Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Simple Pleasures In Life!

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭TemptationWaits

Seeing really cute couples around the place.
    A big cup of tea from my favourite cup. :o
    When you have a whole series, or more, of a great tv show to watch.
    Icebergers, and the fact that is it ice-cream season again.

And for anyone who likes sucking tea through chocolate bars, the Australian biscuits Tim Tams are the best for that. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭snooleen

Swampy wrote: »
    New socks.

I couldn't believe it took over a hundred posts for new socks! It's amazing!

When you use soap that you had in your house during a certain period of your life and the smell reminds you of then :) It's great cause we never have the same soap.

Toes in sand. Toes in cold grass when it's really warm.

Washing my hair when I'm hungover.

When I don't have to talk to people I know on the bus.

When I remember to use oven gloves while getting something out of the freezer :)

Not a strange one, but the sound of water gently lapping up on stones. Ahhhh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Squeezing a pimple and watching the contents hit the mirror

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

The first warm day of the year, when you go out wearing a jumper and just have to take it off. :cool: brilliant feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭madison2011

Its really flippin LASHING now. Sleep in tomorrow. An easy day, yippeeee.Simple things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Getting my hair cut - puts me to sleep.

Smell of hay, manure in the country - dont know why that is, guess It reminds me of childhood.

Reading the paper on a sunday morning with tae and a sandwich. cant beat that one.

Telling myself I'l just check boards for 5 minutes, and now its 01:34. shiiiiiiiiit.

Scratch the last one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

anyone remember when you got a new copy book at school and how cool it felt to write on the very first page with a freshly sharpened pencil?
    or was that just me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

crazygeryy wrote: »
    anyone remember when you got a new copy book at school and how cool it felt to write on the very first page with a freshly sharpened pencil?
    or was that just me.

Awh yeah I remember that.would make a special effort to have perfect writing on that page :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Tombones

Leaving a YORKIE in my pocket for a while until it melts, then squeezing it into my mouth like toothpaste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Tombones wrote: »
    Leaving a YORKIE in my pocket for a while until it melts, then squeezing it into my mouth like toothpaste.

That sounds quiet foul, but I bet it's gorgeous....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Seeing my baby's smile first thing in the morning
    The smell of my baby's hair
    A big bowl of stew
    A cold glass of wine
    Anything with pesto in it
    A Sunday drive
    Watching the seasons change
    Kittens :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭Daith

When I'm at the folks house, sitting on the couch and the dog comes over to me and goes asleep with her head on my feet :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

That second between the end of Riverdance (the original) and the audience erupting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Sitting in the passenger seat of a car that's pulled into the petrol station for fuel. Wind down the window a bit and enjoy the smell of petrol :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

Simple Pleasures

• Hot sweet tea and a good piece of shortcake
    • Waking up the day after a hangover
    • Getting into a bed with newly washed and ironed sheet & duvet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

- Hot towel shaves
    - Waking up with the sun shining on your face
    - Black coffee & a good book
    - Finding money in a old jacket (Happend to me yesterday)
    - Eye contact with the opposite sex (not the creepy kind)
    - Receiving internet purchases
    - The company of a good woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Borat_Sagdiyev

Karona wrote: »
    I love going back home and going out to my back garden and seeing my dogs reaction, when he realizes im home.

My nephews running and hugging me.

Putting my warm hoodie on if im cold.

Watching a thunderstorm.

Collapsing into bed after a hard night dancing.

Taking off high heels after a night out.

Taking my bra off at the end of the day.

You take off your bra and I'll make the tea.

Can't believe nobody has mentioned falling asleep on the couch while struggling to keep your eyes open in a vain attempt to watch telly.

Also, Daft Punk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 conor_ire

Sitting in the bay in a canoe on a roasting day with the seals circling you trying to size you up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

shaving slowly when I don't have to as opposed to quickly when I need to.

building up a nice log fire then tending to it

a finely cooked steak after a good gym session

a few cans watching a nice dvd at home

the greeting my dog gives me every evening when I come home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Gi joe!

That sly nod of respect from other lads, and when girls give you the 'look'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

themadchef wrote: »
    I'm a little embarassed at the fact that i thought aliocroc quoted your post there Fallo :eek:

Wont be able to get the image out of my head and may put me off Twix bars for life

\ May also feel an urge to keep one on my handbag for secksy time :eek:

I thought the same! Was intrigued!

The first cup of coffee from a fresh jar.

Opening a fresh jar of coffee, the sound as you puncture the foil top with a spoon, the smell of the coffee and then the pleasure of peeling all the foil off before making a cuppa. Bliss.

Can't believe nobody has mentioned falling asleep on the couch while struggling to keep your eyes open in a vain attempt to watch telly.

I actually hate this coz I always then go to brush my teeth feeling all sleepy and ready for bed but as soon as the toothpaste hits my mouth, am wide awake again and dont sleep for hours.

For me its the first beer after a home game particularly when my team have won and I have finished working at the game so can relax and discuss the game.

Also away trips......a gang of like minded loonies, heading on a bus with beer. Such fun.

I had a party in my house Fri nite and everyone adored my dog and was playing with him all night. I felt so proud of him.

Gi joe! wrote: »
    That sly nod of respect from other lads, and when girls give you the 'look'.

What look is this? Curious,so I know if I ever give it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

What look is this? Curious,so I know if I ever give it.

Like the look in that ad, where yer man is standing just down from some wan at a luas stop, he thinks she's looking him over, he's getting all slick, turns out she's looking at a poster for Mortgages next to him.

That kinda look....

The look yer one gives or yer man?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The look yer one gives or yer man?

Yer one.

Hmm i'll have to watch that again so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

fresh warm tart:)

Hmm i'll have to watch that again so.

I'll try to make note of who the ad was for next time I see it. Just thought the thing was hilarious itself.

Sure if I ever see someone doing that I'm thinking...

1) What's going on behind me..?
    2) Is she having a stroke..?

:P

Awh! Many a missed opportunity I reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 conor_ire

The realisation that during a recession I got a pure handy job that pays well and is real secure.

Going to pay for me to get out of this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭van der vart

kevthegaff wrote: »
    fresh warm tart:)

depends on what she is charging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭MrTsSnickers

Seeing people cry. :o

Airports. everything anything about them

Sitting in the past. Memories or videos or events.

Sirens.

Airport scenes on youtube (Arrival scenes) make me cry! Blubbering mess :pac:

Actually airports in general make me cry..unless I'm going somewhere nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

The feeling of relief when you have been bursting to pee for a long time and you finally get to release it ! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

compliments:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 boxie

clean sheets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 swimming_paul

boxie wrote: »
    clean sheets
    yep deffo good, and big fluffy hotel style towels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,968 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

yep deffo good, and big fluffy hotel style towels

And a nice glass of wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

This is good. It's not about something depressing, it's not political, it's not bashing anyone.

BRILLIANT.

I like eating a whole block of cheddar cheese in one sitting. Oh yeah... cheese.

did that once before, serious cramps after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I like coming home and taking off my bra. Aaaahhhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭ladybirdirl

When my gorgeous other half lets me borrow his hoodie.I can then wear it & smell it all day as it smells of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Falling into bed so exhausted you feel like lead, and knowing you don't have to get up in the morning.

The sound of howling wind outside when you wake in the middle of a winters night.

Waves lapping the shore as you daydream/snooze on a beach.

The sound/smell of the coffee machine clicking into life in the morning.

Warm bath, crisp sheets, hot chocolate.

The feeling you get when you look out your window on a December morning and see pure, untouched, pristine white snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Coming in tonight after football in the pissing rain and having a really warm shower and getting into my bumblebee shorts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭treborflynn

being out walking on the land on a howling moonlight night with no civilization for miles.
    waking up around 3 or 4 in the morning a realizing you have a few more hours in bed.
    after not drinking for a couple of weeks the feeling of well being that can be obtained.
    a big pizza out of dominos when you have a hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ontheditch2

A nice warm shower on a cold wet day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

-Harvesting vegetables I've grown myself.

-Eating Green and Black's organic chocolate.

-Burning candles in a dim room, preferably with incense.

-Learning French vocabulary.

-Throwing water in my own face in an attempt to energise myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭lesserspottedchloe

the first wave of heat that greets you while stepping off a plane in a warm country, the first icy wave that slaps me over the head and really 'refreshs' me while bboarding in Ireland :D, the cuddles my cat gives me when I havn't seen him all day:)