Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Poem For C&H

• 06-05-2011 6:22pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hmmmmmmmm, ok.
    How about you write a poem about the greatness of me C&H?
    To C and H I make with haste to read of all and sundry,
    This wondrous forum being home to great minds of the country,
    In knowledge safe that here I'll find the widest range of discourse
    Of quality that's praise-worthy and deserving of sweet verse.

A noble tale it is to tell of this fine forum's naissance,
    Its seed the posts of dazzling folk, its water months of patience.
    No text-speak blight could quell the roots, nor cynics wielding axes;
    They scoffed that we, being but teens, could not produce strong branches.

And yet a garden grew and grew, being tended most ably
    By three young mods who, from the sods, pruned weeds away most gayly.
    To Piste, to JC and Squigloo, I bid thee raise thy glasses
    And cheer in toast that we could boast such crafts-folk in our masses.

But hark! there is much more to say, there are more names and fables,
    For here we see community beyond keyboards on tables,
    Computer screens, laptops on knees, D4RK ONION may deem portals,
    These looking-glasses, not for Alice, but for we young mortals.

From late in two thousand and eight and right up to this moment,
    An oak has grown and banter flown, like rafts upon a current
    To keep us bouyed, or over-joyed; whatever life throws at us
    Can wash away or soundly stay like strong boards in a tree-house.

We've seen it all! Young Jizzler's call for MILFs to sate his urges!
    Nialldeman's pleas for recipes for tea! The desperate virgins.
    To monumental threads of lore, such topics had us thinking
    As Life's hardships and politics and responsible drinking.

We've seen the "Sex Discussion Thread", a most successful mission,
    "Here's One That I Made Earlier", kaleidoscopic vision,
    The "Soundtrack To Your Angst", a many-spleandoured music medley,
    And "What Do You Find Beautiful?" is always bleedin' deadly.

From Kate's bright cakes to ones we make in cups within three minutes,
    To "b00bs!" at half four in the morning after too much Guinness.
    From Midnight's car to me, the bard, to Deise_Monster's stalking
    Of young hurlers and 1Direction, no end to the talking!

From challengemaster logging in to laugh with randylonghorn,
    To Noel pretending he's a girl (don't say that you've not been warned!)
    We've played at Ultimate Face-down and posted up the pictures,
    We've had much fun and then lamented sleeping right through lectures.

The Den, with ever-changing name, somewhere 'tween Aaaarrrgghh and Yaaahh threads,
    These bases always busy even when the rest may seem dead,
    Debates on God, on pregnancy, and the financial crisis,
    Pictures of dresses, drums and drink, complaining about the prices,

From early days and posters who, though no longer oft' seen here,
    Impressions last of great chats past, foundations for the future,
    Aisling(",), Mushy, Crumble Froo, phlegms, Cautioner and cHaTbOx,
    They might pop by from time to time, though leemur has changed his spots! :pac:

When Dublin froze young Daysha rose to Keyboard Cat the slipping,
    That city also venue to our first meet-up, day-tripping.
    But Cavan, Cork and Galway too, and Donegal and Sligo,
    Tipperary, Clare and Limerick, a Brummy Tom with with banjo,

All places and locations become one when we do post here,
    And twice we've celebrated with awards at end of the year.
    With Jackobyte and Jumpguy, Aoibheann, Oopsy and Konata,
    Davidius, Pygmalion, science, maths and data,

Fad and Craguls, Neon-Circles, extrasupervery,
    Ultimate Chin and bythewoods, Jay P, sarcasticfairy,
    Monzo, Arcade Panda, Sligo Brewer and degausser,
    Almostnever, Namlub, unknown, DingosAteMyBaby,

Mavis Davis, Atavan-Halen and EuropeanSon,
    Cows Go µ and Colm! too, but Hitlersson is gone,
    There's Lawliet, there's SarahBeep! and IHeartChemistry same,
    Agnostic Mantis, I Have Questions and Shacklebolt with new name,

Screaminmidget, conorstuff, Mollikins and YourTextHere too,
    Banjo Fella and Flyswatter, seriousfizz and **Timbuk2**,
    Ginja Ninja's modding now, and Almighty Cushion visits,
    And if your name is not within apologies I missed it!

From books and 90s Babies and to nightclubs and being a genius,
    From worst pain to guilty pleasures, we have all of this between us,
    So join me, if you will, and celebrate the best of forums.
    Cheers to this bizarrely named place! To Clearasil and Hormones!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

G'man Insecto! Now I demand you make it into a rap and record and upload it, with some slick beatz and a mad flow, yo.

:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Well done IO, fair play!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

tl;dr :pac:

just kidding. totez <3333333333 it bbz xXx

• Registered Users Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I love the part where you mentioned how great Xx_emma_xX is.

oh wait...

Nah seriously, good going, that was rather brilliant. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Wheres samapple789 in that Poem maybe the best and funnest new poster in the last year here

Very bad all round :P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭marko93

tl;dr :pac:

just kidding. totez <3333333333 it bbz xXx
    God damit, i was just about to ask if there was a tl;dr version ¬_¬

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

The Emperor Overload has got his groove back!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

To Noel pretending he's a girl (don't say that you've not been warned!)

Should say

To Noelette pretending she's a boy.. :(

Other than that, A+ :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Thanks-whore, tbh. :P

Also, "Konata" and "data" don't rhyme (and don't even THINK of claiming poetic license! EDIT: I refuse to acknowledge that there is another way to pronounce it except for "day-tah"! :p). Must do better next time. :pac:

Kidding, it was pretty awesome. :)

Aoibheann wrote: »

Also, "Konata" and "data" don't rhyme. Must do better next time. :pac:
    Oh no, we have a "day-tah"er...

• Registered Users Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Banjo Fella

Brilliant stuff, IO, that must have taken so much work to put together!

Excellent wordsmithery, in great condition, would read again. :p

jumpguy wrote: »
    Oh no, we have a "day-tah"er...

It's not dah-tah. It just ISN'T. :(

I say dayt (date :P), I say day-tah. *nods*

• Registered Users Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

It's pronounced day-ter. That's how them Englishes says it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,382 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

If it wasn't for my new account, that rhyme wouldn't have worked. I think I deserve a little gratitude coming my way.

It's not dah-tah. It just ISN'T. :(

I say dayt (date :P), I say day-tah. *nods*
    Oh. :confused: Is Konata not pronounce Kon - ah - tah?

Wait.

Crap.

I'm very tired and dizzy, ignore everything I said. :/ (Stupid blood donation people fecking up! :()

Actually, it still doesn't work, I'm right! Victory!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Please don't spam here, thread locked

>.>

<.<

>.>

Awesome poem brah.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Brilliant stuff, IO, that must have taken so much work to put together!

I wrote it in about an hour! :p Two at most.
    G'man Insecto! Now I demand you make it into a rap and record and upload it, with some slick beatz and a mad flow, yo.

:cool:

I'm going to need a DJ and a recording studio! o/
    Slow Show wrote: »
    I love the part where you mentioned how great Xx_emma_xX is.

oh wait...

Nah seriously, good going, that was rather brilliant. :)

The good news is, with this kind of poem, new verses can be added very easily. ;)

Also, "Konata" and "data" don't rhyme (and don't even THINK of claiming poetic license! EDIT: I refuse to acknowledge that there is another way to pronounce it except for "day-tah"! :p). Must do better next time. :pac:

Kidding, it was pretty awesome. :)

It rhymes perfectly well... >_>

I'm going to need a DJ and a recording studio! o/
    Can all be arranged, my good man, we'll have you signed before the end of the year!

*looks for Colm!*
    Actually, it still doesn't work, I'm right! Victory!
    But...it does...:confused: Are the reams of German vocab frying my mind? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Awesome! Great going starting the user list with my name. :D

Needs to be added to boards wiki under "a brief history of c&h"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

*looks for Colm!*

Present. I'm a DJ though, not a producer. You got the wrong guy. As in, I don't make beats, I steal other dude's stuff. Working towards the other side of that. If I do get around to that, Insect and I definitely have to collab :D

But whatever. Insect needs a beat, YouTube can give him this one:

EDIT: Oh, and I don't have to mention how brilliant this is. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Mollikins

Well done IO! :)

I think you've successfully completed screaminmidget's challenge anyway.

I'm with Aoibheann on the pronunciation of data though. :pac:

Mollikins wrote: »
    Well done IO! :)

I think you've successfully completed screaminmidget's challenge anyway.

I'm with Aoibheann on the pronunciation of data though. :pac:
    Well, ye both pronounce it wrong then.

*runs*

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Colm! wrote: »
    Present. I'm a DJ though, not a producer. You got the wrong guy. As in, I don't make beats, I steal other dude's stuff. Working towards the other side of that. If I do get around to that, Insect and I definitely have to collab :D

Seanbmc's sig has inspired me. Mix something up to the beat of Interior Crocodile Alligator! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I always thought day-tah was an American thing. I used to always say it when I was younger, but that was from watching too much Dexter's Laboratory, and I was corrected very quickly and since then, it's always been dah-tah. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Mollikins

Jackobyte wrote: »
    Well, ye both pronounce it wrong then.

*runs*
    No we're not!
    You better run! :pac:
    Slow Show wrote: »
    I always thought day-tah was an American thing. I used to always say it when I was younger, but that was from watching too much Dexter's Laboratory, and I was corrected very quickly and since then, it's always been dah-tah. :p
    Ah Dexter's Laboratory. The memories.
    I've always thought that dah-tah was a posh way of saying it. :confused:

I would show that it is Dah-tah, but I'd only end up dragging it OT, so we can agree to disagree that I'm right!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

No, Konata and Data do rhyme?

And its pronounced "Data"

:P

If it wasn't for my new account, that rhyme wouldn't have worked. I think I deserve a little gratitude coming my way.

What was your old account?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,382 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Jackobyte wrote: »
    What was your old account?

Shacklebolt. I lost access to it ages back.