurant at 8.45pm, with a hunger and a thirst after a day's travelling to be told, sorry mate, food stops at 9 and last orders for bar at 9.30pm. Closed by 10.00pm. Many places close before 9.00pm. This was summertime (Jan/Feb).

That was Harvey Bay, a busy seaside resort town.

I kid you not. Drink what drink, where?

You better believe it, most of the East Coast is how will I put it, lacks nightlife and all that goes with it. Couldn't believe it myself, going into a very large Irish bar & restaurant at 8.45pm, with a hunger and a thirst after a day's travelling to be told, sorry mate, food stops at 9 and last orders for bar at 9.30pm. Closed by 10.00pm. Many places close before 9.00pm. This was summertime (Jan/Feb).

That was Harvey Bay, a busy seaside resort town.

I kid you not. Drink what drink, where?

thats a bit mad, I agree with Hervey Bay, that place was empty (August '08) but I just thought it was low season..
    Airlie Beach was a total party town though, open well past 10pm?!
    Sure Gold Coast and Cairns are full of clubs too that stay open late

thats a bit mad, I agree with Hervey Bay, that place was empty (August '08) but I just thought it was low season..
    Airlie Beach was a total party town though, open well past 10pm?!
    Sure Gold Coast and Cairns are full of clubs too that stay open late

You mean the Sailing clubs? I know there popular for the budget beer and food with the few locals that go out. A bit like going to a GAA club? Nothing wrong with GAA clubs, but who goes to such a place on hols?

Airlie has lots of backpackers, mostly broke, getting by on low budgets. It has a bit more life, but the few pubs are poor, don't remember it being very busy at nightime. Cairns was (not much) different, didn't go near any clubs in Cairns.

Overall the pub scene in QL in comparison to Europe is closer to non-existent and largely CRAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Timing wise is that not late Winter/early Spring in OZ? You'll also need a sting suit to swim in most places (bloody jelly fish)

Stinger Season is November --> May/June

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭1stimpressions

You're travellin the east coast before settling but you're skipping Asia... Do ya know how far money goes here? A great time and more to see for a fraction of the cost.

Yep I'll second that. By the sounds of costs in Australia you could spend twice the time here in SE Asia and the place is amazing. I'm living in Bangkok over a year.

You can live in SE Asia like a king, I was there for 3 months on my own Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia & Laos it was awesome. Also did Malaysia & Singapore which was a bit boring, wouldn't bother with India as I have went there with work a few times and the people & country literary gives me the sh*ts ....I will never go back.

Australia is expensive if you keep doing the euro conversion, but if you are making good coin there then its alright. If you are working at something useful you could easily pull in €1200-1500 a week, if you d*cking around like the majority of backpackers then I can understand how the whole idea can lose its shine after a while.

I came to Australia on a WHV 6 years ago on my jack not knowing anyone, without doubt the best thing I ever did.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Stinger Season is November --> May/June

Thanks for that, was there in Jan & Feb, hadn't realised there was a season. Doubt I'll be back.

Would agree with other Posters, would recommend more focus on Asia, eg was in Thailand in Jan doing Island hopping. Amazing country and found it difficult to spend money.

A wonderful time and a much better experience than in QL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

Another notch for se Asia, people that skip it are missing out big big time, to be honest going to Australia was s huge anti climax after 2 months travelling se Asia, stunning scenery, lovely people, fantastic nightlife, cheaper than you can imagine, don't miss it for the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Australia, the only country in the world that ive been and really never want to go back to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Australia, the only country in the world that ive been and really never want to go back to.

You live in Cork City. I can see why :)

KilOit wrote: »
    Another notch for se Asia, people that skip it are missing out big big time, to be honest going to Australia was s huge anti climax after 2 months travelling se Asia, stunning scenery, lovely people, fantastic nightlife, cheaper than you can imagine, don't miss it for the world.

Yeah but I'll be going on my own, I'll wait SE Asia out till I find a few people to go with me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I'm in NZ and desperate to come home. We're planning on coming back next year. I ahve a good job here and don't think I'll get that at home. I'm at a bit of a loss as to what to do, to be honest. I want to settle in Ireland, don't know if it's worth staying here for a good job (I don't think the lifestyle is particularly that much better, nor are we better off in general, apart from the job thing)

I emigrated just before the recession, am marrying a kiwi and am legally entitled to stay here forever, with the same rights as a citizen but I still want to come home. It's weird to be torn between two places.

Yeah but I'll be going on my own, I'll wait SE Asia out till I find a few people to go with me

Do what I did and go on your own, only way to travel.

just think of it as character building

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Do what I did and go on your own, only way to travel.

just think of it as character building

I agree. I did a rtw trip for a year on my own about 5 years ago. Awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 sarahjph

dpe wrote: »
    I agree. I did a rtw trip for a year on my own about 5 years ago. Awesome.

Hi, have finally realised that the urge to travel is not going to go away, unlike most, I'm a little older and will be going on my own? ANy advice, words of wisdom? I think I could only do the backpacker thing for a couple of months sanely, I would love to get a decent job and "live"....melbourne is appealing at the moment.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Nah, travel on your own. It's by far the best way to do it. You follow your own plan and make it up as you go along. There's no trouble meeting people along the way if you want. Also, Asia probably has the maddest experiences and most fun to be had. If you're travelling with others you're more likely to be inhibited and not completely cut loose. Translation: travelling alone is a guaranteed what goes on tour, stays on tour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

watna wrote: »
    I'm in NZ and desperate to come home. We're planning on coming back next year. I ahve a good job here and don't think I'll get that at home. I'm at a bit of a loss as to what to do, to be honest. I want to settle in Ireland, don't know if it's worth staying here for a good job (I don't think the lifestyle is particularly that much better, nor are we better off in general, apart from the job thing)

I emigrated just before the recession, am marrying a kiwi and am legally entitled to stay here forever, with the same rights as a citizen but I still want to come home. It's weird to be torn between two places.

Why do you want to leave? I found it a bit boring there, a lovely place though, but isolated and not that much going on. I have Kiwi friends in London that have tried going home, but not lasted very long, as it's too boring for them.
    What does Mr Kiwi think of leaving Aotearoa? I was offered sponsorship there but still wanted to leave, as lovely as the place is I found it a bit dull. Great if you're into outdoors stuff though.

If you do that, it will take you about 3 days in Asia till you start to regret it... 70% of people here are solo travelers and have the craic with each other.
    The other 30% hang around each other and don't get to mix so easy.. Just earlier I heard friends arguing about where to go next. Fuk that for noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Dpe is this you?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I Was VB wrote: »
    Well another mate is leaving on a plane today bound for OZ, ever get the feeling that the best of our country is leaving? Have to say fair play to 'em and all that jazz, bit jelous to be honest.

no the best arent leaving, the best can get jobs here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

no the best arent leaving, the best can get jobs here.

That is utter nonsense.

The best are the ones with 10 yrs plus experience, people who aren't getting a look-in are the recent graduates and folk with 3-5 years post grad experience.

I'm extremely competent at what I do (building services designer and now energy consultant). I could get a job in Ireland if I tried but it would be a ****e salary and it wouldn't be permanent. (Thats the construction industry for you)

Why the hell would I stay around for that?

I have a well-paid, secure, permanent job in Toronto and I have no regrets whatsoever moving here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Why do you want to leave? I found it a bit boring there, a lovely place though, but isolated and not that much going on. I have Kiwi friends in London that have tried going home, but not lasted very long, as it's too boring for them.
    What does Mr Kiwi think of leaving Aotearoa? I was offered sponsorship there but still wanted to leave, as lovely as the place is I found it a bit dull. Great if you're into outdoors stuff though.

Mr Kiwi is happy to leave and go back to Dublin - thank god. I agree with the outdoors part, if you like all that stuff then NZ is the place to be. I, however, am a lazy so and so and not very active so I don't get the most of all that.

My main problem is that it's just too far away from everywhere. You're right about it being isolated. I don't want to have a family so far away from home and Mr Kiwi doesn't have any family left here either so there's nothing here for us.

I don't find it boring, per se but it is very small sometimes and it's so hard to get everywhere - even a flight to Australia is expensive. Getting home for a visit drains all your leave and money. Plus we find the cost of living quite high and we're doing ok for ourselves, compared to a large number of the population.

I like it well enough, we're pretty comfortable but I just don't see myself here forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

God some awful bitter people on here. It's not the best or the worst that have moved over here to Australia its just ordinary people who have decided that they would like to try and make a go of living over here. A mix of good and bad.

Personally I don't know that many Irish over here at all most of my friends here are Australian. I'm living in Melbourne for the last 2 years and the Australians don't hate the Irish at all if anything it's the opposite and I always get complements on my accent or friendly banter about it. never heard one Australian talk about the amount of Irish coming over here at all, when any do talk of immigration it is generally about the number of Asian people coming to Australia not European.

They don't even notice us much to be honest. If you go to St..Kilda or Bondi then yes you will notice the Irish but that's only because you are so used to hearing the Irish accent yourself you will pick up on it Australians don't think twice about it. Its not just Irish living there but backpackers / travelers from all over the world.

I love Melbourne it's a great city with lots to do in and around it. I chose not to just hang around with Irish people over here but that has a lot to do with the fact I was lucky enough to have lived with some Australians in London and have some good contacts here when I arrived first but I can certainly understand why some people do end up hanging out just with fellow Irish. Its difficult coming to a place so far away from everything and one you know. Dispute the huge negativity people on here can often have toward all things Irish we are a friendly nation particularly towards our own and it is very easy to approach fellow Irish people here.

Its all well and good making fun of people who go to Irish bars here but if you don't know anyone and are looking for friendly people for company and to have a laugh you could do a lot worse.

Australia is a great country but like anywhere you go to its you do that will make it fun or not. No one is going to hand you a great life on a plate so don't expect it.

I am a home body and love Ireland and will probably return at some point because of that but I'm very happy to be living here in Australia for the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

Well,

I'm now in Australia 3 months and I must say it has been a total anti-climax. I did a nice bit of research before deciding my move here; I’m on a whv by the way. But not enough it would seem, I’ve been finding it very hard to get work, with a lot of people not even taking a second look at you because they want some more long term (no whv need apply kind of thing).

I worked one job doing door to door sales for charity but had to leave, because the people working with me were complete and utter racists, compulsive liars and would do anything to get a sale in the name of charity...no thanks

I have since had to change my resume and cover letter to include a lot lies because that seems to be the only way to get work here unless you’re in the construction sector it would seem. I myself have a BA in Business, and nearly 5 years of retail experience and I can't even get a night pack job over here.

If I’m being honest I my not have been as energetic in my job hunt as others, but it gets dishearten after a while.

I think I’ll take one positive from my Australia debacle and that to go with my gut, my gut was telling me not to do this when I could have held out for Canada or London

Doc wrote: »
    God some awful bitter people on here. It's not the best or the worst that have moved over here to Australia its just ordinary people who have decided that they would like to try and make a go of living over here. A mix of good and bad.

Personally I don't know that many Irish over here at all most of my friends here are Australian. I'm living in Melbourne for the last 2 years and the Australians don't hate the Irish at all if anything it's the opposite and I always get complements on my accent or friendly banter about it. never heard one Australian talk about the amount of Irish coming over here at all, when any do talk of immigration it is generally about the number of Asian people coming to Australia not European.

They don't even notice us much to be honest. If you go to St..Kilda or Bondi then yes you will notice the Irish but that's only because you are so used to hearing the Irish accent yourself you will pick up on it Australians don't think twice about it. Its not just Irish living there but backpackers / travelers from all over the world.

I love Melbourne it's a great city with lots to do in and around it. I chose not to just hang around with Irish people over here but that has a lot to do with the fact I was lucky enough to have lived with some Australians in London and have some good contacts here when I arrived first but I can certainly understand why some people do end up hanging out just with fellow Irish. Its difficult coming to a place so far away from everything and one you know. Dispute the huge negativity people on here can often have toward all things Irish we are a friendly nation particularly towards our own and it is very easy to approach fellow Irish people here.

Its all well and good making fun of people who go to Irish bars here but if you don't know anyone and are looking for friendly people for company and to have a laugh you could do a lot worse.

Australia is a great country but like anywhere you go to its you do that will make it fun or not. No one is going to hand you a great life on a plate so don't expect it.

I am a home body and love Ireland and will probably return at some point because of that but I'm very happy to be living here in Australia for the moment.

Cheers for a pretty realistic post Doc, I sense that you feel there is a tad of resentment in this thread.

I would have to agree .....but to be fair I guess that most of the stories you hear from folk who have done the Australia thing can be a bit boring for those who have never done and are sick to death of hearing about the craic, the Teagardens, Bondi etc etc.

I suppose you only hear this from those who really enjoyed themselves but those who might have struggled or were forced to do the walk of shame might not be so positive. Australia funny enough is not paved in gold and no one is going to hand you a sweet life on a plate, you are really only a guest in someone else's country and unless you are skilled up you are only really considered a tourist rather than a permitted worker.

tbh Australia is not for everybody, I have visited many many other countries through pleasure or business and some I would live in but most I am happy enough just to visit on a holiday or business..... others I never want to go back. For me there are worst places on earth than Australia or New Zealand its a matter of swings and roundabouts, one mans rubbish is another's treasure.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

fat__tony wrote: »
    That is utter nonsense.

The best are the ones with 10 yrs plus experience, people who aren't getting a look-in are the recent graduates and folk with 3-5 years post grad experience.

I'm extremely competent at what I do (building services designer and now energy consultant). I could get a job in Ireland if I tried but it would be a ****e salary and it wouldn't be permanent. (Thats the construction industry for you)

Why the hell would I stay around for that?

I have a well-paid, secure, permanent job in Toronto and I have no regrets whatsoever moving here.

if someone is good enough, they will pay for them, if not...get the boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Once again you show your ignorance on this matter.

Some industry's have been decimated in this recession, ability is no relevance for these, the job's have disappeared and the work has dried up.

What about architects then? I suppose they're all not 'good enough' to work here either.

Your 'Get the boat' remark is a shameful one as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

I thought this was gonna be a thread about the HBO drama. Downer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭Wheelie King

busyliving wrote: »
    Well,

I'm now in Australia 3 months and I must say it has been a total anti-climax. I did a nice bit of research before deciding my move here; I’m on a whv by the way. But not enough it would seem, I’ve been finding it very hard to get work, with a lot of people not even taking a second look at you because they want some more long term (no whv need apply kind of thing).

I worked one job doing door to door sales for charity but had to leave, because the people working with me were complete and utter racists, compulsive liars and would do anything to get a sale in the name of charity...no thanks

I have since had to change my resume and cover letter to include a lot lies because that seems to be the only way to get work here unless you’re in the construction sector it would seem. I myself have a BA in Business, and nearly 5 years of retail experience and I can't even get a night pack job over here.

If I’m being honest I my not have been as energetic in my job hunt as others, but it gets dishearten after a while.

I think I’ll take one positive from my Australia debacle and that to go with my gut, my gut was telling me not to do this when I could have held out for Canada or London

Moved to Toronto is 1997 friend and without a doubt the best thing i ever did. Did the year thing in Oz in the early 90's and thought the place was horrible. I've never been to a more unwelcoming country and the amount of racists would make the American deep south blush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

wow the Irish are so fcking original, AUSTRALIA............
    I'd much prefer to go to an eu country and come home every few months for a weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

is that you van wilder.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

digme wrote: »
    I'd much prefer to go to an eu country and come home every few months for a weekend.

You do that so. Don't leave what others do bother you so much.