Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Applied maths for pharmacy/ medicine?

Options
  • 07-05-2011 12:01am
    Registered Users Posts: 15

Hi, I'm currently in 4th year and have to pick my subject choices.
    I would like to do medicine or pharmacy in college and would like to know if Applied Maths would benefit me at all for medicine or pharmacy.
    I would also like to know of it is very difficult?
    I'm doing HL LC maths at the moment and I don't find it too bad yet.
    Thanks!!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Are you mindblowingly logical and good at maths?
    Otherwise its rock solid. Its also an 8th subject, which is hard because its one more than you generally take, but you might as well try it if its on offer for a few months if its there.

I doubt it would come in handy for either of those things. Just be awesome at maths and chemistry.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Otherwise its rock solid. Its also an 8th subject, which is hard because its one more than you generally take, but you might as well try it if its on offer for a few months if its there.

I doubt it would come in handy for either of those things. Just be awesome at maths and chemistry.

This is a bit OT, but when you say it's 'rock solid', have you tried it in school? I'm trying to decide whether or not to take up Applied Maths next year myself, so just curious. :o

I did it up until Christmas and got 50% which wasn't that bad in terms of the class we all got around it but I got it by luck, I get As and Bs in Maths and Physics though just for comparison.